Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey86 12 reviews from this member

Greenhills is clean and very well maintained throughout the site.

On arrival we went to reception and the lady was very helpful, pointing out where to find the toilets, showers, washing up area and freezer and the shop, laundry room and information hut. She then directed us to our pitch.

They had put us in the woodlands field which in my opinion is the best of the 3 as the other 2 seem to slope much more which isn't ideal but there were tents on them and they seemed to be just fine, that said if we were to go again, I'd request we be in the Woodlands field again. The pitches are large and well marked out without being restrictive.

The views from the camping fields are beautiful and my only slight gripe about the whole site is that you can hear the road noise from the A6, it isn't a major issue and you do switch off from it after a while, its a just shame because other than that all that can be heard is cows and sheep- bliss!

The toilets and showers are spotless- the best I've seen and there is always loo roll and hand wash. The showers are free too. The washing up area was good, it actually had really hot water. We didn't use the laundry room so can't comment on that.

The shop was open for a couple of hours morning and night and it stocked the basics, we popped in for a couple of sachets of hot chocolate to warm us through.

The information tent was good too with loads of leaflets and information about places to visit and the local area. Although I know the area well anyway as we only live an hour away, we just wanted a little break in the countryside.

The club is a nice relaxed place to sit for a drink of an evening, prices are standard. It cost us 5.15 for a pint of Guinness and a vodka with lemonade.

There are two parks for children, one for under 5's and one for under 12's and also a playing field with goalposts and lots of space to run around and play games. We don't have children but I can imagine they would be happy to play here.

All the staff were very friendly and all said good morning etc, even the chappy watering the hanging baskets at 7am whilst I was in my PJ's on the way to the loo!

Short walkable distance to lovely Bakewell and we also took a drive into nearby Buxton too and spent the day in the town and walking around the surrounding areas.

The midweek 8 per night offer at Greenhills is excellent.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mstandish1 4 reviews from this member

This was our second time camping at this site, it's a great site with brilliant facilities the toilets are always clean and tidy and I've never had to queue for them, and the water is always hot. The on site bar is a warm and welcoming area with plenty of seats. The two children's playground's are excellent for keeping the kids entertained.

We never used the shop on site but did browse the shelves and was very well stocked and as it's not too far away from any major supermarkets you'll never really run out of anything

It's right in the heart of the peak district so it's great for exploring the surrounding area, with Matlock & Chatsworth estate not being too far away.

Definitely be returning

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

Beautiful location, clean site, friendly people working there and excellent facilities. We arrived on Saturday and although the site was busy, we were shown our pitch and the facilities. Our pitch was a 'hardstanding' which was great but difficult to get the pegs in.

The area is outstanding and we'll definitely be going here again. So, quickly, the pros and cons, (because we have to have some).

Pros - excellent facilities, very clean and never had to queue once.

Nice bar which also served coffee during the day

Nice shop with reasonable stock

Like I said, very friendly staff

Although there was a rally and an act on at the pub/bar, no noise or disturbance after 11pm.

Cons - errr, let me see, mmmm, oh yes, showers very 'snug' for a large person like myself and possibly could have been advised about rock pegs. I'm only nitpicking because I really enjoyed my weekend there and will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blue27 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Greenhills Holiday Park with 2 of my children who are in their early twenties, one of their partners and my 1 year old grandaughter. This is the first time we have stayed on this site and will be going back.

Excellent facilities, clean and well maintained, I was impressed by the prices in the little shop, many items were cheaper than I had paid in big stores in Sheffield.

The down side for me was the noise that went on untill after 1pm, although there is a 11pm noise curfew no one seemed to have any desire to implement it.

The bar is open until 11pm so I don't see how you can expect quite when people are only just finishing drinking? When we go again we will go mid week when hopefully it will be quieter.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gixxer11 5 reviews from this member

Have just spent four nights on this very good site, arrived and was shown our pitch and given a good detailed and friendly 'what's where' etc, site was very nice, lots of places in easy reach matlock, bakewell and the fantastic dovedale.

One minor complaint! towels ran out a couple of times in the gents and no toilet sanitiser, which is a good idea but no use if they're empty! all in all very good.

We had a bit of noise monday from a couple of car door slamming middle aged juveniles playing music and swearing till late but we complained and they were much quieter,

The only other complaint is a general one concerning all campsites, why do you put the showers and toilets in the same block? personally I don't like to smell and hear people on the lav when I'm trying to shower. Good site 8/10. Wont be going back because there are so many to try!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cs4269 1 review from this member

Just spent the bank holiday weekend at Greenhills with 18 friends. Can't recommend the site enough, friendly staff on booking and check in. We were shown to our pitches which were very well looked after nice short grass, and, after a wet day on Saturday, obviously very well drained.

The playground and football field are great for the kids we hardly saw them at all, other than for food and drinks!

Toilets and showers were always clean and well maintained despite the site being so busy.

Pub is small but adequate, Bakewell just a 5 min drive with plenty of pubs and shops.

Will definitely be back again

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Erjcc 2 reviews from this member

A great family campsite. Very friendly staff who were very helpful. The toilets / showers were clean and modern, the only downside is that the showers were quite small and with a 3 year old in with me I found it very difficult!

The shop well stocked and good value for money. The pub is great right next to the children's play area so we could keep our eye on the kids whilst enjoying a relaxing drink.

There is also a field for the kids to play on too (ball games, kite flying, etc.) and an enclosed dog walk area which our dog loved to bits.

Close to the lovely Bakewell where we went for Sunday Lunch in a child & dog friendly pub which was ideal(Castle Inn) and food was nice & 2 meals for 9.95.

A great all round campsite we will be returning!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and I think we'll be regulars, when we need a local weekend away.

We picked a very sunny weekend and the site look almost full however all the facilities coped very well under the strain. The staff were helpful, toilets clean (although shower cubicles very Small). On site pub and shop on site were also good and there looked to be plenty of space and play areas for kids.

My only criticism would be the pitches for caravans are very close together, room for van, awning and car and that's it. The site itself is very well maintained.

Location is good with good short walks along the river into both Bakewell and Ashford recommended.

We paid an extra 2 to stay on site till 6pm Sunday which is a great idea that I wish more sites did.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fidius 3 reviews from this member

Just had a weekend break away here not to far as I live in Sheffield. Firstly it's only a mile from Bakewell, so you can walk it quite easy.

The campsite entrance is quite a long narrow road so if you are in a motorhome or caravan watch for oncoming traffic. There are speed bumps on your way in, these are quite high. As you go in you have caravans to the left along with static holiday homes and to the right are the tent sections, about 3 fields.

There is a very nice bar on-site with a selection of beers and more, this is open until 11pm everyday through high season and Fri / Sat / Sun during low season.

The shower / toilet blocks are very clean and modern although the shower cubicles are small they are nice and modern. There is also a shop on-site selling basic over priced supplies, so shop off-site to save money.

There are two playgrounds for the kids one for bigger children and one for smaller children. The camping fields were very busy when I was there and that's just April so book early.

They do a hot drinks takeaway which is cool if you want a quick cuppa and cant be bothered with putting the stove on. The views from the campsite are great and the staff are very friendly.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redtenter 1 review from this member

Just got back from a 3 night stay at Greenhills, have to say the site is perfectly placed it is just a 20-30 min walk into Bakewell. Our group was mixed, with 12 adults & 5 children and we all managed to have a great time. Play area for the children was great, large pitch to play football on.

As mentioned in other reviews the toilet & shower areas are kept very clean with plenty of hot water. However, when getting dressed after your shower it can be a bit challenging due to the small space.

The Campsite was very busy (Sat 17/04/010) and did seem to struggle a little with the amount of people in the bar in the evening, still it was a very pleasant atmosphere.

We would definitely go back to Greenhills, staff very pleasant and helpful.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019