Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ridgey 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a Four night stay Monday to Friday.

Read all the reviews before we went and it is was exactly how everyone had described, Fab!

We were greeted by O'dell and given a tour of the site and allowed to pitch pretty much where we wanted.

We were two families [four adults, five children and two dogs]and had two very large tents so we choose our pitch next to the corn field.Pitches were non regimented and the grass was well kept and the site was fairly level with no stones.

The site was not busy so we had lots of room to play ball games with the children and they could ride there bikes around the lovely paths/walks routed around the farm.

The toilets [the mens anyway] were a little out dated and small but pefectly servicable.

The shower rooms were good. 1 got you a room with tolilet [6ftx 8ft],basin and shower cubicle. Enough time to shower two children [if your quick] before the pound finished.

Value for money was excellent. The surrounding area is very pretty with some lovely historic villages, Great walks all in all a very chilled and relaxing site!

We like many before will return 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salenalfcra91 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back this last week from this campsite and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. We pre-booked about 2 months ago with no problem. We were a large tent with 4 adults and 5 kids.

We arrived about 3pm Thursday, and pulled into the farm. There was no-where obvious to check in, but within minutes Odell appeared and we were off to our pitch. Even with recent rain, the site was firm, grassy, even and well kept. We were taken to our pitch with hookup, right by a water point, and 30 sec walk of the showers etc, as requested.

Good Points = Other than already outlined.Very friendly.Very good price (Large tent, 4 adults, 2 cars, 5 kids, 4 nights 66.! in August). Not too busy (we understand people were being turned away once campsite was full). Very quiet and relaxed feel to the site. Odell was pleasant & approachable and did the rounds each night ensuring everyone was happy.

Fair Points = Wouldnt want to criticise any area and anything from this point wouldn't stop us returning.But, only 1 sink to wash up in, which meant more often than not queueing to wash up which was a pain. Could do with more.

Loo`s. Mens area had 2 loo`s which were extremely tight.And 2 urinals which were also too tight (two average guys couldn't stand next to each other).There were 3 loo`s in the womens area which were ok (got a bit grubby apparently).?!

There were 4 rooms, each containing sink, loo and shower. Shower was a pound and you had the room to yourself. Either timing, luck or waiting was the key to nabbing one of these.

Some stand alone showers on another block, 2 I think.? 50p a throw.

We only used showers in the room for a 1 and they were hot or cold, no inbetween, and ran out by the time you had hopped about.

Extras= Anytime we ventured out we took the car, as not too much in walking distance. Very big tesco about 10 mins down the road with everything you need. On the one rainy afternoon we went to the 'KingFisher' pool down in Sudbury near shop called Roys.3.60 for adult 2 for kids.Water slides and waves kept all amused for hours.Great little pizza parlour in the town, very good with kids, very tasty and reasonable price.

We would go back and would recommend to others 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maddogs 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as our 3rd camping trip with a large 10 man tent, 2 adults, 2 tots and 3 dogs accompanied by 1 man and his dog in a smaller 2 man tent. This is an excellent site if you want peace and quiet. Beautiful views and 3 excellent on site walks around the fields one of which leads to a very nice pub doing food (child and dog friendly) and in another direction a lovely park for the children. There are a number of hook up points and we were allowed to choose our own site choosing for the first time a non hook up point and found it spacious and relaxed. The friendly owner had had trouble the previous night with a large noisy party and seemed a little jaded by inconsiderate and messy visitors. He had asked them to leave so it is nice to know your tranquillity will be protected should there be other noisy revellers . The facilities are adequate in number. The toilets are a little small but spacious wet rooms including toilet and shower are also available. As we were only there 1 night we did not use them. There is a washing up sink in a separate barn and a fridge and facility to freeze packs.There are no on site play areas or entertainment for children and no shop so come prepared, however There is a waitrose within 10 mins drive and another excellent park for children or those who enjoy a good walk. This is a friendly relaxing site both child and dog friendly in a lovely friendly area to which we will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prior5 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at Brighthouse Farm, on our first family camping adventure. 2 adults and 3 children, the site was lovely, quiet but busy enough that the kids could run around and not disturb anyone else. The amenities were very good, we liked the idea of a freezer to use, o'dell was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this site. Will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosie2007 10 reviews from this member

 Wonderful. Don't know what else to say.

We have been back home 24 hours after 8 nights at this site and have already booked again for another 9 nights in 2 weeks time.

Pitches are well spaced,the many toilet/showers blocks are clean, there is a fridge and freezer that you can use and the owner is very friendly, he tours the site every morning and throughout the day making sure everything is ok.

I cannot add to any of the other reviews, can't fault this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stownes 1 review from this member

 As camping 'virgins' we decided that we would like to go to a quiet site, fairly close to home to determine whether life under canvas was for us. We chose Brighthouse Farm as it had exactly what we wanted - views, walks, quiet environment and no gaudy swimming pools, play areas etc. On arrival, there were only a few campers and we pretty much had the pick of where we wanted. On leaving on Saturday, the site was pretty full but still plenty of space between pitches and a lovely open area in the middle for the children to play.

Unfortunately the weather was none to kind and several thunderstorms happened whilst we were there, even lightning striking a nearby barn! However, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Brighthouse and will definitely revisit in the future.

There was a lovely walk (so my husband and son tell me) and Bury with all its big name shops and lovely boutiques is a 15 minute drive away.

My only small niggle was that the lighting in the ladies toilet needs to be improved.

I'd recommend this site if you are after peace and quiet at a bargain price (we paid 11 a night). 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deg3y 6 reviews from this member

 Having been to the site on many an occasion, it was really lovely to go back again. All the toilet blocks have been tiled & decorated, the site was as clean & well kept as normal, the owner, O'dell could not do enough for you. A great place to visit nearby Sudbuy & Bury St. Edmunds, where there is a market on Saturday in the old part of town, great bargains to be had, & a boot fair on the Sunday about 15 minutes drive away.

The Bush in the next village does great evening meals, a great old pub & well worth a visit.

Would highly recommend this site if you have not been here before.

It was not my first visit, & it will not be my last. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolines 29 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful week on this campsite.

We were met by Odell on our arrival who gave us a tour of the campsite, and we could choose where to pitch. We choose a fabulous site on the edge of the wheat field, with uninterrupted views across the fields, with the ancient stone tower of Lawshall Church in the back ground. Heaven!

We did not need electric hook up, but there were lots of points around the site.

There is a toilet block which is always well maintained, and through Odells diligent attention, cleaned and kept fresh and topped up with loo paper and liquid soap.

There are a choice of shower blocks, 50p gives you a very good shower, just remember to hang all your clothes up before you put the 50p in the meter otherwise everything gets wet! A newer block which is open in busy times costs 1 and you get shower loo and hand basin in the cubicle. Ideal for families.

For us minimalist campers we were very grateful for the indoor washing up facilities : 2 basins with constant free hot water, plus a small fridge and a freezer. Name your ice blocks. And bring named bags to put our fridge bits in.

We even managed to freeze some ice blocks for our G&Ts.Now that is luxury!

We loved the site. It is part of a 400 acre working farm in Lawshall. Right in the middle of the Suffolk countryside surrounded by fields as far as the eye can see. It is a working farm so families with children are warned to take care across the farmyard where tractors and machinery may be moving. We loved the camping areas, lots of little areas to camp or park your caravan/camper in.

The site is rung with a light touch, the owners come and say hello, explain a few basic rules.The main one being common sense, and consideration to other campers, and this works wonderfully well. Dogs are welcome on site.Not being dog owners we wondered how this would work and were very pleasantly surprised. No problems at all. Bins all over the campsite for dog owners to use. No mess no noise, fantastic!

No play ground which pleased us but very family friendly, and the children we say were having a wonderful time.

The owners have devised some lovely walks, the edges of the fields all have grassy lanes cut down the side of them which make lovely strolls any time of the day.

The campsite was peaceful at night which is a must for us, just the gentle murmur of conversation and the waft of a BBQ on the summer breeze.

If you are a bird watcher it is a lovely place to be, we saw and heard sky larks all the time just beyond our tent, plus a myriad of other birds and butterflies.

And of course, a pub within walking distance across the fields!

Lots of lovely Suffolk villages near by, Lavenham, Long Melford, Bury St Edmunds. Get an OS map, a book of Suffolk walks and one about Suffolk villages, and take you national Trust card . A lovely rural retreat, and wonderful value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenandrob 8 reviews from this member

 As first time campers (about to set off on a month and two week camping holiday across the UK with a tent), we picked this spot due to reviews on here and it was only 2 hours outside London and we were going with experienced campers (they have a camper van).

Upon arrival O'Dell gave us a quick tour of the area. He gave us a pitch area big enough for our tent (a '5 person' tent with dome) and their camper van - in fact it was larger space than I would have imagined.

Our closest neighbours were a bit away. The land was flat and very well kept. It is on a working farm so to get to the camping area you drive through the farm.

There are two sets of showers, communal mens with two showers and I believe there are two in the womens. These cost 50p per go. Then there are four 'private' cubicles that contain a shower and toilet. These are a pound a go. I used both and found the 50p ones were adequate when only needing to shower. If you need a shave, you might want to go for the pound ones. There are separate toilet block area for men and women.

O'Dell has a wonderful detailed walking trail document that tells you of great walks around the many fields. Very nice to be able to walk without dodging people like here in London.

On our last day, O'Dell gave us a tour of the farm and the surrounding gardens which was lovely.

There are a couple of pubs within walking distance (one about a nice 20 minute walk, the other about a 30 minute walk). Great for taking a stroll, getting tipsy and then walking back.

This is an absolutely lovely spot. O'Dell, if you're reading, add another washing up sink in the kitchen area for dishes! :)

OH, there is also a fridge/freezer in the farm kitchen area that can be used for your ice packs and fridge for keeping your food in just in case the coolbox ice has melted.

Will definitely be back there next year! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rmayes 1 review from this member

 Our 3rd visit to this site and we're very loathe to go elsewhere as it has everything you would want and some superb surrounding countryside.

Odell is so helpful and friendly and shows you around the site on your arrival on most occasions giving us a choice of pitches.

The facilities are excellent, showers & loos kept clean and stocked with loo paper and soap.

A washup area with fridge and freezer also available.

Very family friendly and nice that you can play ball games and have BBQ's.

Some good walks around the surrounding area,lots of places of interest to visit as well and swimming close by in Sudbury.

No shops in walking distance but we never found this a problem, tried out the pub at Shimpling, good basic food and friendly staff.

No problems to report except the fact we had to come home, but will be back again soon. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement