Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denys1954 3 reviews from this member

 We found the site clean and well maintained, the pitches on the whole were level as the camping area has been tiered.  The toilet facilities were good and clean most of the time.  The site has it's own shop which is well stocked but with a large Morrisons only a couple of miles away isn't an issue. 
 
The site has it's own beach but unfortunately this is pebbles, one of the few drawbacks we found.  We did find the pitches a little tight for room but then we do have a large tent and day tent.  If you are lucky there are a few larger pitches.
 
A good site and an ideal location as a base to explore the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Visualize 8 reviews from this member

 We came for the weekend, other family members were here for the whitsun week we joined them at the tail end. We had been allocated a pitch but this was quite a way from where our family were so we asked if they had any thing nearby which they did and they allowed us to change. Flat, spacious piches, they do like the caravans pitched correctly but this is nothing unusual from other sites, the jockey wheel needs to be on the marker, we were left alone and no one came to check we were pitched correctly. The park is very large, there is a private shale beach which slopes, although its possible to take dogs on there and sea fish from. There is a lovely walk up the hill on to the cliff. Toilet facilities are great very clean and plenty of blocks, there are loads of water points you wont have to go far to fill up or get rid of your waste. Horse riding onsite for £10, Pony rides for £1, donkey rides £1, pony and cart rides, LAnd train called hissing syd, Donkey racing, childrens races, football training, There is an outside heated pool with inflatables and lifeguards, the owner John is always around taking in part in the entertainment including there very own bingo game called Ship Ahoy. The bar is quite expensive for drinks but you get that with any site, takeway and shop expensive but its a commercial site, We will def be going back we had a fab time and didnt want to come home. The kids had a great time loads for them to do on site and loads in the surrounding area of Bridport, West Bay, Weymouth, Lyme Regis Seaton etc.  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fred67 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we were given no help as to where our pitch was very unfriendly overall. It was very busy but the campers near us were great. My wife wouldn't go to the toilets or shower block's at night as they ere surrounded by gang's of teen hoodies. At night the noise was something else from drunk teenagers to parents effing and blinding to the very small hours security didn't want to know. It wasn't cheap but we left early.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Labyrinth 2 reviews from this member

 We were here last August Bank holiday weekend. It was a sorely disappointing experience. We are regular campers and were surprised by the poor quality of the showers and their lack of cleanliness. There was plenty of hot water but also plenty of black mould in the shower cubicles. The loos were cleaned infrequently given the huge numbers using them. The site was extremely noisy with traffic and returners from the clubhouse. The beach was littered with bottles, cans and fast food wrappers. The shop was expensive even by campsite standards and overly basic, masses of sliced white bread and coke.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lozza11 3 reviews from this member

 When we first arrived the park was absolutely packed, as it was the week before the kids were due back at school and a bank holiday Monday! Our friends had booked our pitch for us, so when we arrived we pitched up in our plot while our friends were out. Anyway the lady who comes round to check each plot came over to say that we hadn't pitched correctly. She was quite rude. She said our jockey wheel had to be on the marker and our car had to be on the right side of our caravan? Then she made comments on how our friends had pitched their caravans, saying they were too close together, and the wrong way round. We couldn't see what the problem was, our friends wouldn't mind if our caravan was 2cm over there pitch. Apparently this lady was quite rude to alot of people who had pitched near us. Anyway we didn't move our caravans, we told her we had paid alot of money (nearly £700 for 3 plots for 2 weeks) and we would reasonably park our caravans where we wanted. She said if we didn't move them she would fetch the manager. But the manager never came, and we never heard off them since. So don't be surprised if they get their measuring tape out, as they are strict on how you pitch!

Apart from this slight hiccup at the beginning of our holiday, you really couldn't pick any faults with the site. The new block of showers, toilets and laundrette was perfect- showers were clean, very spacious and hot water 24/7. The facilites here for the kids is great too. The site itself is very large, because its close to the sea it is quite windy so don't forget the hold them tents and awnings down properly, as we saw lots of awnings broken due to gale force winds! Would go back again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jools4 3 reviews from this member

 Some of the views posted conflict with our stay.
 
I thought the pitches were spacious (but we were not on the tent bit at the front of the site which did look crowded). I liked the fact that pitches are marked out and allocated at booking rather than turn up and try to squeeze in somewhere.
 
The toilets were very good. The shop was large and well stocked but incredibly expensive - example small gas canister for gas lamp was £5 as opposed to £3 locally (only small item but markup typical of most items). Food on site was also v. Expensive. You can take it or leave it. Brideport is about 2 miles away as is West Bay both had excellent take away food and stores at reasonable prices.
 
I thought bar prices were reasonable but kids entertainment was very poor so we only went once.
 
Site is well run and tidy. Location and surrounding countryside is superb. Beach is not appropriate for young children but the river formed an excellent lagoon that the children used for playing in.
 
Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarajo 3 reviews from this member

 The site overall was very clean with great children's entertainment but was one of the most expensive I have visited they charge you extra for everything they can and found the staff were quite rude if you queried the charge for anything.
 
Would definitely recommend the Crown pub which is just a short drive away the food here was excellent and very reasonably priced
 
  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+S06 3 reviews from this member

 Good. Ample showers, cleaned regularly. 2 (cold) outdoor pools, 1 shallow with lifeguards on duty. Childrens playground ok. Beach was pebbly and dogs were allowed. Take-away was very good. Bar a bit expensive. Pitches were flat with a fair bit of space. Plenty of hook-ups Didn't go to watch any of the 'entertainment' but could hear it from our tent!
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northender0602 4 reviews from this member

 2nd visit to this campsite in 3 years and have not been disappointed either time, the showers always nice and warm and only waited twice in a fortnight for no more than 5 minutes and I dont think thats too bad for peak season, Always nice and clean, a good flat site just a stroll to the beach and a good touring base and some good walking to be had, fishing too  Car hardly moved the whole fortnight as we were very fortunate to have excellent weather that allowed us to walk most places.
Not cheap and they will sting you for any extra going and dont try to get away with anything because they patrol every day and WILL catch you out if you try to put up any unpaid for gazebo, so beware. But still an excellent campsite 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyMP 5 reviews from this member

 We had booked to stay at this site for a week beginning 13th and chose the site for its location and facilities for children.  Its location is great, set in superb countryside. 
 
On arrival reception was friendly and efficient; but that is where the good news ends!  Perhaps the site was simply not our style, but we found it overcrowded, noisy and dirty. (The amount of litter was unacceptable).  To be fair, the shower and toilet amenities were new and clean, but there were only five showers for each gender which was an inadequate amount to cover a very large number of pitches. There was also a heavy volume of traffic throughout the site, (including daily full-size refuse lorries), much of which had no regard for appropriate speed limits, especially given the amount of young children playing. 
The beach is at the start of Chesil which is made of shingle and pebble, it shelves steeply, is inappropriate for bathing and is certainly not ideal for children. The club house had all the charm of a working mens' club.  We also experienced much "yobbish" behaviour (including foul language)  throughout the site which we found unacceptable for a supposedly family orientated site.  The shop was adequate but had little fresh produce.  
 
In summary, we were wholly disappointed with this expensive campsite (£32 a night) and left 5 days early.
  


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement