Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Duke William

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > The Duke William > Reviews

The Duke William
91 Church Street
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3BZ
Tel: 01629 583111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strawberries 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site twice during August last year and found it to be a lovely place for the children, dogs and adults alike. The landlord and staff of the pub were really helpful and the locals really made us feel at home. We can't wait to stay again this year. The carvery is a must and there's entertainment on at the weekends.

Yes there is 1 shower but it's only a small site so we never had to queue.

We walked up and over into Matlock which was very picturesque. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DJ_KP 2 reviews from this member

 Fairly small and basic site, on sloping, slightly uneven field. Only one shower (which is in need of a bit of tlc and a good clean) and two toilets, although all are open 24hrs. No elsan point and nowhere to plug in hairdryer/straighteners, etc. No electric hook-up. Even so, I'd stay here again as it was quite good value at 8 per night (two adults).

Pub has a restaurant, which seemed popular and also has 4 real ales, although these are not kept well. Children's playground looks OK with squishy tarmac round the slide, etc.

The site entrance is best approached downhill, as it's quite easy to ground the car in the entrance way.

The site is across the road from Matlock parish church, and it's only a short stroll down the hill into the town. The petrol station at the bottom of the hill is open 24hrs, and there are two super markets and a smaller convenience store for groceries. The park at the bottom of the hill is excellent and was well-used and has a paddling pool with toddler play area, pitch and put, tennis courts, bowling green, cafe and ornamental gardens. Peak Rail (steam railway) station is also within walking distance of the site if you're reasonably fit. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenny_the_camper 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 nights at the Duke William, we only planned 2 nights but decided to stay the third because the weather and beer-food at the pub were excellent.

The camp has a slight slope which runs away from the pub but if you can get up near the entrance (which we did) then it is a lot flatter. Also their is a vandalized caravan about two thirds down the camp stuffed into the hedge, its a pity this is here as if you were pitched near this it could be a bit of an eyesore.

The pub has an excellent range of drinks which was good but the food was something else. It has to be said the portions are massive and on the 2 nights we were eating in there, myself and wife struggled to finish our dinner (which is unusual for me). The pub was very welcoming with a good mixture of locals and campers using it. They also have a 'tuck shop' that sells crisps and pop at cheap prices but we didn't realize these were so far out of date. Bottles of pop were 8 months out of date, so be careful. They do also sell normal pop and crisps at normal prices from behind the bar.

The beer garden looked a little worn out and needed some tender loving care. Stinging nettles growing around the children's climbing frame is not really ideal but the kids there loved the climbing frame and slide.

Whilst we were there, I think their was about 12 pitches being used and we never really had any problem with the toilet facilities, they always seemed clean and we never had to queue to use them.

Prices were adults 4 per night, children 2.

Overall, an excellent pub/camp in a great location only about a 5 minute walk down to the town (very steep hill). Excellent food and drink. The church bells do ring every 15 mins, 24 hours a day but after a while I never noticed them and it just adds character to the camp.

The only 2 downsides were the vandalized caravan in the hedge and the beer garden needed looking after a bit more.

But we will be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Skoota 12 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed the location to the town, just a few minutes walk,good facilities and a good price 4 per person. The site is a sloping field so you may need levellers and it can get a bit boggy after heavy rain.The views are superb all round and if you're feeling fit you can walk up to riber castle. If there were electric points it would be an absolute gem, but then it would not be cheap! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma in Surrey 6 reviews from this member

 A friendly and welcoming site which is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Matlock itself is really nice, and has plenty to do - we visited the Heights of Abraham and we saw that there is a steam train too. Plenty of cafes and bars, a mining museum, big park and playground, and all sorts of things. The convenience stores are open reasonably late if you've forgotten anything and the pub has some supplies too.

The site is a long, thin-ish field surrounded by a hedge, behind the pub. The field has nice views and dips down the hill away from the pub. The entrance to the pub is slightly awkward, and it's easy to ground the car on the strange kerb / corner combination, so just take a little care.

The pub is great; an excellent selection of beers (Marston and Jennings), good food and plenty of both! There are two bars, so you can escape from the live pianist / singer on Saturday night if you want to!

The church bells ring every quarter hour, but to be honest, that didn't bother me at all.

Overall I would recommend the site because it is so convenient, but would point out that is one loo for men, one loo for women and one shower for everybody. Given that there were over 25 tent pitches and about 5 caravans the weekend we were there, the seats were never cold! Nevertheless, everything was reasonably clean and pleasant.

We would go there again, I think, if we wanted to be near the centre of town like this time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pizzapaz 2 reviews from this member

 Positives:

1. Very close to Matlock, 5 mins walk (down the steep hill next to the church and turn left)

2. Pub very close with brilliant landlord and landlady. Atmosphere was great

3. Pub serves nice food

4. Location very picturesque

Negatives

1. Church clock chiming every 15 minutes, more so on a Sunday

2. Only one shower, which was dirty and the floor was covered with water. Only one female and male toilet.

We tend to go camping in a group, but I would not recommend it because of the facilities, and that is the only reason. One shower for everyone on the campsite just isn't very good, especially when the pamphlet we picked up says 'showers' (implying more than one). If there was a clean shower block,I would give the campsite 10/10, I would even be prepared to pay more. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mysticmand 1 review from this member

 The campsite was excellent. It is very close to the town centre so all amenities such as chemists, takeaways and supermakets are available for all your needs. There is a fantastic park within 5 mins walk of the campsite too. It has a paddling pool, so it is advisable to take swimming costumes and towels for little ones, with you if the weather is nice.
On the site there is a pub offering a good range of cooked meals and drinks available with a children's menu. The prices are very reasonable.
The only downside I could find is there is only one shower for males and females and is flooded every morning. There is however a mop and bucket available to clean it up! There is one toilet per male and female which is open 24 hrs. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and willing to assist with any query.
I'm about to book my second stay at this site. I would highly recommend for families with children of all ages. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lynn and ray 15 reviews from this member

 The camp site is in a great location, 5 mins walk to the centre of Matlock, if you use the short but steep path by the church opposite the pub
The campsite is sloping, has no electric hook, you can have bbq,s and small camp fires. There are tables and chairs scattered around the campsite for the campers to use, there is a 24hr access to the toilets and shower room where there is plenty hot / cold water. There is a cold water tap situated by the toilets. It doesn't have an elsan point so I used the toilet to empty the bucket.
It also has a small children's play area and a beer garden, the owner and locals were very friendly, the pub has live entertainment on every Saturday and also does meals.
There is noise from the church bells which strike every 15 minutes. The park in Matlock is fantastic, it has boat rides, train rides, splash area, skateboard / bike area, tennis, golf, beautiful gardens, good bus service to visit surrounding areas 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jk1953 1 review from this member

 Just spent two nights at the site. If visitors think the bells are the only down side to the site, that is the case, but if you ignore them it's fine. The site has a clean toilet block and separate shower, no electric hook up but that's what camping is about is it not?
The pub is a busy place and Mel & Judy are the perfect hosts the locals are welcoming as is Matlock a fantastic break and will return soon. Thanks all at the Duke William 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Staniland 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights on The Duke William, we were attending a family Christening in Matlock and The Duke William was the nearest site to the town centre.

The price of 4.00 per night was very good value, which included the free use of the very nice shower. The site is in a field behind the pub with a slight slope, but the grass had been cut. The bells on the church do ring every 15 mins which were slightly annoying.
I agree it is best to go past the pub turn round and enter car park coming downhill as it is a very tight left turn otherwise.Overall we will be returning to this site. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Duke William child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Duke William?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Duke William dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement