Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vnessascha 3 reviews from this member

Passed through here on a long drive and enjoyed our stay. The toilets, showers, and kitchen cleanup areas are very clean. We paid 10 pounds for 2 adults with a tent. Dogs are free. The site is small, but well maintained. It is next to a main road and airport so some might not enjoy the noise.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rbx1 8 reviews from this member

Great site, relaxed, friendly and the facilities were spotless clean. There is noise from the M4 but it didn't spoil our stay. Small play park for the kids. The site owners were always around and were very helpful. We used the site to visit Legoland (take enough grub for the kids as the prices are expensive.to be expected) London only a 30min train ride from the local station 1 mile away. The site is next to River Thames, we had a nice stroll along the river watching the river boats. Would defiantly visit this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stickie 15 reviews from this member

Me and family stayed for a week end as a base to vist Legoland.
This is the second time this year we hae stayed.The toilet and shower block are spotless.
There is an exellent play area for the kids and really nice walks along the river which is only two mins walk away.
There is a lot of noise from the m4 but after a while you don't even notice it is there.
We will definetly be going back again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roganfamily 5 reviews from this member

The owners and wardens are very friendly and helpful on the site, there are plenty of water points, good clean toilet / shower block. The noise of the M4 just faded after a while and you hardly know it's there. Good loctaion for Legoland, Maidenhead and Windsor and very close to the Thames.
Only thing I can say, is that it is cheaper to wash and dry your clothes at the on site washing and drying machines, as it cost us a small fortune going to the local laundrette.
All in all a very good site. Really enjoyed my stay,and will be back!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrissy0671 1 review from this member

Been coming here now for the last 3 years and think its a brilliant camping site. Both owners and wardens are friendly and helpful. Its always been busy when we have been there so its obviously popular. Although its busy - its small and quiet - no noisy night time entertainment. 
 
The facilities are very well attended - always clean and there is always plenty of hot water which is a necessity with 4 kids to keep clean. Laundry facilities available too. We have always pitched down at the bottom near the M4 and don't mind the noise. Yes its a bit noisy but after a while you forget about it and its soon background noise.
 
The campsite is in an ideal location for exploring the surrounding area - Windsor, Legoland, Thorpe Park and being next to the River Thames its ideal for those who like a walk, bike ride or time can be spent watching the boats come through Bray Lock. There is a Sainsbury supermarket a short drive away.
 
Could say more about the site but I think by saying that we have booked for next year says it all.
 
Its well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lanny 2 reviews from this member

We are new to camping and so are tending to go to the smaller and friendlier camp sites and this is certainly one we will go back too.  The people that run this site are lovely and made us feel very welcome.  We were given our own little area between hedges and it had its own picnic table too. 
Water taps were all over and the shower/toilet block was great and clean. Also the showers were large enough to take children in as well - a really plus when in our group we had a 4yr old, 3yr old and 2yr old! 
They made our dog very welcome and checked he was ok after a nearby hotel set off fireworks at night.  The road noise is there all the time but it sort of blends into the background. As I am a light sleeper I found ear plugs helped a lot. 
It is near the towpath of the river and we had a lovely walk nearby.  The lock is very interesting for the kids and the lock keeping staff are fantastic - they had a first aid kit very handy when one of our little ones fell over.  Hope this helps other campers - as reading tthe reviews certainly help us.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jpbrown 2 reviews from this member

Great site, with friendly and helpful staff. Very well spaced tents with plenty of space for kids as well. The facilities were first class and clean. Hot water all the time too. There was a nice play park for kids on the site.

Location very near the the River Thames and ideal for Windsor, Maidenhead etc. Large superstore close by. 

Very close to the M4 but this just seems like background noise after the first night. 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Agar041 5 reviews from this member

Nice campsite, located very close to the Thames. Very well priced, but as other reviews mention buy ear plugs (20p) at the desk if situated at the M4 end of the site.
Facilities were spotless and functioned perfectly. Nice wide open area. If coming from cycle route 4 continue past Bray marina bridge up to the lock, take a right about 50m before the lock and continue down rd.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slyder 1 review from this member

Chose this site as it is fairly local, and it was our inaugural trip with our newly bought kit.
 
The site was pretty much as described in previous reviews.  Not too big, and the amenities seemed clean to my inexperienced eye. 
 
We were put in the 'far right' corner of the camp, right under the M4.  We were told the noise wouldn't be too bad, as it "would go over our heads".  Wrong!  Not much sleep the first night, managed a few hours on the second due to exhaustion!
 
It was fairly quiet in terms of 'people noise' as the play area was the other end of the camp.
 
We enjoyed it, but to be honest one half of the warden team was less than welcoming.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BoyAdz 1 review from this member

Have just returned from our first visit to this site and will definitely be going back again.

Lovely site, with very friendly and helpful staff. Very well maintained site with plenty of space. The facilities were excellent, very clean and well maintained with plenty of hot water.

Great location next to the River Thames and ideal for exploring surrounding areas like Windsor, Lego-land etc. Large supermarket very close by so easy to stock up on any last minute supplies.

Only little downside is the proximity to the M4 however as described in previous reviews you get used to this very quickly and it resembles more of a background hum.

Overall, great site and looking forward to our next visit.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2126 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019