Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 213 Reviews
                8/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkjanesam 5 reviews from this member

 Spent the bank holiday weekend here and as you can't book I was concerned about whether we would get on. We arrived Friday morning and there was plenty of room but the site had filled up by the evening.

Toilets were cleaned regulary and only had to queue twice to use the loo which was amazing considering the number of people on the site. There never seemed to be a queue for the showers either.

Lovely to be able to have an open fire and its even better when you can buy your wood from the trailer that goes round.

Childrens play area was very good and there is a nice big field for them to play in too.

The noise restriction after 10.30 worked very well ( if only someone had told the nearby peacock!)

If you're looking for somewhere to go that has easy accessto the rest of the lakes and lots to amuse nearby then I wouldn't recommend this site but if you want to go to an unspoilt valley then this site is a must.

Will definitely go again 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nezzie 1 review from this member

 Eskdale is absolutely fabulous - you won't get better pubs, walks, scenery anywhere in Britain.  We've read reviews by people who visit the Ravenglass campsite who say there is little to do.  Just walk.and drink.and eat.
 
We stayed at Fisherground because of the campfires.  Still the only site in the Lakes we believe with a carte blanche to burn.  My father refuses to consider anywhere else because of this.  However we have two small children and hot running water is a must so we moved to Boot for the Bank Holiday weekend.  Fisherground has a problem with this at peak times.  Kids loved the climbing both in the play area and rocks around the pitches.  If you stay on the attractive main site beware small children plummetting from the rocks into your fire.  As usual worst curfew offenders were the families - yes that was us.
 
People keep mentioning the electric but I should stress this is only available if you pitch in the toilets or have a long connector.
 
Fabulous site for REAL campers. For the nesh among you try the facilities up the road in Boot. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Logan07 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site a number of times and have never been disappointed you are always greeted with a friendly welcome and the staff are extremely helpful, wood for the campfires is supplied on site as well as kindling and firelighters which helps. The facilities are good and clean. Ample for kids to entertain themselves on in the playground which is set back from the campsite away from couples wanting to have a quite camp and not wanting to listen to screaming kids. There is plenty to do in the area which is extremely scenic and the campsite its self is huge so not to disappoint as this is a popular campsite and does get busy. There is a pub within walking distance which has a nice beer garden and serves food. Definatly worth a try. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Michelle1969 1 review from this member

 Just had lovely weekend and have to agree with everyone this site is made by the helpful staff we made the mistake of going the wrong way across a pass road car could'nt pull tent up hill due also to bad weather car and tent ended sliding down a curvy very very narrow road had to unhook tent and move over to let cars pass drove to campsite and a friendly camper helped us out (if this was u thanks again once again saved the weekend) they towed tent and saved a night in b+b the only downside about this site is that we didnt start camping years ago and could have enjoyed this site to the max when kids were younger all in all a lovely site and superb views
 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dants 4 reviews from this member

 We love this site. The owners are great, it attracts a personable crowd of people and the facilities for kids are out of this world.

My girls loved the adventure playground - so detached from the sterile, health and safety obsessed places kids are normally forced to settle for these days yet such great fun. Zip wires, climbing platforms and loads of mud to splash around in, not to mention the pond and its tyre rafts

The profile of campers tends towards young families (think 11 and under). Hopefully it's really really boring for older kids. There are no mobs of teenagers lurking around looking for amusement (thankfully).

The location in Eskdale is one of the most beautiful in Britain, and whilst the loos will never get any awards this is a small price to pay for the sort of family holiday many people would not realise still exists. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Onred 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit and it didn't dissapoint.
 
Mick and Alison are very friendly, helpful and committed to running a great campsite.
 
The toilet facilities were spotless, hot running water, washing machines, dryer, freezer, ironing board and iron and even a boot dryer.
 
The site is clean, the children loved the adventure playground and the campfire was the icing on the cake.
 
All in all a great experience. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outwell52 4 reviews from this member

 Thank God its the start of the camping season. Four of us decided to go camping and our first choice had to be FGCS. Bearing in mind it would be cool at this time of year and this site allows camp fires. We arrived on site and received a great welcome from Mick ,who has always welcomed us in this manner. He allowed us to set up camp and supplied us with our wood for the evening fire. We were pleased that the kindling we bought had a fire lighter with it, hardly Ray Mears camping but needed for the ease of starting our fire.
As always the campsite was in good condition, no litter about and pretty dry for the time of year.
The toilet block has be re painted and has had a new roof  put on,making it brighter inside.
What appeals to me with this site is -it doesn't matter whether there are only 10 campers on or 100.Mick and Alison clean the toilets and showers daily ensuring adequate toilet paper ,liquid soap and cleanliness.
This year the Water piping and drain system has been improved so that no facility ie showers/washing up with be affected by heavy usage when all are running at peak season.
The pond by the Childrens area has been cleared out and a new dam installed.The climbing frames and adventure area has also been tidided up.
This being my first visit this year, I was struck by Mick and Alisons commitment to ensuring that singles and couples and familys have a trouble free and comfortable camping Holiday.
It just gets better and better! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazycat74 1 review from this member

 I really love this site as do my children and husband. There is plenty to do around in the local area especially if you like walking. The site owners are friendly and always willing to help. The kids enjoyed the play area. And I thought the camp fires are the icing on the cake for a camping trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kat24571 2 reviews from this member

 By far the nicest site weve been to. The scenery is amazing, the showers and toilets spotless, being cleaned several times daily, the owners friendly and the kids play area is excellent keeping our daughter entertained for hours-we had trouble getting her to come for meals. Theres washers and dryers should you need them and a freezer however this is not very affective with people opening and shutting it all day it never has a chance to freeze ice packs. The only fault is the showers cost 50p and dont last long enough, however its only a small gripe and were looking forward to returning next year. A word of warning though dont go over hard knott pass-not for the faint hearted 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GinnyD 1 review from this member

 This Camp site is one of the best we have ever visited. The facilities for children are superb (as long as you don't mind them getting very dirty and wet!). The children loved the play area and the train going through the site throughout the day. The showers and toilets were cleaned regularly throughout the day. The camp fires really add to the ambiance in the evenings and make it enjoyable for adults too. The staff are incredibly friendly and will help where ever possible. They also ensure that the curfew is enforced - which keeps it a quiet site. I would happily go back again although next time I would make sure that I avoided bank holiday weekend. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement