Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davensylvia 8 reviews from this member

 Have tried 4 times to visit Toms Field in Langton Matravers but have yet to be successful and have found ourselves on Woodyhyde, Harmans Cross. A sheltered site low down in the valley it comprises 3 fields, of which we’ve stayed on 2&3. We personally favour 2- we camped a little too low in field 3 in the washout that was May Bank Holiday 2007 – we didn’t float away but demontaging in a couple of inches of cold rain wasn’t particularly fun. This is a well maintained site with no fixed pitches so the tents and their encampments are always evolving. Most enchanting is the steam train that runs between fields 1&2 and has such a regular service that most other train operators should be envious! There are great walks across to Corfe Castle- especially rewarding with a beautiful sunset behind (and a number of pubs to choose from for pint at the end). The shop is well stocked but we have found ‘happier’ staff on other sites. However, the greatest frustration is the shabby toilet/shower block on this obviously busy site. They are cleaned once a day from 12-2 so after the morning rush the following day they are often quite muddy and untidy. For not a lot of investment I’m sure that they could have a face lift which would include a couple more washing up points, covered for those great British weather moments. This is a good, spacious site that we have turned up on spec (only once had the ‘site full’ notice) and there always seems to be groups and families having fun in the Isle of Purbeck microclimate. Go, but you’ll understand the small blight of the facilities on an almost perfect campsite for weekend breaks. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toadnem 1 review from this member

 We  stayed here for almost 6 weeks and loved it! Ok so the shower blocks aren't the Hilton but nevertheless we always had warm water to shower with. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the area is magnificent and K's coffee shop in Swanage sells a mean latte! The greyhound pub in Corfe was my low point of the hols, overpriced beer and boring menu but fear not The Pub across the road offered excellent fayre and great service so the evening was not wasted! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smorea 1 review from this member

 Nice large grassy fields so plenty of space.
One small toilet block very primitive (3 showers, 2 shaving mirrors)  for 2006 and not very well kept. Hot water was hit and miss.
One outside sink as the washing up station.
Much too small for the number of campers (bank holiday weekend. Could be a very nice family (and others) camp site but needs positive investment.
Would think twice about returning.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel27 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 10 night stay.  We had a great holiday, plenty of children around and the atmosphere was great.  The BIG downside was the showers:  I wasn't expecting luxury as I'd read other reviews, I was ok with that, but the reality was there was no hotwater after 7.30am until 10pm!  So unless you were up very early or very late there was no chance of a hot shower, I ended up boiling my own water and washing the children down in a bowl.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Forster 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a week on this site and throughly enjoyed it. Three large fields to choose from with the second 2 having the flatter area's. (middle field has 2x4 EHU. Pleny of water taps around the field) The site is kept clean and tidy and the toilets are closed from 12-2 daily for cleaning although they are tired looking and could do with some investment as stated in some other reviews. Gets has only 3 showers?
We will return again and would recommend this site to anyone in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oohmyback 3 reviews from this member

 Large site that you can just turn up at which is good if you want a quick couple of days away. Pretty basic and only 1 toilet block for the whole site so get in early. The shops pretty good and opens early and for the price you cant complain.
 
If they got a few more toilet blocks this site would be 1st class.
 
Would I stay there again, yes.
 
Swanage is only a few miles away with good shops and places to eat as well.
 
 
 
  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LittleScallywag 3 reviews from this member

 We only spent 1 night here (arriving Sat afternoon) on a very hot and sunny weekend when most campsites were full.  The site was very busy, but there was still plenty of space between tents to sit outside and not feel totally overlooked.
 
The fields are beautifully kept and covered in lots of lovely green grass so you don't even need flip-flops to walk around.
 
I didn't use the showers so I can't really comment on them.  My only criticism is the fact that there was no soap in the loos and hardly any hot water. Also, I was so surprised to see just 1 sink for washing up for the whole campsite.  Unsurprisingly there was quite a wait to use it and when it was finally my turn . Surprise, surprise no hot water!
 
Nevertheless a great location and I would go back there.  7/10 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deli1 1 review from this member

 Had a good weekend there. Loos are adequate but could do with updating. Three large fields to choose from but some parts are too hilly to really use. About a 20 minute walk into Corfe from here. (small section on main road otherwise on footpath) Good view of the steam trains going to Swanage! Would go back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duncansteele7 7 reviews from this member

 Cheap & cheerful site in a good central location for Studland beaches, Corfe Castle, etc.
 
Toilet / shower facilities are a little tired, but clean enough. Only had to wait a couple of minutes in the shower queue- on a fairly busy weekend.
 
We paid just £10 a night for a frame tent, 2 adults, car + a 14' sailing dinghy on a trailer. other Dorset sites will charge you up to £6 a day for your boat, so great value.
 
Would be happy to stay there again.    


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tams 2 reviews from this member

 Last visited this site in 2002 and rather shocked to see that there had been no investment apart from some double-glazed windows in the toilet block. More facilities are needed for 3 large fields - about 8 toilets and 5 showers in the Ladies!
 
The showers were feeble and of dubious temperature and not clean. A broken glass was in there all day when there were lots of little kids around.
 
Despite this the atmosphere was great with a real mixture of age groups. A playground would be a great asset - all that remains of the existing one is a climbing frame and swinging tyre - no wonder they smile when they take your money!
 
Location for walking into Corfe can't be faulted though and pitches / grass good quality.
 
Come on Woodyhyde - spend those profits and we might be back! 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement