Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York House Hotel And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Whitby > York House Hotel And Caravan Park > Reviews

York House Hotel And Caravan Park
Back Lane
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4LW
Tel: 01947 880354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 121 to 129                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon963 8 reviews from this member

 A wonderful, clean site with very nice owners who rang the AA when we locked our keys in the car (even though we interrupted their tea, sorry), just watch out for Mr Grumpy the litter picker-upper. The showers are free, hot and clean and so are the toilets, £5 deposit for the key which you get back (if you don't lose it).

The tent areas are very secluded and well maintained with electric and water points close by. The play area has just 4 swings and is in the middle of the caravan field but it could do with being up dated. We've never been back to a site but we will definitely return here lots more to see and do in Whitby. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cwynnjackson 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fun few days with family group, with 4 tents, 6 adults and 8 children. Arrived early but was told we could pitch no problems.

Also site has a hotel for the less hardy which ment our parents could also join in the fun

Toilets clean and nicely furnished,only 4 showers but never a queue, pot wash clean, mens toilets had odd smell and strobing light I am reliably informed.

Play park just swings but plenty of space in field for games, we had our own sports day.

All in all a nice family friendly site will recommend to friends and return myself. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Peteandtrace 3 reviews from this member

 Whitby is a great area. Loads to do and very picturesque. Kids love it.

Stayed on this site for 3 nights, bank hol weekend. Pleasant enough, not particularly made pretty, but pitches good size and flat. Toilet block looked new.

First night fine. Second night, all the electricity went off for over two hours. A member of staff came round and said we were all using halogen heaters too much and it had tripped the electricity. We sat in our trailer tent and froze. Eventually it came back on. A member of staff came round and said we all had to keep consumption very low or it would happen again like it did last Easter??! Next morning, it went off again. Member of staff reset it with a key. 3rd night, I put our halogen heater on, (one of only two electrical appliances we were using). A member of staff came round checking up on people, looked into our tent, and came up to the window and said we had to turn it down low, or it would trip. Again, said it was caused by campers using halogen heaters too much, inferring it was not their problem. I turned it down but was annoyed, as we only had a draughty trailer tent not a warm caravan and felt we may have needed heating more than others. An hour later a different member of staff came past to check campers were keeping everything turned low.

Having purposely booked a pitch with hook up, and paid for it, this whole farce annoyed us a lot, we did not steal a weekend away from stress to face this type of thing. Each time staff complained that campers overload the circuit. Are there too many pitches to cope with the supply? You should not advertise something you can't deliver. On leaving, you have to get the deposit back for the toilet key. The member of staff just gave me five pounds and didn't even say goodbye or wish us a safe journey. Never had this problem before in 5 years of camping. The electrics, and customer service approach need a lot of work. We will not be staying at this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillfurniss 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic weekend at this site. Weather helped as it was glorious but site is really, really good. The showers must have been refurbished since last year as they looked brand new and they were also free for as long as you liked.

The site is very friendly and although slightly sloped we had no problems at all. The little shop was adequate for supplies and there is a hotel which you can get breakfast and evening meals in. They are licensed and there isn't a bar but a tv room which we were told we could use. Also nice sitting out area both back and front.

The only trouble we had was dragging ourselves away. Plenty to do round and about. Next time we will hire bicycles from the old station just down the main road to Whitby.

Also the pub in Hawsker is really nice and food very good too.

Cannot wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliehope62 1 review from this member

 Found owners very friendley and approachable. Site very good. Tent pitches set out well. Plenty of water points. Brick bbq areas good idea. Very large clean dog area. Toilet block spot on.
Loved our stay definitley will return, have already reccomended to friends . 10/10.
Close to Whitby, Scarborough Etc. Ideal base. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Guy-rope 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed at York House for 4 nights,
Most of the site has a very mild slope to a lot of it, not a problem though. It has good views towards Whitby. You can see the sea and the Abbey in distance.

There are some gravelled hard standing areas for caravans with EHU around the periphery of the children’s play area ( which consists of 4 swings only ).

There is one large toilet block, the gents had 4 showers operated by 20p coin meter. There were 5 toilets one of which was larger cubicle with sink and a worktop area that would suffice for baby changing. To a basic standard, clean enough generally though.

Utility room had two sinks for dishwashing, and a washing machine and drier.

There are two non EHU areas one near the entrance with good shelter hedges and another large long one (pitch where you like on this one I imagine as not numbered or marked ) at the bottom of a mini valley with very good shelter on both sides. I was on the upper of two terraced areas with EHU and numbered pitches however there were no apparent clear pitch boundaries therefore some people while I was there were stradling two pitches. Caravans and tents with EHU were pitched on the two terraces which were fairly flat with a very mild slope.

There is also a large separate field for dog walking and a dog waste bin is sited at entrance to it.

Owners pleasant and friendly enough on reception. I would use this site again as it was nicely placed for Whitby with nice views and a laid back feel to it.

Criticisms -. Children’s play needs more equipment
Pitch boundaries should be marked clearly
Toilet block would benefit from a makeover 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: New_to_camping 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for the weekend at the beginning of August.  Stopped in the lower field.  The site is set out with static’s near the entrance, then you go on to tourers.  Then the field level drops a little, fenced by trees to the hook-up tents, there are 2 layers of this, the fields are narrow, so you only have tents on one side (not a bad thing).  
In the next field down (again fenced by trees – which consequently has excellent dens for the kids to play in)  is the non electric (standard pitched) Again narrow field.
We had our 6 person tent next to our friends even larger tent and there was enough room in front and to side to park car and still allow cars through.  The pitches here were not marked out and the ground firm and flat. (apart from the small ditch our pals drove down (in their new car, ouch) so tread careful. There is a HUGE dog field too!  Don’t know how long that will remain a huge dog field, I think once the owners find their feet, it would make a lovely level tent site. 

There was a little shop at reception which was adequate.  There are a few swings dotted about the site, but blocked by trees, so not idea for small kids.  Toilets were always clean and never short of toilet roll.  Showers are 20p for about 3 minutes and water was perfect, although there is no adjustment to temperature. They were a good size, enough room to hang clothes and get changed even with my 7 year old in with me. From memory I think there were 5 showers in the ladies.  There was a disabled loo and about 5 other loos and about 7 sinks.  Ok they were not top of the range, have been there for a while, but they were clean. (except for the bit you put the money in for the showers, think the owners have totally forgotten to clean these)  There was only 1 block with showers, washing facilities in and rubbish bins (site owners, any chance of some bins nearer to the tents please?) and it was a bit of a trek to the loo up a short steepish bank. 
Was fine for us, but thought I would mention it just in case anyone has walking problems, they might find this a bit too much if in a tent (trailers/vans will be no bother as it is all on the flat)  

Talking of owners, they are new.  They just bought the site 2 weeks ago and from what I can see they have a great passion for camping and campers.  There is a sign at the front saying they are part of C&CC, but they are not.  However with a little bit of work, I can’t see why they would not be able to get it.  Although they do have a jobs worth (sorry) There is a man who wonders round the site keeping it rubbish free (not sure what else he did, but we saw him on many occasions looking for rubbish)  He is a little grumpy and although many of us like to catch the sun, I would have preferred to see staff fully clothed and a smile or hello would have been nice.  Not even a grunt from him when we said hello to him.  Anyway, the lady owner makes up for him.  (don’t think he would like it to be a C&CC site, he would have to wear the red top all the time) 

We were surprised at how little noise there was given the number of people there.  There is no entertainment (which we loved) Could not fault the location.  5ish minutes drive in to the lovely town of Whitby (has a large Co-op) and Robin Hoods bay is even closer.  I had never been here since I was a child and I had totally forgotten how steep the bank is down to the beach.  There is a road down to the beach, but no cars allowed, there are a few little shops to look in to make the steep walk a bit more interesting.  Please, no matter how old you are, do buy a small fishing net and clear crabbing bucket as the rock pools are fantastic – both my hubby and kids (and the dog) were in the rock pools for hours.  Dogs are allowed on the beach off leads!  Obviously under control by owner. I would certainly consider returning and wish the new owner luck. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R1ck&bev 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, owners really nice and helpful, stayed here a couple of times and will definitely be going back! small play are for kids but is away from camping spaces so had to go with them, plenty of showers which are kept clean, 20p for about 2-3mins, but don't put 40p in the next shower to you like rick did! plenty to do around the area, close to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay, and bikes for hire nearby. We prefer the smaller camping field below the shower block. This is a place where you can really chill out. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aria30 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights on the tent field.  Plenty of space, you could pitch where you wanted as pitches were not marked out.  Standpipe at field entrance for water.
 
Quiet campsite with clean shower block.  Plenty of hot water.  Two sinks for washing up with a washing machine & dryer. 
 
Shop opened for about 4 hours a day (morning & evening) selling basics, but Whitby only about 5 minutes drive. 
 
Bike hire business within walking distance of the site.  Lovely cycle tracks in both directions along the coast. 
 
Easy access to Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Scarborough.  Will definitely be visiting again. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 129     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York House Hotel And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is York House Hotel And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement