Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Lacon Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Wem > Lower Lacon Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Lacon Caravan Park
Soulton Road
Wem
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 5RP
Tel: 01939 232376
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 145 Reviews
                7/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrea Fensome 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival the site looked promising, however once through the barrier all change! It was tatty and quite run down. The toilets were quite clean but the showers were fairly dated with mouldy curtains. We couldn't help feeling we had been put in an "overspill" field, although we had the most expensive pitches! The field was extremely boggy and muddy, obviously we could not help the rain! The park for the children was quite good but was right next to us and there was a number of 'savoury mouthed' teenagers there most of the time. Lots of resident caravanners but old equipment. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Elaine 12 reviews from this member

 Drove up to this site and saw caravans with awnings with green moss on them. Before booking in I went and looked around and have to agree with the previous report. The toilets were not very clean and it may be because it is a disused air field that makes it look like a disused airfiled. The staff were very friendly but we decided not to stay so we left. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Wendy Woo 1 review from this member

 This is the first camping site I've ever been to, being as its my first time camping. Totally enjoyed our stay. Felt safe enough for the kids to just go visit the animals etc. pitched near the toilets and shower block which was convienient. A friendly place and might I add security concious. Did however find the ground was very hard which had hubby swearing just a little bit bending umpteen tent pegs. I loved it and will be going back next week. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Fudge11 14 reviews from this member

 There is something about this site that we just really dont like at all.
When we first pulled in, it looked more of a gypsy site. Hard standing pitches were on what looked like a car park. Our kids had great trouble meeting friends (we were told that this was our 'strange northern accent'. There was a kids disco in a barn.Dont wear white cos it is absolutely filthy. (i suppose to be expected in a barn) and drunken teenagers getting it on with each other on the dance floor.
It wasn't warm enough to try the outdoor pool.
on a plus, we found the staff really friendly and helpful.
Shrewsbury is nice to visit.
We also went to Town Park at Telford. Our girls loved this - best of all its all free. You can pay to visit Wonderland but we couldn't them off the park to go and visit 


Reviewer: Fishccer 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Large site with everything you need. Good shop and well priced bar. The staff were nice. When we were there the weather was great and we thought the pool was overcrowded, for the size of the site it needs to be bigger. As others have stated the ground is very hard and you will go through a few pegs.

There are 2 shower blocks and we found the ones at the top end near the barn to be the cleanest, but in both of them we found no where to hang clothes as the hooks were all snapped off. Overall both shower blocks and toilets could do with a good clean. We thought that it would of been a good idea to have some soap by the wash basins for you to use after the toilet. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Merlin72 1 review from this member

 May 2005
We only stayed a couple of nights but apart from the freak storm the site was ok.
I recommend the use of good quality rock pegs and a proper claw hammer as normal pegs and mallets are no match for the ground underneath and the heavy duty pegs sold in the site shop are of inferior quality.
Once errected you may be lucky to catch the bar or take away open but only if your lucky as I think the opening times stated are mearly for display purposes.
The site shop is stocked with all the essentials but take your own beer and wine as the prices are quite high. The cafe was the best part, a fantastic breakfast at value prices.
The pool was nothing like the picture, it was a breeding point for local ducks with water like a stagnent pond and insects, obviously not maintained although shower blocks were spotless.
Evenings the disco is just a converted barn with arrogent securiy out to impress the many teenagers who congregate there, which is annoying if your pitched right opposite it like we were.Later at night if you fancy that Indian or Chinese you will have to get a taxi into nearby wem as the site take away is closed.
All in all it was the fun we had with the company we were with that made the weekend not the site, I don't think we will be returning in the near future. 


Reviewer: Leehum 1 review from this member

 May 2005
Generally, this is decent site with the main plus points being a good onsite shop, cafe and pub, however, the ground is terrible to pitch on which cost us at least 12 tent pegs! Toilets were clean and not as bad as earlier reviews. One other drawback is the somewhat scattered opening times of the take away which forced us to get a taxi into nearby wem which cost over 30 in takeaway food! Would go again but would need to be later in season. 


Reviewer: Sara_Surrey 13 reviews from this member

 October 2004
We stayed at Lower Lacon Caravan Park in our Suncamp Vario 5 tent in what was less than ideal weather for our first ever camping trip as a family. Hubby has camped before, but myself and my two youngest daughters hadn't. We had an electric pitch but were so far away from the electric hook up point that one of the park keepers had to lend us an extension cable.
The ground was an old army base, so we bent at least half of our tent pegs trying to get them into the rock hard ground. Was glad to get the shell of the tent up and get out of sight of those in nearby caravans who were watching as if we were putting on some kind of entertainment for them. Personally, if the roles had been reversed, I'd have offered to help, but I guess not everyone is that way inclined.
I'd explained that I have mobility problems and needed to be near the disabled facilities (shower/toilet etc), and we were literally just across the road from it. On the whole, the disabled facilities, which were opened by radar key, were in tip top condition, although at some point, I think someone must have left the door open as one time I went in, it looked like someone had had a mud bath in there, although this was cleaned by the next time I used it.
The shop was good and carried a varied range of goods. There were lots of animals on the park, a pool and lots of things to amuse the children. Even some second hand motorcaravan sales. On the whole, pretty good facilities, just a shame the ground was so hard, but wouldn't mind going back again now we have a motorhome rather than a tent.
Overall rating 7/10. 


Reviewer: GandA 1 review from this member

 October 2004
THE GOOD: The reception/shop staff were friendly and helpful. There was quite a good range of food/drink items at the shop including a freezer and camping bits and bobs. There is an area near the shop/cafe/reception that sells motor homes and caravans. The Cafe has a take-away (not tried). There are plenty of drinking water, waste water and CDP's around the site. There is an bird aviary, a sheep petting area and crazy mini-golf. The laundry looked cleaned and tidy. The welcome booklet was very good.

THE BAD: Toilets/Showers if cleaned would be acceptable but when we stayed, there was no sign of cleaning: cigarette butts, newspapers on floor, cob-webs, spiders, no hand-wash or soap and the hand-drier didn't work. Hardstanding pitches are big concrete pads holding 8 caravans with a car each in slots right next to each other. This means that any noise from either neighbour sounds as if you are living in a flat with your neighbour above running around on your ceiling. The middle of our "car park" style pitch area gave access to the static homes area with children roller skating, riding bikes and shouting as they went through to the statics. There is an area set aside for ball games away from all pitches but both children and adults kept playing next to pitches. When the on-site bar closed around 11pm, lots of drunk, singing, shouting and swearing groups would be roaming through the park on their way back to their vans etc. In the pitch area next to us, there were caravans that looked as if they had been there since the 1970's with mildew and mold all over their caravans and awnings. Some of them even ran their electric cables from their non-electric piches to ours! To top it all off it cost us 18.50 for one night with a late departure on the Sunday. This is the most expensive site we've been to up to this point. 


Reviewer: stevewallett 5 reviews from this member

 Many times last visit July 2004
I think that the site is very good for a number of reasons. It has an outdoor pool and club. There is an on site shop which is well stocked. You can nearly always get on there, only phoned up once and couldn't get a pitch. The site is nice overall.
On the negative side, the toilets could to with a refurb and a good clean! If we have trouble getting in anywhere we normally resort to Lower Lacon. 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Lacon Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Lacon Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Lacon Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wem      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1720 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement