Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Pevensey > Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Eastbourne Road
Westham
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 5NG
Tel: 01323 763165
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 174 Reviews
                9/10 from 174 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  174 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ajacks 1 review from this member

 As locals this is not a site we would normally consider using but as we had family staying there for the air show week we decided to stay over with them for two nights.

I have to say we were quite disappointed by the location, the main field is bordered by a busy lorry park and industrial estate and the overflow field overlooks warehouses and what appears to be a hgv scrap yard. No indication of this on the web site and we were informed when we booked in that no refunds were given so look before you part with any cash.

The main field was very overcrowded with no spacing between pitches, in some cases units were almost touching each other which could be very dangerous in the event of a fire.

As camper van owners we found the 10.30 lockout a little limiting (you cannot leave a camper outside like you can a car) and people on the overflow field tend to use the car to visit the loo after lock up anyway.

The fishing pond and animals are a nice touch, set in a very well maintained and landscaped area at the rear of the site with a nice view of the downs in the background. The site is very close to the train station which gives you good acess to places like Eastbourne,Brighton and Hastings without worrying about driving and parking.

Not the kind of site we would use again although not overpriced I would rather pay a little more for a better pitch and better location. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs K 1 review from this member

 Chose this site as we only live 45mins away in Brighton & hubby was working till 7pm, myself & daughter arrived late afternoon to pitch tent & collect hubby from Eastbourne after work. Presume those arriving after 6pm were directed to the overflow field.
We (me & 10yr old daughter) pitched tent 1st time on our own, successfully, hoorah! & collected Dad from bus at Eastbourne Pier Fri eve. After 'Happy Hour' we walked 2mins to local fish & chip shop for takeaway supper.
Site quiet overnight but woke at 5am to sound of seagulls at full volume - something we're used to being Brighton residents but a touch louder than we're used to! Our visit to the toilet block was early enough to avoid any possible queues that built up later - the ladies were queuing after 8am for the 3 showers! We never queued for the loos just the showers! We like walking and walked to Pevensey Castle & then on to Pevensey Bay, along the beach and on to Soveriegn Harbour at Eastbourne. We walked back along the Pevensey Bay road but took the Public Footpath from the main road back across country to the castle & round the road to the site. We had read reviews about noise from the adjacent industrial estate but over the weekend this was minimal. There are signs in place on the site warning about pitching next to the hedge where the industrial site backs & possible noise, but our only noisey neighbours were the seagulls! 
A lovely site, we would visit again for it's location and ease of access for us for a weekend away. 
Can strongly recomend! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gee06 5 reviews from this member

 The campsite was a little disappointing especially as it has a good star rating. 
 
All the animals were put away due to the threat of foot and mouth (although they were still out at Drusillas!) so apart from feeding the ducks and playing ball there was nothing for the kids to do. They can't even ride their bikes as the roads are gravel (dangerous for bikes to use and noisy).
 
The main area is very packed in with all the tents seeming to be on top of each other and it can be a little noisy in the evening. Thankfully we were in the overflow field which was lovley and spacious (but a little windy so peg out well).
 
The shop has little stock even at opening time (9am) and I felt the overall feel of the campsite was that while it seemed nice on the surface every cost possible was being cut (I even saw the warden jumping on the rubbish in the dumpers to try and make some room as the bins hadn't been emptied the whole week we were there).
 
If you are unfortunate to be near the gate to the duckpond/overflow field  you have to endure a constant flow of people/cars and the metal gate makes a horrendious noise. 
 
Also as the park is located next to an industrial estate it can get noisy from about 7am as the lorries are taken out or the scaffold trucks load up.
 
There are only 3 showers and the toilet blocks as a whole could do with a thorough clean or preferably a refurbishment.
 
If it wasn't for the lovely weather we would have come home. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chimpy53 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here, weather was fab.  The duckpond and farm in general was a good attraction to have on the campsite, there was a nice walk you could take (children could only go so far then had to be accompanied by an adult).
 
Eastbourne, Bexhill and Hastings are all in easy reach by road. Just a 5 minute walk away from the campsite, there is a train station (Westham & Pevensey).  Brighton is an approximate 40 minute run by car, or an hour on the train (stopping at all stops hence the extra time) at a cost of £8 return.
 
Also, the Long Man of Wilmington is nearby (about 10-15mins in the car) and a fantastic little village called Litlington just further on, which has a garden centre, tea rooms (cream teas a speciality), a crystal shop and gift shop.  So good we went twice!
 
Fairfields Farm is a good location for investigating East Sussex.  The staff were friendly to us and were based in the shop. When it was closed, you had to go to the warden for assistance - he was very helpful and you could get your ice blocks re-frozen here for 20p each. (There are hookups available too if you require electricity).
 
There is a toilet and shower block, in the ladies section there were about 8 toilets (can't remember exactly sorry) and 3 showers, 4 basins, 1 hand dryer and 1 hair dryer which you could get a good 5 minutes out of for 20p.  There is an outdoor (covered) washing up area (4 sinks) and a laundry room.
 
For a campsite of the size of Fairfields, I would have expected more showers (expect queues in the morning especially) and for the whole toilet block to be checked and cleaned more often.  The cubicles are made of metal and looked shabby and in need of a spruce up.  On the last night, there was no toilet paper in the ladies from about 9pm, and still none by the time we departed at 12 noon the next day.  If they improved these facilities then this campsite would be perfect.
 
I would stay there again but would probably check out other sites first in the area to see what their shower/toilet facilities were like. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alexandeva 4 reviews from this member

 The two of us stayed here in our tent for 2 nights in July. Overall a very pleasant experience - the owners of the campsite are extremely friendly and accomodating - it was nice to receive a warm welcome on arrival. The site is relatively small, but nicely set, with ducks wandering around which was a nice touch. There were plenty of families with children staying here to, and in general the atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxed, neither too noisy or too quiet. The on-site shop was good - selling a nice selection of fresh local produce - (but we're both vegetarian and would have appreciated more veggie foods available to buy). Nearby Pevensey Bay was really nice in the evening - can recommend the Indian restaurant and the pub, and Eastbourne Pier and seafront is about a 15 minute drive. The only negative was that the toilets weren't great - 3 toilet cubicles (and sinks) and 3 showers available for men were in the same block, which meant a queue for the showers on occasion. Also the toilets could really do with being kept much cleaner than they were - this did let the standard of the campsite down a little as everything else seemed so well kept. Overall though a nice little campsite, good for a quiet weekend, and would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laura29 5 reviews from this member

 Excellant site shower/toilets clean well maintained. The farm animals where great my 5 year old loved it. Having ducks walking round the caravan was brill. My three children cannot wait till we return in July. The grounds shop ,staff where all very good. Felt so welcomed. See you in July. Highly recommend 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lelley1 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for a weekend beginning of July. Owners very friendly and helpful. Totally stress free campsite. Clean site - Shower block and toilets clean at all times. There are lovely walks around this site, where you get to see all types of animals close up. We didn't use the shop - didn't need to - but I think the prices are expensive in there? The pitches are good. Ducks walk about freely and are happy to get very close to you. We did have a problem with our electric hook-up - basically blew everytime we tried to use a kettle, griddle etc - seemed unfair paying for it when we couldnt use it - but apparently the site has just had new electrics and ours was a one off. Good for local shops - big Tescos express within 5 min drive also some other big supermarkets just mins away from campsite. (Breakfast in Tescos is great and a real bargain! - all cooked fresh!) There are numerous takeaway places such as mcdonalds, kentucky etc. We all enjoyed our stay here - would reccommend it to everyone! We would go back - if there werent so many other campsites that we want to try. ;-) 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avon 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a night away at the farm. Because the weather has been bad, we never booked, so just arrived hoping we could get a pitch. Luckily they had 3 left, but we were in the overspill field.

I'm glad we were, the main field was nice, but it was full, and you were very much on top of each other.

The overspill field is enormous and has bags of room, you had a good distance between tents. The only downside was that it was much windier as you have not got the shelter the main site has.

You are literally 1 minute walk away from the toilets (although some people drove!).

It is very quiet compared to the main site, but it does attract people if they want to play games, but like I said it is so vast this doesn't cause a problem.

The animals just make make the campsite, especially the little guinea pigs, and the sound of the peacock. My children loved it here and we would certainly go back.

For £15.50 a night its a bargain!

Also with the no noise after 10.30pm rule, it means you do not have to listen to any shouting or music etc late at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevemcdonnell 2 reviews from this member

 It was the first time we had booked to stay at this site, and in situations where we have no previous experience of sites, we generally use the tariff as an indicator of the standard of facilities. We were charged £47 for a two night stay with EHU, which we considered to be a little on the high side (super pitch money), for what was a very basic pitch indeed.

We were pitched directly opposite the shower and toilet block, which at first we thought was a great location.

There is no official pitch format at this site and campers can pitch how they like. Some pitch side on, car on left, car on right, car in front etc, etc.

This lack of order combined with our pitch location, and an absence of pathways, led to a general free for all. We witnessed a steady and continual flow of lazy and inconsiderate campers taking the shortcut through our pitch!

We didn't pack our windbreaks for this trip, but having said that and having experienced the heavy foot traffic whilst sat eating in our pitch, we doubt they would have been much of an added deterrent.

The local fish and chip shop does the nicest cod you are ever likely to eat, and comes highly recommended.

We moved the car three times to try to gain some privacy, but to no avail, and finally gave up on Saturday afternoon.

Whilst there is a small farmyard area and some animals, there is little else at the site to entertain the kids 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tatgibbon 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a very enjoyable week here over whitsun half term.  Although the site was fully booked the facilities were never overcrowded. 
 
We would have been disappointed if we had been in the "overflow" field, which was quite a trek past the duck pond and through 2 gates to the facilities block.
 
If heavy rain is forecast please check that you are not going to be placed on one of the pitches that flood - while we were there several small units got flooded out, and a couple of larger units were forced to move due to bogginess (although it was extremely wet when we were there!)
 
It was lovely to be able to feed the geese and ducks, and my girls enjoyed visiting the animals.  The peacock, cockeral and geese can be noisy early in the morning, so if you're not an early riser I would recommend ear plugs.
 
The site less than 5 minutes from the railway station (no train noise on site), and you can get to either Hastings or Eastbourne in less than 10 minutes, for about £7.50 for a family of 4 - far easier than driving!
 
We will definitely be back. 


Previous     174 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fairfields Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pevensey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4750 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement