Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pikeysrus 1 review from this member

Having just come back from woodlands, just like to say this was a beautiful site ,all facilities are very clean to a high standard. Gary and glynn were very helpful and welcoming.
Our 2 dogs enjoyed the freedom of the fully enclosed dog walking facility, I hate to be negative but the only drawback for us was the local pub is a very long walk away, but only a few minutes by car ( which we didn't have )other than that all in all this is a fantastic site and we shall definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paintermac 7 reviews from this member

Visited this site recently and found it to be in a delightful woodland setting with a charming and helpful owner in Charles. The pitch we chose was large and quite private as we were virtually in a forest with trees separating the pitches. The toilet block was absolutely spotless and the laundry room equally clean. There is an excellent pub just down the road in Clifton called the Cock Inn which serves good food and allows dogs in as well. These are the good points.

The shower/toilet blocks were unheated and we found them quite cool. The push button showers themselves dispensed lukewarm water in 20 second (yes 20 second) doses and the sinks were open. The ladies toilet, at least, really should have privacy cubicles. Only one key per unit was issued and so we had to take our visits in turn when they were locked. We were told we could use the disabled wet room as the site was quiet and this was much better with constant and hot water.

We found the security gates somewhat of a task as you have to get out of your car, unlock the padlock on the very large gate, swing it back and secure it, get back in your car, drive through and then swing the gate back and relock the padlock with the key on the enormous piece of plastic attached to the issued keys. Not a pleasure on a wet day.

All in all this is an attractive site spoiled by what appears to be the maximum emphasis on economy.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darren637 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend spent at this well appointed, well equipped, and well staffed caravan park.

This was the first time my girlfriend and I had ventured into caravanning, and I don't think we could have picked a better venue for our first time.

The pitches were well spaced out and large in size, and we were both reassured by the owner that as first-timers we had nothing to worry about. He accompanied us to the pitch and helped us to position it correctly, and made sure we were aware of the ammenities that were available. These included, laundry facilities, an area in which to wash dishes, and the use of a microwave.

If, like us, you haven't visited any caravan sites and are worried about the state of the toileting and bathing conditions you may be subjected too, then have no fear at this particular site. They were immaculately maintained, with plenty of hot water, and each shower having its own changing cubicle. It is this factor that seems to hold particular credence with the seasoned caravanners, and so, with this in mind, we can highly recommend Woodlands Caravan Park.

Locally there is some outstanding natural beauty to take in, and the towns of Matlock and Ashbourne are short drives away. As the Park stands in 900 acres of a working estate the owner will provide you with a map that will take you on a pleasant walk around the area. However I hope your map reading skills are better than ours as we got lost somewhere between Windmill Farm and Snelston but managed to find our way back with only a muddy left foot to bear testament to our poor sense of direction.

The village of Clifton is about a five minute drive away. Some reviews suggest you can walk there in about twenty minutes but this is unrealistic and dangerous as you have to travel down the A515 which has no footpath. There you will find the Cock Inn, in which were served with a lovely meal. Be warned though the price of the ale and wine was a touch on the pricey side.

The only downside with this Park is the noise of the traffic from the afore mentioned A515. Although this is subjective as it didn't seem to bother my girlfriend in the slightest.

Admittedly we were very lucky with the weather, but that being said this is a great site and one which Darren and Linda can highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pj_skydog 8 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, with good facilities. Lots of hot water for washing up, and a decent washing machine and tumble dryer, both reasonably priced.
We were there for 4 days during a very quiet time and used the (very good) facilities for disabled as the shower there was not a push button type - the ones in the shower block were push button and never got quite hot enough and a heater would have been welcome, but that is our only grumble (I'm sure it's fine when the weather warms up!).
Nevertheless the location was lovely, the pitches a decent size and the owners extremely helpful. We brought our dog who loved the doggie playpen - quarter acre of wood - where she was allowed to run free. Would go back, and would recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philben10 1 review from this member

Had a great time here. We agree with everything positively mentioned before. Very helpful owners and everything very well maintained. Nice walks around. If there was one small problem. Its close to the A515 which was fairly quiet over the weekend, but the HGV's during Thursday & Fri AM were quite noisy. But that is only a minor point. Will certainly return.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jvc100 34 reviews from this member

The Site is set in the woods just off the A515. The toilet and showers were excellent except they lacked any heating and the owner insisted on them being locked, all pitches were given one key. They also had a laundrette and free microwave!

Security was very good with locked gates at all times and again one key per pitch.

The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The site has a large Dog walking field and large woods which the Kids played in. This site could do with a children play area, although the woods were very good and felt safe.

Ashbourne is 5 minutes away and has take aways and pubs. From this site we visited Derby, Stoke, Alton Towers, Bakewell and Matlock bath.

I would use this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T Stephens 1 review from this member

This is an excellent site, being a quiet attractive wooded site with large, spread out pitches, [all with electric and water]. First class toilets and a very friendly and helpful owner. It is only 12.50 per night weekdays and 15 at weekends.

The Cock Inn at Clifton serves quality food at cheap prices [and lets in dogs] and is a superb pub, [2 minutes by car down the A515]

The site is conveniently located near Ashbourne

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Quintons 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site so peaceful and relaxing. Our two young children love this site had so much fun playing in the woods and making dens. The pitches were large and private.Its a short drive into Ashbourne which is a lovely place to visit lots of nice quaint shops and a nice park .

The toilets and showers immaculate and the owners very helpful.We would definitely recommend this site and will be returning soon as possible. Just so nice to get away and enjoy the outdoors.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C Charlesworth 1 review from this member

Very impressed with the site.

Locked gates on the entrance to which you're given a key ensures nobody can access the site with a vehicle unless they're staying meaning total security.

The toilet block was also locked and was spotlessly clean with modern facilities and a hairdryer that actually worked.

The laundry area had little touches like a drainer to help the drying of pots instead of them swimming on the draining board, even a microwave for use should you need one.

A lot of thought has gone into this site to give it such a good layout, nobody directly next to anyone else, still lots of trees and greenery between each pitch.

We'll definitely be using this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Quintons 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at the woodlands for 2 nights our two children aged 7 and 3 love this site too so nice and relaxing children loved the woods to make dens. There is lots of space between units.

All facilities very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

We have visited many sites with lots of children facilities but our children say this is the best weekend ever. We find it a lovely getaway and we hope to return asap

Would recommend it to anyone

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019