Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Linwater Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > East Calder > Linwater Caravan Park Reviews

Linwater Caravan Park
West Clifton
Edinburgh
East Calder
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH53 0HT
Tel: 0131 3333326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsMac 3 reviews from this member

 Great family campsite with some of the best bathroom facilities I've seen in years. Good value site with no extra charge for awnings or dogs. Site has about 60 pitches majority if not all with hookup. Small secluded camping area and 2 timber tents available. Nice sandpit for children young and old. It kept out 13 year old and his pal entertained for hours !
This site is perfect as a base to explore the Edinburgh & surrounding area and only a short journey to the North of England. There is a wee shop on site selling sweets,juice and things for the kids you can order papers rolls milk etc for delivery from 8am the following day.
Jean is an ever smiling host and is genuinely interested in her visitors.
I loved that the site was so nice and quite, no need for "keep the noise down" signs here. Even the proximity was not a problem, the kids enjoyed trying to identify the planes.
Lovely clean level site. Would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J2b1m 2 reviews from this member

 Found site very friendly and easy to find. Camp site was lovely and clean, you were made to feel welcome and they were helpful and told you how to get to places and which was the best route to take. Site is ideally place to use the park and ride at the airport . Will be going again 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GOODCAMPER 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best sites we have came across, the facilities are perfect and the owner is very friendly and helpful. We have two kids and also took our dogs with us and they loved it, there are walks to the canal, to the counrty park etc and is a great base to explore the Edinburgh area. We will definitly be going back to Linwater sooner rather than later. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ski1382 2 reviews from this member

 A truly fantastic little site. The site owner is very helpful and friendly. The site is flat, no leveling aids are required.
A lovely modern wash block which was clean at all times.
Only draw back (for some) was the proximity of the site to the airport, and dependent upon wind direction, the site is directly on the flight bath. However, we never noticed the aircraft at all once we went inside the van.
Located approx 10 miles outside the city centre, it is far enough away not to be affected by the trafic yet close enough to be convienient.
Would recomend it to anyone! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanhozay 10 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant, well organised site. Owner is very friendly and most helpful. The pitches are well laid out and there is plenty of space around them and in the centre of the site. Shower blocks a home from home, spotlessly clean and up to date. The only downside is the aircraft noise, which is to be expected so close to Edinburgh airport but there are a few flights during the night. It wouldn't put me off visiting again - ideal for trips into Edinburgh on the nearby park & ride.
 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heppie02 1 review from this member

 Fantastic time we had there. Site in very good order and clean. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Lots of good information on hand. Will hopefully return again soon if time permits. A very good park and ride system at Ingilston and very good value for a day out in Edinburgh. Also well worth a visit to the local village of Ratho and the Bridge Inn. Lovely kept grass areas and toilet facilities. A lot of effort put in by the team. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JennEd 4 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site and we will definitely be back. The site itself is on a working farm and is very rural - lambs in the next field,and fresh eggs for breakfast, however it is only a few minutes from Edinburgh and Livingston.

The owner has printed details of the lovely scenic walks from the campsite. The tent area is separate from the caravans, sheltered and flat. There are only a few pitches but these are spacious.

The showers and toilets were immaculate and warm - in early May this was important. All round a great site.

 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Speirst 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent run site. Our first camp as a family and stayed for 2 nights. Very handy for walks along the canal and feeder streams. Shower block fresh, clean and well maintained, a must!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the owner most hospitable, friendly and accomodating.

The site is handy for the Hermiston Gate shopping centre as well as local parks.

One criticismn would be the aircraft noise which was noticable on one night. Wasn't a problem on the second night. Worth a visit 


Reviewer: Hooch 1 review from this member

 June 2005
Just got back from a 2 night stay at Linwater, it was a last minute decision to go there and we didn't regret it. It's probably the best campsite we have been to. It's quiet, well kept, the showers are immaculate, the owner couldn't be more friendly, the walks are long but worth it (especially the one that ends at the canal side pub!) and there's even a herb garden you can use for cooking. We will definitely be going back. 


Reviewer: Maryann h 7 reviews from this member

 April 2005
I cannot recommend this site enough. It is really spotless (the toilet/shower facilities are second to none) and well worth a visit. The owner is also very helpful and provides many things - these include the use of table and chairs and fresh herbs(free of charge). It is also very close to many tourist attractions or if you enjoy walking there are a couple of walks from the site itself. If you are looking for somewhere good to go try the Mining Museum it really is good. So if you would like somewhere handy for Edinburgh but with a rural setting then this is the place for you 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Linwater Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Linwater Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Linwater Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Calder      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4977 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements