Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Greensprings Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Greensprings Touring Park > Reviews

Greensprings Touring Park
Rockley Abbey Farm
Rockley Lane
Worsbrough
Barnsley
South Yorkshire   (Browse area)
S75 3DS
Tel: 01226 288298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentguy 8 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from one night on this site and loved it!

We went with my brother and his partner and another couple, who all wanted to try somewhere nearby for their first attempt at camping.

The site is very easy to find. When you arrive, you have to sign in at the office, but there was no one there, so we pitched and were met later to pay (he even gave us a discount as two of our party's tents were only small).

The site is very clean and tidy. We were in the first tent field, which was a very decent size. It led through to another tent field which was as big, again.

We just about had the field to ourselves. So we all pitched in a group in the corner to make the most of the excellent shelter the boundary hedgerows provide.

The toilet facilities were a bit of a mystery, to be honest. There was what appeared to be a fairly modern toilet/shower block, but it was fenced off and we had to use the temporary ones in a sort of portable cabin. They were still clean and tidy, and I assume the site owners were in the middle of a revamp of the main block, which is why we had to use these ones.

Still, they were clean, as I say and the showers had plenty of hot water. 20p for seven minutes. The coin slot is on the outside of the shower, but you can put more than one coin in at once if you think you'll need longer.

The site is dog friendly and everyone we saw on site had their dogs on a lead and cleaned up after them.

For those taking a dog, there is a dog friendly pub about a ten-fifteen minute walk from the site. To get to the pub (The Cock Inn), you turn right out of the site's main gates and walk up the road. The road has no pavements and is a 60mph road with lots of bends in it, so it can be a bit hair raising.However, we found a public footpath on the right hand side that walked through the woods away from the road where we felt safe enough to let our dog off lead so he could run around on our way to the pub.

The Cock Inn has a lovely beer garden (with a small playground for the kids) and a small selection of real ales as well as the usualy tipples.

We didn't eat here, but the menu looked to be reasonably priced, and I think you could eat in the bar area with your dog(s) with you.

All in all, I would recommend this site, and will definitely be staying here, again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Wuds 1 review from this member

 Yet another wonderful quiet relaxing break in a glorious peaceful setting of woodlands and fields. The site is excellent and the toilet / shower facilities are well kept and clean and well serviced. The owners of the site are extremely pleasant and helpful.

We only live a couple of miles away from the site but love escaping to the tranquillity of Green Springs whenever possible.

Wentworth Castle and gardens, shops, petrol, newsagents and 2 public houses close by. Excellent Indian restaurant a short drive away.

Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazzah 1 review from this member

 Took my children camping for a couple of nights with another group of friends.

All the kids enjoyed playing in the spacious field and long grass.

Toilets/showers basic but very clean (showers 20p for 7mins)

Pot washing facilities with hot water in a separate small building.

No on site facilities, but not missed at all, and if anything needed there's shops, eating places, etc, within a short drive. (info on these in the pot wash building)

Nice and quiet and relaxing, would go again.

Friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Huggy253 4 reviews from this member

 I spent 1 night here with my 2 children. Nice site, toilets are dated but clean and they seem to be building a new toilet block. Owner very helpful and pleasant. No on site shops but Supermarket just a short drive away.

If I had to choose a downside it would be a lack of playground but the field is huge and plenty of space for the kids to run around and play games so not that much of an issue. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 nights here booked this site as it's so near the motorway and really just wanted somewhere to break up our journey, the site is very well kept the toilets are clean but very dated but it does look like a new toilet block is being built if this is true it will be a really good site. With plenty of space for the kids to play, but no swings some nice walks just of the site, the warden or owner is lovely man would do anything, overall no complains and will return in the near future to have look around the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarah99 7 reviews from this member

 Booked in at Greensprings because it was near friends. Reception was more efficient than friendly. It feels very much a farm that happens to have a campsite on it and perhaps the work of the farm affects how customers are treated. They looked busy!

However, that would not put us off returning as there is loads of space and a big field for children to play in with long grass around the edges which they loved making dens in.

Toilets were fine and clean with soap and handryer. Showers 20p for 7 minutes and fine. Field was well kept, though not exactly up to caravan club standards - but we don't like those sites that look like suburbia anyway! Lovely trees all around the edge and walks from the site into the grounds of Wentworth Castle, which were very pleasant.

Pot washing room with hot water undercover.

The camping field was big but not very flat so you would need to pick your spot. The countryside was lovely though - rolling fields and woodlands.

So to sum up, if you don't mind the feeling of being on a farm, and want lots of space and nice countryside then this would suit you fine. Very convenient for the M1 Jn 36 and would also make a good stopover. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrea71 5 reviews from this member

 Nicely located site to allow visits to peak district and only 10 mins from Meadowhall so best of both worlds.

Site is made up of a number of small fields, the tent field did seem to get noisy with younger campers enjoying an open fire. This was no problem at all to us as we were in the tourer field which was quiet and shelterd. It is a shame that there is a large ugly grey block built building which looks as though it was intended as new toilet shower block but was never finished it looks as though it has been in that state for a very long time perhaps years. And when in the touring field it is right in front of you so not a pretty view. I would suggest some shrubs and flowers in front of it to cheer it up, there are other areas full of plants and looking pretty so a few moved to that area would make it so much nicer to look out on

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Toilets were not sparkling but did get cleaned daily I think they just got a lot of traffic as there were a lot of visitors, so fair enough. Lovely hot showers and reasonably priced 20ps needed

There are deer in a nearby field and plenty of wildlife to spot in the area too

Quite close to the M1, this didn't bother us, in fact it was a bonus as you could zip onto it to get about really quickly. We did notice the noise after a day or two from the motorway but I think that was because the wind had changed direction, it certainly wasn't annoying.

Nearby attractions we enjoyed: ladybower reservoir, padley gorge, the devils arse and peak cavern, meadowhall.

There are detailed directions to nearby shops etc in the pot washing building which also houses two deep sinks with hot and cold and lots of visitor tourism info.

We would visit again if looking for a site in that specific area. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JimC 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site after reading the positive reviews on uk campsite but came away quite disappointed, mainly due to the condition of the toilet facilities which are well past their best, the showers are tiny (20p for 7 mins), as are the toilet cubicles which makes access difficult. My wife's shower curtain was not wide enough which let water splash onto her clean clothes and towel. Work seems to have stopped on the new block being built.

The pitches are quite large with the bonus of 16amp hook ups, grass cut short and well kept, there are quite a number of seasonal pitches, some using dolomite as the base this for me looked poor.The tenting field was well occupied and also well kept.

There's plenty of space for kids to play and farm tracks to walk along to exercise your dog.

The local pub is a short drive and plenty of shops for your needs nearby, and a trip to Cannon Hall estate is a must,( 8 miles) in particular the farm shop and deli which have the most delicious foods and mostly home made.

All in all we enjoyed our weekend at Greensprings but would not return until better facilities are available including a new elsan point which smelled quite badly. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bingo + Caz 3 reviews from this member

 Although we are local we just wanted a quiet Bank Holiday weekend away from it. We couldn't have picked a better choice. You wouldn't have thought you were only about 1/2 a mile from the M1 as the crow flies and about 2 miles by road. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
The site is very clean throughout with well kept grass. It looks as though there is a new toilet / shower block being built which will greatly enhance the facilities. Although the toilets & showers are well maintained and kept clean they are starting to show their age. Plenty of room and ideal for any families with young children.
There is one field set aside purely as a play area so no chance of any vehicles driving through. The only issue we had was that where the water taps was there was no drain so any water that spilled out etc went into the ground and it became somewhat muddy.
We will certainly return in the future. If you want to venture out into the local area there are plenty of good country walks and nearby villages to explore. For anyone wanting retail therapy the Meadowhall Shopping centre at Sheffield is only a 10 minute drive away down the M1. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gailt 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very local site to us but we needed a weekend away before our wedding and even though its only about 6 miles from home we enjoyed it so much. Very quiet and friendly and plenty of room in between the tents and caravans and lovely walks and countryside, very relaxing,
Will be going back again this year just for the weekends but could easily do a week there. Toilets were very clean and well lit and so were the showers, no complaints on either. Would and have recommended to everyone 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Greensprings Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Greensprings Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Greensprings Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnsley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in South Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4869 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement