Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RogLozLee 6 reviews from this member

Wow what a lovely site. The toilet/shower block are spotless, the washing up and laundry area (including washing line) were clean and if you are that needing they also can provide you with an iron and ironing board!. A lovely little play area for the kids and the path along the river is really beautiful (especially the houses!).
Remember to take some decent tent pegs as the ground is really hard, and take some provisions as Sainsbury's is a little too far to walk. Lots of local information in the Reception- but forgot to ask about the microwave and fridge freezer whether we could use them or ask first? - sorry!

As this is our first time in the area was unsure just where all the pubs/attractions actually were but we did find Maidenhead along the river!

We will be back - as we are certain this would be a really nice weekender (Friday evening - Sunday) as it only took 2 hours from Junction 9 M42, and next time may walk to Windsor, and even get the train to London from Taplow to Paddington station (Train doesn't stop at Taplow on a Sunday as we found out!)

Only draw back is the M4 and Heathrow flight path - there is no quiet period. It was really nice sitting outside in the dark looking up and spotting all the planes circling overhead and trying to tell which were planes and which were stars/UFO's! You soon forget about the noise and after a long walk along the river we were too tired to bother.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fat Bum 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 3 nights in August so that we could attend a family wedding nearby (the reception was in walking distance). The site is very close to the motorway which worried us as we thought it would be really noisy but we were pleasantly surprised, as although you can hear the traffic it is not loud and in no way disturbed us.

The site is very well kept and the toilets and showers are very clean, there is loads of room in the showers. The site was quite busy at the time but did not feel crowded, many people only stayed one or two nights as they use this site as a stop-off on their way to the channel ports. Although he was very busy the warden was very helpful and had time for a chat. There were quite a few Dutch and German caravanners staying here, which we feel was a good sign as they are usually quite fussy, and they use this as a base to visit Windsor and London.

The children's play area is quite small but our son enjoyed it nonetheless.

We had a very pleasant walk along the river towards Maidenhead. There is lots to do in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris+Sharon 5 reviews from this member

A wonderful site, noise from motorway didn't both us (we're Londoners) but did bother other light sleepers but the site sells ear plugs!  Shower block very good, shop small but adequate, nice size pitch and owners very friendly and helpful.  Excellent choice of takeaways delivered to this site!  Take anti mosquito spray in Summer as it is near the river.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rockaday 3 reviews from this member

Have just got back from a short break at this site, stayed for 3 very happy days. It was well run, the warden very friendly and help -full,  willing to share his local knowledge. The site although quite small proved to be ideal for us. The only down side being the traffic noise, which to be honest didn't disturb us, infact after half and hour we had forgotten about it.
After arriving and pitching our tent we went for a very pleasant walk along the Thames, watching the launches of the champagne set going by, and looking into the gardens of the big houses which are on either bank. 
We spent one day doing the tourist thing in London. We did the  20 minute walk to the station  leaving the car on site, and for £14 got a travel pass to London which included the tube, although we did not use this part of the ticket. We used the 'big bus' tour to get around ,this included a cruise on the Thames. On the second day we went to Windsor and although it rained most of the day the Castle proved to be no disappointment. Found a good chippy in Barford. There is a Sainsburys about 2 mile away and Maidstone is a ten minute drive away.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BigDowdy 5 reviews from this member

I took my wife, our four year old Boy and the dog here in July for 3 nights. On paper it looked an ideal location for exploring Windsor and visiting Lego land. On pulling up to the reception hut all looked fantastic. The site wasn't over crowded and looked very well maintained. The pitches where all fairly flat. 
It was only when I opened my van door to book in did the noise hit me. A constant drone of cars running along the M4 which must be only 50 yards from the bottom of the site. The staff where really friendly and we where personally shown to our pitch. Unfortunatly this was almost as close to the Motorway as is possible. It was also adjacent to the river and on our first night one of the boats had a fire works display which totally spooked our dog. She was already reluctant to leave the caravan due to the constant humming of traffic, but after this it was almost impossible to get her out. There are no hard standing pitches and you will have to take your vehicle onto the grass to get to your pitch. Luckily for us the field was dry as my van really strugles to get traction on wet grass.
The shower block was well maintained and very clean with unlimited hot water available. There are plenty of fresh water taps around the site to fill your aqua rolls. Waste water disposal was at knee height which made trying to empty a full 50ltr waste hog a little awkward. A must while at this site is to take a walk along the river. Out of the site and turn left. It's very picturesque and the houses will make you check your lottery numbers again. Next time we'll take our bikes so we can explore further.
Lego land was only a 10 min drive away and we had a great day out. I would say it is more suited to 3 to 12 year olds. Older kids would be a little board. There is a pub/ restaurant, petrol station and supermarket all within 5 mins drive.
Overall the site was lovely and we will visit again. However 3 nights was plenty as the traffic noise was starting to numb my brain and I couldn't have taken much more of it. I don't know how those in tents managed, as at least the caravan gave some insulation from the constant drone. 8/10

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony-Essex 2 reviews from this member

First time camping, one male adult and two children 10 & 13 (wife had to work) 4 nights stay, And will honestly say this camp site has confirmed to me & family that camping`s Alright.
Motorway noise did not help the first nights sleep. There after you kind of got used too the noise.
Toilets/showers  were gleaming, clean and tidy. (and i`m fussy  ask the wife). Water areas  easy to use and close to tents.
 I think the guy running the campsite was new, Because he was unsure on eating out, evening meals.
I found a Harvester towards Maidenhead,  Palmer`s towards Eton I found pricey. Paper shop, chemist and lovely India food in Eton wick.
 Lego land IS for the younger child so beware  my 10 & 13 soon were bored. 3 hot dogs = £14.Take a picnic!.Windsor Castle is an eye opener, Ride the big wheel views are spectacular.
Overall camp site wins my vote, And will return  once we have tried other camps in the UK. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidson21 1 review from this member

We visited the site for a weekend and found it very welcoming, friendly and clean.
 
All the facilities offered were kept to a high standard at all times, being a fairly small site all facilities were easily accessed and there was everything you needed - water, recycling, wash up area with washing up liquid,  shower block, hairdryer, washing machine, tumble dryer, washing line, nothing was forgotten.  
 
We would certainly recommend for a short break and being near the River Thames was a plus for a walk/cycle ride.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fourcampers 1 review from this member

Lovely site,very clean facilities, very helpful staff. FREE microwave in reception which we used to warm milk for children. FREE ice block facilities, good hot water supply, recycling facilities, safe children's play area, flat pitches, fruit trees. Two minutes walk to the Thames towpath. If this site was anywhere else it would get a 10 out of 10 but as everyone else hasmentioned its proximity to the M4 you get makes it very noisy. But you get used to the road noise and we would certainly visit again. One word of caution - try to avoid a pitch close to the river as the river party boats are playing booming music into the wee hours and even the M4 doesn't drown them out! But if you pitch on the other side of the field (left side of site as you enter) you shouldn't hear the boats at all - that's when the M4 comes into it's own and drowns out all other unwanted noise! But overall a great site and we will most probably return

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpy116 1 review from this member

After finding this site by "accident" over ten years ago, we have just booked for another visit. This will be our fifth visit,so need I say more. The owners have always been more than helpful and friendly, the site is always well maintained and I have never had to wear earplugs.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tweety Pie 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it a good base for visiting the area - in particular Windsor and London. The site is easy to find, not far off the M4 junction 7. It's in a lovely area, is near Bray (for those who are looking for posh nosh and is very convenient for London. Taplow train station is about a mile away and is on the Reading-Paddington route (it takes about 45 minutes). Otherwise Slough Station isn't far and has a more direct/faster route.
 
I find it difficult to comment on the pitches as they weren't marked out so we weren't sure how much room we actually had! There were a few people there, not as busy as I would have expected. There were a lot of tents there but most only stayed a night or two.
 
The toilet and shower facilities were clean. The shower cubicles would benefit from a small partition so you can put your clothes 'around the corner' as your clothes can get wet hanging on the door in front.
 
We didn't really see the owners much although their house is directly on site so you can always find them if you need them.
 
The noise from the M4 traffic is very noticeable but is constant, no revving or horn-blowing etc - so you get used to it. We took ear plugs as advised but I think only very light sleepers would need them. We were out all day so didn't mind it but I wouldn't like to spend a day there trying to relax with that din in the background. Good excuse to get out and explore the area!

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019