Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Yan 1 review from this member

 June 2005
Popular site that caters mainly for walking fraternity. Large camping area I had the s pleasure of visiting this site as the leader of an organised party of two dozen. Llyn Gwynant is a popular site that caters mainly for the Snowdonia treking fraternity.

The site has a large camping area which allows reasonable privacy if required. The prominent rule board on entry is largely ignored by campers (unleashed dogs were rampant on our visit) Campfires are not only allowed but more or less obligatory due to the vast army of midges that pervade the site from late afternoon onwards. If you visit this site in the summer months, expect to be eaten alive without protection (several of the more dismissive members of my party were badly bitten - those wearing DEET repellent were not bothered at all).

The redeeming qualities of this site are its breathtaking location and its evident desire to have a minimal effect on the environment in which it functions. The rubbish skips are accompanied by bottle/can banks and the site is littered with raised fire grates, which allow blazing fires that do little damage to the grass beneath. Wood for fires is available on-site at very reasonable prices. The “bathroom” facilities are impressive and were kept remarkable clean during our stay, considering the large number of campers on site. Allows reasonable privacy if required 


Reviewer: Janey76 3 reviews from this member

 March 2005
The campsite is in an excellent location, with easy access to countless walks and other things to do. As you can't book in advance, its advisable to get there nice and early to secure a good spot!

My only criticism would be that there is only 1 shower available for each sex and I imagine in peak times there must be a lot of queues. The facilities are quite basic but are clean and tidy.  


Reviewer: Tiuri 3 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Certainly a stunning site, but the location (at the lakeside and at the foot of a mountain) is asking for trouble: bring loads of midge-repellants. We didn't, and I suffered the results of that for a month (appr. 70 stings in just my face and neck).

For a simple camp site fairly expensive (£ 5 p.p., £ 1 for the car, and £ 3 for a bag of firewood which you desperately need to keep of the midges).

 


Reviewer: Tom and Clare 1 review from this member

 October 2004
Great site, surrounded by mountains of snowdonia and right on the edge of a lake. I'd imagine this place was outstanding in summer - watersports, walking and open fires. However, it the weather is forecast to be windy then make sure you pack all of your extra guy ropes because the wind howls down the valley straight through the exposed campsite. There are a few trees where you can shelter your tent, but hard to see them if you arrive late at night.
Defintely one of the most spectacular sites we have camped in with very clean toliets and showers and about a 5 min drive from a great pub - which we used as it was too cold and windy to sit outside!! 


Reviewer: imnogeek 8 reviews from this member

 August 2004
August Bank holiday

Very busy, when I asked where I could go I was told "if you can find a space you can have it". Found it to be friendly with basic facilities. Not too much noise considering the amount of people on site. Views to die for, sat in the evening with a beer round the camp fire looking at the mountains, great!

There were canoes on hire if you wanted to take advantage of the lake and river. Weather was not good and you can hear the wind and rain coming down the valley like a train which is exciting and worrying :)

If you are looking for a more traditional site without all the whistles and bells then this is for you, I will be going back. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Mushinski 11 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Visited this site Aug Bank Hol for the first time, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It really is as beautiful as it looks on the web site. The owners were friendly and well organised. Fees were collected each evening, which also gave you a chance to buy a firepit (to protect the ground) and firewood. The toilet block did only have 1 shower each for the ladies/gents, which did cause queues due to the amount of people on such a large site. It was free though. The 'no soundsystem' policy was not adhered to while we were there - which was its only downside. We woke at 4.45am to the base of someones car stereo on the second night!! On the whole 9.9/10, and would recommend to anyone. 


Reviewer: Campking 3 reviews from this member

 August 2004
I stayed here for 10 nights and had a lovely stay. Toilet paper, soap and hand towels provided. Plenty of wash basins, two washing up sinks under cover with hot water. Only one shower for each sex so some queuing lightly. Showers were hot. Beautiful setting on Snowdons doorstep, friendly sheep walking around the campsite, any noise from neighbours stereos was quickly turned off thanks to the warden. No mobile phone reception which was a pleasant relief. Only downside was the weather and the midges. Nearest pub was a bit too far to walk to on an nightly basis so be prepared to relax by the tent on an evening or drive. Impressive recycling facilities available. Canoes and kayakes available for rent on the lake and river - but I didn't get around to using them. Would definitely go again and recommend to others. 


Reviewer: veryace 1 review from this member

 May 2004
We had a fab weekend here, 3 tents 6 adults 3 children and 1 dog! Being able to have a camp fire was great, we didn't find it too expensive, but then we would of almost payed anything to be able to have a fire, which helped keep all the midgies away, that was the mager downside, we all came away with lots of bites (at least 20 each!)
Weather was plop, but the views were out of this world! 


Reviewer: Nosher 6 reviews from this member

 August 2003
I took my 8 year old son to introduce him to mountain walking, and as the other submissions said, it's hard to think of a more beautiful position for a campsite. But I thought it was expensive for what it was, the camping rate was £5, but then we had to pay for logs for the campfire (£3 per bag), hire of the firebox (£1 per night) and £1 per night for having a car! Add that to having to pay a fortune for the mozzy spray.... (yes they were a real problem).

There was a group of lads staying there who were causing real problems for other people, staying up late singing & shouting & playing football in the dark, breaking branches off trees for firewood, and generally causing mayhem, and the "parky" only did something when people started complaining. The grass was also very long so stayed damp for a long while...

That said, we did have a great time, and because we only used the site as a base for walking it didn't impact on our enjoyment too much.

Just so you know, my son was like a mountain goat and left me behind on the Pyg track & Miner's routes, and has asked to go to Scotland next year to do some "proper" mountains!!!!! 


Reviewer: Beverley G. 1 review from this member

 14 - 16th July 2003
Stunning place. Worth visiting for the fabulous scenery and lovely magical atmosphere. Makes a great base for walking and hiking. The Snowdon Mountain Railway is only 15 mins drive away.

We were basically left to get on with it. Facilities were clean but basic. Make sure you have all your supplies, as there are no shops for quite a distance. The nearest villages are Beddgellert and Llanberis.

It was very quiet when we were there - except for being woken at 6am by shrieking blokes doing a sheep round up. All part of the fun though.

Would definitely go there again. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement