Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Michelle R 3 reviews from this member

 August 2003
We visited this campsite for a long weekend with my brother and his family who were first time campers. Thankfully they weren't put off camping by the crowded nature of the pitches and the noise which went on well past midnight. However, we will all be visiting quieter sites in future. Despite there being plenty of showers and loos, they were dirty and some out of order which in the extremely hot weather was unfortunate.
On the upside, the wardens kindly jump-started my brother's car for him!
Will not be visiting again.  


Reviewer: Steve K 1 review from this member

 August 2003
Cotswold hoburne is a very good site for the family plenty to do around the Cotswolds, Swindon market is worth a visit on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays, with a car boot sale on the days stated.

There is entertainment on the site but it was on the poor side this year. To say there was a few undesireables on the site is an under statement, but overall it was a pleasant 2Wk break.

If anyone books a rally there I would definitly go. 


Reviewer: Russ 3 reviews from this member

 1 - 3 August 2003
We visited this site as a first weekend into camping, new tent and all ! Booked the site two weeks prior telling them that we have a large tent (9 man Aztec Asilo Plus) and were allocated a pitch that was surposed to be large enough in a corner plot. You pay in advance and cancellation needs a written confirmation....be warned.
When we arrived, booking in was quick but we found someone already occupied our allocated pitch. His (next door) was too damp. It then took over an hour to find us a suitable pitch with the wardens in two-way conversations with the office. This wouldnt be a problem but meant we started pitching at 8pm (a bit late) Apparently the wardens tell the office which pitches are suitable for tents and sizes etc but this never gets recorded. In the end we were upgraded to a 'super pitch', which was nice, but of no use since the 'super' bit is an area of gravel for a caravan awning ! The wardens are very good and work hard to sort out your pitching problems.
The site itself is large and has a central area with indoor and outdoor pool, kids play area, outdoor tennis and mini golf, bar, and entertainment area. The last two get very busy in the evening, and since we had great weather, we also found the pools very busy. Food is available and looked OK (we didnt try any)
The toilet blocks were clean most of the time, but are ageing. The showers are very, erm, basic, with a push button controlled shower timer. No where to put your cloths (they could do with an inner curtain like caravan club sites). The water was cold at times.
It is true what others have written - the site is noisy especially in the evening and doesn't seem to become quiet until very late (past midnight). Kids seem to enjoy the site the most, although I guess the bar is very popular with adults :).
Outside the site there are several lakes and I was astonished to find parking cost 6 (we only wanted to park for 2 hours). You make your own mind up if this is reasonable. There are two nice pubs in South Cherney serving good food.
We enjoyed the weekend, but probably wont be going back to this site. I can see why others like it. My kids enjoyed the facilities but they can entertain themseves wherever they are! 


Reviewer: Maddy &Darren

 July 03
When we 1st arrived at the site we were pleased to notice that the site had many toilet and shower blocks scattered around the sites with the sinks for washing the dishes at the end. We have been to many sites where there is only one and a long trek to get to them can be a pain. We usually go for sites in the country and for a little peace and quiet, we picked this one for a change as we liked the idea of the water park as we wanted to do jet skiing and take our dingy out on one of the lakes. unfortunatly we didnt get to do either, the lake that advertised to hire jet ski's no longer did it so, and the place where we wanted to take out our dingy wasnt within easy reach of the campsite like we 1st thought and charged a HUGE 6 to park the car. The site wasnt quiet atall and we had the family from hell pitched right next to us. On the up side though the club house was nice and very spacious, drinks were cheap enough also. Had lots for the children although we were a couple on our own camping. The boating lake was nice with pedloes and canoes. Nice indoor and outdoor pool, they got very busy though and the water wasnt very warm. Well equipped shop, crazy golf, great play area indoor and out for kids. We took are bikes it was nice to ride around the site and go around the water park, looking at the map we had been given we thought all the lakes were linked together so we could ride around them all but we were very dissapointed to find that all of the lakes were seperated by very busy roads so dreams of riding our bikes through lakeland and of nice leisurly rides in the countryside where shattered when we found ourselves riding on our bikes nervously on busy main roads. We would recommend on family parks like this that thet have a small seperate area for adults only. 


Reviewer: laura 51 reviews from this member

 june 2002
We love the Hoburne sites. very clean and lots to do for the children. this one has 2 pools (indoor and outdoor) a lake with pedal boats and canoes,and tennis. Daily entertainment for the children (treasure hunts,mask making,ect)wardens are very helpful and even popped in to check if we needed any help to set up!not a park to go to if you are looking for peace and tranquility. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Karen

 May 2003
The best thing to be said about the Hoburne is that it is kept clean. While the swimming pool is a bonus in bad weather, (although one could argue one pays a premium price for it)the staff were particularly unhelpful and it is impossible to get a decent meal on site although there is a restaurant, bar and snack kiosk - go instead to the Royal Oak in South Cerney. If you wish to use the tennis courts take your own racquets and balls as the ones for hire are ancient! Take care on field E as the pitches are only separated from a busy road by a grass slope - warn children as there are no signs. While I would not visit this particular site again, several people commented that they had been coming to the site for years and this was just a bad season. 


  Confirmed Booking
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 30 August 2002
Well, I was looking for peace and quite this weekend and unfortunately didn't find it at this site.

On the upside this site is fantastic if you have kids older than seven as they have a full days itinery each day to keep the little darlings out of your face, they have a large swimming pool, large pub/restaurant, plenty of play areas, good clean facilities, organised pitches, wardens on each field. Basically a very organised, very busy family site.

Downside, I like to pitch where I like, under trees, next to the river etc, not a chance here in busy periods. I like a bit of space around my pitch for the kids (3 and 7)to ride their bikes, I like grass not concrete and I like peace and quiet, this site offered none of this, subsequently we left after one expensive (23) night.

If you want loads of kids in your face, noise, organised camping then this is the site for you. If you like chilled, relaxed sites then this is not your place. 


Reviewer: Alan Thompson

 July 2002
This was our first visit to this very good site.
Our two daughters loved it,especially the adventure playground, this is where they met with all their new friends.
Facilities were very good, indoor and outdoor pools had full time life guards.
Pitches were pretty well spaced. toliet blocks were excellent.
As already stated bit pricey in July if you only want somewhere to pitch your tent.
Apparentely there are some lakes around that region but my kids didn't want to leave the site so we didn't see them. 


Reviewer: Andy Harler

 June 2002
This site is long on facilities but short on peace and quiet. definitely a family orientated site and not for couples seeking peace and tranquility. Plenty to do though for the kids (and adults. pitch space is adequate, level and well marked out hardstandings. A picturesque setting adjoining a lake with well scattered trees to give a rather spacious feeling. You can sometimes forget you're surrounded by hundreds of other campers, unless of course, like us you happen to be parked next to a tent of chattering kids. I don't want to sound like a caravan snob but I do think it would be better if caravans and tents were kept seperate. 


Reviewer: Helen

 May Bank Holiday 2002
Site was ok, lots to do but being kidless we founf ourselves surrounded by everyone elses! Not suprising I suppose as it's a family site! Good facilities but couldn't get into the free pool as it was always crowded. but did get on the table-tennis!!

The only critiscsm would be noise at night, it may have just been that we were unlucky enough to be next to the main walk through but the noise from happy campers going back to tents was loud and you'd be amazed what people discuss at the top of their voice at 1 am after a few beers!!

Otherwise great weather, great food (home-cooked bacon sarnies!) roll on jubilee weekend!!! 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement