Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmalm 1 review from this member

 We visited at the end of July this year, but also went June 2006 as well. This campsite is definitely geared towards families and booking outside school holidays was really cheap I think it cost us 6 a night for family of 3 and one car. Very busy at the weekends and school holidays.

When we arrived on sunday we were advised by the warden to avoid certain areas of the site as they'd been very damp the previous week. We followed their advise which proved to be a good move as we pitched on slightly raised area of the site. On the thursday evening half the camping pitches were under an inch of water and I was told some tents were flooded. To get to the ladies loos required paddling through a huge puddle. We couldn't park the car beside our tent as we had major concerns if we did the car would get stuck. Road into the camping and caravan field was flooded at one point under 3-4 inches of water. We left the following day 2 days early as more rain was forecast.

The toilet block was kept very clean despite the rotten weather and had plenty of loo roll, the family shower room was also very useful. No queues when we went through,but this was probably earlier in the morning than most. I noted that the broken seat in the shower in 2006 was still broken and the only hairdryer that had a broken tube last year had just been stuck back together with gaffer-tape and a cable tie. Water pressure was poor in the showers and the temperature went up and down like a yo-yo.

My 4 year old enjoyed the small soft play area inside, but it is not supervised and we had to pull her out a couple of times because of older children who were too big to be in there knocking her flying. She loved the entertainment in the evenings, but the drinks are expensive and everything is very commercial. All the entertainment seems pointed towards buying something, be it a 'signed' picture of one of the characters, multicoloured torches, bingo tickets etc.

Restaurant food was ok, nothing special and I expect largely pre-prepared, on the pricey side for the quality. Breakfast was cheap and plenty of it, much better value.

Onsite shop is well stocked and not too overpriced for staples, some fresh and frozen stuff. They also have some camping basics like tent pegs . But if you want something a bit nicer would recommend Booths supermarket in Ulverston.

When we booked the opening hours of the swimming pool quoted were much longer than is actually the case, the hours they quote include the static caravan owners exclusive times and the sessions for various activites, so the actual free swimming times are half what they quote.

Both years we went to the South Lakes Wildlife Park using our Tescos Vouchers.This is a fantastic family day out! Lemurs run wild all over the park and there is feeding time with them and the penguins where visitors help with the feeding. You can buy a bag of food for 50p for the numerous birds from ducks to emus and the wallabies and kangaroos. The cafe has a raise viewing platform over the giraffe and rhino enclosure.

Also recommend the steam train from Haverthwaite to Lakeside and boat to Bowness. You can get combined tickets offering a good saving.

We love the Lakes and would definitely go back again, but not to this site. We've been two years primarily due to the cheap price and it being family friendly. But the flooding of the site and lack of any visible staffing or advice during this period was very disappointing. There also appears to be a lack of ongoing maintence in the shower and loo block with items you would expect to be replaced still remaining broken. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamcolly 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights when there was severe weather warnings. It rained heavily for the whole time, but amazingly the pitch wasn't too water logged. It was great that we had the entertainment and swimming pool thrown in. This was our third stay, we love the relaxed feel of the site. We would highly recommend, especially at the off peak prices. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Suzan111 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of Havens static caravans as our tent is too large for Havens pitches (and we could pay with tesco vouchers!)

Caravan was lovely but I was unimpressed with the site, considering it was supposed to be a David Bellamy award site.
We stayed in half term, but I've stayed on other Haven sites and didn't have the same over crowding issues.

Never managed to get into the indoor pool as it was always too full, and its only open 10-12 and 2-4 for non caravan owners so not ideal if you want to go out for the day. They were cleaning and still getting the open air pool ready when we arrived but as we never went to the complex in the day never saw if it was open.

The entertainment complex is small as is the childrens play area, when you look at the brochure it seems it has all the facilities as other sites but the food bar and aqua bar are actual the same place just different counters.

They've only got the one entertainment room, not the two like other sites which was too small to accomodate everyone plus with people smoking in there didn't stay too long. Just went 6.30 to 7 to see the Rory Characters as my children are young and did love them.

However the location of the site was good , as its on the peninsula the weather is better than in the lakes, we had lovely weather just one afternoon of drizzle despite the weather forecasts of the worst bank holiday weekend in a while.

Grange of sands has a nice promanade ( no beach) but there's not much there. Site is in the village of Flookburgh and there's some nice pubs in the village but they do get busy, nearest beach we found was about a 50 min drive away.

South Lakes Zoo was fab , about 40 mins from park, didn't get to the local hall that was supposed to be good as they were preparing for an annual show. Windermere 20 min drive away, the aquarium at the lakes was good but expensive 7.50 per adult and we'd gone around in an hour. Nice little boat ride across the lake to a small National trust Park. I liked Boweness
There's a lovely Cafe at Coniston lake. The winderemere visitor centre is a good half/ full day out with plenty to do for the kids and nice cafe. Ulveston town just a town but a nice walk to the tower on the hill.

 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Queensbishop5 1 review from this member

 Arrived bank holiday weekend with our rather large tent to be told that the tenting areas were rather full. This was an understatement. After searching around without a warden in sight (he appeared once the tent was up) we found a space we could just about fit the tent in - not ideal as encroaching on 3 other tents space.

Toilet/shower blocks are not too bad. Have to get in before 7.30am to avoid a queue (not sure if this is the same for the gentlemen folk).

Camp shop is quite well stocked and not too over priced. Fine for emergencies though. Has an in-store bakery which sells bacon sandwiches and croissants etc if you can't be bothered making breakfast!

We ventured into the entertainment area only once, on the first night. It's much like a working men's club which really isn't my scene. Be warned, drinks are expensive and you have to get through the labyrinth of the arcade before you can get in anywhere. If your kids are into gambling, I'd give it a miss. Outside play area for the kids (free). Next to to this is a bouncy castle and a trampoline (1.50 for 15 minutes).

Didn't see much in the area for entertaining the children. Didn't see a Haven rep all week - not sure if there even was one.

We were woken up a couple of nights by wandering drunks shouting/swearing/singing! Other campers were shouting for them to shut up. I think they were turfed off the campsite next day. These were teenagers which there seems to be lots of at busy times - loitering around the site (see above for noisy campers).

Frank, the warden, is a really nice guy and is really helpful (that's if you can find him).

There is lots to do around this area and Windermere and Grizedale is a 40 minute drive, so it's a great base for exploring.

However, I doubt I'll use Haven again as it's really not our cup of tea. It's like Butlins minus the chalets. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackson5 1 review from this member

 What a great time we had on this site. This was our 2nd camping hol and it was a bank holiday and it was brill ! The playground got the thumbs up by our kiddies as too did the ball pit. The warden was a lovely friendly man who took pride in his job and did his upmost to ensure the facilities were kept clean. We shall be going back as the whole group we were with thought it was fab.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Touring Mad 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site last year in our folding camper, and to say the least it was horrendous. No drainage and it rained all week so we where wet all week. Awning 6" under water. Dirty toilets, facilities etc.,
Entertainment was really for small children and my teenagers thought it was all a little dated. We were not impressed with the site its in need of a good makeover. Hopefully a better arrival system too and warden to be seen on arrival and not just find yourself a pitch anywhere you can, which at really busy times could take up to half an hour to find the one pitch left. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saints13 7 reviews from this member

 Booked for 2 nights at Lakeland but seeing the fantastic weather booked an extra night. Good sight not packed in as we had previously thought. Plenty of room around each tent. New camping field will be welcomed when the grounds have settled. Was offered to pitch on this site but not to take vehicle on but declined. Other campers took up the offer but still parked the car on the grass - have a bit of respect! Facilities are adequate - would have expected more from a site like this. This is not the fault of the warden, the toilet block was cleaned regularly - it is probably down to the kids throwing wet toilet roll and the adults bringing dogs into the toilet block - and no I am not joking. No plugs for hairdryers etc - okay if you have a caravan but what about us campers! All in all not a bad site. Obviously plenty to do on the site and only 10 minutes drive from the wonderful Cartmel and Holker Hall. Give it a go if you are up that way. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: GraemeStuart99 11 reviews from this member

 This is a small site for a Haven park. The touring field is flat but very uninspiring, we pitched and then booked in only to be told on the day we where leaving that we had not pitched in the right direction and could we move it - Lucky we where leaving that day or I would have had to move the whole unit. (bare in mind there was no warden there when we arrived so we did not know which way to pitch) some other people where not so lucky and had to move - they where not happy.

Toilet blocks small and after a while get very dirty - get in early!

The main complex was good - small but enjoyable pool, good entertainment for the kids, good food in the bar.

Very noisy at night till about midnight - 1am

Overall not to bad but wont be going back. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lewismj29 3 reviews from this member

 Came this way in 2005.

Decided to book here for a weekend stay,when we couldn't go elsewhere.

Thought the weekend prices were pricey, even in the low season.

I liked the location, although prior to our visit,it was under two inches of water.The site drained suitably quickly and caused no problems.

Thought most things about the site were expensive although convenient.

Have to say it was a bit ' Hi de hi!' for me, perhaps a bit too commercial for my tastes.Probably quite good to entertain kids, if you have a large bank account!

There was a very helpful warden on the site at the time of the visit. The toilets were plentiful but really looked a bit 'tired' and in need of a makeover.

This site is close to the sea, but sadly offers no true direct access to the briney.

If you can see over the fence, you can see.Heysham docks in the distance!

Nice walk for your doggy and plentiful horse riding facilities if you are an equestrian.

Quite liked the site, but wouldn't bust a gut to go again, unless passing the gate. 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clarky213 11 reviews from this member

 Just Spent 4 nights at lakeland, not impressed.

Arrived wednesday 1pm, no Warden around. Phoned security as instructed on wardens caravan, was told to pick a pitch, then check in at main reception with pitch No. Picked what looked like a decent flat pitch and set up.

Started to rain about 2pm, by 8pm awning was 3 inches under water right through.By next morning it was 6 inches deep. Absolutely no drainage at all. Whole field looked like Lake Windermere, completely flooded.

Awning was out of bounds for rest of stay, had to buy some wellies just to get in and out of van.

Did think of moving, but nowhere else on field available that wasn't in same condition.

What made it more surprising was that people were still arriving on Friday & Saturday and being allowed on.

Certainly will not be returning here unless in the middle of a heatwave.

The warden did however, try and keep the toilets clean as much as he could, hard work with all the mud around. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement