Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Logan07 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a number of times and have never been disappointed you are always greeted with a friendly welcome and the staff are extremely helpful, wood for the campfires is supplied on site as well as kindling and firelighters which helps. The facilities are good and clean. Ample for kids to entertain themselves on in the playground which is set back from the campsite away from couples wanting to have a quite camp and not wanting to listen to screaming kids. There is plenty to do in the area which is extremely scenic and the campsite its self is huge so not to disappoint as this is a popular campsite and does get busy. There is a pub within walking distance which has a nice beer garden and serves food. Definatly worth a try. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Michelle1969 1 review from this member

 Just had lovely weekend and have to agree with everyone this site is made by the helpful staff we made the mistake of going the wrong way across a pass road car could'nt pull tent up hill due also to bad weather car and tent ended sliding down a curvy very very narrow road had to unhook tent and move over to let cars pass drove to campsite and a friendly camper helped us out (if this was u thanks again once again saved the weekend) they towed tent and saved a night in b+b the only downside about this site is that we didnt start camping years ago and could have enjoyed this site to the max when kids were younger all in all a lovely site and superb views
 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dants 4 reviews from this member

 We love this site. The owners are great, it attracts a personable crowd of people and the facilities for kids are out of this world.

My girls loved the adventure playground - so detached from the sterile, health and safety obsessed places kids are normally forced to settle for these days yet such great fun. Zip wires, climbing platforms and loads of mud to splash around in, not to mention the pond and its tyre rafts

The profile of campers tends towards young families (think 11 and under). Hopefully it's really really boring for older kids. There are no mobs of teenagers lurking around looking for amusement (thankfully).

The location in Eskdale is one of the most beautiful in Britain, and whilst the loos will never get any awards this is a small price to pay for the sort of family holiday many people would not realise still exists. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Onred 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit and it didn't dissapoint.
 
Mick and Alison are very friendly, helpful and committed to running a great campsite.
 
The toilet facilities were spotless, hot running water, washing machines, dryer, freezer, ironing board and iron and even a boot dryer.
 
The site is clean, the children loved the adventure playground and the campfire was the icing on the cake.
 
All in all a great experience. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outwell52 4 reviews from this member

 Thank God its the start of the camping season. Four of us decided to go camping and our first choice had to be FGCS. Bearing in mind it would be cool at this time of year and this site allows camp fires. We arrived on site and received a great welcome from Mick ,who has always welcomed us in this manner. He allowed us to set up camp and supplied us with our wood for the evening fire. We were pleased that the kindling we bought had a fire lighter with it, hardly Ray Mears camping but needed for the ease of starting our fire.
As always the campsite was in good condition, no litter about and pretty dry for the time of year.
The toilet block has be re painted and has had a new roof  put on,making it brighter inside.
What appeals to me with this site is -it doesn't matter whether there are only 10 campers on or 100.Mick and Alison clean the toilets and showers daily ensuring adequate toilet paper ,liquid soap and cleanliness.
This year the Water piping and drain system has been improved so that no facility ie showers/washing up with be affected by heavy usage when all are running at peak season.
The pond by the Childrens area has been cleared out and a new dam installed.The climbing frames and adventure area has also been tidided up.
This being my first visit this year, I was struck by Mick and Alisons commitment to ensuring that singles and couples and familys have a trouble free and comfortable camping Holiday.
It just gets better and better! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazycat74 1 review from this member

 I really love this site as do my children and husband. There is plenty to do around in the local area especially if you like walking. The site owners are friendly and always willing to help. The kids enjoyed the play area. And I thought the camp fires are the icing on the cake for a camping trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kat24571 2 reviews from this member

 By far the nicest site weve been to. The scenery is amazing, the showers and toilets spotless, being cleaned several times daily, the owners friendly and the kids play area is excellent keeping our daughter entertained for hours-we had trouble getting her to come for meals. Theres washers and dryers should you need them and a freezer however this is not very affective with people opening and shutting it all day it never has a chance to freeze ice packs. The only fault is the showers cost 50p and dont last long enough, however its only a small gripe and were looking forward to returning next year. A word of warning though dont go over hard knott pass-not for the faint hearted 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GinnyD 1 review from this member

 This Camp site is one of the best we have ever visited. The facilities for children are superb (as long as you don't mind them getting very dirty and wet!). The children loved the play area and the train going through the site throughout the day. The showers and toilets were cleaned regularly throughout the day. The camp fires really add to the ambiance in the evenings and make it enjoyable for adults too. The staff are incredibly friendly and will help where ever possible. They also ensure that the curfew is enforced - which keeps it a quiet site. I would happily go back again although next time I would make sure that I avoided bank holiday weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Durks30 2 reviews from this member

 We felt this site was over-rated after our recent weekend stay. Lovely location but very remote. Site needs more toilets /showers. Only 4 ladies showers - its not enough for the numbers of people (200 tents!). Really needs a little well stocked shop on site too. Kids pond with rafts turned out to be a dirty, muddy, brown pond and playground is suited for older kids aged 7 plus not our 3 year old who couldn't use it.  Biggest issue we had was the way the owners spoke to people -rather off hand and more like being back at school -very strict no noise after 10. 30 policy - which is a good thing but when grown adults were being  told off for laughing when on their hols - was a bit poor. Definitely too jobsworth for us. Several people we spoke too felt the same way. We love Great Langdale site - much better facilities. Won't be returning to Fisherground. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladybirds 2 reviews from this member

 Set off a little late from Manchester so we had to pitch our Vango Aspen in the Dark! However we were met on arrival by the Owner who showed us were to pitch.  In the morning we had the opportunity to appriciate the beauty of the setting at the foot on the fells.
The site is superb for children with lots for them to do, including pond rafts which they loved.  The Ratty railway is a great feature too on the site.
 
There were only a couple of down points you are charged per person not per unit so it was a little expensive for a family of 5. Also you have to pay on top for your cars.
 
The facilities were on the whole pretty clean and tidy with the extras of the washing machines etc however you pay 50p for a 5 min (ish) shower you need to spend at least £1 for a decent chance.
 
We would definitely go again and you could easily stay for a week here! 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement