Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: STUPOT69 2 reviews from this member

 Visited the site On August Bank Holiday weekend.We arrived on the Friday,was told we could pitch anywhere,We decided to pitch in the family field opposite the E.H.U,The other fields were boggey and there was plenty of room for my lads to run about and play.

The views were great of the Lake,A stunning location.

As the day progressed on the Saturday,more and more campers arrived,By the end of the day the field resembled a festival site!with tents a couple of meters apart.

To sum up, lovely site, decent facilities, great location, spoilt by the fact that there should be a cap how many tents are allowed on each field. Would return again, not at weekends, only during the week. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RoleySkate 1 review from this member

 I've just returned from my second visit to this campsite and I'll definitely be going back again next year too.

The first time my friend and I went was in May 2008 and we loved everything about the site, so of course we were eager to return this year.

The only worry we had was that with August being a busy month would the sites facilities be over stretched and/or unclean due to the amount of campers? I'd say, on the whole, no. The owners put additional portaloos out (equipt with sinks with hot and cold water taps, nothing like the horrible things you see at festivals!) and all the facilities seemed to be cleaned regularly. At peak times (ie, wake up time/bed time) the toilets and showers were a bit busy but we managed to time ourselves around these times. I'd say the only minor grumble I had about the toilets was that the portaloos occassionally ran out of toilet roll and paper towels at night.

The site itself is lovely and is right on the lake. There was plenty of space for us and no one seemed to be camped on top of one another. It is also very easy to find from the M6 and this is coming from a person with horrible navigational skills!

There is a small shop available on site which I didn't actually use so I couldn't comment any further on it, and a hot food van, which according to my friend made a mean bacon butty.

The nearest village is less than 5 minutes drive away or around 20-30 minutes walk along the shore. When we went in May last year, there hadn't been too much rainfall so the ground wasn't too bad but this time it was rather muddy to say the least so be aware if you're taking a pram (quite difficult!) or hoping to keep your feet dry. The village itself is quite small and consists of a post office/small convenience store, a cafe, a couple of gift shops, tourist info and three(!) pubs. We had a drink in two of them and found them reasonably priced but only ate in one, The Crown Inn which was nice, although nothing special. The service was very quick though.

I'm not sure what activities are available on site, or in the surrounding areas really as the only activity we partook in was relaxing with a nice, cold social beverage by the lake but I'm sure being on the lake there are plenty of water based activities around if needed.

I'd definitely recommend this site and will be returning for many years I think. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz Sherriff 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights 29th / 30th July 2009. It was good value for money - 18 for tent, 2 adults and a car - you can park next to your tent. It is extra for more people, gazebo or dogs. It was very quiet due to the bad weather forecast however the weather was not as bad as first anticipated - luckily for us! There had obviously been flooding though because the path which takes you in to Pooley Bridge village was covered in water, so we had to walk through the fields. The site is located right on Ullswater lake and is very scenic. When we arrived, we booked in at reception which also doubles up as a small but well stocked shop - open 8.30am to 6pm. Staff were very friendly. We were told where everything was and told we could set up our tent wherever we wanted to. Showers were very clean though not much room to put your things. Water was hot. There was also a mop / bucket for the main floor area which did get quite muddy due to the rain. Toilets were also very clean. There was also a portakabin loo in the main field which was handy although if the owners could see to it, another would be brilliant at the other end of the field. This was also clean with plenty of loo roll. There was a small children's playground and a catering van. There was a laundry room which you could also get hot drinks from and also a freezer. The field was well kept, although waterlogged in places due to the weather. The site was quiet - only families and couples allowed which suited us fine. Dogs are allowed on leads. You can have bbq's but no fires. The village of Pooley Bridge has a couple of shops, three really nice pubs and a lovely tearoom called Granny Dowbekins. It is a short walk to Ullswater steamers. There are plenty of walks to go on. I would definitely go to this site again and recommend it to friends and family. Lovely : ) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gooners77 3 reviews from this member

 We , 4 Adults and three young children,

Have just returned from a weeks stay, Saturday to Saturday, at Waterside House Campsite.

First impressions were that the family field was overcrowded, pitches were not marked out, and some dogs were allowed to run free.We were on electric hookup pitches, opposite the family field, which again weren't marked, but were reasonably level.

As previously mentioned by many people this site attracts noisy groups at the weekend. Not just teenagers but older types too.Right opposite our tents were three groups/ families who started drinking at lunch time Saturday and continued into the early hours of Sunday getting louder and noisier by the minute, and ended in a shouting match between them and other campers.Luckily for us most left on Monday morning and the family field became just that. The kids could now play on this area, where before it was covered in tents.

As for the showers. How can 4 showers each for men and women be sufficient for dozens and dozens of people. Unless you went at 6 o'clock in the morning or 10 o'clock at night you had to queue. The washing up facility was the same. Queues.

The plus side was the water was always hot and free.

Toilets. Again not enough.Especially when they were being cleaned- which was very often.Not a bad thing, but inconvenient.

Having griped enough there are good points.

The site is in a very beautiful position, right by the lake.

Its a pleasant walk into Pooley Bridge, along the side of the lake.

The shop had most of the basics- bread, milk, gas bottles etc.

The burger bar was handy.

The toilets and showers were regularly cleaned.

All the staff were friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazz1975 2 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from camping here for three nights. On arrival we were directed to pitch in the far field which we soon discovered had a lovely view of the lake if you could get a pitch (which we were unfortunately unable to do). The rest of the field is a slope down to a very boggy area at the bottom (where we eventually pitched) - and had wet feet for the stay!

The facilities are possibly the worst that I've ever come across - from the point of view of number per campers. There is a main toilet and shower block by the entrance and since we were as far from the entrance as you can get, we had a long walk. There was, however, a porta-loo block in our field with 2 female and 2 male toilets- which got extremely smelly in the heat. And all for 18 per night!

Whilst the situation was beautiful and the walk along the lake to the nearby village of Pooley Brdge stunning, I don't think we will be returning as the price was too steep for what you got. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trigger2641 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite in an amazing location.

We took our border collie for the first time camping and luckily got a pitch right next to the lake.

Very dog friendly place.

Facilities are OK, nothing exceptional but always clean and tidy, id highly recommend a visit for anyone.

Campsite is ideally located for a trip to surrounding lakes and small villages, perfect for a days walking with the dog. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike70 3 reviews from this member

 The site is in a lovely situation, and is big, so lots of choice of where to pitch. The facilities are barely adequate however for the number of guests this site can accommodate - I would in fact suggest that in MY opinion they are totally inadequate in terms of toilets and showers for the number of people the site can accommodate.

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful despite it being extremely busy, and the location is really pretty idylic.

We found the ground where we were pitching a bit rocky about 6' under so that tent pegs would go 80% of the way in and then bend.

One of our party suffered the theft of a mountain bike while there - I do NOT however believe this is peculiar to this site as on this occasion other nearby sites were also hit on the same night. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry[arrots 1 review from this member

 This was our first time visiting the lakes and I think by far we picked the best site to stay on, its a working farm so there's plenty of sheep, friendly dogs and loads of ducks. The owners colin and his wife are very friendly and very helpful, so was brian our on site neighbour. Couldn't have wished for a better 9 days. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean. The shop on site has everything you would need, as well as an on site catering van for breakfast and chips etc.

There's a playground near the lake, there are a few electric hookups. The lake is a wonderful sight, and boats a plenty. We will be visiting again as there's too much to see and not enough time. There are a few shops in pooley bridge, and very nice pubs who do great food. The 7 day pass on the steamers was a godsend and well worth every penny 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James Patton 1 review from this member

 My wife and I and our Jack Russell stayed at Waterside last weekend. It was our first time camping at this location. What a fantastic site. Great up to date facilities which are kept clean and well supplied.

We had an electric hook up pitch.

The shop was a life saver with its camping item supplies not to mention the everyday shopping.

The site was extremely busy but was more than able to cope with the demand on all facilities.

Well Done Waterside

A beautiful location.

Pooley Bridge is an easy walk along the shore line. Again a beautiful place.

I really do not have any criticism. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nooper 1 review from this member

 This is without doubt the flattest site we have ever camped on.

The owners are friendly, and the ducks are too.

The facilities are very clean and tidy, and although there are only 4 showers per sex, we were up far to early to encounter any queues. The weekend was far busier and noisier, but not too bad, apart from one idiot who felt the urge to keep starting his TVR and revving it.

Ideal for boating, fishing and walking the Eastern Fells.

The shop is well stocked. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41490 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement