Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: Jan To Dec

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 154 Reviews
                9/10 from 154 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  154 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ecmustard 1 review from this member

Such a welcoming, well appointed and spacious campsite; we pitched camp in our own field over a bank holiday weekend. The new showers are great and it was a real bonus to have somewhere indoors to wash up (or even eat).

The surrounding countryside is very picturesque - an OS map came in handy for navigating the lanes and spotting houses with moats.

Odell was really friendly and helpful. The farm is very good value: 12 for a weekend's camping for two plus a car.

We would definitely recommend the campsite, B&B and self-catering facilities to anyone wanting to visit the area.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T H Clark 3 reviews from this member

My wife Yvonne and I visited this Working Farm site in Sept 05 you might like to read my review for that visit. The site is still as well kept as it was then, Odell the manager, and son of John the owner of this farm had told me then that he was planning to replace the toilets etc with combination Shower, Toilets and sink units, and true to his word this he has now done. The site now has installed a brand new unit of four private rooms in each, there is installed a shower, a toilet, a sink,and a heater.

In all fairness I must mention, that Children seemed to be most welcome at this site, and while we were here, maybe up to twenty children were having the most fantastic fun, and in full control of thier parents who were also enjoying the Bank holiday weekend,This not a noisy site it is a site that you can relax on, this you can count on!

We drive 100 miles each way to relax here for a weekend, I think that says it all don`t you?

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *tilly* 4 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site! Our visit was over the Easter bank holiday and whilst there were a few people about the site was quiet and relaxed the whole time. There was plenty of wildlife, rabbits, ducks, chickens wood pigeons, woodpeckers and I could hear owls but couldn't see them!

The site is really well maintained and the pitches are lovely, sectioned off with young trees and flowers, there are picnic tables dotted about and we made good use of the one next to us as the weather was pretty good for our stay. The ground is pretty level and the lawns are immaculate. There looked to be plenty of hook ups and a number of water points around the site. There are great views of the little village 'Lawshall' across a field and there are numerous walks from the site that Odell will tell you all about. Talking of which Odell and his family we're really lovely, and could be found around the site when needed...always willing to help and offer advice on places to go etc.

We found atmosphere at the site to be very laid back and relaxed, everyone seemed to be having a good time. Although there isn't a childrens play area there was plenty of space in the middle of the site for children/adults to play games

There are lots of great places to go to from here, Bury St Edmunds is a beautiful city, with some good shopping too. There's a Waitrose and a Tesco here. Long Melford is picture postcard as is Lavenham and other surrounding villages...lots of lovely thatched cottages. We also went to The Imperial War Museum at Duxford, which was about half an hour away and a good day out with lots to do. Cambridge is about half an hour away and was also a good day. Newmarket is closer and was one of my favourite places, you can go to the horse racing museum and to the national stud (but check their website for tour times).

There are lots of quiet lanes to cycle down, and the whole area is very picturesque....wish we lived a bit nearer so could use this site more often!

As mentioned in previous reviews the toilets were in a porta cabin, however they are awaiting the construction of a new block which may well be in by now. As it was the toilets were spotless.....cleaner than any I've seen in C&CC sites.They were nicely painted and there certainly weren't any bad smells! Showers are in a separate block 2 for each gender, water was lovely and hot and a free hair dryer was provided (showers are 50p).

There is a small pub in Lawshall, (and a small village store) OH recommends the 'Titanic' beer, there are also nice pubs in the surrounding villages. Only place I wouldn't recommend was teh Rushbrook Arms on the A134 as get towards Bury St Edmunds, maybe we just caught them at a bad time but the food and service were awful.

Overall an excellent site that was warm and friendly, in a great location...at a bargain price.Can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: T H Clark 3 reviews from this member

The site level grass, divided into two areas, one enclosed and the other looking out over the fields towards Lawsall. We chose the field view for our stay, in September, the Moon was full that week, and came up as soon as the sun went down, rising from behind the church, in half light, getting brighter as it got darker, hanging in the sky right in front of our window,with not a sound to be heard....

The site manager,owner, Odell is a very pleasant man,and lets you know he is there if you need him, in fact all of the family that we met, were very nice,and helpful,The layout of this lovely site is very well thought out,with outside large strong tables with bench seating, available to every van and M/home pitch as far as I could see, The walks on the land of Bright House Farm,are excellent,and in plenty,
The peace and quiet...Priceless!

Odell did say that the toilets,and washing facilities on his site will shortly be upgraded, if he is true to his word this site with its unspoilt natural beauty will be one of the best Farm sites you could visit!

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Willis30 1 review from this member

The site had a lovely outlook, the area was nice, but my weekend was spoilt by the fact that the toilets were a portakabin, that smelt, was dirty and the ceiling had partially collapsed. I would not recommend this site if you have children as the owner (Odell), has put signage up in the Kitchen (saying NO CHILDREN) and he threw a pack of toilet rolls at my 7 year old niece, because the toilet door slammed when she was coming out (these doors are on springs, so they are going to slam behind you). The hot water to the shower also ran out by 8.00am every morning.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Yrob21 1 review from this member

We arrived here and found Odell straight away, he was busy cutting the beautiful lawn. We left the car and he showed us around. We were able to pitch anywhere, so we chose a lovely spot next to a great picnic bench which are dotted all around for your use.

They are not interested in payment as soon as your car touches the land, which is another trusting issue they have. The family are all friendly and helpful. They have their own dog who wanders around and is very friendly, maybe that is why they are so relaxed and welcome anyones elses dog. Tasha ,our dog does not wander off so it was lovely to not have to have her tied up all the while like some places make you do.

Set in beautiful country side with mature trees , you have two options where to pitch. You can do so in a great open field, with views across the corn fields stetching for miles, or you can pitch in a more secluded, yet still very open area near the toilets and showers. We piched here and had a great time. Weather was glorious, relaxing beneath the huge beautiful trees.

The showers and toilets are very clean and tidy, and washing up is actually a pleasure, in the biggest kitchen I have ever seen! Dont worry if you are a persil or fairy liquid person , the truin family provide this and top quality toilet roll for your use. I left our cheap economy ones in the car!

Plenty of lovely walks to go on, a little shop which is worth the walk to and all the country side hospitality you need, you will find here.
We will be back. Our old dog lost her favourite soft toy while we were there, I emailed odell and they promised to look for it for us. If you want a peaceful, relaxing time with bury just ten minutes drive ,you must come here.

Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Oggle 8 reviews from this member

Can't say I have ever been anywhere else and felt more welcome. Within an hour of arrival the proprietors had insisted we joined them at the local hostelry for welcome drinks, and not being the sort to refuse...... anyway, book in here for the peace and quiet, the quaint villages, lovely walks, reasonable proximity to the coast and the humongous pitch sizes! While you are at brighthouse walk the farm trail, visit the Swan Pub in Lawshall and meet the barmaid, who as god is my witness is Mafanwy from Little Britain. If you need to eat out The Bush pub,( in the next village I can't remember where - Odell will tell you!) was V good and V V reasonable. You'll want to go again and agin, we're going again soon....

Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: WIGS 1 review from this member

We have been going to Brighthouse farm for 3 years now and have just booked for our first visit of 2005. When I ring to book I am always greeted by the friendly owner Odell who runs the camp/caravan site together with his parents. They also have a splendid bed & breakfast with self catering lodges as well.

The site is indeed beautifull, lovely and quiet even when its full. we have a caravan that we hook up, but the facilities for camopers is very good, very clean toilets and huge showers, you could get the whole family in!.

Odell is very helpful ans has plenty of suggestions as to where to visit in the surrounding areas. There is alovel pub noy atall far to eat and a shop to get the necessary provisions a little way a way.
About 7 miles away is the town of Sudbury, which has a large Tesco on the side nearest to the site or Long Melford, a lovely old village with plenty of little shops etc.

We only live in Sudbury but still feel that when we have been to Brighthouse that we have been 'away'. To have this idyllic site on our doorstep is wonderfull.

Reviewer: Jellikin 5 reviews from this member

August 2004
The area around the site is beautiful,the site is so peaceful and picturesque. all level pitches we stayed for 8 days and we just wish it was longer. We had a great time with great weather. The showers are huge and clean and they last a long time.
Odell was very friendly and he wandered round every day to ask if everything was ok and as soon as we were being troubled by wasps him and his dad were on the case trying to destroy the nest.
Loads of places to visit around and about and the prices on this site were very reasonable. My only moan would have to be the toilets as they were a portakabin, it would make the site better if they built a more permanent fixture, but otherwise perfect and will definately return.

Reviewer: Dean Johnson

2 August 2003
Set in a rural idyll where you can see old England's wheat fields, villages, country pubs, games of cricket and old churches. It's all very quiet too.

Mr Truin, the friendly owner, works hard at the site and is investing in its future. Facilities have been improved, there are trees, picnic tables and chairs with sun umbrellas to pitch by and the grass is manicured. Mr Truin likes to keep things looking neat but is concerned that he might kill bees in the clover with his mower. He's a sweet man.

If you're townies like us the farm walk is a pleasant stroll with views of rolling country to aid relaxation and thought. Needless to say, Mr Truin keeps the grassed pathways in good order and clear of any obstructions.

Previous     154 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019