Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tecs 3 reviews from this member

Our first camping experience took us here at the end of July we had a great time so visited two weeks later.

The first visit was during good weather, the second during extremely high winds,the nature of the site meant there was no escaping wherever you pitched, this didn't deter us!

The site itself is very well kept with lovely flower beds dotted around. Tent field is high up on the cliff top with stunning views across the bay to Scarborough, the downside being there is no access to the beach. We went as a group of three families and were able to pitch together.

The site offers a really good, safe kids play area, well stocked and reasonably priced shop that sells everything except the kitchen sink! The bar was excellent with friendly staff, we sampled the kids entertainment one night and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. On site chippy is well worth a visit after a swim in the small indoor pool. Particularly liked the fact there were 3 lifeguards on duty at any one time.

If there are any downsides it must be the shower and toilet blocks - these are dated and pretty grubby! It is also a hike down a steep hill from the tent field to all the facilities - great for building up calf muscles. Also, don't expect to get to sleep to early as it is quite noisy when the site is busy.

It's got us hooked on camping!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmbcmi 2 reviews from this member

First time visit to this site and it was everything I had expected from afterthought camp sites. Predominantly a static caravan holiday park the tents are given the sea view at the back of the park, presumably to make up for the fact that a 5 or 6 minute walk to the toilet block awaits the cross-legged. The view is good though but I didn't want to think too much about the bio-hazards just over the fence considering the night time treks that stood between the sleepy and relief. Nuff said.

The site was flat in places but if your tent is anything but small or tubular I wouldn't bank on staying on the air-bed ALL night in all bedrooms. We were lucky and found a good spot for our tent and we did have a great time at the beach and the local resorts.

Talking of resorts; a word to the hungry, Filey appears to close early but we did manage to find a kabab shop open after 9 o'clock, however there was no such problem with Scarborough.

The swimming pool on this site looks very nice but costs a couple of quid extra per head and there is ample fooderies and a shop on site.

All in all a pleasant time was had by all but don't expect too much and maybe take a potty if you have young kids.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diablo400 1 review from this member

My family and friends visited this site, we have been before but that was a few years ago now, Its is a lovely big site. We could pitch where ever we liked which was good as we had 3 tents and were all next to each other. We didn't use any of the extra facilities (swimming pool, fish and chip shop and playground) but only cause we were only there for a weekend, if we had been there longer we probably used them.

The view from the edge of the site was amazing you could see for miles right over the sea!

The laundry was clean and reasonably priced, and the toilet/shower block was clean and always had toilet paper/soap. The showers had adjustable temperature which I thought was great as not every site has that feature.

Our only issue with the whole site was the night time noise, The first night a group next to us was still very loud till 2.20am, and would have been for sometime until my sister in law shouted at them to be quiet, after the 3rd time they did settle until they decided to use an electric pump to fill their airbed this was pushing 3am! The second night it was midnight before the pumping car stereo was turned off. This is not good as we had a 8 yr old, 3 yr old and and 18 month old baby. There doesn't seem to be any wardens or rules such as no noise after 11pm like most sites.

So in all a great site but not if you like to sleep before the early hours of the morning.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolavictoria 5 reviews from this member

Plus points; good on site fish and chip shop

Reasonable priced bar with entertainment,

Heated in door swimming pool.

Well drained tent pitches

Minus points; Drinking water taps in with the rubbish compounds!,

One toilet block for a large site and consequently not well maintained

Despite the signs clearly stating no single sex groups they were still accepted

Bought 2 chairs from the on site shop and were noted to be rusty and the non stick on the pan I purchased melted immediately

The on site facilities attempted to make up for the remote location.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scorbes 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a two night stay. We pitched close to the sea very windy as warned. Nice clean kept site. Very full, no organisation hence people pitching so close you cant even park your car. Toilets dated especially at 20 per tent per night .

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sallyp33 9 reviews from this member

2nd time camping with 2 kids, 2 dogs and 2 adults. We booked and paid online. As we could pitch where we liked we choose up the top by the very good playground. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced, also selling souvenirs for the kids. Fish and chip shop on camp was gorgeous and well priced. We didn't use the club or pool as we hd the dogs with us, but they were there to use. Access to the beach was a complete nightmare. A muddy, nettly narrow climb down a cliff, which we attempted with our family and after being nettled to death and slipped on our bums, we turned back, got in the car and drove to filey. The showers were very good, hot water and plenty of room to get ready, do make up, do hair etc in the same block. I was told that the loo block was locked at 11, but I am not sure about this. All in all a good site, but I wouldn't go again without using the facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katrinaa513 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit. Having 2 small children, the play area was excellent and they loved the swimming pool. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. The toilet/shower block was clean and warm. The laundry/pot wash was adequate. Filey was only a 2 minute drive and Scarborough park & ride was only 5 minutes drive. The only negative points were the tourer pitches were too close, there were far too many dogs on site, some not on a lead and people tended to congregate on a evening with them by the entertainment area. I also feel there should,ve been night security patrol. Overall, it was a good base for the East Coast and would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Firefly0748 5 reviews from this member

I've split this review up into positive and negative points and as you will see the positives far outweigh the negatives.

We spent 3 nights on this site and really enjoyed it so here's why:

+ Gorgeous views over the sea and to Scarborough.

+Plenty of room for pitching tent and field kept clean.

+Well stocked shop

+Friendly reception

+Fish and chip shop handy when you've just pitched your tent and you're starving!

- It is a bit of a walk to the toilet/shower block which is really felt when you're desperate in the middle of the night!

-The toilet/shower block is a bit dated and was a bit messy when we went (although the site was very busy so this could have been the reason)

Overall though a good site which we would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vonbarnett 2 reviews from this member

Stayed over Bank Holiday weekend. Had a problem with the booking made and the staff were unhelpful. We were placed in the overflow field and had plenty of space to camp together as a group. Insufficient facilities though for the amount of people packed in to the campsite. The bar had a total of 4 Ladies toilets, and the shower/toilet block we found had 3 showers and 4 toilets, all of which were dirty. The kids went for a swim and if I had seen the pool before they got in they wouldn't have! Cold washing up water.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oddy58 2 reviews from this member

Second time at this site first time 3 years ago and I was reasonably pleased but was in a caravan this time we where in a cabana canvas tent with hookup which put us by the play area which was very noisy even with our grandkids. On the first night we dumbly set up our tent on a slight down gradiant but by the morning we had a river through our tent the only thing we could do was move the tent about 6 feet which we did plus we where invaded with tiny spiders thousands of them every one who camped here had the same problem. The toilets/showers they where reasonably clean but are a little dated but saying all this I really enjoy this campsite. By the way we have decided we are going back to a caravan. We are both retired but love the out doors

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3056 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019