Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bank House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Bank House Farm Reviews

Bank House Farm
Hulme End
No Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0EX
Tel: 01298 687333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 131 to 135                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil 1966 2 reviews from this member

 We've just had a lovely 2 nights here at this small and quiet site by the River Manifold.A Young couple are managing it. Toilet and shower facilities were clean. 2 showers in both gents and ladies.free hot water. Cost for 2 of us was 12 a night. Site alongside the river is very picturesque.We pitched near the river which was very calming with bubbling water.however the couple before us had said that with the rains the lower part of the site had got boggy near the river and a car had had to be towed out.

Pub across the road is busy and on Sunday night had Brass band practise which was a bit of a treat to listen to.local beers available here.

The site is very convenient for start of Manifold way which we cycled and not too far from starts of Tissinton and High Peak trails which we also biked.

Would definitely return here. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 Bank house park is the new name for the campsite already known on UK campsite as the Manifold Inn Buxton Derbyshire . We came and stayed here as family groups celebrating a friends big birthday. There were 11 pitches and these included tents, a caravan, a motor home and a horse box. We were lucky and had brilliant weather. The owners were very accommodating The campsite is very picturesque with a small stream running down one side where the kids loved to play. We pitched up either side of the small track which runs through the campsite field. A small slope has to be negotiated to use the facilities. Toilet and shower facilities are new and kept very clean being mopped frequently. There are only two showers and two toilets in each of the male/female blocks. Two washing up sinks and one water pipe. The new owners are awaiting plans to extend the facilities. The cost was 16 for two adults two children tent and car. The turn into the campsite is very sharp beware. On Friday a two mile walk across fields took us to the beautiful village of Hartington where we sat outside the Charles Cotton inn eating door wedge sandwiches and drinking a glass or two. The landlord was most helpful with us being a big group. On Saturday we did a 5 mile circular route from Alstonefield taking us to Milldale along part of the Dovedale valley. We didn't stop at the George pub in Alstonefield to eat as the landlady was very off maybe because we were a large group so we got into our cars and went for lunch at the Charles Cotton where we were made to feel very welcome. Opposite the entrance to the campsite is the Manifold inn a very welcoming pub. The landlord even provided a television for the England football match on the Friday night .Serves reasonable homemade food. They even made a sticky toffee pudding for 32 of us when we finished the weekend of with Sunday lunch. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saranevans 5 reviews from this member

 We couldnt have picked a worse weekend to go camping. May bank holiday - it rained and rained and rained. This did not detract from a lovely site though and we are sure it would have been perfect if the weather had held up. We camped with some friends and our 2 year old and their 10 month old. We stayed in the smaller field near to the facilities and main house. Some pitches are on a slope so we stayed near to the path which was flat. Right next to the river so would have been great had it stayed dry (although we are told that the rain kept the gnats away!) Toilet block was about 50 metres up a slight slope and part of the main farmhouse. Quite basic but clean and plenty of hot water for showering. Owners were friendly throughout and the site has a 10.30 pm noise curfew which made it very peaceful. The Manifold Inn is literally 100 yards across the path and over the bridge. Very good food although it does get very busy (especially if the weather isnt so nice). Bakewell and Buxton within driving distance (approx half an hour).
We had a barbeque and stone slabs are provided to put any disposable barbeques on (although they do get taken very quickly!)

The location is very picturesque and I think we'd definitely consider going to this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Beetle68 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site on Friday night and we got a lovely pitch right beside the river. The site seems mainly for families and the children made some lovely friends straight away. They spent ages catching little fish in the river.
Although we rang to check that the refurbishments had been finished (as previous reviews suggested) we were told that they had been finished but they had not. There was one working shower for men and one for women and three and two toilets respectively. There was no water connected to the hot taps in the toilets for men or women and the washing up sink has just one cold tap. However the shower (which runs on tokens- 50p for five mins) was nice and new and hot. There is no toilet paper provided so remember to take your own! (we heard some desperate laughing due to possible post number 2 problems!). The site was completely quiet after about nine pm and there was a good atmosphere. The nearest chippy that we could find was a good drive away (20mins or so?). The "Smithy's Arms" in Monyash (15mins drive) is a great little cafe that does generous sized brilliant tasty breakfasts.
We would probably go here again but when all the work is finished when it will be very nice. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hill5 1 review from this member

 I contacted the Manifold Inn to enquire about availability. The lady I spoke to was very honest and explained that the site facilities were not quite finished, but that we would be welcome to stay.
We enjoyed our stay and found the basic facilities to be better than others we have experienced.
It was lovely to be able to pitch our tent wherever we wished and our children loved playing in the river which runs alongside the site.
There are some excellent cycle and walking routes in the area as well as some wonderful caves for the children to explore. And of course, a lovely Inn for dinner.
I have recommended this site to our friends and we will return. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 135     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bank House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bank House Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bank House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement