Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairey8 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site after spending a long weekend there.  It is in a beautiful location, with fantastic views, situated right by the beach.  There are two outdoor pools, one shallow the other deeper. I was impressed with the life guards on duty these pools are more than adequately manned which is reasurring.
The pitches are a nice size, we have a big tent and there was plenty of room for this and the car, they are strict on how your tent is pitched but this is due to fire regulations which is fair enough. 
The showers are the best I have been to by far, they are clean, powerful and a good size. The toilets are well kept, always clean with plenty of loo roll!
We only used the onsite club on one evening but found this to be fine,  it had a bit of a vintage feel to it,  but otherwise your typical on site entertainment.
The only downside I could find with this site is the lack of speed restrictions for cars and bikes,  the road and walkway are one and the same,  so when walking younger children you have to be on the lookout all the time for vehicles which dont seem to adhere to the speed restriction on site, this I know isnt the sites fault but still a worry!
In summary a fantastic site, with plenty to do, I would happily return here for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tilleys 3 reviews from this member

 Have to say what a let down this park was. I thought by checking out their website it looked fun, modern, and good for children, how wrong I was!
I will start with the good points as there is less of them,
the childrens pool was excellent, lifeguard there all the time, temperature of pool was warm, it was very clean and well looked after.
the shop was well stocked and priced as you would expect on a park. The actual park looks great with rabbits running around freely all day and night which I thought was quite welcoming and sweet.
 
The entertainment is in desperate need of updating, although the owner tried by all means, it just wasnt good enough, it started too late in the evening, and it was rather boring having to play musical chairs every night we were there, was very much something out of the 70's.
Beach is very dangerous and not practical for any children to walk on, full of pea shingle and stacked very very high, we just kept sinking and falling over.
games room was closed the whole of our stay.
The chip shop only opened from 5-7, not long enough I think.
the restaurant only opened on the thursday evening of our stay (we were there a week), and is very very overpriced even for holidaY park standards.
it is a good base for sight seeing and visiting, and people should bear in mind, this site is literally in the middle of nowhere so dont visit without a car.
 
places that we went to:-
monkey world- excellent day out, great value for money, and they have built a fantastic play area that even adults can manage to have fun on
lyme regis- gorgeous little town, lovely little shops, lovely sand at the beach, great for small children
weymouth-sealife centre and beach, children loved it
bowleaze cove- great little fair there although I would say that this is probably more suitable for children up to the age of about 8, apart from bumper cars its all for small ones, very cheap little cafe and the food was yummy
lulworth cove-spent a very cold dayt here but the views were stunning and the kids just loved eating chips and having a run around on the pebbles, if it wasnt so cold we would have taken a better look around
 
overall I wouldnt visit this park again, im more into lively and loud and so are my kids, but as a base point for going out and exploring its great, hope this helps! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greyfox 16 reviews from this member

 Freshwaters strengths are also its weaknesses. We had 7 nights here and the site is massive, with a mix of statics, tents and tourers. Due to the heavy rain we have had over the last few months the field was somewhat water logged. Our pitch had a great big muddy hole right by the caravan door so we requested a different pitch, we were told none were available so we pitched the van off center to avoid the hole, only to have a Marshall tell us we couldn't (having set up the awning). When we explained why, suddenly there were other pitches available! We were not the only ones to have had this problem.
The fields are flat and we found the size of the pitch was more than adequate. The toilet blocks were clean. There is a pebble Beach to the rear of the site which was nice and empty. The on site shop is big with everything you will need. The takeaway had a limited menu, but was adequate if you didn't want to leave the site.
So here is the problem with Freshwater. The facility list looks good when you first book, but due to the size of the site and the amount of people there the club is just not big enough. When we went to the club we found we were shoulder to shoulder with the next person. The same is true of the pool, it is big but not big enough at peak season when everyone has a holiday. The shower block was the same, just 4 cubicles, so you need to pick your times.
There is a stable on site which all the children loved, but again, because the site was full you need to book a horse ride the moment you arrive in order to get one. It was fully booked every day.
There is a large Morrison's nearby and an ample amount of country pubs that serve food just up the road so there is plenty of variety nearby. Its location is also good for Weymouth, Durdle door and Lulworth cove so there is lots to do.
Fortunately the sun shone all week so using the beach instead of the pool and having a beer by the barbie instead of using the cramped club was not a problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Burnards 11 reviews from this member

 Back with three of our four daughters (8, 10 and 13) for a third time, which speaks for itself. The last week in July was pretty wet and windy but the riding and entertainment saw us through and we had a good time although the mackerel weren't biting (fish from the private shingle beach, it's safer than swimming there) so much this year and the donkey derby (a highlight of our week) was cancelled. Shop is lavishly stocked - beach and caravan gear and food - and prices are reasonable for a site shop and it is open well into the evening, unlike some. Jon Lee's enthusiasm and energy - he does the pony hacks and the entertainment - are undiminished and this is not one of those sites where you find loos dirty or without paper or liquid soap - the best looked after on which I have ever been enthroned. Give it an indoor pool and it would be perfect. Back again next year, no doubt. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tallcamper 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a week.
The pitches would be a little tight if you had a large set-up; we found it fine. Staff friendly - we asked nicely if we could leave after the usual 10am departure time, and as there were no bookings for our pitch they let us stay on a couple of hours. Pitches are level; what could be an excellent view of the hills surrounding the sea impinged upon by the static caravans. Great family site with horse and donkey rides, pool attendants, regular entertainment etc. Onsite shop, well-stocked; toilet blocks generally clean although I think they could use a few more showers. Good walking area- the West Coast path goes right through the site! Good grub at the Three Horseshoes in Burton Bradstock, which is within walking distance. Take the coast path - the views are stunning. There's a Morrisons at Bridport, which is a few miles up the road. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tilleys 3 reviews from this member

 We are a family of four and stayed at this park for a midweek stay in June 2007, the ages of our party were 30, 24, 7, and 2.
I was very disappointed with this park. I checked out their website before we booked and thought this would be an ideal place to go with children, but I was strongly mistaken.
Nearly everything on the site was closed, when I asked about this on our second day in reception I was told "its because the park is quiet this week". The caravan was small beyond reason, parking next to it was near impossible (even though your meant to be able to). The "arcade" is very very small with very few things available in it, and was only open from 6pm onwards. The chip shop was very over priced (i know everything is on sites), but this was unreasonable, and was only open from 5pm until 7pm every night.
The restaurant wasn't open until Thursday from 7pm, so we couldn't eat there all week, but then seeing the prices I don't think we would have anyway. The bar and entertainment hall were a great size, but the lack of people in it made it seem all the bigger, the "entertainment" didn't start until 8.20pm for kids, which I think is quite late, it then proceeded to be very dated like something from the 70's, my 7 year old was not very impressed playing musical chairs every night, because that was literally all they did.
No disco for children, which I thought was odd, because every other site I have been to have kids discos. The pool area was the best part, it was clean, the water was warm, lifeguards friendly, and felt like a very safe pool for my children to play in. The shop was very well stocked, with food, toys, and all the other bits that holiday parks sell, prices were good. Don't visit this park if you don't have a car, it is literally in the middle of nowhere, you would need a car too because there isn't that much on site to do. Overall I would never visit again or recommend this site to anyone with children who don't have a car to get off it and visit nearby towns where there is much more to do.
In the five days we were there we went to monkey world (great value for money and great park). Bowleaze cove (lovely little fair for small children, nice views, lovely food in cafe, and lovely beach), weymouth (yet again most things closed), sealife centre (great, but take lots of money), Lyme regis (lovely, lovely town, clean beach, lots of lovely shops, had a great day here, kids loved it), lulworth cove (views are breathtaking, not much to do there, but walking with icecreams was fun) and into bridport for a chinese (much cheaper than eating on site), very small and busy little town, lots of cute little shops.
hope this helps anyone wanting to stay here. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sx boy 1 review from this member

 Just got back from this site, and I have to say it was the best we have ever been to.
The toilet/shower block were almost brand new (there are some older ones but these are very nice and clean) the water was always hot in the showers.
The shop on site that some people have said had basic goods and was expensive, I can't say I found this, yes it was slightly dearer than tesco etc, but this is a camp site shop.
The entertainment was a bit "old" sort of a reminder of holiday clubs in the 70's, but what a refreshing change to the big named camps, John Lee the owner was brilliant with the kids and adults and kept a really friendly atmosphere in the club house.
We had the worst weather you could have, but you have to expect that in this country, but the site is well drained and when it did stop raining(for about an hour) the ground did dry out quite quickly.
All in all a nice friendly run site, a bit basic but made up but the fantastic staff and owner. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KiriM 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite at the beginning of June and even though we only 30 miles away from it we felt like we were definitely far away.chilled and relaxed. My 11 year old twins enjoyed the pool, the riding, the evening entertainment and the river running into the sea. This place is great value for money and we also didnt feel the need to leave the site. I can only add how spotlessly clean all the shower and toilet facilities were and how friendly the staff are. We are going back again and taking some friends too! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cherokee 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this campsite and was horrified to read the reviews about it, we've just had 3 nights there and can honestly say the toilet blocks are fantastic, cleaned regularly. We did think the shop was quite expensive but fine for basic things like milk and bread there is a Morrisons in Bridport if you need a few things more. The clubhouse is excellent if you dont want to drive, and while we were there, there were people in the pool for ages so it must be heated. We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donkey 2 reviews from this member

 This site is the best we have ever stayed on. Toilets passed the wife,s critical eye.  The staff were always welcoming and friendly.  The entertainment for the kids was hilarious.  This was the first time I didn't feel the need to leave the camp during the day.  Shop was well stocked and again the staff were very friendly.  all in all a very good place to stay, we will be going back.  Forgot to mention the swimming pool, it is heated and filled with salt water, very refreshing. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement