Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AG26 3 reviews from this member

 We had just purchased our first tent and wanted to try it out. I had read previous reviews for this site and it sounded ideal. We have 2 young children that were very excited about camping so I didn't want them to be disappointed. We booked in advance for the May bank holiday weekend and expected it to be very busy.

When we arrived we could pitch anywhere so decided on a spot in the family field at the top of the small hill with a great view of the lake. The children played on the grass at the front while we put up the tent. The field didn't get very busy and everybody spaced their tent a reasonable distance from others so never became too intrusive.

The site was well kept and toilets / showers etc were regularly cleaned. Although there are only a small amount of showers if you timed it right you didn't have to wait.

We walked into Pooley bridge along the lake side path on our first day which was lovely. We passed a rope swing which our children enjoyed playing on. In the town there are a few pubs that also serve food, but being bank holiday weekend they were all very busy and we had to wait for a table to eat, so you may wish to phone ahead and book during busy times.

The site is very dark at night so torches a necessity for late night toilet trips, but lovely views of the lights shining on the lake from properties opposite. The sun goes down over the lake which just adds to the already lovely views from this site.

On our last day I asked what time we had to pack up and leave, but there didn't seem to be any rush, we were told that they weren't expecting many new arrivals so could leave when we pleased, which we were glad about so we could take our time packing up.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come again, although being new to camping we can't really compare it to anywhere else, but it had everything we needed for a great weekend 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zenobia6 4 reviews from this member

 My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at this campsite. We read all of the reviews before attending and true to commenterís word, the receptionist was very odd. She was not very welcoming at all, however we were expecting this from the reviews. Once we put this aside, we had a wonderful weekend.

The commenterís have failed to mention that this campsite is actually a working farm, and stinks! However, after the first few hours we could no longer smell it. The tent pitches are right next to the cow shed and you can hear the cows and sheep from the field across the way, but what more do you expect coming to the lake district?

The pitches are very flat and have good drainage. The toilet and shower facilities are clean and hot. There is a shop, which has all of the basics and a little meal truck, which sells hot drinks and burger and chips and that sort of thing.

The thing we enjoyed the most about this campsite is that it is right on the lake, I mean literally you could not get any closer! The site also offers a boat hire service, which was lovely on the nice calm lake. We would definitely come here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan G 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived and just managed to catch the reception found our pitch easy enough but it looked as though they had some heavy rain in the week before and had chucked a load of gravel down it did have EHU though. All was quiet the first night but we returned after being out the following day to find the campsite packed. Our stop there was ok but would of been nice to of being told they had had some rain the previous week.

There is plenty of free showers at the site with nice hot water but they only went on for about a minute then needed resetting, There were plenty of toilets too. If you go don't forget a torch as it is black dark at night mind you that makes it fantastic to see the stars. There was a well stocked shop and a takeaway van on site which also did breakfast. But by far the best thing was the views out over the lake. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The a-team 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at waterside week ending 25-27 September our 1st time here and found the pitching fee`s very reasonable.The site was quiet no where near its potential however we are now at the back end of the season and it is only us die hards still trying to squeeze in as many weekends as mother nature will let us

I Found the facilities to be spotless however outdated they may seem on other reports and the only criticism is there is not enough toilets/showers to cope with demand that this site may experience during peak times so timing a visit would be important however the location and views could easily out way any negative criticism this site may encounter during busy periods. We tried it late into the season and ended up having the whole Manchester field to share with our friends. The kids did not know where to run to next! will go back again but probably not on a B/HOL or a peak time due to size of facilities. Noted there is a small park however where it is situated next to the farms working barns and working vehicles is far from ideal and 100% supervision would be required at all time.  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Montysmum+dad 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first family camping experience in a borrowed tent and I must admit I wasn't really looking forward to it. It was wet and windy when we arrived but after that the weather was glorious. The situation of the site is stunning and we woke every morning to a view of Ullswater which couldn't be beaten. The facilities were ok, lots of toilets but only 4 showers which were always busy and lukewarm.

There is a pleasant 20 minute or so walk around the lake to Pooley Bridge which has a couple of shops and 3 pubs. Not far into Penrith or Keswick for shopping and sites.

The site was busy with it being the school holidays although the noise didn't go on too late into the night. Lots of people coming and going every day that we were there. The play area was only small and the field we were in was on a hill so not much good for ball games.

Hasn't put me off camping as we now have our own tent and have been twice since! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EJAG 4 reviews from this member

 This is my first year of camping (this is my 6th trip) & only my 3rd campsite so I'm relatively limited in my experience of campsites. I have been spoilt by the first two choices & therefore a little disappointed with this one because of this.

The major plus point of this site is the location as it is absolutely gorgeous. Its very close to Pooley Bridge & easy to find. Pooley Bridge has 3 pubs serving food (although we only tried one - The Crown Inn - not the cheapest for pub grub but was nice & does a kids menu). Not far from Pooley Bridge is the Rheged Center - a handy place to go if the weather is shocking. It has a few shops, places to eat & an imax screen showing 3d features. It also has a pottery painting place to keep the kids entertained.

The campsites facilities are limited - 4 shower cubicles for a campsite that size was not enough & we had to queue for showers. Also, I am a single mum with my 5yr old son so had to have him in the shower with me - we only just managed for room & the button to turn on the showers was outside the curtain (but within the cubicle) so we struggled to keep our clothes etc dry. A family sized cubicle would be a godsend! Toilets are ok but there are some porta loo's that you have to use sometimes & give the campsite a cheap feel. Despite these points they do seem regularly cleaned.

The shop seems fairly well stocked, would be handy if it was open later than about 5.30ish though as there is no bar on site so if you want a drink etc you need to go into Pooley Bridge. For those that want it you can hire Mountain Bikes - we didn't do this so unfortunately I can't comment on price or standard of the bikes although I did notice a Claude Butler bike so must be reasonably good.

You pitch your tent where you want & although the staff tell you when you check in that you need to be 6m away for your neighbouring tent nobody seems to take notice of this. At a previous campsite we were asked to move a windbreak that was between ours & a friends tent as it was too close & a fire hazard. This site could not have been more different & I was amazed how many tents were within about 3 feet of eachother & had windbreaks between them too. Fire on the family field & most of the tents would have gone!

Another point about this site is that there doesn't appear a no noise policy. At the other 2 sites I've been to they asked for quiet at 11pm (obviously you can still talk etc but they ask you to respect others). Here people seemed to talk, laugh, shout etc until whatever time they fancied. I'm not a spoil sport but it was hard getting to sleep & my son struggled. Another point is that there is no car restrictions so late at night there are cars coming & going. As well as the noise issue it does make you wonder about camp security & it was a little disconcerting to be given a leaflet from the local police on arrival warning you to take precautions to protect you against theft (although to be fair it does say that this is a general problem in the Ullswater area).

On the whole this campsite is in a gorgeous place & easy to find. Lots of groups of friends/famillies seem to go here so if you are looking for a cheap & cheerful place to go maybe this is the one for you 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rycro 2 reviews from this member

 Toilets and showers were in good condition though very busy at the weekend. We felt it a little overpriced for what it was, though for those who love the Lakes it is likely reasonable. Good links to Penrith which had a lot going on the weekend we were there. Child friendly in that it had a playground. Playground lakeside so a little nervous about letting the children play there alone. A nice family atmosphere and loads of space to run around. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zingara 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our third camping trip to waterside. Our first being last year, 2nd last month, the 3rd last week and if we had the choice we would never have left. We love Wateside. The site is situated on a working farm on the shore of Ulswater, close to Pooley bridge.

The facilities in my opinion are excellent. Toilets and showers are well maintained. I have never had to wait for a shower cubicle or to use the toilet during either of our three visits. I would however have liked there to be showers that are height adjustable for young children. The same can be said for most sites. Young ones don't tend to like adult height showers. There is a freezer for ice packs, unfortunately due to the high demand there is often very little space within, which means icepacks don't freeze too well.

As for the noise levels, I think they have been fairly average during our time there. In general the nosiest times for us have been in the mornings when children have awoken early. There are site rules re noise levels and I think on the whole most folk respect them. We would highly recommend any one trying Waterside. Re' the refreshments van, the bacon butties are ace especially with egg mushroom and tomato. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: British bronco 7 reviews from this member

 We booked this site in advance then got cold feet nearer the time as we saw on the news the flooding in the Lake District. Glad we kept our nerve and went, unfortunately the rest of the country had read the weather report and turned up as well. The site was packed to busting and because there are no pre-booked pitches it was a free for all and that was not what we wanted as we are a family of 15 in four tents which is why we always pre book. All the tents were on top of each other which we were unhappy with as we are night owls and do not wish to disturb other people, likewise our neighbours found it necessary to be rattling saucepans at 6am!

The toilets and showers are not that bad, seen worse but they need updating and at least another shower block could be added. Shop basic and expensive, having said all that the location makes staying here worthwhile. Lakeside walk to pooley bridge and Ullswater Steamers. Be prepared if you go on the steamer to Glennridding to pay £6.00 for a sandwhich in the village! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

 Positively the facilities were good, shop excellent for a campsite shop with very helpful staff at all time. Showers, toilets, laundry etc were very clean and well maintained with alternative haidrying facilities available due to a breakdown. The water activities were very good - we hired a Kayak for four hours at an excellent rate - life jackets fitted well and the safety advice was clear and helpful. All in all an excellent site for people with their own equipment as well as for those without. A well equipped play area on the shore for children also helped.

The number of pitches stated on the site page did not appear correct, I am convinced there were far more than 120 units there-four fields of tents and vans etc which meant the four showers for each sex were very inadequate. Many large groups - yes of families/ friends but too many were not considerate about the noise they made very late into the evening, when I mentioned this to the staff the next day they were suitably disappointed and very helpful. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60018 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement