Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Brighton > Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
East Brighton Park
Brighton
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN2 5TS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 212
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 165 Reviews
                8/10 from 165 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  165 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rjcf 14 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant, well-maintained campsite a couple of miles from Brighton, and is quite large. The downs are one side, a housing estate - with various useful shops - on the other, and we found it very peaceful. However, we stayed from Sunday to Thursday, so can't really comment on what it might be like on a Saturday night. Everything that we saw was very well-kept.

We had no problems at all with the staff, except that when we booked, we were told that we must arrive before 4pm or there would be no-one there to check us in, so we rushed to get there, and found that the office was staffed for a long time after 4pm.

We had a full-service pitch. It was slightly sloped, such that our chocks didn't compensate sufficiently, but was nice apart from that, and the pitch was very wide, which we really liked. We had to buy an additional attachment to be able to use the water supply. No problem, the office sold them.

If you don't want to walk into Brighton, there is a dear little train that runs alongside the beach, or plenty of buses.

Something to be aware of - the road up to the site goes through various playing fields, and was always cluttered with parked cars and vans, and was sometimes tricky to negotiate in a largish vehicle.

They give you an access card to open the site barriers with and this was tricky to use from a motorhome; it's obviously designed to be used from a car window.

We were a bit surprised that there were no recycling facilities. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarah106 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very clean, nicely positioned pitches and beautiful views across the downs, breathtaking in fact. Lots of wildlife and fairly quiet apart from some road noise at the very back of the site.Would be nice to have a well stocked shop that sells newspapers but the site itself makes up for that.

Just two negative comments to add - it seems there are two separate sets of wardens; upon arrival we met the unfriendly and unhelpful set ! Not at all welcoming. On our departure we must have had the second set - what a difference!

Not really keen on the ride on tractor doing the rounds before 8am on a Sunday but other than these couple of points the site gets 10 out of 10 from us 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jclark2906 2 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 5 nights (Thursday to Tuesday) here.

It's our first experience of 'The Caravan Club', and it didn't go too well.

We arrived Thursday afternoon and first impressions of the site are excellent, very clean, nicely presented etc. The reception staff were a little officious - two people staying in a 6 person tent for five nights was obviously quite a concern. I later concluded that they had to phone through to Caravan Club Command to get authorisation for such a thing.

After the somewhat lengthy explanations of how to open the barrier with the access card, how to get to the tent area car park, where to park within the tent area car park, and where we could pitch the 6 person tent with two people staying for five nights, they went on to explain that the toilet block for the tent fields wasn't open, so we would have to use one of the caravan blocks. Apparently our arrival had not pushed the camping numbers beyond the critical point of opening the camping block. The toilet blocks that were open needed a security code to enter.

At some point on Friday the camping numbers did reach the appropriate level, and the toilet block was opened. No security code needed either - it was a free-for-all. The celebration atmosphere continued right up until Monday, when numbers dwindled again, and the doors were locked. It wasn't the end of the world, the nearest toilet block for the caravans was only 5 minutes away - but it was still irritating.

Over the weekend we decided that the atmosphere on the site was a bit like the enforced fun of a holiday camp in the 60's - but without the fun.

There was no re-cycling facilities at all, and the information room (which included absolutely no mention of Brighton at all, but plenty on Chichester) closed at 8.00pm. The sign didn't say when it opened.

Maybe all of these things wouldn't feel so negative if it wasn't so expensive. Costs are calculated on a per tent (according to size), per person, per car, and per night basis. Clearly a six person tent with two people and a car staying for five nights was always going to be expensive!

The 'shop' didn't really sell anything useful - but there is a Co-Op within 10 minutes walk, where you can also get the bus.

There is no facility for electric hook-ups for campers. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcs5patter 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Sheepcote Valley for 2 nights in September.

This site is excellent, from arriving on the Thursday to leaving on the Saturday, everything about this site was excellent.

The staff at reception were very professional and knowledgeable. The site itself is very well organised and kept to a very high standard.

I did notice that if you arrived with a tent after 8pm, you would not be able to get in to the site and would have to wait until 9am the next morning, so make sure you arrive before 8pm.

The tent field is very well kept, the washing up facilities and the showers are very clean and tidy.

Overall, the site feels very safe, offers great facilities and is in an excellent location. The Marina is about a 10 to 15 min walk away (lots of restaurants etc) and Brighton Pier is about a 30 min walk.

Will definitely be coming here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kayleya 3 reviews from this member

 This is a very easy going, if expensive site. Well kept site with fantastic facilities, the toilet and shower blocks are well heated, clean and a pleasure to use. The lawns are well manicured, the staff polite friendly and extremely helpful.

The marina is in walking distance and the site is well served by public transport.

We have stayed here a few times now, and always look forward to it. We are comfortable leaving our van there knowing the site is safe and well staffed.We have never had any trouble with other guests- late night noise, loud music etc.

The down sides to the site are the inability to book pitches in advance ie you may not be parked next to your friends at busy periods, and our brother in laws VW campervan was not allowed to stop apparently due to having the incorrect ventilation, though we can of course understand that this is a restriction due to safety reasons - we had however never been aware of this problem before.

The laundry facilities are good, if a little expensive, but hey, who really wants to be doing laundry when away!

I'd recommend this site to all types of people, families, young people and older couples- a warm welcome seems to await all - a shame about the price though - however all caravan club sites seem to be about the same! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greyfox 16 reviews from this member

 We booked 2 nights here at the end of a 2 week tour.
The site is deceptively larger than it  first looks. The tents and tourers are segregated with the tourers getting either hard standing or grass. Pitches were large enough for a van, awning and car. 
The site itself is flat, tidy and quiet, with a small children's playground in the middle. The toilet's and shower block were very clean and wardens emptied bins etc. Everyday.
The biggest attraction for this site is it's location, just ½ a mile from Brighton's beautiful marina or 1½ miles from the centre of town. It is not cheap given its lack of anything other than basic facility's but bear in mind a days parking in Brighton is about £15 and a night in the Thistle is £200, it actually makes a lot of sense to stay here and take a bus.
Good digital TV reception so the girls don't need to miss their soaps!
Overall a good site and will visit again, it would be nice if the staff could smile a little bit! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shayleigh 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, my mum and my two sons stayed here for two days last week - 31st july and 1st of August.
This was my first stay at a campsite as we have only owned our motorhome for six weeks now.
What a great start to my( hopefully) many years of travelling yet to come, this was a lovely place to  stay.  I was very impressed with the site, the staff all seemed pleasant and helpful, it was clean and tidy and the surrounding scenery was lovely, I also found everyone on the site to be very neighbourly, friendly and helpful and being a beginner I did need a little advice once or twice!
Brighton is a great place to visit although my legs ached for days when I returned- probably a good thing I think!
Thumbs up Sheepcote valley, we loved our stay and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen Wells 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site two or three times and would definitely go again. It is in a lovely location and always very clean and tidy. Very close to the Marina at Brighton with lots of entertainment and eating places. Play area for children and you actually drive past football pitches to get to the site if you need space for a game of cricket etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lilly27 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I visited this site for what was supposed to be 6 nights, however,due to the m5 floods we delayed our trip by a day,a nd as we visited glastonbury first, called the site when we arrived there. The phone call to sheepcote was one of the most difficult I have ever had with a member of the service industry,and was told they had expected us 3 days earlier and I had got it totally wrong as they never made mistakes. It didnt get better the warden known as Kath was awful, and after she moved us to a second pitch a male warden came up to me and demanded to know why I was on this pitch in a very loud abrupt manner. I suggested they improved communication in the site office.

The site itself is well maintained, but noisy in the mornings as the go round all the time on ride-ons. The showers are clean but only four in each block and there are queues in the morning. Its quite a way into Brighton by bus or cab. The comments book on site had positives, but also quite a few negatives re lack of willingness to help and abruptness from wardens, so read into that what you will. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hack_out 1 review from this member

 £18 per night. for 2 Adults and 1 car.Just came back from a few nights away from sheepcotes campsite. A very nice site, although it has no entertainment, you are only a very short distance from Brighton Pier and ASDA.
The shower / toilet block was always clean, it also has an hairdryer. They do sell some basics, like tea / milk. There is a reasonable cafe / coffee restaraunt, so for those cheating on a camping trip can eat there. Lots of happy kids on their bikes.
(Tent AREA) You need to get on level ground, there are 2 areas you can go in, I'd choose the top field, as the one nearer the toliet block does have little wiffy smell and there are more children there. Top field had sea view, I was the king of the castle, loved looking at everyone in our field, as we got the ONLY pitch that is higher than anyone when you arrive, you will see this.
You can have a hike up the South Downs Lovely view from up there, be careful on your decent, it's quite easy to slip on the rabbit totty.
Security is very good, the guys come around every so often.
I enjoyed our stay, I will be more than happy to visit there again. Only prob, no tent bookings are taken, 1st come 1st served. 


Previous     165 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5067 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement