Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HIDEHI33 1 review from this member

 Stayed 2 nights, Fri & Sat after failing to get in at Caravan Club site on the lake in Keswick which was full to overflowing. Having seen the hoards of people there, Castlerigg turned out to be a much better option. Site is in a beautiful location with fantastic views over the lake. Grounds are well maintained. On site takeaway / cafe was very handy, Saturday night pizzas and early morning bacon butties went down well with the kids. Pub in the hotel at the end of the drive (not part of the site) is a bit shabby but decent enough for a drink and bite to eat. Toilet block in tent field was clean but only 2 showers, main toilet block near reception was much better, modern, clean, plenty of showers and loads of hot water. Free freezer in Campers Kitchen was useful, able to buy food for bbq at the market in Keswick and store for a few hours. Weather was superb which always makes a difference. A childrens play area would have been good but kids were happy enough kicking a ball around on the football field. Overall a very good site, would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wild Camper 10 reviews from this member

 A word of warning - this site is not for those of you who prefer very basic sites, or ones with few facilities in remote locations. However, Castlerigg Hall has much to recommend it.

The views from the wooded tent camping field are exceptional. From the pitch we chose there were uninterrupted views of Skiddaw, Keswick and Bassenthwaite Lake, and these were especially impressive in the evening. Tents and caravans - never ideal bedfellows - are completely separate.

The camping block has toasters, freezers, hobs, washing machines, excellent showers, a games room and an exceptionally well stocked shop. This means it is far removed from the type of site we usually head for. Despite this, we couldn't help but be charmed by Castlerigg Hall.

The site is incredibly well looked after, and the owners and staff have a clear conservation agenda that goes well beyond the usual commercial concerns of such large sites.

One of the best things about the place is the location. The proximity to both Keswick and the Castlerigg stone circle are clear advantages. The walk into Keswick is along a very beautiful path through some glorious woodland, with terrific views of Derwentwater.

I came here with a small group of friends and we would definitely all stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosebud14 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site near Keswick at Easter this year, this was our second visit. We were very lucky, we arrived early and avoided the rush, the staff were very accommodating.

The facilities here are generally excellent, the cafe provides a takeaway menu in the morning and in the evening, portion size is great for the price, however it gets busy. We noticed that they would make up flasks for campers who had limited kit, we felt that this was real old fashioned service.

The campers kitchen and lounge area came in real handy when the weather turned cold one evening, very relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

One downside is that the shower block on the camping field is starting to show signs of age, it would benefit from a real deep clean. However a short stroll and you at in the main facilities, centrally heated, all mod cons, at no extra charge, it is worth the short walk!

Great site, but it does get really busy at bank holidays, best to have a back up plan as they don't accept bookings for tents which is a real shame, I think they have a great campsite, it would be nice if they could reward repeat customers with the facility to book a pitch in high season. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tricky0001979 5 reviews from this member

 It was my first time staying at this site as was unsuccessful trying to book on a near by "camping and Caravan Club" campsite for one night so we took a chance and drove down as they don't allow tents to book as it's first come first serve.

When we arrived the staff on reception were very helpful, and looked like they had lots of information on the area. The Tent field is off to one side and well away from the road, during the day you could slightly hear some traffic but it's really background noise and at night no traffic can be heard. They have plenty of tent spaces with us having a big tent (a Vango Diablo 400) we had plenty of room for the car as well and the field could of held more tents.

The toilets and showers were always clean and tidy.

Would recommend to people to visit here, and I will be revisiting this site in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemma o7 1 review from this member

 This camp site is all that the reviews have said about it. The cafe is good and clean and tidy throughout. The pub just outside the camp site is ok, only veggie meals. If you want a good meal go to the Packhorse Inn in Keswck, the food there is very good, best to book.(01768 771389). Also pub called The Lake is good.
Glad I found this website, my other half had found a place to camp which seemed it was still in the dark ages. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buffysam 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site just after the new school term started so the site wasn't that busy. The shop is wonderfully well stocked and the cafe was very handy. The kitchen facilites were a huge plus as well as the large chest and upright freezer for campers use. We had lots of fun in the games room playing table tennis, take your own bats and ball otherwise its 20p per hour.The showers, toilets and wash ups were impeccable as was the whole site. The views of Lake Derwent were stunning during late afternoon,not even the mast slightly obscuring the view put us off. Keswick is a lovely town and it is possible to walk which takes about 20 mins. There is also a walk to the lake from the site and further up the road which I was assured is worth it. The only downsides I can think of about this site are, you cannot book for tents so in the high season it must be quite difficult to get in the second being that the tent field was on a slope and 70 % of the tent pitches are like it. Only the pitches nearly the toilet block are flat so if you go out of season and pick a flat pitch you will have a whale of a time. One slight add on was there was no children's play area. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireg74 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from a long weekend at Castlerigg. This was my first time solo camping. I loved every minute of being on the site and didn't want to come home. The views were stunning and facilities 10 out of 10 for cleanliness and friendliness. I have stayed on many campsites in the past few years but this will definitely take some beating. Everything about it was perfect (even the weather!). Look forward to spending time at this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peety 2 reviews from this member

 I love this site, it has excellent facillities, clean toilets and showers and an excellent indoor picnic area with a book swap facility.
The only problem is that you can not book for tents, only managed to get on once after trying several times a year for many years.
I often recommend this site to friends but maybe I should keep quiet so that I will have a better chance of getting a pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lemonhead 1 review from this member

 This is a spacious, clean and well maintained site; we stayed here once before 10 years ago and will certainly consider visiting again. One point worth noting, not mentioned by other reviewers is that (like many sites in this area) they do not take bookings. If I have any criticism, it is that the site was difficult to contact by phone and they did not respond to e-mails. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alane5181 1 review from this member

 1st time I've camped out in a tent, it will not be the last. The site was perfect. It was clean, had showers with hot water, clean toilets, a kitchen area to wash dishes and prepare food. The kitchen contained a fridge and a free freezer for guests to use. There are also 2 hot rings to use to cook on.
There is an area where guests can get together with a selection of games and books. On site is a large shop with a cafe attached if you do not want to cook. The best part off this site is the views.
Outstanding! The views are fantastic rain or shine. Site well recommended 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement