Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site
East Runton
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 9PR
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 373 Reviews
                9/10 from 373 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  373 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

 This site can be summed up really in one sentence 'A site with nothing on it but has everything'! to be blunt no pub, swimming pool, amusement arcades etc and any of these would probably ruin what is a very spacious and well kept site,

Yes the showers can be temperamental but they are free, the only thing really lacking is the amount of them per block, having gone bank holiday week we found ourselves waiting for showers most days,

Enough of the moans and on to the good points. On arrival you book in at the reception which is pleasant and having been before knew where to go, but if you are a first timer here the directions are very well signposted,

The children's play area is small for size of site but kept our 12 year old more than happy,

Pitching here is flat and good ground the only advice is to try to pitch 'sheltered' as when the wind blows here it blows!

Just a 5/10 min walk is the local co-op which is a large store and has all you would need or just another 5/10 min after that there is a Morrisons.

Not far from that is the sea front (Morrisons petrol station is here too) which is unspoilt and crab fishing is a must do for good cheap family fun,

All in all if we were to come back to this part of the country again I would have no hesitation in coming back here. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lacetti278 5 reviews from this member

 I've just returned from my 1st visit to manor farm campsite. What a delightful site this is a lot of the pitches are nestled away in little sheltered spots which we were grateful of due to gale force winds on the Thursday and Friday night.

Toilets were clean and warm although when the site was full on arrival on jubilee weekend the showers were cold on a few occasions which is not a plus, also there was no baby change facilities in the family shower room and no soap to wash hands it could also do with some hooks to hang clothes on in there. Soap dispensers were lacking in the toilets as some had a sink and a toilet in them with no soap.

The laundry was good although could do with a spin dryer to spin clothes dry as a mum with a small child a little hand washing is a must and a spin dryer would have been a big help.

These are all minor things. All in all a very enjoyable holiday on a beautiful site I'm sure we will be back at some point in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GPSranger 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a glorious week here, so it was a little breezy (and this site feels it), but barely any rain, and 25 degrees heat. Lovely.

Clean Facilities Blocks, with a couple of newer ones that have better shower layouts than the slightly older ones - that is there's some dry floor remaining to get dressed on - but still definitely some of the better ones I've used in my time for sure, ie my wife and I usually put off showers at campsites and rely on wet wipes every other day(hey. We're roughing it aren't we), but we were proper twice a day here.

Breezy, coastal hill top so strap it all down.

We rough it with our tent and rely on candle power, though jumbo-tents with electric hook-up seemed more popular here and they really pack-em-in, so if you don't need that you could well find yourself with a bit more space, though the non-hookup spots in Marlpit field were a little more sloping and less sheltered which was a shame

There is a train line that loops around the perimeter of the farm and you even drive under it as you enter the site so you do hear that about once an hour between 7 am and 11 pm but it's not a busy line and is in the distance so not particularly intrusive.

Be warned this is a family site on weekends, especially since we found it as a No. 1 with Cool Camping for Kids book. Though we're just a couple with no kids and still enjoyed the place enough.

10 min walk to Co-op (15 minute less able bodied/fit/ gentle amble)

15 minute walk to Morrisons

20-25 min walk to Cromer centre and Mary-Janes Chippy Shop, all gentle down-hill (but obviously up-hill on the way back)

One night of the four we where there some Military Jets were obviously practising some fancy low speed manoeuvres around the coast this was very loud, and was off-n-on for an hour or so at about 7pm on a Thursday.

Otherwise a top campsite, with absolutely loads nearby within easy walking, but if your more mobile, our favourite must-do was Seal spotting from Morston Quay for only 9 each, there were loads basking on the tidal sands in the sun. Probably close to a hundred dotted around, and we were taken to within 20 metres or so, so don't worry about binoculars or anything. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Landy-Trax 15 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a last minute booking at this site and what a lovely site it is.

We stayed on Moll's Meadow as we had our little dog with us and this field is just for dog owners. We had a lovely view of the sea in the distance, EHU and an excellent toilet and shower block on this field though we did have issues on our last day with water pressure and lack of hot water.

The entrance in is a tad nerve wracking being so narrow and we would have struggled if we'd met an oncoming large vehicle which thankfully we didn't !

My only concern is for the 'alternative' entrance that you are told about on arrival which is a track that leads down onto an industrial estate and directly out onto the main road to Cromer. I feel this could benefit from security as I didn't feel 100% confident leaving our van to go out when anybody could have driven onto the site from this track unchallenged.

All in all though a hidden gem on the east coast and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Carrieloulou 3 reviews from this member

 We arranged a rather last minute bank holiday weekend at this site and found the site easy to find and very accommodating,

access to this site was as mentioned on previous reviews via a narrow single track road which was ok, so long as you did not meet any oncomming traffic.

Once you get to reception you are then issued with directions to get to the respective field where your pitch is. this site is huge and all the fields are networked together on sandy tracks which are again narrow and can be difficult to travel in the wet, we had a problem in that the tracks have been worn down at the edges so the car kept on bottoming out on the central section.

There is a handy section of track which takes you directly to cromer via a small industrial area which we found very useful and made for an easy walk as well if you chose not to use the coastal path.

We were pitched on the Marl Pitt field which was peaceful and well equipped with clean and serviceable shower blocks at either end of it, our pitch was however very uneven and made for hours of fun trying to level up the trailer and then awning.

All in all though we enjoyed the site and found it a very relaxing and easy going place to stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bux1 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for two nights in April. Fantastic site.

The new toilet block is spotless but could do with bins near the sinks, struggled to get hot water to start with but that was soon rectified then the water was hot!

We managed to find a flat spot near some trees which sheltered us from the wind. The pitches are of good size that our large tent would fit onto.

The reception is quite a way from the site so we didn't visit it other than to book in. The play area is in the process of being updated and two new pieces of equipment were being installed while we were there. This suited our 3 children well (3-8 years)

It was a very quiet site but we did go in low season so not many tents etc on site.

Would definitely go back again, it was good to see they were making changes and listening to feedback from reviews. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alexmummy 11 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful week here in May. We booked a hook-up pitch in the dog-friendly field.

We loved having an easy walk into Cromer for an old-fashioned beach holiday and backing onto open fields for early morning dog-walks. East Runton was a short walk past ducks and geese to a lovely butchers shop.

The shower block was spotless and heated which was fantastic for warming up wet children. There was also hairdryer point which looked to be popular with teenage girls. Despite visiting in the school holidays we rarely queued for more than a few minutes.

There was a play area for the children as well as lots of space to run around.

There were lots of lovely walks in the area as well as touristy places to visit. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Markaz 4 reviews from this member

 Located in one of the nicest parts of the county of Norfolk, a gem of a site. We were lucky the weather was hottest October you could have and had a great chilled out weekend. Amenity blocks were kept immaculately clean all weekend and of a very good standard.

Playground area kept kids amused and was of good sturdy construction. Football area was on bit of a challenging slope though.

We were ok for access having only a VW camper but entrances and the lane would be a challenge for lesser experienced drivers of bigger units or towing large vans.

Would be a good stretch of the legs if you wanted to go anywhere off site on foot but well worth taking bikes. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SueEllen 2 reviews from this member

 We came for 6 nights arriving on a sunny Sunday 18th September.

As it was off peak we had phoned ahead and let the campsite know our arrival time. The reception wasn't open but they arranged to leave our pitch details in the phone box next to the door. Pitch was easy to find, we were on a serviced pitch on Marlpit with a fantastic view of the sea and close to the facilities.

Facilities were excellent, always clean and plenty of hot water for showers. There were no bins around the wash basins for tissues, make-upwipes etc. Which would have been useful.

We walked to Cromer and East Runton on several occasions, both within easy reach. Plenty to do in Cromer, visited the cinema and also used the train to get to Norwich and Sheringham. Infact, we didn't use the car once during the whole week but if we had stayed for longer there were plenty of places within easy driving distance to visit.

Had a really good week helped by the excellent weather, would certainly come back to Manor Farm again! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iscott 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weeks stay on Manor Farm, having booked on the basis of the previous reviews on here. We stayed on Marl Pit Field, in a complex of three fields that make up this rather large site.

The site occupies the hilltop above Cromer town, some of the field has sea views but is very sloping and we decided to forego the view in favour of a flat spot instead.

Accessing the site is not that easy, both access routes are along very narrow dirt tracks and we saw many vans and caravans struggling to get in, my partner, the driver of the party, thought a little money spent on widening and tarmacking these wouldn't go amiss, considering the amount of traffic up and down.

Reception is a full mile away from the actual fields which shows the size of the place, and we only went down on the first night to check in.

We saw no other staff the entire time we were there except for the male cleaner who would wander into the ladies showers whenever he liked without warning. A more noticeable presence would have been nice. The site takes all groups, including large and single sex groups, and so it was very noisy a lot of the time.

First impressions were that the site was very busy with little room to spread out but we spoke to campers on repeat visits who said it was actually quite quiet for the time of year.

We didn't have a hook up so had no reserved spot, but despite most of the field being quite slopey (something commented on by previous reviewers) we managed to get a great flat spot in front of a small group of trees midway between the two shower blocks.

Despite its size the facilities were perfectly adequate with six showers and six wash up sinks across the two blocks just for this field. The new block seemed to attract most use and we quickly realised that the older (but perfectly clean and usable) block never had queues so this was the one we used.

I also made use of the laundry room, hand-washing some things before using the tumble dryer to get them dry. (2 a use, washing machine is 3) both the washer and dryer shut off if you open the door. There are also freezers for ice packs.

Our three year old loved the playground but it is a little tired and could do with updating. There is also a playing field at the edge of the site but this was a fair distance from our tent and too far to let the little one go alone, so we never used it.

The ice-cream van that comes round every night was nice, but this was the only 'extra' on-site. There is no shop, or bar on site.

Cromer is a gentle 30 minute walk downhill although more taxing coming back up. Co-op and Morrisons supermarkets are just halfway down the hill.

The only drawback to the location is that there is no pub or restaurant anywhere nearby, you have to walk down into Cromer itself for anything like this, and then we found most of the pubs were child tolerant rather than child friendly, the Wellington on the front and Buddies by the train station would be my recommendation, (surprising given the fact that Buddies looks more nightclub than pub, but the staff were great with our little boy when we called in at tea-time one day. )

Overal we can't wait to return to the area as there was so much to do, Bewilderwood near Wroxham is a must if you have kids, and the Aylsham light railway was also great fun. Felbrigg and Blickling hall are both close by and are national trust, well worth a visit and again are great with kids.

We will however look for a smaller site with a bit more personality to it than Manor farm; my partner called it a field with a shower block, which sums it up well, it's a perfectly acceptable site but nothing special and not the cheapest either. 


Previous     373 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement