Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KENNY13 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed during July. A rather large site which was very busy.

Without doubt, the facilities are cleaned regularly, however, due the amount of people staying here, they cannot keep on top of them fast enough. There are only 3 showers each for male & female but they do open up portaloos. There are 6 or so washing up sinks (some under shelter/some not) but be prepared to queue at busy times.

The on-site shop sells everything - and I mean everything and at reasonable prices.

You can camp right at the lakeside - which is nice and you can hire canoes and rowing boats for reasonable rates.

Pooley Bridge is a nice 10 minute walk along the lakeside, there is no cash machine in the village, however, the post office offers a cash back service.

There is a butty wagon on site which sells teas, coffees, sausage, bacon butts etc and a small children's play park.

We had a nice family time but would not rush back. (Not for us) 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Houston5 1 review from this member

 We've been camping as a family of 5 for the past 4 years and have visited lot's of campsites.

Waterside House campsite is in a lovely location right on the edge of Ullswater lake. Within easy walking distance along the lake(even with a 3 year old) you'll find Pooley Bridge where there are shops and very nice pubs - can't remember the name of it, but the one with the kids play area at front we preferred - although the two we tried were both very child friendly.

As other reviewers have also mentioned the toilet and shower blocks were extremely clean and tidy. Maybe they've added some extra toilets by now, but we never had to wait for a shower or queue for the toilets. Plenty of bins around for rubbish too. Never had a problem with noisy neighbours.

Would definitely recommend this campsite, lovely location, clean and tidy, quite, lot's of places to visit near by and lot's of walks to go on too. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mavey58 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from two nights at this site. This is a very well maintained and clean site, particularly considering it is on a working farm. We had no problems with noise at all. No large groups allowed. The setting is quite breathtaking and had wonderful views of the lake. There is a well stocked shop on site in case you run out of essentials.

Plenty of toilets that were kept very clean and always had loo paper - a bonus after some of the sites we have visited.

The lakeside walk in to Pooley bridge was very pleasant and took about 15 minutes. There are three bars in the village, all very nice but we found the bar meals expensive and very much the same. Wouldn't bother with eating there again. I would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stprd2002 2 reviews from this member

 This was our 10th visit to this site, I cant find any faults with the campsite. If you arrive late,y ou just pitch where you want and the farmer will see you the next morning for the rent 17 per night for 2 adults and a dog, not bad for the area.

The showers and washing facilities are free and the showers are great, lovely and clean.

Some campsites in the area are a bit regimental, but this one is the opposite.

A visit to pooley bridge is a must,you can walk along the lakeside all the way.

There are 3 pubs in the village, the best one is next to the shop, you can sit at the side of the river and wathch the fish jumping out of the water. I still cant remember the name of the pub after all the visits we have made.

Buying food is not recommended in the village shop as it is well over priced,a trip to penrith where you will find a morrisons and an aldi, morrisons is just a marque at the moment, as the main supermarket burnt down last year

We are going back in September for a week, cant wait. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abner17 3 reviews from this member

 This is a really stunning location, situated on the edge of the lake and an easy 20 minutes stroll along the lakeside into the village of Pooley Bridge. The site is clean and well maintained and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The on-site shop is well stocked and prices are reasonable. There are many excellent walks in the area.

The site was quite busy during the weekend that we visited and it was a shame that the 11.00 pm cut-off for silence was not observed or enforced.

The toilet blocks were kept clean and well supplied but there is a need for more facilities to meet the needs of so many people on this large site. The portable cabin loos in the field were really not sufficient to meet demand and the main toilet block at the site entrance was a long walk away.

In conclusion this is a great location and a lovely site that needs some investment in additional toilet facilities and better management at night but it is definitely recommended for a midweek stay when it's less busy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Blaggs77 1 review from this member

 The camping site is just great, booked in at the office / shop and was pointed in direction of pitch which was very easy to find. Had ehu pitch which was a nice size, trees to the back, near road which is not a problem.

Wildlife is all around, nice 15 minute walk along the lake into pooley bridge, plenty of pubs, the sun inn has real ales and a nice garden, the crown is a nice pub with access to river where you can sit and watch the afternoon go by

Site is large, toilets always clean and tidy, could do with more showers, shop well stocked. Couldn't wish for more perfect views of lake ullswater, will be returning soon 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kblack 2 reviews from this member

 We visited over the bank holiday with 2 other families and had a choice of where to pitch. The site is large and tidy with lovely views of the lake from some parts. A short walk along the lake takes you into Pooley Bridge, a village with good facilities.

Would recommend a trip with the Ullswater Steamers. The site also rent out rowing and motor boats at reasonable prices. There is a small children's playground, a shop and also a catering van selling everything from a full breakfast to a tray of chips.

The only downside to this site is that there are not enough showers for the amount of people allowed on site. Plus, depending on where you pitch, you have a trek to wash up or take a shower. There are extra toilets at the far side but extra showers would be a great addition. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walker_85 2 reviews from this member

 First visit to Pooley Bridge area and we will be going back for sure. The camp site is right on the lake so if you get there early enough you can camp meters away from the lake shore, ideal if you are keen on sailing or have canoes and boats.

We paid 32 for two people camping for two nights, we stayed Saturday to Monday and on the Sunday night and Monday morning had the place to ourselves almost.

Toilet and shower facilities are average but well kept and seemed to be cleaned daily. Showers where free and warm also open through the night. There was plenty of bin stations on the site with various for gas bottles that were well signed.

The shop on the site was well stocked but the staff who were there when we arrived were a bit off, there is no pub on site but Pooley Bridge is only a 10-15 min walk away along a beautiful flat walk.

The Sun Inn has a great beer garden and is very dog and child friendly, sports on TV as well.

We ate out at the Pooley Bridge Inn and found the staff rude and impolite

Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms in the heart of Pooley Bridge was the highlight of the trip, a great family run tearoom, great teas and coffees, and a huge full English breakfast ! Will certainly be going back there. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cossey90 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for the second time this year, the weekend after May Bank holiday. After our first visit we decided to come here again down to the location and views of the lake. Both times we have had an excellent stay and no problems with any noise from other campers or any complaints for us making too much noise.

Pooley Brisge is just a short walk along a road although I'm sure there is a footpath somewhere which has a couple of pubs for food and a shop for anything you need as well as the on site shop selling mostly everything you need. Will definitely be returning again sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ~*~Tilly~*~ 1 review from this member

 We visited over the bank holiday and found a field where the kids had more than plenty of room to run around and play. The playground is small and simple but very clean and the kids enjoyed it.

There is a lovely walk by the lake that was doable with a pram all the way into Pooley Bridge with a couple of nice pubs, 'the Sun' has a nice play area that the kids loved.

The site was tidy in general, however, there were often long queues to the toilets and showers and these facilities were quite dirty at times. In one of the showers there was cold water dripping from the ceiling in the part where you leave your clothes and get dressed.

At night time the site wasn't very quiet. The guards walking the grounds were very friendly and lenient. To us this wasn't a problem at all as we stayed up quite late anyway but I could see that other people could have a problem with the late night noise.

All and all, this was a good site and I would definitely come back. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59859 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement