Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pegless 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two-night stay at Greenhills. It was a lovely site with stunning views and great facilities. (Although the shop opening hours could do with being extended.) We were allocated pitches in the non EHU field directly behind the children's play area which were not huge, but certainly flat. There were three other areas for tents, only one of which seemed to have EHU and all of which seemed a little more on the slopey side. If I were to return, I'd be requesting the same field we had this time.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bugsey 1 review from this member

On arrival we had to wait 3 hours for our pitch to become available, when tried to book in we was told no arrivals before 12pm (noon) which didn't state in brochure or on website.

Campsite was fine well drained however there was limited shower and toilet facilities when campsite was busy. Noise was supposed to stop at 11pm but some campers do not know the code to keep quiet!

After having a mole joining us for breakfast in the tent it was a laugh.

The views from the campsite were brilliant. Never heard any traffic passing by, it was kept tidy. The shops sold basic needs eg. Pots,food etc, and Bakewell isn't faraway for any other items.

In conclusion the campsite is very nice and very well looked after.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GirlyGang 3 reviews from this member

We visited the site for 2 nights (midweek) during the summer holidays. Overall not a bad site but we wouldn't choose to return.

Positives

-friendly reception. When pitch allocated was unsuitable, the staff quickly changed us to a larger less muddy pitch.

- Set in beautiful countryside with lovely views of area from site.

- Short walk to local villages with several restaurants/bars.

- 2 small playgrounds (one for under fives).

- Pleasant bar serving a range of draught drinks at reasonable prices.

- Sufficient toilets/showers even in busy periods. One hairdryer with good flow available.

- Shop providing a range of camping/food essentials at not so bad prices.

Negatives

-some pitches where very tight and muddy. Although we only had a small tent our guide ropes had to be crossed with our neighbours. Think this also contributed to the noise during evenings - we had at least 8 other tents within hearing distance.

- Maybe we have been lucky on sites in the past, but we found the toilet/shower blocks to be very grubby! Although appearing relatively new, the tiles and doors in showers were covered with dust, soapscum and dirt. On our second night we decided to be the great unwashed rather than visit them again. Also on several occasions some toilets had run out of toilet paper. No vanity cubicles are available so shaving/brushing teeth/washing has to be done at sinks near toilets.

- Lots of litter appeared around playground and bar area at different times during the day.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping claire 3 reviews from this member

Have just come back from greenhills, it was our first trip to the peak district so wasn't to sure of what to expect but was pleasantly surprised, the site itself was lovely.

There was a bar, with a large gazebo outside and plenty of outdoor seating, and also 2 playgrounds next to the bar, one for older children and one for younger, also a large playing field next to the play areas with goal posts

The 2 toilet blocks was a good idea, as one was open whilst the other was closed for cleaning, and they were always spotless, there was plenty of water, and on the times I went for a shower, there wasn't a queue and it was always hot.

The pitches were rather sloped, but luckily we had one that wasn't to sloped,

We chose the site because of its closeness to Bakewell and Matlock bath, both very nice, we also visited the nearby heights of Abraham which was a bit expensive but a very good day out, on the evenings we took a walk, and was surprised to find a waterfall, also the nearby river Wye was full of trout - which seemed to steal the bread we were giving to the ducks, that was a giggle, there was some quite big ones in there by the look of it, the stable bar was reasonably priced, and , we hadn't realised it, but there was free wi-fi in the bar, which could of been handy if we had realised

A brilliant site, I definitely recommend it to everyone with kids of all ages, and will be returning soon

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wolf camper 17 reviews from this member

First visit to peak district, and this site ,probably one of the best sites I have stayed at. Very muddy due to rain, well it is summer, but did dry out after couple of days. Pitches can be a bit sloping, but by no means the worst I've encountered. Two children's play areas next to outdoor bar area, very good planning! and ball games area. Shower/toilet areas clean. Bakewell 5 mins drive away, large co op. On site shop basic. Overall superb and will return very soon

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvaslove 1 review from this member

A bit of a mixed review from me. Visited in the last week of July during terrible weather. I know nothing can be done about that but it really made things very muddy and difficult.

I found the main electric tent field to be sloping and on arrival I had to refuse the pitch I was given as it was just stupid.

Despite this though, the showers/toilets were clean and tidy. The small shop was well stocked but surely in the middle of the school holidays it should be open more than a few hours a day?(2 in the morning, 2 in the afternoon) The little pub on site was very nice, and the two little parks and huge playing field complete with goal posts were great for the kids.

The main caravan area was nice and flat but it's yet another site where all the fully functional caravans and motorhomes get to pitch right near the facilities whilst the poor campers are a long muddy trudge away despite paying the same per night!

Overall, not a bad site but if it was mine I'd seriously look at investing to terrace the camping fields and put gravel roads in them.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilse 2 reviews from this member

My friend and I stayed here for one night last week and so our experience of the site is pretty limited. We arrived early and received a very warm welcome and was shown to our pitch. All was fine and dandy, apart from the weather, and we pitched our tent and spent the rest of the day walking.

We hardly touched the facilities, but they looked grand, and we spoke to several other campers there who gave the site plenty of praise.

The one downside, and it is fundamental to us, was the noise issue at night. We had a group of youths who were effing and jeffing when they returned from the pub at 2am, and this continued until 2.30am at least, and woke up most of the field and certainly my ten year old daughter heard some language I didn't want her to hear. When the lads were challenged, it was more swearing from them and made no difference to them at all. I understand in the next field a group of youths were up to 4.30am!

Nice site, with good facilities, but its size leads to its own issues with noise.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frostybear 1 review from this member

It was our first time camping and the staff at the park were very helpful and polite.

The site toilets and showers were really spotless and clean . The shop on the sites sells most of what you need (as I forgot a can opener). They only thing was the noise on the site after 11pm. The noise went on till nearly 3am people singing and shouting . But apart from the site it's self was fab

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foinavon 2 reviews from this member

I first came here 30 years ago with my parents and this weekend just one I returned! As others have said the staff are friendly and polite. Our only problem was that we were pitched next to some lads who were loud and foul mouthed (at the top of their voices) until gone 2.30am. Not the kind of thing I want my children to hear. Some campers asked them to calm it down but were met with abuse in return. Next morning I complained at reception and fair play to the owners at Greenhills , they were sympathetic and evicted them. Don't let this put you off as next night was fine with no problem at all. Lots of families use this site and you can see why, two good play areas and a games field. There's real ale at the bar too . I would recommend Greenhills.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul Richardson 3 reviews from this member

Admittedly the weather had been bad prior to arriving which made the ground very wet & muddy.

Staff not very friendly on arrival. Many tents packed close together and cars allowed to drive around tent field which added to the mire.

Literally could not step out of tent without being covered in mud. Shower/toilet facilities inadequate for amount of people on site, as were washing up facilities. This was the most expensive site we had booked after staying at other sites prior to this one.

We were due to stay 3 nights but left after 1

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019