Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BarneyC 1 review from this member

 The first camping trip for our family and so we chose the C&CC Canterbury site as it was only 50 min down the road and we knew the area for kid friendly fun.

Arrived a tad early (11:25) but was greeted warmly by Scott (site manager) who as first time campers and new members was most helpful.

Lovely site, well groomed and the layout suited us as a family fairly well.

We ended up on pitch 79 in a small grassy nook with another tent about 20 yards from the lower shower block, which is starting to look pretty tired to be honest (tip for blokes - don't bother with far end shower it's a trickle compared to others). That said they were cleaned at least three times a day and brilliantly convenient for us.

Playpark is a little to big for our 2 year old who is convinced he's 6 and can go everywhere his big brother can. But plenty of other kids around for company.

Don't stress about the power line issue - it really isn't that bad at all.

There is a fair bit of road noise first thing on weekday mornings from all those poor souls not on holiday commuting into town but otherwise a quiet enough spot.

Finally anyone with a fear of rabbits should avoid as come sundown the place transforms into Watership Down with dozens of them running around (do use a door mat otherwise rabbit poo makes a right mess of a tent carpet).

A good start to camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cat T 6 reviews from this member

 We came for a 2 night stay and loved it. The site is beautifully maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. The children enjoyed the playground and especially building camps in the woods just behind the swings. All the facilities were very clean and the location is perfect - the bus stops just outside the campsite or you can walk into the City centre in about 25 minutes. The pitches are unmarked but the warden is very strict about maintaining a 6 metre gap between tents which he rigidly enforces but in a nice way!

The site has a very relaxed feel and is a great base to explore Canterbury and the surrounding areas. We'll definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Qazq1256 1 review from this member

 Like many other C&C sites, this one follows the same trend. Lovely site with very nice staff. The shop was very nice, with it selling and promoting some local produce - would recommend the locally produced apple juice, very nice!

The facilities on the site, like other people have said, are a little dated and could do with some modernization. However, I found it very nice to go for a shower without having to wait in a queue. Not once is the five days were all 5 showers occupied so very nice. Only bit of criticism is about the toilet cubicles. I was a bit confused to why, in the Gents, there were 5 showers but only 4 toilet cubicles, which meant the chances of having to wait for a toilet cubicle was bigger. Also I didn't like the idea of having the toilets and showers directly next to each other - possibly a bit off-putting at times.

Putting that aside however, the site as a whole compensates for that small issue and it's definitely a site I recommend anyone visiting. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TERRYSR 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just over a week, with several days on my own as the other half had to return home for work . The site was very well kept although busy . Pitches didn't stay empty for very long ! We were on a pitch very close to the pylons at the end of the site and the other side of a hedge from the over night parking area.

Overall the staff were very friendly and very much enjoyed the visit. The pylons didn't bother us but the constant stream of motorcaravans and caravans that used the overnight parking area did . I don't believe that many of the campers perhaps realised that there were caravans just the other side of the hedge ! Late departures and early arrivals disturbed us on a number of occasions despite windows being closed . I would recommend the site but would advise anyone who was staying for several days and was a light sleeper to ask for a pitch further into the site .

Lots of rabbits who were obviously very used to people and dogs ! Lovely to sit in the van and watch them.

I would definitely go back to the site and felt very safe on my own for the days whilst the other half was at work and I was on my own . 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leslthor 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at this site. We were shown to what was said to be the part of the site which had the most sunshine, and boy was the warden right. We were concerned about the overhead power lines but soon forgot they were there.

This is a lovely site with plenty of space and 2 clean toilet/shower blocks, we never had to queue even when there was a party of school kids in the bottom field.

The wardens were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

It was our first visit to Canterbuy and we will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tawny 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in May 09. The wardens were friendly and helpful (even though I left my purse at home so did not have my membership card). We were shown to a lovely big pitch where we were very happy. The toilets and showers were spotless if a little narrow. There was a small shop selling essentials and lots of leaflets in the info section.

I would recommend this as an excellent base for exploring Kent, we found many things to do within an easy driving distance. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Kent in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swinpalms 1 review from this member

 A very nice site, and staff all very helpful.

There was a guy riding round on a bike making sure that tents were no closer than 6 metre apart(for fire risk) which was fair enough, but when we were told that a wind break also had to be 6 metres away from the tents because of fire risk (we had only put it up to keep the children away from the bbq) it seemed a bit silly.

Anyway the facilities are all very clean, and we would go back, but it's certainly not a free and easy pitch where you like attitude!

There's a nice little park area, and a den in the woods which the children loved. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steven harvey 5 reviews from this member

 First time staying at this site. We had a tent and visited during half term with our 2 children aged 9 and 11 and stayed for 5 nights.

The site is very well kept, beautiful and green with lots of trees and wildlife (particularly bunnies!) Pitches were spacious. A mixture of hard standing and grass. We were in a tent and were shown to a pitch with plenty of sun and space around for children to play. We had requested to be pitched away from any pylons, as we had heard about them on a previous review, but they weren't really an issue from anywhere on site I would say.

I agree with the previous comment about showers. They were fine, but we found them to be a little cramped, especially if you needed to take children in with you! My husband said the water pressure was variable in the gents showers but when he tried the other shower block he reported that they were better. It wasn't a huge problem though and they were always clean when we went in.

The wardens were always friendly, helpful and happy to help.

Shop was ok. Variety a bit basic but nice fresh eggs, bread and bacon from local sources. Recommend the locally bottled apple juice. I've ever tasted!

The shop also does freezer ice packs at 50p + 1.00 deposit, something we didn't realise till nearer the end of our stay.

Had some great days out:-

Canterbury. Lovely shops, restaurants, cathedral (a bit pricey at 21 for a family, but good) and a small cinema for any wet days! We drove there (7 to park all day) but it was walkable!

Dover Castle. Great day out for kids of all ages. Lots of tunnels to explore and bits to climb!

Sandwich. Very pretty olde worlde town on the river.

Whitstable. Famous for its shellfish (oysters), quirky shops and beach.

All in all, we came back rested and relaxed and would not hesitate to visit Canterbury Camping and Caravan Park again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cherl889 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights and it was the first time we had ever used a camping and caravan club site. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and even show you to your pitch.
The site itself is lovely and has a relaxed friendly feel, the weather was also great which always helps. The previous comments about the showers may be true but they are clean and serve the purpose for which they are provided.
I cannot recommend this site enough, great location close to canterbury, no doubt we will return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaziwal 2 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for one night not having pre-booked and was not our first choice. Was pleasantly surprised. A lovely site with extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Toilet facilities were clean and tidy. My only criticism would be the dog walk which was very short to say the least. Would be ok for older dogs or dogs which don't need much exercising. Lots of bunnies running around - not good for my staffie who wanted to chase them!
Didn't venture outside the camp so can't comment on nearby facilities. All in all had a lovely time but would not go back if I were taking my dog with me. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56640 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement