Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Lawshall > Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Melford Road
Bury St Edmunds
Lawshall
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP29 4PX
Tel: 01284 830385  or  07711 829546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40 NON REGIMENTED
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyem 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site, and we were very impressed.

The owner, O'dell cannot do enough for you, he gives you a guided tour on arrival, and if you need anything, all you have to do is ask! He wanders around the site during the day and chats to all and sundry!

The site itself is very pretty, and is non regimented, something which I love about sites! We found a lovely corner behind a row of young trees, it was beautifully quiet and had the sun from sun up to sun down! There was probably room for about 40 units in total, and there was hook ups dotted around the site!

The facilities were perfectly adequate, I never had to queue, and they were always clean, the 50p wet rooms were better value than the 1 cubicles, but the cubicles were ideal for families!

The site is about 15 mins from Bury St Edmunds where there is a Waitrose, Tesco and Asda, but there are no shops closer to the site than this! However, there was a fridge / freezer on site, so we just stocked up and moved a day's worth of food to the cool-box at a time!

I would recommend this site, as long as you don't want to be too close to civilisation. We just love sitting outside our tent in the sun, moving only to get another beer, so this was our idea of heaven! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JeanetteB 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at this camp. It is a very pretty, clean and tidy site. The showers we used were 50p, but they did last a long time. Had showers with the kids, as they are huge and saves on the pennies.
Very nice welcome from Odell who showed us round the site. The kids loved it and were constantly disappearing, exploring and making new friends. There was a little tuck shop which sold penny sweets for the kids - highlight of the day for them.
The drive in to the site is a little disappointing - but once you round the corner it is beautiful. Our first visit and would easily recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markos 6 reviews from this member

 Since our last visit here the site owners have expanded their backfield and opened up new pitches. This backfield gives you views of field after field of various crops.

It's a working farm growing various crops, and it's in a very remote area. You won't find many shops near by, but Bury St Edmunds is only 15 minutes away.

The guy who runs it is a friendly chap, and gave us a guided tour of all the new improvements they've made.

You're invited to pitch where ever you want, which left my wife and I sat there for ages saying 'Oh. Well. You choose, no you choose' etc! But I much prefer this to allocated pitches.

There are four cabins housing modern electric showers in a cubicle, plus a toilet and basin. These cabins are ideal for us with an 18 month old daughter. Cabins cost 1 to use on a timed meter. A mop is sited outside for people to clean the floors afterwards.

There are also 50p showers, but I haven't used them so cannot comment.

The washing up area is indoors - a double sink/drainer with plenty of hot water. There's also a larder fridge with a freezer so you can freeze your blocks should you need to.

We didn't visit any of the pubs, but spent our two days relaxing and playing with our daughter. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miclou 6 reviews from this member

 Just had my second visit to this site and will definitely be returning again.

O'Dell the owner is very friendly and helpful, facilities are clean, never had to queue for a shower and never run out of loo roll. Grass is well maintained and never cramped for space with units being well spaced and grass areas left for children to play ball games etc. Some lovely dog walks and views of the local countryside. Dog bins also placed around the site for deposits.

It is in a rural setting and quiet but that is what makes this site so wonderful. On my favourite list. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J+G01 4 reviews from this member

 Was a bit concerned at first as had to drive through a farmyard, there was no reception to go to and didn't know who to see about pitch. Once sorted the pitches were very nice and level, grass was cut short and tidy and nice layout.

Facilities were a little hard to find as no-one told us where they were and there were no signs, but once again all was ok within a few hours. No children's play area.

Owner was very nice and friendly, there was no strict time that we had to leave, overall a very nice site and would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mand1 17 reviews from this member

 We just visited for our first time over Easter Bank Holiday as part of a group (many of whom have been there before) to celebrate a 'big' birthday. The fact it was non-regimented pitches was great and that catered for the tents, the tourers, the electric / non-electric users alike. We have never come across a friendlier or more helpful site-owner. We had a lovely relaxing break and the cleanliness of the toilet and shower blocks could not be faulted. Everything we needed was in easy driving distance and we also had a nice (25 min) walk on sunday to the village pub. We will definitely be going back again. Only thing we would like improved is proximity of drinking water to elsan. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark +3 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite friendly owner with plenty of local knowledge very reasonable prices , plenty of space to pitch your tent on short grass with soft ground (no rocks). Toilets & showers nice and clean (with handy mop &bucket outside to leave it clean for next guest).NO play area but children (4&5) had a great time running and cycling around without getting in anyones way. No local shops but everything you need in Bury st Edmunds 15 minute drive away, upto 2hrs free parking in waitrose. Didn't get to try the local pub 20 mins walk across fields (grass path). But The rose & crown at long melford by A134 very nice good food children welcome garden but no play area. Also The crown at Hartest is very nice good food children welcome large garden with play area. All in all we had great time will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mky337 22 reviews from this member

 Nice location, great views over open countryside from some pitches. The owner was very helpful and showed us around the site when we arrived. There is indeed a nice pub about a 20 min walk through the fields, although we didn't eat there. The site was good value for money but only comment would be that the facilities were a little basic and not many of them considering the number of people that seemed to be on the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VPClarke 7 reviews from this member

 We found this site using this website's campsite search, when looking for a campsite close to the Rougham airshow (a great little airshow near Bury St Edmunds, well worth seeing). And what a gem it turned out to be- a secluded campsite hidden away in the depths of the Suffolk countryside. We had a pitch with lovely views directly over the fields and farmland stretching far and wide. We also found the 'camp where you like' attitude very refreshing- rather than having regimented pitches. The owner was friendly and helpful, and the campsite seemed to have all the usual facilities in working order- including a large kitchen with cooking facilities and fridges. This is also a good location to visit historic Bury St Edmunds (15 minutes away) and the picture postcard village of Lavenham (10 mins away). There is no shop close by, but the village does have a pub (although we didn't try it on this visit). We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummy2 2 reviews from this member

 The site was nice. Very flat land, and the ground was soft. The owner was polite. Where we were pitched, it was quite a trek to the toilets and showers. However the toilets (only 3 ladies) were clean and stocked up.
No designated children's play area's but plenty of open space for them to play without intruding on others space. The only negative comments would be, it was just our luck, we had 'moany' tent neighbours who complained about the children playing too noisily! So this created a bit of a negative atmosphere as after this we felt too scared to speak!
However apart from this, nice site. BUT a word of warning, there is no shops nearby so make sure you are well stocked up for at least your first night until you venture further out into either sudbury or bury st edmunds, where there is a small tesco express. There is electricity hook ups if needed and water taps scattered about.
We stayed on a very rainy weekend so the mud was terrible, but when it dried up and the sun came out it was lovely. Definitely a place to go if you want no noise or entertainment and just to sit out and relax. Small tents were 7 pound a night and large tents were 9 pounds a night. 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Brighthouse Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lawshall      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59805 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement