Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Flookburgh > Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) Reviews

Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)
Moor Lane
(Lake District)
Flookburgh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7LT
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 152 Reviews
                7/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christie34 1 review from this member

 I booked a last minute break to the Haven Lakeland Holiday camp in Grange Over Sands for myself and the boys, 10 and 1 year old. I booked a 3* 2 bed caravan. Now where to start, first I think I should mention that the caravan was wonderful - it just happened to be a privately owned van rented out through Haven, it was en-suite, separate rooms, central heating, fake coal fire, fancy cooker, washing machine the works. It was actually quite special as far as caravans are concerned and I have stayed in quite a few over the years. Pleasant surprise.

However it was obvious that most other people had not been so lucky - there were constant complaints that people had no water supply to their vans or gas supply and that included people staying the luxury van. After this had gone on for three days I had to feel lucky as far as accommodation went.

The site itself was severely lacking. The pool was tiny with no slides or room as the weather was not up to much and so the pool was pretty much constantly packed solid. The indoor play area that is advertised as a selling point for the holiday camp and looks relatively impressive on the brochure is so small that when more than three children clamber on it they can't avoid crashing into each other and that is not an exaggeration.

If the kids aren't keen on taking part in the clubs there is very little for them to do during the day. Te outdoor pool was small anyway even if it had of been open.

In the cafe on the first day they had no food for hours and then when they did sort it out all they had was the tomato pasta from the children's menu. The next time we went to the cafe all they had was children's meals but no chicken nuggets, which was all the baby would entertain. After an hour of waiting I asked where the food was and was told that they had forgot to tell the chef. Then when they brought the food I was told that the manager was going to come and apologise and refund the cost of the meal, didn't happen. So I had to complain again, about that, then eventually the manager came through and told me she wasn't old about the incident. She apologised profusely and refunded the cost of the meal as promised. Needless to say was not happy about the food services. The prices were also through the roof.

I found that in the bar it was better to get the kid's pop from a machine rather than paying the extortionate bar prices - so there's a tip! 1.20 for a coke the 10 year old was less likely to spill then the glass of coke for 2.50!

The arcade had one 2p machine and other than that it was pretty steep. Enjoyable but not fantastic. Bradley Bear and Rory Lion merchandise was very highly priced to say ge least.

A 5 min walk from the site, straight up the road, was a little place called Ducky's Farm - fantastic little place. Speaking from a city dweller - brilliant! Well priced. Cafe lovely and very reasonable. Fed baby lambs and goats their bottles of milk. The kids loved handling the farm animals, after all we can get to a zoo anywhere but this was quite unique for us. Great play area, kids loved the whole experience, spent the entire day, plenty to do. It was raining too but most was indoors, would have been better with nice weather though. Staff were really friendly and the kids haven't stopped going on about it, even the baby has been making animal noises as soon as he wakes up.  


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vonnie2 4 reviews from this member

 Having previously been on many haven sites I was expecting the facilities to be quite pleasant, we had also gone with my son in law, wife and 3 children (they were tent camping). Before booking we had requested hard standings with electric hookup. We arrived to a very boggy site due to the previous few days having had lots of rain, but as usual one goes prepared for the weather. Unfortunately we discovered we had no hard standings (which do not exist) and my son in law had no electric hook up at the tent field. The weather was very wet as expected, but this was the only fun part about this campsite.

On the first day we decided to go for a hike with the children which they loved but unfortunately when we returned and were hoping for them to have nice warm showers there was no water, no water to shower, flush the toilets, wash the pots. Our van is only a small van but we managed on the first day with quick washes and continuous boiling of kettles. When I spoke to the site warden he tried to baffle me with science by discussing a new header tank which had just been fitted and the great demand in the afternoon had stopped the flow of water which I hastened to add firstly I am not stupid and secondly there was no high demand because everyone was leaving because of the poor facilities, but we did hope they would improve.

To cut along story short it was horrendous 2 days later still no water, and it is very difficult to feel like wanting to dress up to go into the club etc when you have not washed well for 2 days. The site manager did not even pass the complaint onto Haven itself and the problem remained as we left. I must also include my son in law had booked for the week and survived 2 days....he returned home bathed the kids and booked a week in wales haha. However one of the cleaners there did offer to boil a kettle for us haha....faulty towers............... 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site last July for 3 nights. We got it at a last minute rate which still wasn't`t cheap (we stayed on a basic grass pitch without electricity) but it included a `funwork` pass to all the sites facilities.

We found a nice place to pitch (unless you are on a numbered electric pitch you can pitch anywhere) and went to explore the site. The facilities are good though tend to get crowded at times and we found in the evenings that the bars got very crowded. Prices in the bars aren't`t cheap either and we found even the kids drinks to be expensive. The entertainment was good overall and there was a separate area for non smokers but beware the amusement arcade! Unfortunately you have to walk through it to reach the bars and swimming pools and as we have two children aged 10 and 13 we found that getting through the arcade without having to put our hands in our pockets very hard to do! Result? A fortune spent in a few short minutes and constant requests for `one more go`. The on site fish and chip shop was expensive as well and it was mainly frozen fast food but it seemed to be popular.

The showers were clean, well kept and free but the hair dryer in the ladies wasn't`t working so I had to dry my hair under the hand dryer!
On one of the nights we stayed a group who had arrived that day and unfortunately camped near us, decided to have an all night party and kept us awake most of the night but all credit to Haven, the following morning Security arrived and ordered them to be packed and off the site within an hour.

The day before we were due to leave, a group of two families arrived and pitched their tents on top of us and then set up a windbreak to `capture` the space between their tents for an outdoor sitting/dining area thereby cutting off our access to our trailer with our car! We spent the rest of the day and night tripping over their ropes and had to pull our trailer out of our camping are by hand in the morning.
All in all though we enjoyed the site and would return but armed with plenty of coins for the amusement arcade! 


Reviewer: Goggo 3 reviews from this member

 July 2005
The touring area was nice and level, we had plenty of space at first, but then came the weekend with a 'pack em, rack em and stack em' attitude. Although the touring warden was very friendly.
Like a lot of the previous reviewers, we found the prices of the bar to be high. As with all commercial sites, the merchandise on sale was being pushed from every angle.
However, there was plenty for the children to do, indoor and outdoor pool and daily entertainment. 


Reviewer: Sandydog 1 review from this member

 May 2005
I've got very mixed views about this park.

I thought that camping here would be the best of all worlds for us and our two 3 year olds. Plenty of entertainment for them, and beautiful scenery for us. Unfortunately, once you're on the campsite, there is no scenery. You could be anywhere. Perhaps I was silly to think that going to the lakes, as we usually do, that I could sit outside the tent and see rolling hills.

The campsite itself was fine. Nice and flat, no fixed pitches, and free showers (4 in the ladies). Clean too.

The complex was okay, the kids were entertained, but as others have said before, the prices are terrible. It wasn't the beer so much that shocked me, but a small bottle of squash for a child was 1.20. I distinctly remember paying about 50p for these at Butlins. British Holidays make a real killing on anything aimed at children.

We never used the swimming pools, they were too small and usually crowded.

Haven/British Holidays seem to have a 'pack 'em in' attitude - the showbar had people climbing over seats to get in/out. And the small children's play area, aimed at those of about 3 feet and under, was constantly bombarded by kids up to 13 years old. There was a sign which said it was unsupervised but if you have small children and watch them like we watch ours, then inevitably you end up watching all the others whose parents are in the bar/showbar.

We wouldn't go back to Lakeland. Although it was great to have something to do at night, because of the lack of scenery and care, we'd go to a Haven in Norfolk, or go stay in Coniston. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Helen.Mc 4 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Before arriving at this particular campsite I had booked it based on what was in the British Holidays/Haven Caravan & Camping brochure made it out to be. I have a 2 year old and a 13 year old and I was of the opinion that both would be well catered for, well was I wrong. The Paws Club for 1-4 year olds was a 45 minute session per day with only 2 toys. The many activities which were mentioned in the brochure I could not find and the campsite itself was badly laid out with a road going in front of all tents making it unsafe for young children. The shower block which consisted of 5 showers in each was never clean, the toilets hardly ever had toilet paper and you could never get in a shower cubicle in the morning. Overall I found this site expensive and over-rated and I doubt very much I will be going back. 


Reviewer: kefira 1 review from this member

 May 2004
Lovely site - but not very close to any towns - may be a plus or minus point depending on what you like. The entertainment was great, all the team Stef, Alex, Rachel and Alan went out of their way to be friendly and great with the kids. Camp shop expensive - [ nothing new there!].  


Reviewer: M Langner

 May 2003
The site was fairly easy to find and the facilities were excellent. There's plenty to do but drink prices were very steep and I didn't like the way the camp entertainers or should I say 'sales staff' tried to continually sell Bradley bear stuff to the kids. The only other complaint was that the indoor pool was very crowded when we were there because it was raining. This wasn't so much the problem but the lack of changing facilities meant some people were having to wait approx. 5 mins to get in and get out of a cubicle whilst being wet and trying to appease the kids at the same time - not good!
I would recommend the site but take your own beer or visit the local pub it's much cheaper. 


Reviewer: Goldfish 5 reviews from this member

 June 2003
Really enjoyed this site,plenty for children to do,food in bar nice,beer nice as well but a bit dear 2.50 pint of Grolsch.Swimming pool very warm,showers and toilets clean,touring staff very helpfull but reception staff not that good.But would recommend site to anyone. 


Reviewer: SCOTT EVANS

 june-july 2003
easy to find,well presented,the touring pitches were flat and well maintained,the faciilites were great.As mentioned earlier the young chlidren using the washrooms un supervised keeps the wardens busy, may be this need to be addresed, i also found the acesss road in the middle of the touring pitches to be poor ,i was there 4 nights and twice i had to pick up to young kids who had fallen of their bikes ,one shed a little blood.
didnt use the entertainment complex ,was put off by the high drink prices.overall i would say that i would REURN 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeland Leisure Park (Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Flookburgh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement