Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Bekesbourne Lane
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)
CT3 4AB
Tel: 01227 463216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather + phil 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three day break at this lovely site. We found the site very well kept and peaceful (though we did return just before the bank holiday) and having good weather made it all the more enjoyable. Really enjoyed the walk into canterbury. The wardens gave us a bus time table which was helpful but not really necessary if you like a good walk.

My only criticism would be the showers which although extremely clean were rather small and in some need of modernisation.

Overall I would definitely recommend this site but don't go if you don't like bunnies! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vanuata 3 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site. Staff exceptionally welcoming. A small shop for bread, milk sweets etc. and staff will order you a morning paper if required.
Whilst toilets and showers were on the dated side, they were immaculate, never had to queue for showers. Kids playground was been spruced up while we were there, but perfectly adequate.
Noticed some pitches were sloping and chocks were needed. Canterbury itself was a fantastic city and bus stop just outside campsite. Worth a visit to Port Lympne for the zoo. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nobrainnopain 1 review from this member

 The site was very well kept.
Facilities very clean.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Stayed on hardstanding. Good sized pitch
Ideally located for trips into Canterbury (approx 20 minute brisk walk from site to centre of city)
We chose the site for its proximity to Canterbury and reputation of Camping and Caravanning Club sites.
We weren't disappointed and would definitely use the site again if visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathryn milburn 1 review from this member

 The site is very well kept really clean and tidy. Personally I found the temperature of the showers too hot, but if it was cooler it would not be right for others.
Lots of places to visit and things to do. A visit to the Cathedral is a must and the guided walk was very interesting. Dover Castle, White Cliff's, Saphire Hoe and Broardstairs are all within easy reach and worth seeing. There is a very good bus service from the site but it takes about 20 minutes to walk in ( it takes longer going back to site because it is uphill).
Ferry prices are very good if you fancy a day in France, we went to Calais on a Sunday but it was closed, still had a nice day though. Please do not think of this site as a stop over on the way to the continent, the area is beautiful, we will go again and highly recommend it to others 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fern_finch 9 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site.

Facility wise, it's camping and caravan club - so you know you are getting quality. The staff are really friendly and will always help out in anyway they can.

The site office also sells basics, and you can order papers - ace !

The pitches are on different levels, different areas: there are quite a few nooks and crannies, so you can get a pitch in the middle of a large field, or one in a little cubby hole on your own.

Canterbury City centre is 25 minutes walk away, and there is a bus stop just outside. The walk is along a main road, but it is no hardship.

This is an excellent site for exploring Kent, and is also very convienient for Dover and the Channel crossings.

The other thing this site benefits from is being over run by wonderful bunnies everywhere. They are lovely.

We will definitely be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Larry the Lamb 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first time to a Caravan and Camping site. We choose this site to visit Dover castle and Howllets Zoo.

When we arrived and went to reception we were told our pitch had not yet been vacated by the previous people, but the staff could not have been more helpful, they took us to see several other pitches and eventually we choose a grass pitch in the corner by the smaller dog walking area. This was under the electricity pylons, orginally we had stated that we did not want to be near the pylons after reading other reviews, but the pitch was so nice we thought we'd take the chance.

The staff positioned our caravan and sorted out some blocks for us as there was a slight slope and we hadn't got round to getting any yet. The pylons weren't a problem at all and the pitch was lovely.

We experienced very heavy thunder storms over the week and noticed some of the hard standings became flooded, but I think this was an exception rather than a common occurrence.

The site was clean, tidy and well kept; the facilities were always kept clean and there was always plenty of hot water. There is also a fish and chip van that visits the site a couple of times a week and is good value.

The site is in a great location, close to Canterbury and also close to large open areas(just across the road behind the golf course) where you can walk your dogs.

Remember to take chocks with you as some of the pitches were on a slope.

All in all we had a fantastic week with really helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarah106 6 reviews from this member

 We spent Bank Holiday here and were so sorry to leave. What a real treat to have such friendly, helpful wardens! Something that's been totally missing elsewhere. These are the absolute best - always working hard but always time for a smile and so willing to help.

We found the site very well run and very peaceful even though we were near the entrance. The dog walk in woodlands is great(shame one of our Labs wont walk!)and the shop is very useful & nice to able to order a paper. The wardens make it though :-) Easy site to get to and we've already booked again for June! Can't wait to go back - and hope the rain stays away this time (not that it spoilt our stay). We'd like to publicly thank all the wardens for all that they do & for making the site look so nice with all the flowers and extras. You're the best ! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kentfolk 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived a little after midday on a saturday, and as you may expect there was a little difficulty getting car and caravan parked up out of the way to announce our arrival.

However,was given the choice of several pitches by a friendly site warden, all seemed level and well kept. The toilet and shower blocks were quite acceptable, with nice hot water, but only downside I found was that there was only one soap dispenser above a vast array of washbasins, so it was well used shall we say.

There are electricity pylons nearby and therefore tv reception can be poor without a booster. Mobile phones were fine. We enjoyed our stay all in all, even though two nights of flash flooding didnt dampen the break

My only gripe was probably half a dozen children and their bikes racing around the site at speed but nobody was run over and it was their holiday too after all.

We shopped locally at a lovely large Morrisons a few minutes away and the reception sold basics, so no problems with supplies. A good site for a base to explore Canterbury which is brilliant for young and old alike. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bates 13 reviews from this member

 Excellent Site, Would Recommend Highly to anybody who wants a relaxing break. Staff Friendly and very helpful.

There are good washing facilities etc and the reception sells essentials - can order papers for the following day.

Play Area and Dog Walk are good.

There is also another area to walk across the road which goes for miles.

Location is Brilliant for Canterbury and Coast.

We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phil64 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in the middle of Febuary. Lovely site, the toilets are normal club standard, spotlessly clean, hot showers, the cubicles a bit on the small side, but again very clean.

We were pitched on the new hardstands which were put in last year. The pitches are level and a good size.

There is a dog walk on site and a bigger field across the road where you can let the dog off for a good run.

There is an ample playground there for the kids with swings and climbing frames.

Canterbury is a walk away or there is a bus stop outside the site.

Canterbury itself is an oldyworldy town with good pubs, fish and chips and coffee shops. The Cathedrial is worth a visit.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely return in warmer weather! 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Canterbury Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Canterbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement