Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie worden 1 review from this member

We picked this site because of the sea views and close proximity to Scarborough, Whitby and Robin Hood bay.

The site itself was clean and the on site chippy was really good value and very tasty. It was reasonably priced and because of this was busy.

However the toilet and shower facilities were unclean and left a lot to be desired. We stayed for two nights and the toilets were only cleaned once.

The showers were few and far between and one camper reported they were 'grim'

There was only two electrical sockets in the ladies toilets which meant long queues to dry and straighten hair.

Lighting would also be a bonus on the field where the tents where pitched. The field was on a cliff top.

The playground for the children was nice and clean.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thecraftymonkey 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site spoiled by grossly inadequate facilities. Mid week the toilet and showers are fine. However, at busy weekends and Bank Holidays, the campsite is full to bursting, and the facilities simply can't cope. There are long queues for both toilets and showers. The toilets didn't flush, so beca

me disgusting. The entertainment in the club is excellent, and bar prices not too bad. The adult comedian is not for the faint hearted- very course. The swimming pool is small, but lovely and warm. The fish and chips are lovely, and reasonably priced.

You can walk from the campsite, along the headland to Cayton Bay (approx 45 mins), and Filey the other way (approx 1 and a half hours). The camping fields are very exposed, so get very windy. Lots of campers had tent poles broken, and a gazebo got blown over the cliff.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumtoboris 1 review from this member

Quite a pleasant site spoiled by insufficient number of toilets and showers for 2 fields of tents plus a field full of tourers.I don't relish standing in long queues for a shower only to find the hot water has run out before I get a shower.

The children's play area is up near the top of the field-too near the cliff for my peace of mind. It means that you have to go with the children even when they are of an age where they would normally be safe to go by themselves.

Shop was well stocked and open for long hours.

The chippy was good value for money and chips well cooked.

The wifi hot spot isn't good value since you can only use it in the conservatory so if you pay for two days you are very unlikely to use it more than a couple of hours.

Also be warned if the weather forecast is for high winds it whips down from the top of the cliff with considerable force-saw lots of tents ruined this weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marklfc23 1 review from this member

Easy booking in on arrival, easy access to the tent pitches. Lots of access to choose where to pitch up. Toilets and showers a short walk away from tent pitches showers were warm and toilets clean. Shop at entrance of site has everything you need and is reasonably priced. Chippy the same. The entertainment in the club house was good and the prices are very reasonable. The swimming pool is good for the kids and cheap at 2 quid for a day pass. All in all a very good camp site will be back at end of august

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie69 1 review from this member

We have just returned from spending 3 nights here, and it been our first experience at camping!

Having kids aged 15, 7 and 5 months wanted somewhere suitable for all!

You can pitch your tent where ever you want!

Plenty of room even though was busy.

Was windy though Thursday night and a few of smaller tents having trouble been blown about but we had no problem at all.

Friendly and helpful staff through out the site!

Shower block and toilet were NOT to far away (in fairness only at night in pitch black) apart from that they were always clean, water always hot and also hot water to wash pots at all times.

Kids play area is good size and kids spent lot time in afternoon there.

Shop well stocked and cheap. Chip shop ok. Have local delivery from a pizza shop as always had flyers left near tent.

The pool we never used so no comment on that what we saw looked ok but small but for 2 what you expect :)

Amusements arcade has bout 15 machines in but my kids not interested anyway.

Club was small but ample size for size of site!

Cheap enough beer and drinks.Entertainment fantastic for us and kids. No silly red coats squealing and screaming with the kids :)

Big conservatory area too so can sit out there, also still hear entertainment while sat out in it.

A pub not far away about 3 mins drive that served meals. Seems nice enough.

Massive car boot on a sunday just down the road from site.

Scarborough not far away, neither is bridlington or filey.

All in all we enjoyed the whole stay at crows nest and definitely going again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Samp5679 2 reviews from this member

We booked and paid for this site for a duration of 9 nights and only stayed 5 (with no refund)

Upon arrival the check in was straightforward then we were directed to our pitch which was shockingly small.

The tourers are parked side by side and back to back,so much so that when we got our awning up our windows of awning were side by side to neighbours and the only grassed space left was were we were to park our car,,which then had another caravan just a bodys width away.

The neighbours behind had 3 dogs and one was tethered in between our 2 awnings,and decided to use our awning as if it was his own lamppost. The awning was new and after 5 days and a lot of wee stains we decided to leave, we did not blame the neighbours as if they had more grassed area (instead of being crammed in) the whole incident would never of happened.

The swimming pool was nice which was the only good point.

Wfi was only available to use whilst sat in conservatory.

The chip shop was good value for money and the shop was reasonable

The children's play area looked nice although my children didn't play there as they felt it was too far away from our site (near tent field)

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kibblerman 2 reviews from this member

A quick review on camping on this park.

Good things about this park:-

No restrictions or pitch markings (pitch where you like!)

Great for kids, playground within tenting field

Designated dog area.

Regular on site entertainment, the band we saw was pretty good.

Indoor heated pool with slide at only a couple of quid for a day pass.

Reasonable beer prices

Onsite chippy!

Things we wernt so keen on:-

Overly busy at high peak time, only one tenting field, although it was big, there were lots of tents crammed together, a bit like a festival when we turned up.

Toilets and shower block too far away from tenting area.Or am I just lazy? bit of a pain in the night.

Showers a bit small and cramped and general tidiness of the shower/toilet block were a bit unkempt.

Not enough washing up huts, there was only one with three sinks causing a fair bit of queuing. Also needed to time it right or the water could run out, this could have been due to it been excessively busy to be fair.

One way traffic system around the park, not clearly marked and mostly ignored

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andydon 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights during a hot weather spell in August in a tent. This was our first time camping and we picked the site as it had an on site bar and indoor swimming pool so seemed great for my young son.

On arrival check in was fine and the site seemed ok. Travelled up to the tent area and was unable to find any flat ground at all so ended up pitching the tent on a fairly steep slope as far away from the children's play area as possible.

The toilet and shower block was fairly clean but was a bit far away from the tent site and you had to walk around a number of caravans to get to it. We did not try the bar but the on site fish and chip shop served good quality fish and chips at a reasonable price.

Also the indoor swimming pool was fun with a small slide for younger children to use. The children's play area was quite big and the facilities in good working area.

The whole place is set up for families and we should have had a great weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchellscamping 6 reviews from this member

Really not my cup of tea, tent field was packed with no space at all, noise into the early hours.

I was looking for a campsite near Scarborough, for just one night as I was visiting friends and did not want to impose on them. This looked OK and was on the right side of the town.

I am a seasoned camper having stayed at campsites all over Scotland England and France. I thought this would be ideal, could get a pint at the pub, sea view.

Inadequate toilets for the massive amount of people, felt very claustrophobic and uncomfortable. This is not a peaceful or relaxing site

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

Our review, as usual, is based upon our party being made up of myself (Dad), the wife and our two lads aged 10 & 8 and our Dog.

Directions to Crow's Nest are easy to follow and road side signs indicate Crow's Nest Caravan Park location and entrance.

Check-In is straight forward and pitch number is allocated pre-arrival. Everything we wished to enquire about was answered by knowledgeable staff.

Pitching was 50/50. When the touring field is busy, as it was this weekend due to Karate gathering taking place nearby, there is very little room to allow even the best driver to reverse perfectly as neighbouring vans A-Frames are almost overhanging the roadway.

Once our van was sited and our tow car parked, we where glad we had not brought our full awning as the pitches are very tight sideways and not much better to the front and rear. By the time we left, we had a van less than 2 meters to our rear.

The dog walk is not fence off but is shield on 2 sides from other campers and although dog bins are provided, they were overflowing on our first night.

I tried to find the cliff walk as shown on the map provided but although I think I found the path, I turned back as there are 3-4 foot brambles either side of the small path so did not fancy cuts on my arms.

The touring field shower blocks were always clean, always warm and free to use. However, please warn your children that the wash basin taps maybe scalding hot as there is no warning of this and I got caught out expecting the water to warm up.

We did use the entertainment block but the Friday night was far to loud and we retired back to our van. There is a small games room on site but there are mainly arcade machines here and my two spent less than 10 minutes here.

The swimming pool was nice. Its just the right size for the site in general and was clean and warm.

There is a good big grass area to the front of the site where ball games can be played and it most likely one of the biggest games fields I have seen on a private site.

Lighting is good while not being too much to annoy you at bed time.

We found the general attitude of the touring folk to be warm and friendly and overall, I was surprised at how much we enjoyed this park.

Crows Nest is ideal for visiting Scarborough, Filey and even Bridlington & Whitby on longer stays.

I would be quite happy to re-visit the park one day, but we are already booked up till 2011.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019