Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ebony1 3 reviews from this member

 Booked this site at last minute. As we were late arriving we decided to eat at the food works. It was very dark and we could hardly read the menu, so we asked for the lights to be switched on, only to be told that they were on but the bulbs had gone! This remained unchanged all week. The lights around the pathway to the touring field were also out and despite asking for a remedy, the lights remained out all week. The lights in the disabled toilet were also out, meaning that disabled guests had to find alternative toilets. I know it was the end of the season when we stayed but the site was very busy as there was a Majorette competition on. We felt that our request for lighting was continually ignored. The site is in a lovely part of the country and we shall return to the area but definitely not the site! 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fermec 8 reviews from this member

 I would just like to say I thought this was a great site and enjoyed our stay there. We stayed for a weekend in a tent the touring section is a bit smaller than other Haven camps but still pleasant, caravans and camper-vans are put in the middle with electric hook-up, the tents can pitch round the outskirts We decided to go for a swim the pool is small but we didn't find that a problem maybe in peak season we would, what we did find a problem was the changing rooms there were only 3 of them, this created a big queue and people were using the baby changing rooms to get changed there were 3 of them. I had to wait 45 minutes to get changed. There was plenty of space to pitch the tent  but there were 2 families close by who like to play rounder’s and football, now don’t get me wrong I don’t mind anyone enjoying themselves but when they decide to get behind you and boot the ball to there mate which is flying past you and going over your head then it becomes out of order, I asked them to move to where there tent was and they did, but next day they were at it again so we decided to go for a walk round but when we looked back one of the adults were stood in front of our tent while the other was booting the ball at him, so we had to go back and ask if they would move because it would have been bashing into the tent, they did move but made a point of blasting the ball at the tent and then said sorry, it is a shame this is allowed to happen there is a big field on the site where ball games can be played, also I noticed in the owners section there were signs every few yards saying no ball games pity there wasn’t any on the touring section. There is Horse Riding on site and my Daughter loved that she is mad about them, so she went on a village ride this took well over an hour and cost £24 which we thought was very reasonable and she really enjoyed. There is a parachuting school or club next door to the camp and we really enjoyed watching them throughout the day. Also on Sundays there is a big car boot next door we enjoyed walking round that and getting a few bargains, and just 1 mile down the road there is a nice pub Hope and Anchor this did 2 meals for the price of one £6.95. So apart from the rounder’s and the football we had a great time, I don’t think we would go on a bank holiday or high season but one to lookout for at the end of the season. Pete and Anne 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anthonylws4 4 reviews from this member

 9/10 I give this camp. I found this camp site to be very nice, it's level, clean, toilet blocks very close no matter where you pitch up. I have stayed here in a tent and a tourer and have just booked again for another weekend here.
I have stayed at alot of campsites and was worried when I read reviews about this site but compared to some other sites we have stayed at, this camp is very nice and i'm glad I tried it for myself.
The facilities are close by ie 1 min walk to club etc. There is a play area for kids so you can sit outside your tent and still see them unlike alot of other camps. Out of all the camps we have tried (over 15 different ones) this is in my top 5. Nice grass area for tents, level pitches for tourers. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janiep35 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed our stay. The pitches are clean and large enough for a large tent, a car and a gazebo. The warden was friendly and helpful on our arrival and throughout our stay.
The toilet and shower facilities were clean and in good repair, however at times the liquid soap and toilets roll holders were empty.
The on site entertainment is second to none. The entertainment staff are enthusiastic and friendly. The 'funstar' shows and visiting artists were all of a good standard. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Faulknerf1 8 reviews from this member

 Recently spent 4 nights here - 4 nights too many!  No warden on site for 2 days, apparently the last warden had left suddenly. 
Totally overcrowded with tents and units everywhere - blocking vans and cars in on a regular basis. Even tents all over kids play area. 
Toilets and showers very run down and dirty - no soap, occasional loo roll (if you were lucky!), no hand dryers. 
Grass hadn't been cut for a considerable time, bins overflowing causing litter to blow around and field and paths in very poor state of repair. I first visited this site 8 years ago and I don't think there has been any investment in it over this time.
Unfortunately, I don't think I can find a good thing to say about the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chillman7 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this Haven site for 7 nights. Well off the beaten tracks in the Lake District. Be warned of twisting narrow roads leading to campsite, with slow moving traffic and congestion especially high season. One good point, the site was flat throughout. No white line markings for pitches just a marker number, so didnt know if we were on own or others pitch really. 
Both toilet blocks below standard, not enough showers or toilets. Washing-up facilities were too few and filthy. Rubbish collection not regular enough.
Now the entertainment - 1 smallish outdoor pool inadequate to cater for numbers. You will not enjoy a dip here! All drinks and refreshments well over-priced. Shows were okay. You have no choice but to walk through manic and noisy amusement arcade to get to all entertainment facilities - excellent marketing idea by HAVEN. Soft play area far too small, ideally cater for approx 10 little ones as was the outdoor play area. Oh and be wary late- nighters dont get kicked out till gone 1am so be ready for a wake up call in the middle of the night.  
The Londis shop at site was quite well stocked but a tip is to use Spar shop at nearby Grange over Sands. Reception staff very helpful.   
All that said the Lake District is still a beautiful part of the country to visit, no nearby beaches though just mud flats. We wont dare visit a Haven site gain, we were warned but wanted to accomodate our kids. They didnt like overcrowded aspect either. Give it a fair mark of 5 out of 10. Gray.  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angela22 1 review from this member

 Site was basically a field with a through road to some riding stables, beware as horses went through they left droppings all over, not pleasant!
The shower blocks were dirty and no sign of any cleaning going on. Family cubicle very small and cramped.
Site had electric hook up and waste facilities, the main plus point is that the Haven club was great for the kids on an evening, we went out round lakes through the day as not worth staying on-site as all vans crammed on and not much room for kids to play. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chappo 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at Lakeside, after reading some other reviews I was worried about what I may find. Upon arrival we were allocated our pitch number and set up our trailer tent. We found that the toilet block was very clean and well kept, the lighting around the campsite was good and it was not too far away from both the site shop or entertainment complex, but far enough away not to be disturbed by either.There was one instance of drunken youths messing about late one night, but this was quickly dealt with by the warden and security and the offenders were ejected the following day. The pools were well maintained, if a little small, but there was at lease TWO lifeguards on the outside pool at all times.
The entertainment was good for the kids and the staff were excellent, cant say a bad word about them. The prices in the entertainment was average pub prices as were the price of the meals.
It is a very good site and I would return for another break without any hesitation. We had about an hours rain and the field showed no signs of flooding as described in other reviews. Maybe Haven have read them and done something about the problem, who knows. All said and done, a good break enjoyed by myself, my wife and 10 year ols son. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deallyboy 13 reviews from this member

 We decided to book and stay at this site having been to Haven sites before and found them to be busy, but with good facilities, well managed, and with plenty for the kids to do. We didn't mind paying a little extra to be able to use all of the facilities.

This time was different, on arrival we booked in with the warden and were given a pitch number and left to it, the touring site was basically a field with apparently random slabs placed on the ground with pitch numbers on them, the warden offered no advice on where to pitch or how the pitches were supposedly arranged. The ground was boggy, the roads were very poor. After pitching the awning we went to explore. The website was very alluring, but in reality the outside adventure play area for the kids on the touring site was actually a few logs put into the ground, no climbing frame, swings etc. The outdoor pool was not open, despite the brochure stating it should have been, we learnt that the boiler was broken and the staff had been told to say that it was too cold!

The indoor play area was very small and over run by older kids, making it unsuitable for anyone under 5. The indoor pool again was very small, and there was a constant queue to get in, one morning we had a wait of 40 minutes.

I do accept that it was the school holidays however it seemed as though the site simply wasn't geared up for the amount of holiday makers, in the evening, the main entertainment room and the sports bar were both very busy and the tables were filthy, with dirty glasses and spilled drink making them sticky

Due to the chaos on the touring field we returned to our pitch on sunday evening and found that our van was totally boxed in and we were unable to get our car anywhere near. Only by asking some other campers to move their vehicles could we squeeze our car near to our caravan.

Worse of all was the toilet block, it was disgusting, there was no liquid soap, paper in the toilets was very hit and miss, the showers, sinks and floor were dirty at whatever time of the day or night, the toilets were blocked on a regular basis and the drains outside overflowed, on the last couple of days there was no water in the blocks as all. We raised our concerns and were met with apathy from the warden who stated he had reported the problems 'what could he do'. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Swedge 1 review from this member

 We have just returned - today - from an 8 day break at Lakeland. 2 families 40,39,13,8 and 65+(grandma) and 39,39,14,12 and 75+ (grandma again!)

Both stayed in 3 bed Silver caravans, and both were of a reasonable standard. Ours had a couple of problems (fire wouldn't work properly, light bulbs out, TV picture poor), reported and within an hour a member of staff was there to fix, very impressed.

The reception staff were great, very friendly, informative and helpful, even offered free bottles of water for journey home (hot one today!) Some of activities well priced - pitch and putt good value at £2 per head and crown green bowls good fun for all family at £2 for set of 4 bowls. Outdoor pool seemed closed all the time and indoor pool had limited hours and was very full. I would recommend using the site as a base for visiting local attractions. lots of places to visit - Cartmel, Windermere, Kendal etc.

Park very clean and staff helpful - however! Bar was overpriced (£3+ for a bottle of beer) and soft drinks overpriced. As previously posted, suggest buying from vending machines(of even golf clubhouse!) You have to walk through the arcade to get to the Function Room and Aquabar so anyone with kids will find this drains your resources pretty quickly. We didn't indulge in the early evening entertainment as our kids are a bit older but the Function Room gets packed out early. We went in at 8 o'clock and couldn't get a seat on Saturday night. Also the Aquabar has limited seating so it's not as if you can go into the pub instead. This doubles as a "restaurant", however I wouldn't recommend eating in there. Slow service and tables in need of emptying spoil the experience. 1 mile down the road is the Hope and Anchor pub, well recommended for a meal!

The onsite chip shop is reasonably priced, although service again slow - as an option drive into Grange over Sands (10 mins) and pick up a Chinese (think it was called the Peking Duck). Onsite supermarket (Londis) was reasonably priced for basic groceries (bread, milk, toilet rolls etc)

Both families (along with some other friends) camped at Reighton Sands last August and Lakeland is far superior.

Only real negatives -

Bar prices, Slow service, Clubhouse very busy at times

Positives

Very clean, Wide ranging activities, Beautiful countryside nearby,
Helpful and friendly staff 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1047 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement