Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitsi80 1 review from this member

I have not been camping for years but decided I would take my 6 year old son in the Easter holidays for his first experience of camping. We only went for one night.

I picked this campsite because of other reviews, particularly cleanliness of facilities. I certainly was not disappointed. Very friendly and easy check-in. The camping field was close to the main block - toilets, bar etc. All the facilities were kept very clean even through there was so much rain on the first day. There were a couple of play areas for children and most of all - thank you so much to the owner for coming to my rescue by towing me off the field.

All in all the campsite was excellent.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joopers 6 reviews from this member

Recently came back from the Bank Holiday weekend where the weather wasn't very kind! In a tent with EHU and the field wasn't great - loads of mud, hence cars having to be towed out. The weather had been dire so we left Easter Sunday lunchtime although we'd paid for the night, but hey ho, our choice, and we can't blame the site / staff for it - they can't predict the weather!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our few days there. Been there several times and would thoroughly recommend it - 20 min walk to Bakewell and less to Ashord on the Water. Staff at campsite lovely and friendly, toilets / showers always cleaned - only downside is the shop / Stable Bar could be open a bit more! Would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekbab 6 reviews from this member

This was our 6th visit to this campsite, the showers and toilets are spotless with plenty of hot water the shop is small but sells the basics.

We booked for hard standing but were dumped in a muddy field that was impossible to drive on and had the tractor running about towing vans and cars that were stuck. I think this field should not have been opened due to the weather conditions. The wardens didn't really seem interested so if you book take your confirmation with you.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Taxi irene 5 reviews from this member

Had a three day stay with the Bongo Club, really lovely site. Just had 1 issue that being the shower block, though spotless there was no heating & it was -6 through the night. The shower cubicles were very small & the shower head was static, I'm 5ft & it hit me full in the face, parents would find it difficult with little ones, also there were no disabled shower only toilet,

Would go back again

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harry88 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a holiday, just a weekend break and we went to Chatsworth, Bakewell and Gulliver's Kingdom! The freezer wasn't well signposted, but the showers and toilets were clean. There was a big playing field and big playground for kids.

There was quite a few smoky BBQ, but it was quiet at night. No one came to check up on us though, and we didn't see any staff at all.

We recommend you to stay!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 40 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at Greenhills.It is a pleasant site with immaculate amenities.Lovely views and walking distance into bakewell although up hill on the return.Nicely situated for all of Derbyshires attractions.There is a bar on site but because we were there in low season it only opened fri-sun lunchtime as did the shop.No food on site but plenty available in Bakewell.

The shower block was very clean but the showers are the push button type so a bit annoying I could not see any evidence of heating in the block so a bit chilly in the Autumnal months.

Friendly wardens on hand,recycling area,dog walk and playarea.The site did get busy at weekends including many children so forget a peaceful lay in over all I would return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drnh 7 reviews from this member

My girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend in a small tent.

Absolutely loved it. Well kept, very tidy, clean showers and toilets.

The site itself is placed about 1 1/2 miles outside Bakewell town centre so is very easy to get to.

We stayed from Mon through until Thurs and it was lovely and quiet which suited us perfectly as we wanted a nice relaxing few days. I agree with other reviews ref the sloping tent pitches but we had no problem as we pitched toward the bottom of the field which was perfect. During the busy high season times you could face a problem so bear it in mind.

The site has wonderful views all round and there are wild rabbits all over the place which was nice to see. I'd recommend you take ear plugs for the night though, the foxes were on excellent howling form in the filed right next to us when we stayed though. Also Its pitch black at night though so make sure you take some form of lighting.

We made use of the special offer price of 8 per night whcih was superb value for money.

All in all its a wonderful site which I highly recommend you visit. I'll definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nixx 10 reviews from this member

We have just spent Thursday - Sunday at Greenhills, and would happily go again.

The site is large, but not cramped, and tidy and clean, despite the fact that there had been a good few days of rain just previous to us arriving. There are several camping fields, and we were pitched on Hawthorn Rise. It sloped slightly, but nothing too bad. Our pitch (as most were) was just next to taps and a brick store. We were very close to the bar, shop, showers, reception and playground, and the rubbish skips were close by too, so all very close to hand.

We checked in and were shown all the facilities, and shown right to our pitch. The shop is very well stocked and open for a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the afternoon. When it's closed, you can buy bread and milk at the Reception. Reception is open most of the day, and the bar opens from 6pm in the week and earlier at weekend. There is free wi-fi in the bar for your teens with withdrawal symptoms (our pitch was near enough to the bar for them to use the lappy in the tent is they sat in the exact right spot!). While we were there, there was a singer (?!) in the bar on the Saturday night. At weekends, you can have coffee and coke in the bar in the afternoon.

There is plenty of space for children to play, with a football field with nets at the bottom of the park, and a well-equipped playground. There are lots of rabbits around too!

There are a lots of 'do/do not' signs around the site, but to be fair these help keep it in order. There is an 11pm noise rule, which was well observed (although after being woken at 4.50am, I did wonder if there should be a morning 'curfew' too!).

Showers (2 blocks each for men and women) were kept very clean, and I didn't notice that they got too busy or crowded. Mirrors were too high up for me being only 4 ft 10, though. There was a free hairdryer. My only complaint is having to push the button for more water every 20 seconds or so - who can shower in 20 seconds?! Very difficult while you're trying to shampoo.

The surrounding area is just beautiful. A short walk away is Bakewell, with a co-op and lots of little independent shops. Plenty of pub/restaurants if you don't fancy cooking. Ashford-in-the-Water is a pretty little village you MUST have a look at. Chatsworth (we went for the Country Show) is around 15 minutes away. Matlock is well worth a drive (Heights of Abraham and Illuminations like Blackpool, but nicer), as is Buxton. If you just fancy a drive, the tiny little villages around nearby are very quaint and pretty.

All in all, a great site, if a little expensive (25 per night for 2 adults and 2 children with EHU). We'll definitely be going back and using the site as a base to explore a little more.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave_ryman 4 reviews from this member

Generally spacious campsite with reasonable facilities. We were glad of the help of the owners when our electric hookup lead failed (they lent us a replacement). Dish washing and toilet facilities are fairly good. Prices are reasonable and the surrounding countryside is superb.

Having said all that, the site was very boggy after some heavy rain, gives the impression of having no drainage. We were given a pitch at the bottom of a slope which was more or less like camping on top of a very large bowl of chocolate custard.

Very large open rubbish skips, whilst convenient, are a big attractant for wasps, so we were inundated with the things: A can of flyspray is essential.

We needed a little extra time (a couple of hours) to separate the mud from the tent at the end of the stay, and requested a little extra time to do so. The reply was a fairly adamant 'no', on the basis that they were fully booked. We stayed the extra anyway for the tent's sake. Were they fully booked? Nowhere near.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hblake 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay on the recommendation of a friend.

Family with three children - our teenager has learning difficulties. Overall a good site and would return but would be a little more picky over pitch. Ours was fine until our neighbours arrived and then we felt rather cramped. There is also quite a lot of road noise audible when the site is quiet. The hook ups can be a long way from your tent but they have extensions for a returnable deposit.

There are no specific facilities here for the disabled which meant that my husband had to be on hand at all times to take our son to the toilet and shower.

Toilets and showers were fine, generally well maintained and as clean as left by previous user!

Shop on site for basics but beware the opening times as closes in the middle of the day for several hours.

Has a separate field for the children to play ball games including goal nets and two good play areas for different ages overlooked by pub.

Only real problem we had were the dreaded wasps who were a complete pain and at times made eating outside impossible.

Chatsworth House is well worth a visit- book on-line first to save a queue! The house tour can be done with riddles for the children to solve in each room, there is a massive outdoor playarea for 0 - grandads! as well as a farm, fountains maze etc. Bakewell is close and the tarts superb!

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


165 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019