Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackjam 1 review from this member

Our family stayed over the easter bank holiday,

First impressions were of a very busy site, with not much space between each pitch, we had booked 2 hardstanding pitches so we made best use of our space which were directly opp the toilet and shower block which was to our advantage as having 2 young children (3 and 6). They were cleaned reg and although showers were on the small side they were always hot and free.

The children's play park is quite away from the tourers, but is fine for the little bit older children but not much for our 3yr old.

The swimming pool was lovely and warm and both our kids loved it there's a small charge 2 each under 5's free which I didn't mind as there was always a life guard on the the pool side and made sure the children were using the slide safely, the shop was very well stocked with a wide range of things from everyday items to toys and gifts and well priced too,

All in all had a good family holiday even if weather wasn't on our side.

The site is located 15mins from bridlington, and only 5 mins from filey and Scarborough.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: The deller camp 1 review from this member

We have used crows nest for the last 5 years sometimes several times in a year. We have a six man tent which in summer we don't have electric so we try to get a pitch near the cliff edge, as the view is great and in winter we have electric near the playground, which my 3 boys love.

The toilet blocks are cleaned regular, thry are small but serve the purpose as you are on a camping holiday. The shop is well stocked and is well priced, the chip shop is very nice and as in shop the staff are polite and friendly.

The pool is small but lovely and warm and costs only 2 pounds a person. There is a small games room for children but the best part is the bar, the entertainment is great, they have bands on most of the time in the back and in the front they have pool tables and tvs. The prices are standard pub prices.

All in all the site is well maintained and the prices are cheap we have just come back after hireng a caravan which was very clean and cost us 200 for 4 days

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scouseblades 8 reviews from this member

Let's start with the plus side: it has a good playground.

Now down to the down side: cramped, cramped, cramped and cramped. I have never been to a site where you were given so little space. When we arrived we were first on, we noticed that pitch sizes were small, but its not until other vans arrive and you realise you can shake hands through van windows that the 'closeness' really hits you. There is nowhere for you to sit outside your van, and as you are so close to other vans you can hear everything!

Showers were basic and not enough for the amount of vans and tents cramped onto this site.

I was in a caravan but felt really sorry for the tenters who were put on a windy hill like an after thought, they needed to put on their hiking boots just to get to the loos!

Very unimpressed will not be returning to this site. Although it has to be said that the area is lovely, so just find yourself a better site to enjoy the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue054 3 reviews from this member

This place is windy! we set up in a relatively sheltered area but still my first night was sleepless due to the thrashing our tent was receiving from the wind! We paid for 3 nights but on the 3rd day the wind was just unbearable. We saw one tent completely demolished and the one next to us was badly ripped by the force of the wind; so we decided to leave. The manager had forced us to pay upfront so when we decided to leave we asked for a refund of one night to which he was extremely rude and couldn't have cared less. I advise anyone staying here to pay one night at a time!

Otherwise the toilet blocks were dated, showers small, and washing up 'shack' could've done with some lights.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DentonCampers 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the area for the August bank holiday and we were taken aback (and almost away!) by the wind, however the surrounding area and the views from our pitch more than made up for it and at least it barely rained. We had booked 2 electric hook up pitches, we found the allocation of these (or lack of) very disorganised, there was only a few available and tents were pitched in odd positions around the hook ups as there was no allocation system or pitch markings meaning the space was not used effectively which fortunately for us was not an issue as we only took a small tent on the trip, we would have really struggled in our usual 6 man tent. On the plus side the pitches were right by the park which was great for us having 6 children in our party in total.

The park was brilliant for the kids during the day but did seem to attract the older children at night, however when asked to keep the noise down they were fine. We didn't try the club/pub or the take away or pool as we were so busy exploring the area, the shop was very well stocked.

I agree with other comments in relation to the shower facilities, I had to queue at 7.00am for a luke warm trickle of water in a small dirty cubicle, it was that bad I didn't even bother taking my son.

Yes the drinking water is located within the bin store area which is more than little off putting, however the bins were emptied regularly but this didn't really make it any better.

The site was extremely busy over the weekend but I must say as people started to leave things did improve with the water pressure/temperature problems and dirtiness of the limited shower blocks etc which made us wonder if the problems were just down to the sheer volume of people using them at that time.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazandjonhodgson 6 reviews from this member

When we arrived on the Friday before bank holiday, it was very windy and was offered a more sheltered option to the original booking. Good start but still very windy, so much so that a tent pole broke. Reception staff were very helpful and told us where the nearest camp supplies shop was and told us the price of a caravan for the night less tent fees. We managed nicely as the wind dropped slightly.

Chip shop on site were good portions and not bad prices.Fish and chips 4.00. Full english breakfast 4.00. Although by the end of the stay my old man wouldn't go there because he said they were all miserable and not the friendly type at all. We called in the pub on the first night and the beer was not badly priced, what you'd expect on a campsite really. Entertainment was good. Showers were pretty bad. For such a huge site there are only 3 showers I believe. Take a bucket for night times as the tent fields are pitch black and ten minute trek to the loos. There are no clear markings on the pool floor or walls to tell you the depth of the pool. My 5 year old grandson walked unwittingly across the pool where the pool floor deepened and because of the sand on the pool base slipped under and if it wasn't for my other grandson asking where his cousin was,he could have easily drowned. We had taken our eyes off him for just a few seconds. Luckily he has swimming lessons and knew in a fashion how to tread water I don't want to put you off as we did have a nice stay on the site but just beware of the pool.

On site shop was great, selling just about everything you need (windsheets especially)

Surrounding area is fab,close to Filey which we love, not too far to Scarborough and other attractions.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1974liz 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here over august bank holiday in 2 tents, after reading good reviews we were looking forward to it! We stayed in what apparently is not used very often the front field on a big hill, on straw like grass. Toilets were up the other end of the site good 5min walk and with 4 kids under 11 not good! We went to the toilet at 7.30am and the queue was out the door for both toilets and showers. There was only 8nd 6 showers.

The swimming pool was 2 per person extra and you could not swim as it allowed 60 people at one time and was small, it was warm though, the changing rooms were small with one shower! The pub was ok, but again not big enough for the amount of people.

There were 3 bins near our tent for campers to put rubbish in, not once was it emptied

Plus side has a good play park.

Very windy but cant blame that on the site owners, late check out 12noon a bonus.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clare** 1 review from this member

This site was recommended to us by several people so we thought we'd give it a try.

Was very impressed by the cleanliness of the site in general.

Tent field at the top of the hill had spectacular views, can get a bit windy though so care to be taken.

Shop well stocked, our kids went to the pool, you had to push yourself to get down the slide but for 2 its still fun for them.

Bar area nice, also outdoor tables, didn't go to the entertainment of an evening so can't comment.

Read on the reviews about it being noisy, expected noise on an evening of folk enjoying themselves but nothing to complain over and was quiet after about 11pm - 12am.

Only downside was the showers, there wasn't a sprinkle head fitted so the water just poured out of the opening causing me to have to reach up and hold the head in position - also there was a large open drain in shower which could be nasty if a childs foot slipped down it.

All in all we would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markiemark99 1 review from this member

Stayed here over a long weekend.

Plus points: The view! Ease of access to Filey and the beaches (but not directly from the campsite). The kids play area was good - it kept them occupied when we were pitching, which was a real help. The other campers near us were friendly and we had two offers of help pitching our tent when we'd cocked it up the first time.

Minus Points: The other campers, frankly. I've not stayed at big campsites in England before and the level of late night drunken shouting came as something of a surprise.

Like some other reviewers, I've got somewhat mixed feelings about this site - the facilities are basic but adequate when they're working. Didn't visit the bar or make much use of the shop. The rubbish bins were emptied promptly twice a day it seemed, but there was a fair amount of rubbish in the hedges at the edge of the main camping field.

Food recommendations: If you've got kids, be sure to take advantage of the 'kids eat free' offer at The Corner Cafe in Filey, if it's still on. Actually, you should probably eat there whether you've got kids or not.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark_riley 2 reviews from this member

I stayed on this site in August 2009 with 16 members of my family. We found the shop very reasonably priced and well stocked. The play area and views of surrounding area were also very good, however it was very very windy breaking 3 of our 6 tents as well as many others on the site. The water in the dish washing area was rarely hot, the showers were grubby and dated and on one occasion only 2 out of 5 were working.

However the worst thing was the drinking water supply which was located in the same place as the bins.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019