Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobWUK 1 review from this member

 It was my first visit to Castlerigg Hall and my first time camping, after reading some postings prior the july postings I was a little unsure on what to expect as people mentioned overcrowding which I didn't experience and lack of showers, yes the toilet block we were near only had two showers, but the nine days I was there, I only had to wait once and that was only five minutes, the showers were hot and very clean, there was another block near reception that has a lot more showers.
 
It's a well looked after site, with a shop that sells quite a wide range and a cafe ideal for breakfast. And the bonus for me was a small pub just outside the site.
 
It's a site I will visit again, great staff and very helpful and friendly 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philngill 1 review from this member

 We arrived after 9.00pm on friday night with a wobbly front wheel on the motor bike. Seeing the full sign our hearts sank but we were told if you can find a space, pitch your tent. My partner's first time EVER in the lakes and we picked the best site.
The Crag hotel, at the entrance was a lovely little pub, good cider, friendly staff, the only disappointment was it was 100% veggie, we had to go into town to find some proper food.
The views from the site were stunning, if you ignored the phone mast. Definitley coming again, but hopefully earlier and certainly for longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gerr1986 8 reviews from this member

 Many a people have told me about this site so we thought we would give it a try, much to our dismay! We arrived first thing in the morning as to get a slot on the tent field, what a nightmare! The field is a slope which isn't really a problem for me, but you couldn't move, tents were crammed in every nook and cranny! The toilet block was old, and rather dirty, we never once saw it being cleaned or a member of staff around the field! To top it off the was a lovely dead rabbit next to our tent that had been there for days! (lovely) So we were pretty much disappointed with this site much to or dismay, maybe we just got there on a bad week, who knows! (Oh watch out for the midges!) 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theturkey 6 reviews from this member

 First visit to Castlerigg and definitly not the last,l ovely site, clean facilities, friendly staff and the view from the site is something else.
Very good base for walking the fells, Keswick only 20 mins walk away, good food at hotel next door if your of the veggie variety and pizza's and cooked breakfast available at site shop if your not.
Loads of rabbits and bats at night, oh yes watch out for mister badger if your on the tent field, leave any food out at night and he'll be off with it faster than a kid with an ASBO.
The only one gripe I can think of is on the van pitches you'll need VERY strong pegs if using an awning (mine may as well have been made of plasticine for all the use they were!). Trying to book again for later this year. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crascodav 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely Site, terrific facilities especially for walkers/cyclists, spectacular panoramic views, friendly staff.perfect for us on our first camping experience. Even though the tent field was on a slope, it was easy to pitch. Ideal for exploring Keswick and the lakes. Will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Me_moto 1 review from this member

 We saw this campsite on the internet and was very impressed with the facilities and location etc. It was the first time we had been camping with our One year old Son so we was a bit unsure as to what we may need in a campsite. We were more than impressed with what was on offer, the Camper's Kitchen is an excellent idea as it enabled us to warm up bottles of milk, however regardless of whether you have a child or not it has a seating area, use of toaster, kettle, microwave and hobs. Also free use of the TV which was brilliant as the World Cup was on.

The showers were cleaned to a high standard, we only stayed one night but we saw the cleaner three times, which is always a good sign.
Excellent shop, it is open 12 hours with everything you need for a Good camping trip. The views were stunning. There was plenty of space between tents and you don't feel like you are all crammed in.

Overall this is an excellent campsite, highly recommended and we will be definitely visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Abbotts 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! We arrived to find the 'site full' sign across the entrance, but had a drive round and found there to be lots of available space, asked again at reception and were told that we could pitch if plenty of space would be left around us. Pitched at the bottom of the site near the cow field, over looking Keswick and Bassenthwaite beyond - gorgeous views and even better sunsets. Agree with all previous reviews. The site's on a bit of a slope so make sure you think about this when pitching. Lower toilet block could do with more showers, there were only two here, but more available in the upper block (near reception) which is brighter and seems to be newer. Also the only water stand pipe we found was next to the toilet block, which meant a little walk each time. Could do with more dotted around the site. Hungry Hikers breakfast cafe attached to the shop, serving breakfasts to those of us too lazy to make breakfast and then do the washing up - bit slow on service, and had to ask for cutlery and butter for the toast but otherwise the food was great and the staff really friendly. Definitely a good start to the day. The site was quiet and almost everyone was snoring by 11:30! Great to have a field for recreational use only. It meant the kids could play in a large area without bothering others with balls and frisbees. Good to see a site that thinks it not all about making money by cramming as many people on as possible. Two nights camping (2 adults, 5yr old and 2yr old) 31 pounds. Pub next door is small but has a nice beer garden. To sum up - Good value, lovely site, great views, helpful and friendly staff, fab facilities, kids were happy so we were happy - we will definitely return soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sassysazoutdoor 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Toilets & Shower facilities kept clean. If you forget anything, there is a well stocked shop. Views are fantastic. Friendly & helpful staff. There is a path through the woods which makes a nice evening walk into keswick. Plenty of room in between the tents. The only downside was noisy people in the next tent when they came back from the pub, however I will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R10bbo 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent and well run site, Great food in the cafe/shop, everything you need is there. The views from the site were fantastic, overlooking the derwent lake, great for those picture moments.

The Toilet/shower facilities were kept in excellent condition, very clean, spotless. (10/10)

I would definitely go back and I ve already told my friends about it. Not one to be missed!

 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angigled 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful well run site, fantastic views, excellent breakfast in cafe on site. Toilets immaculate, pub next door ok food, must rate as one of the best sites if not the best site in the lakes. Games room for kids to keep occupied, path from site into Keswick takes about 30-40 mins, downhill there uphill back .Good range of shops and lots of different choice of cafes, restaurants and pubs. 


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4338 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement