Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie > Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite > Reviews

Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite
Hoddom
Ecclefechan
Lockerbie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG11 1AS
Tel: 01576 300251
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 91
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 142 Reviews
                8/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flump67 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site through recommendation from uk campsite reviews and was not disappointed. This was our second time camping hoping to be better than the first & it definitely was.
Hoddam is the perfect site for a family camping hol. We stayed here from Mon to Fri and enjoyed every minute of it even the heavy downpour we had on Tues night, but I guess thats the fun of camping, so I'm told.
This site has everything you could want. Upon arrival the staff were extremely inviting & friendly giving us good info about the site and a nice brochure about things to do in the area. We were given 2 keys upon a refundable £10 deposit to access the toilets & laundry facilities which were absolutely immaculate. Plenty of toilets, showers & wash cubicles in both men & ladies and very clean. Although we didnt use the laundry (refuse to do washing on hols) we peeked in to find 2 washers, a big dryer, ironing board + iron & big sinks and hot water for washing up. 
On our first night we decided to try the Take away on site which we found to be very reasonable £2.50 for cheeseburger & chips. There was a bit of a wait but didnt mind as food was home made and piping hot on receipt. We also ate in the bar as restaurant quite busy. The staff here were also extremely helpful & again prices good £2.20 for pint of lager. I had lasagne on last night which for £6 was cracking. Totally home made with huge portion of chips, garlic bread & side salad, who needs a cooking stove when the facilites are this good.
As for our pitch we had the middle of the field and masses of space even when the pitches around began to fill through the week. One great thing which I must mention is the wardens on the site who are extremely vigilant in dealing with any matters, one of which we encountered of someone allowing their dog to foul without cleaning up afterwards, all dogs are kept on leads & many bins provided.
Really I could go on waffling about this site for days as it really is superb, would like to see the castle renovated for a future visit. So folks please go & give this place a try. It is cracking & you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hutchies123 8 reviews from this member

 What can I say that has not already been said?! This site is fantastic - the best we have stayed at. Try it - you will NOT be disappointed.
 
Toilets - immaculate
Pitch sizes - spot on
Kid's park - they loved it
Club House - great atmosphere
Shop - well stocked and not overpriced
Staff - welcoming, informative and pleasant
 
I wish all sites were at this standard. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Runlog 1 review from this member

 Just came home from this site, it is a really nice site.  The toilets and shower blocks are very clean, there is a little shop, a park for the kids and a games room. There is a bar and a restaurant and a take away, they do electric hook-up and non electric. The staff were friendly and helpful Will go back here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gmc2508 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights at the Hoddom Castle site and we would definitely recommend this. It was certainly a 5* site in our opinion.

We called ahead to book our pitch although one or two were still available. We were camping and 30 pitches were available (plus around 12 others with electric hook-up). The pitches were ideally located near the shop, toilets, showers, games room, bar and restaurant.

The staff at the site were courteous and helpful - and well-prepared. We knew that we would be arriving after 8pm to the site and the staff prepared a "welcome pack" including map, brochure and keys to the shower block ahead of our visit.

The pitch was pre-allocated - this saved us the hassle of wondering where to set up! Ideal for indecisive folks like us, but perhaps not for those with broader horizons!

The shower block and toilet suite were immaculate. Around 12 toilets were open in the Ladies, with two sinks. In an adjacent area, about 7 showers (cubicles, free hot water) and around 7 handbasins (also in cubicles - a nice touch) were clean and provided an excellent washpoint. A bath was also available for a small deposit. Facilities were also available for disabled persons but we did not require these so cannot comment upon them.

The washing-up area comprised three sinks with immediate hot-water, an iron & board (coin-op) and a washer-drier. The on-site shop was small but well stocked with rolls, milk and drinks - all the suual basic provisions (and ice-cream - we were very fortunate with the weather!).

As well as the obviously beautiful setting for a campsite (the grounds of Hoddom Castle), a 9-hole golf course was to be found on-site (£10-£12 depending on time/date of visit). We did not play but the ground looked well-kept.

For those with no interest in golf, the region immediately surrounding the site has very nice places for walks (we found a brochure in the on-site shop indicating walks around Hoddom). Further afield, there were many places to visit, including Annan, Dumfries, Caerlaverock Castle etc. More information on these and other activites/sites of interest can be found on the Dumfries and Galloway tourist board website.

We would thoroughly recommend this campsite for couples, families, those with dogs. We wandered around the area with the caravans and it looked a little cramped, but the camping area provided plenty of space. We fully intend to revisit this site and we hope that our second visit will be as pleasant as our first! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazcroz 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a couple of times now as we use it as a starting point for touring Scotland. I do not have a bad thing to say about this site. It is absolutely superb in all ways. The toilets and bathroom areas ware pleasant and clean. Highly recommended!  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zxn1ner 2 reviews from this member

 First time me and the missus went camping with our two children. Have to say the location is excellent. It has a good bar and restaurant, nice 9 hole golf course and allows for some fantastic walking. The walk along the River Annan is particularly picturesque. The kids loved it ,especially as it had marker posts stating what wildlife to look out for.

The weather was glorious for our 3 day stay and this only added to the natural beauty of the surroundings. Quite good little shop that had all the basic necessities, however if you want a quality newspaper, it is best to order as they run out quickly.

Pitches were certainly adequate and the layout allows for plenty of space for the kids (and adults if the mood takes them) to run about mad. The toilets and showers were very clean and the facilities overall were of a very good standard.

Definitely worth a visit and our clan will be returning in a couple of months. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northern angel 1 review from this member

 This was the third time camping with our children (7 and 4) but the first time with a designated pitch, and electric hook up. The site was excellent, very clean toilet block nearby, and excellent shower facilities a few minutes walk away at the main buildings. The site has 150 pitches and it was very nearly full, yet it never seemed overcrowded. There is a small play area to keep little ones entertained and a number of great walks directly from the site, down rivers, up hills to towers and over fields to an unusual graveyard. There are also a number of castles to visit in the surrounding area, so lots to do for the children. We enjoyed the site so much we have booked to go again in August. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zorro01 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site.  Best I've been to in 20 years.  Facilities spotlessly clean.  Shop small, but prices OK.  Bar great for rugrats and dogs and food. Staff very helpful.  (Car battery was flat when we were ready to leave.  Little man arrived within 10 minutes with battery and jump leads.  He also apologised for noise of grass cutter at 10:00 on Sunday morning.)
 
Only gripe - our tent pitch was just a little bit too far away from the EHU point, which are spaced quite far apart.  However we discovered, as we were leaving, that the site will rent extension leads for free.
 
Summary - people, child and dog friendly.  V good food and drink.  V good facilities.
 
To paraphrase Arnie - We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomanddenise 1 review from this member

 First impressions are of how well laid out and spacious the site looks. It is set out amidst a lovely peaceful setting surrounded by woodland overlooking a small (mainly ruined) castle. The site is very well maintained and looks quite beautiful. The statics and touring van pitches are laid out well around the site and through the trees rather than the lined up regimental look of some sites. It works very well.

Tent pitches (30) are in a large field next to car park at bottom edge of the site, near the shower blocks, shop, bar etc. (cost £10 / night for 2 adults and £1 for children over 7, + £10 refundable deposit for 2 shower block keys). They are well marked and laid out around the perimeter of the field with another half dozen or so pitches down the centre of the field, which, although when we were there, there were only 8 or 9 tents, when it was full you would still have a decent space around you. Some of the pitches at the bottom of the field (to the right) do have a slight slope, but the rest are pretty flat. There is a water outlet in the centre of the field and a large bin next to the car park. A beech hedge about 4 to 5 ft high separates the field from the road around the site. At the far side of the camp field is another field with highland cattle in.

The electric hook up tent pitches (12) are in the top field which is surrounded on 3 sides by large trees so it should be pretty sheltered. It faces onto some well kept static vans and there is a toilet / wash up block near.

The toilets and (free) showers are very clean and the block is heated. Hair dryers are provided (20p).

There are some beautiful walks around the park area and through the woodland. It is set in 10,000 acres so you can walk for miles. They also do bike hire and have a mountain bike trail set out.

Two pool tables and table tennis plus a couple of slot machines are in a games room next to reception, a childrens play area, a small crazy golf, basketball net (by the laundry) and a pay to play (£10 all day) 9 hole golf course. The river Annan runs through bottom of the estate and there is a small lake too if you fancy a bit of fishing. Permits available from reception. The shop sells your basic things like milk bread sweets etc. The bar and restaurant are set in the courtyard of the castle. Bar is nice laid out and friendly with an open fire and I think they sometimes have quiz nights etc. going by the fliers at the bar. There are a few benches outside under an open covered part of the courtyard so it is sheltered to sit out in and the sun shines on it all afternoon and early evening. If you like a fag, that's where you will be. Remember smoking is now banned in enclosed public places in Scotland! We weren't in the restaurant so can't comment. They also do a take away service.

You are allowed to light a BBQ but if it's the disposable ones, ask at the reception and they will give you something to place it on to save scorching the grass.

There are a few places of interest and some other attractions nearby. Lots of leaflets and booklets with the details are available in the information - games room.

This site has a five star rating and won a best in Britain site award in 2000 and in our opinion they deserve it. It really is a lovely place.

Overall we spent a very enjoyable weekend here in really pleasant beautiful surroundings (we even had the sun) and would highly recommend it. We will certainly be back again 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Durham liberty 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip to Hoddom and cannot fault the site. The pitches are large and you never feel as if you are "on top of one another" like other sites. The Toilets and showers were always clean and the washing up facilities are plenty. The playground is ample to keep our 7 & 10 yr old daughters happy there is also cycle hire and games room(pool table n a couple of video games) if that is your thing. The shop has the basics that you would expect (you have to order your paper day in advance) The Pub on site serves great basket meals(Can recommend the beefburger n chips at £2.90 ). For the hardy type there are non electric pitches There is plenty to do around the area and would suggest Mabie Forest and Dalton Pottery are well worth a visit. All in All a site and an area well worth a visit 


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoddom Castle Caravan Park And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lockerbie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement