Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 18 reviews from this member

We chose this site for it's proximity to Bakewell, and the onsite facilities. We have been twice to the site, for 4 night stays, in two weeks, due to unexpected time off work!

When we arrived we were impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the site, in particular the shower/toilet facilities, of which there was a main block and also a portakabin style block, again very clean, so when one was being cleaned the other was still open. The hairdryer in the ladies main block was very useful. We never had to queue for a shower, water was hot.

Pitches were a decent size, we had wonderful views from our pitch. We had EHU, water taps were nearby. I used the laundry room once, at £1.20 per wash and 20p for 10 minutes in the dryer, this is the first time in 14 years of camping that I did not feel like I was being overcharged for doing my laundry. They even sell individual liquid laundry tablets for 50p in the shop, so you don't need to buy a whole pack for one wash! Washing up facilities were fine, mostly clean, but then you always get some people who leave food scraps and mess around the sinks. One evening we went to wash up, it was getting dark, and the lights were not on by the sinks, a staff member was passing so we asked him why there was no light, he told us there was a fault so they had had to put off those lights, we said 'don't worry we'll be fine' he then went off and less than a minute later had hooked up a temporary inspection lamp to enable us to do our dishes, now that's customer service for you!

The site was not too busy in the week, but filled up at weekends. We prefer it less busy, but it did not feel overcrowded.

We had three children with us, ranging in age from 10 to 15, they have been camping since babies so are well used to it, and they had a great time, running around and meeting new friends.

The playground facilities are good, with one for older children and a smaller one for toddlers. The field for ball games is great, plenty of space for letting off steam. We had a drink in the little bar a couple of times, which was very nice, reasonable prices and a nice, fairly quiet atmosphere. The shop was basic but useful for milk, bread etc.

The only downside we could see was the charge for gazebos, we use one to sit outside and also to cook under, and before we arrived we were slightly put off by the £10 a night surcharge, and decided to only put it up if it was raining, and then pay for it at reception. Yes you guessed it, it was indeed raining, and I went off to reception to pay for our four night stay, and to my delight was only charged £5 per night for the gazebo, still quite a lot, but less than I had expected. I feel it is somewhat unfair to charge more for a gazebo than an awning, but was told by staff that it was due to the damage to the grass. My final question on this was were the newer tents with canopy extensions charged the same?

Anyway, that aside, we loved the site, and despite iffy weather, we had a great time, we walked into Bakewell, which was a pleasant walk, and visited Matlock Bath, Castleton, Peak Cavern etc. The Castle Inn in Bakewell is an excellent place for lunch, with 2 meals for £10, decent home cooked food, freshly prepared. There is a Co-op in Bakewell which was very reasonable for food shopping, and is quite a large store, so plenty of choice. Near the Co-op is a fish and chip shop, which is good. Overall we would highly recommend this site to families with children of all ages.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 33 reviews from this member

Warm welcome on arrival. Site full though surprisingly one field -the one with the best views - remained completely unoccupied! We heard that some people wanted to stay on but couldn't because the site was full.

The loos and showers were clean and never overcrowded though my wife found that in the late afternoon several loos had no paper. The shop caters for desperate buyers. You obviously pay for convenience. Cosy bar selling real ale at £1.50 per pint.

We enjoy walking, so the trip to Bakewell was easy though lorries do use the road a lot. Also used the country route encountering llamas on the way!

Bakewell will interest the tourist whilst the co-op caters for all foodies. Talking of which - Bakewell tart is a must!

Don't forget. NO DIGITAL TV in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah+nath 1 review from this member

We enjoyed our stay at greenhills, but the campsite wasn't the thing we loved most. The views surrounding the campsite and nearby villages were particularly impressive.

We're a young couple and first time campers and the area provided plenty of opportunities for romantic walks and things to do. Bakewell is a lovely town, with plenty of attractions - including award winning ice cream!

Contrary to the advertisement, the pitches weren't all flat. Nothing too severe, and our pitch was only slightly slanted, however, should you be unfortunate enough to be allocated a particularly slopey piece of field, you might suffer!

Contacting the owners to arrange a booking may be an issue. We tried calling several times, two days before arriving with no answer. It seems booking online is favourable, with the reception well and truly in the 21st century.

The toilets and showers were kepy really clean and hygienic, but at times the four available showers were not enough to cope with demand.

We were welcomed and provided with a map, detailing our allocated pitch and shown our way to the showers and facilities. The staff were friendly and the shop was handy. Obviously better to take everything you need to save on prices and, owing to the fact it's a small, privately owned shop, the variety does not compare to morrisons.

The on-site bar area looked really nice, with many campers enjoying a drink in the outdoor seating area. We were regrettably too busy to enjoy the bar ourselves.

The kids play area looked great fun! under cover of trees and sheltered from the sun and ideally situated next to the bar.

Occasionally noise was an issue, with the 11pm noise curfew not strictly enforced. Nothing too wild - a little music and laughing but the peaceful camper, wanting to turn in by 10 may be put off.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience in Bakewell and at the campsite. We would recommend to all.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

Have visited this site on several occasions. The site has all the usual expected facilities. The toilets and showers are of good size and always kept clean. Ample water, waste and rubbish points. Electric hookups are 16amp (I believe).

The site itself is pretty level and some pitches have fantastic views down the valley. There are some hardstanding available.

The owners are friendly and helpful. There is a bar on site, not always open but does open more in peak season. Near the bar is a small children's play area.

The site is a great base for anyone wanting to walk and explore the local area. Bakewell is about 10 mins in the car or 40 mins stroll. Ashford-in-the-Water is nearer and is a lovely local village (including the necessary pubs!). Monsal head and trail are all within walking distance.

Overall its a great quiet site and well worth visiting. Only down-side is the central set of pitches which can get waterlogged after a heavy period of rain.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tina+Duncs 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here on one of their short week specials. We are 2 adults with 2 dogs.

Sunday 28th June to Friday 3rd July.

Very good value for money.

Good sized pitches giving us lots of room for our large frame tent, trailer and vehicle.

All staff very friendly and helpful. All facilities very good. I found overflow ladies showers better than main block.

The Peak District is a lovely area to visit.

Twenty minute walk to nearest pub with food as no food in site bar. Ten minute drive into Bakewell for a good selection of dining pubs. Found the Bulls Head at Monyash to be superb.

Dog walking on site is suitable and dog walking generally in the area is good. Ours aren't great off the lead so we like to find quiet places so they can run and we found a great spot for them to splash around just below Monsal Head on River Wye and public footpath area on edge of Monyash.

Near to A6 but traffic noise was not intrusive.

Hope this helps.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Craig1993 1 review from this member

I have just returned back from a 3 day holiday at Greenhill's and I must say I think that the park is fantastic and the way that the campsite is run shows this.

We arrived and were shown were all the facilities were, after this we were escorted to our pitch which was on on off the electric fields, we had plenty of space as they were very few campers which meant we has about a quarter of an acre to ourselves. The field was on a slight slop but nothing that was uncomfortable, although the slope did drain the water away when it ran.

The shop and pub was well stocked with goods and the staff in both the shop and pub were warm and friendly. Also the showers and toilets are kept to a very clean standard.

It was very well located as it was off the road set back in field with lovely views around it and the town of Bakewell only a mile away which has plenty of shops and eateries to pass the time.

I would say that the only problem is that there are light on top of the hookup boxes that cant be switched off, this is bad because if you are next to it, it is very bright and can stop you from going to sleep

All in all I would say that this site is brilliant and I will keep going time and again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scott93 1 review from this member

I recently went to this site and found the site a pleasure to stay at. The staff were friendly, the bar nice and camping pitch more than spacious. There also was lots of walks around the area and bakewell only a few miles away. It is also kept very quiet at night and is very secure. But I do think that the showers could be more spacious. They were very warm and kept clean but anyone with wide shoulders would find it difficult to get in.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Genista 1 review from this member

I have to start this review by mentioning how good the customer service was in getting our pitch booked in the first place. Without Glynis' help, we wouldn't have had a holiday at all!

When we arrived at the site, which is easy to find and access, booking in was simple and we were shown around the facilities and then to our pitch.

The facilities are all pretty much in the same place, which becomes a real hub of activity when the site is full.

The pitch was in good condition and, even though we pitched in heavy rain, the whole area was surprisingly mud free. Most of the pitches seem to slope but only the overflow field has any extreme slopes. The pitch was more than big enough for our tent (Outwell Nebraska XL) and the pitches are well marked on the fences around the site or on slabs in the ground. I do think it's worth letting them know if you need a big pitch though. The best thing about the pitch we had, though, was the views; lots of stunning view looking out over the hills.

Hookups are well located and have lights over them. This seems like a good idea if you have a problem at night!

During the week the site was very quiet but still had a nice atmosphere. When Friday came, the site became very full, and though the bar, showers, toilets and potwashing facilities became very busy, any queues went very quickly and everything stayed pretty clean.

The shop has plenty of basics in it and seems to be flexible in when it's open. We used the Coop in Bakewell several times but there are lots of local shops to use as well (especially for Bakewell puddings.)

One very handy thing is the information hut (read 'shed') which has lots of information and advice on the local area. We used this several times to help plan our excursions. You have so many options of things to do or places to go from here that I makes a great place to explore the area from.

There is a direct walking route to Bakewell and a 'scenic' one. We did both and the site of Llamas on the scenic one was certainly entertaining!

A really nice site which we would happily go back to again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Logies 1 review from this member

We are first time campers, myself, my husband and two boys (aged 6 and 4 yrs).

We have just returned from a five day stay at Greenhills (Mon to Fri)and have now decided camping is the life for us.

On arrival we were given a warm welcome at reception and taken to our pitch (we had chosen to book EHU), the owner was very pleasant and told us as it was mid week and quiet we did not have to take much notice of the pitch markers.

One of the first things we noticed from the site was the amazing views from all directions.

The boys could not wait to explore the area and soon found the two play parks, one for under 4s and one for older children which consists of climbing and balancing equipment made from natural materials. Next to the park is a large field with football nets and loads of space for ball games. The park is situated outside the pub, which was a novelty for us as we usually spend our holidays running round play parks watching the kids. At Greenhills you can still keep an eye on the kids, however this can be done relaxing on the pub benches with a nice cold beer.

The whole site had a very child friendly feel, lots of safe space for them to run about and have a little bit of independence.

We found the toilet/shower blocks to be immaculate at all times (cannot comment on busier times). The only problem I found was trying to shower my 4 yr old, as he needs assistance the cubicals were too small for the both of us.

Previous reviews of this site have mentioned the sloping pitches, we didn't think our field was too bad although we did have to rearrange our beds to stop us ending up in a heap during the night, however this could have been avoided if we had pitched our tent accordingly.

During our stay we had a night of torrential rain, however the following day the fields did not seem boggy.

We were very impressed with this campsite and will be returning soon, think we'll try a busy weekend this time. Don't think we'll be disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dzdoris 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a stunning location, picture postcard views!

We had to pitch on a slight slope but it didnít bother us in the slightest. Liked how the pitches were well marked out. Gravelled water points so no muddy feet!

Two shower blocks, one was a portakabin block which I preferred as they seemed the cleaner of the two. 4 washing-up sinks with plenty of hot water. Bricks available to stand your BBQs on.

Childrenís play area on site but our children didnít use it that much. Separate field for ball games which our older children loved, beware of the potholes!

Bar on site but again we didnít use it. Well stocked shop with food, games, camping equipment etc.

Only stayed for the weekend. Did a lovely scenic walk into Bakewell, walking at Lathkill Dale and whilst lost discovered a lovely quaint little cafe in Monyash.

Would definitely stay here again.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019