Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 205 Reviews
                9/10 from 205 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  205 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Cooke1972 1 review from this member

We stayed in a camping pod - two adults and two children is just about do- able. We stayed just the one night to get away and had a great time. Took loads of blankets as well as sleeping bags but the blankets and quilts not really needed as the pods are plenty warm enough even at this time of year

Definitely go to the Boot inn - the food was first class and our kids we given games to play and taken into the kitchen to see what goes on! Excellent service and very very friendly.

All in all had a great time don't think could spend a full week in a pod but great to get away

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Taylpa 4 reviews from this member

Wonderful site. Martyn the manager was extremely helpful, facilities were first class. Eskdale is beautiful and overflowed with good walks. Boot has 2 very nice dog friendly pubs both serving good food & both a short walk away. The narrow guage railway to Ravenglass was worth a look, although Ravenglass has little to offer.

My only warning to Motorhomers is that this is a grass site and so be prepared to ask Martyn to tow you off with his 4x4, its worth checking ground condition with him before you go.

We will most definitely go again, maybe for next New Year.

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judithandpeter 11 reviews from this member

We have just spent 6 fabulous days at this site, the weather was great very cold (minus 9.5 one night) but nothing could spoil this site, the wardens are very friendly and helpful.
Well stocked shop, drying room which luckily we did not use. The facilities are immaculate, showers are spot on hot and very clean, never had to wait and quite a few units on site as we were there for new years eve.
Which brings me to pubs, we had a brilliant new year at the Boot. The food and fireworks were fantastic and I can honestly say this was one of my best new years ever.

Walking from this site is excellent, you can do high or low level walks - all have beautiful views.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SlugForAButt 1 review from this member

Beautiful is the only word to describe this site and all it's views. Great facilities including fantastic (warm) shower blocks that you don't want to leave, a drying room that is great for your boots or towels and a site shop that is fairly well stocked.

There are four pubs within a couple of miles walk, but my favourite surely has to be the Boot Inn. Just around the corner from the site (you'll need a torch at night) it's a friendly country pub with fair beer and a nice atmosphere. The landlord seems a nice guy (when he's not impersonating a werewolf, I hope that was just a halloween thing) and the food seems good although we only had a snack so I'm not really entitled judge.

The options around the site are stunning, you can take the eye opening drive to the top of the pass and walk the Rhinos pass, you can explore the Roman Fort near the top of HardKnott Pass or you can just take one of the many many public footpaths in this area. If you have boots and a will to explore. This is for you!

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Johnnydiamond 1 review from this member

Just back from a weekend staying in a pod. What a fantastic experience. The weather was good yet extremely cold - minus 10 one morning - lots of frost and ice. The surroundings here are superb. On arrival we were given a gas heater and as much gas as we wanted as it was so cold- but we never used it because we has some good warm kit. The facilities are great. Indoor and outdoor washing up facility, drying room, the toilet/shower room was spotlessly clean. The shop is well stocked and clean-in keeping with everything else. The owners are very nice and welcoming. Had a look at the camping fields which are nice and flat(only one brave camper at this time of year)had a look round the camping barn which looks great too. There are two pubs within a short walking distance. Both serve food and the beer is excellent in both.Had a brilliant last night in the boot inn,had a lot of fun with the locals who are a great bunch. One thing is for sure- I'll be back either under canvas or in a pod will depend on the time of year-but hopefully it will be soon

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarelmiller 16 reviews from this member

When we arrived the site had encountered 10 solid days of torrential rain, so they had closed off most parts of the site, but we were shown to a very well drained and level pitch, with spectacular views. This site is extremely well kept and the owners / managers obviously take pride in their work.

The amenities include toilets, showers, parent and child room (which has 2 showers, baby bath tub and toilet), drying room and laundry, all of which are of a very very high standard. There is a well stocked shop on site where you can get local sausages, pies, fruit and veg, and you can order a newspaper at the weekends.

There are 2 pub restaurants within walking distance, both serve fantastic food, and a good selection of beers and malt whiskeys.

The Eskdale railway is also a short walk away, and is a good day out, but very expensive.

This is a fantastic site, the only downside for us was the drive to get there, as our car fully laden would not cope with the Hardknott pass, so was a long way round, but we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nordy600 6 reviews from this member

Brilliant!

After upsetting much of the bottom end of the site on the Friday we were allowed to stay on for the rest of the weekend as long as we kept the noise down.A bit rich seeing as there was a stag party on at the top end of the site!

Having said that, we behaved and enjoyed the rest of the weekend.

Simply the best toilet facilities I have seen on a campsite in a long time.

I would have preferred to slept in there than in my bedraggled old tent.

See you for New Years Eve!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 167 reviews from this member

Stayed here at short notice, having spent 3 days at the other CCC site nearby (Ravenglass - check its reviews as well, for things to do in the area). We wanted to be closer to the Eskdale Show (last Saturday in September), and called in on our bikes to book, having come up on the railway from Ravenglass.

Feels very unlike the usual CCC sites because there are no caravans or big second-home motorhomes due to the narrow local C-roads, and because the manager is laid back. An informal feel, no hardstanding (but plenty of electrics around the perimeter). Again, unusually for a CCC site, we were given the choice of where to go (you're usually told), but were of necessity limited by the ground conditions, soft after recent rain. A minor issue of 'defensible space' with a 'pitch where you want' site, so we used the wind screen to deflect people away from our door and to protect ourselves from the football being kicked about.

Pretty hills overlooking the site. Don't miss the inn that brews its own ale, near the base of Hardknott Pass. Dog walk in the woods by the site, or along the C-road which is quiet at night when the tourists have left. The Eskdale Show was a hour's walk away - we took the Spaniel down the cycle track along the riverside where she could swim - and it was a cracking day out, very different from Highland Shows we know up north because of the foxhound racing, Cumbria and Westmorland wrestling, Herdwick sheep, and a marquee packed with crafts, home baking competitions etc; all well worth staying on for, despite it meaning a very full day's journey home on Sunday!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bryan w 1 review from this member

Just returned after a weeks holiday at this site, in a word FANTASTIC.
Facilities were spotless. As mentioned before fresh meat from site shop is excellent. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Beautiful walks direct from site. Stunning views. 2mins to friendly pub. Will be back next year. Stayed in camping pods last night as we decided to take monty 6 down while it was dry after 3 days of rain. Just as well as heavens opened again on Saturday.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Phiwinuk 3 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the camping pods here. Really good, though only just enough room with 2 adults and 2 children. If the weather had been bad it would have been a tight squeeze. However the pods are great as long as you recognise their limitations.

The site itself is in a superb location, has great facilities and is really well run. Lots to do nearby. Recommended.

Previous     205 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977