Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stubcroft Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Wittering > Stubcroft Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stubcroft Farm Campsite
Stubcroft Lane
East Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8PJ
Tel: 01243 671469  or  07503 863990
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 206 Reviews
                8/10 from 206 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  206 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Psgunner 1 review from this member

 Just returned last week.

Quaint and a little rough round the edges. Thats the site not me. We loved this place so much we stayed there an extra two days. New to camping and being a bit frazzled from driving a left hand drive campervan for the first time I needed to relax and this place was great.

Major plus points. The people at the site. Being a smaller site people actually spoke to you and my two children (9 and 7) were inundated with play mates. The atmosphere was really terrific. Local eatery the Thatched Tavern comes highly recommended for a family meal. The area was a super base for the Witterings and places like Fishbourne,Open Weald Country Museum and the Witterings beaches.

Slight minus. The showers arent great and paying £1 for a dribble of lukewarm isnt brilliant. I understand there are plans to improve this as the owner is aware they are a bugbear.

Eco loos are ok. Certainly didnt smell when I was there. Mind you it wasnt really hot when I was there.

All in all fine for a short break. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Niblets 1 review from this member

  This site is well hidden away, our top tip is to follow the map & directions from their website. We used our satnav & went up the wrong lane on our first trip but when we eventually found the farm it was worth it, the site is a real gem, sheltered, secluded and level with plenty of room between pitches not like many south coast sites where you are packed in like sardines. It is on a working sheep farm - we were there during lambing on our first trip and it was great to see all the newborn lambs. More recently my son was fascinated by the combine harvester & tractors moving the straw bales.

We have used this site for all of 2008 and the owners are very helpful, friendly and laid back. The site is a working farm and is quiet and relaxing. The site tends to attract a fairly chilled out crowd on the whole, mainly families & couples, most of the chavs & noisier types tending to prefer the bigger sites in the nearby village which, in our opinion, is a definite plus!

The facilities are not luxurious but are adequate and the environmentally friendly aspect is good to see. The location is ideal for beaches and there are lots of days out locally, the Weald & Downland Museum near Chichester was superb with lots of activities for the children. Our son came back with an iron coat hook he made under the supervision of the blacksmith! East Wittering has a really good selection of local shops including a Co-op supermarket and there is a good pub close by.

Showers are clean & tidy, the only downside is that like all the sites along the South Coast on a busy weekend, there is occasional queuing at peak times on busy bank holidays, although most other times are ok. If you are looking for a simple pretty old fashioned traditional campsite then this is for you, if you want lots of modern facilities then this is not the site for you. We liked it because we were made to feel really welcome and it had an old fashioned “proper“ camping feel to it. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katy Bee 2 reviews from this member

 It is indeed a friendly site, with nice fields in very pleasant countryside. We were there for a weekend in August and frankly there were too many people on the site for the facilities. We resorted to going to the beach loos to clean our teeth in the morning. This site is probably ok out of peak season, or when there are a reasonable number of campers. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harlequin 3 reviews from this member

  We had a great time staying at Stubcroft, the campsite is definitely “back to basics” and environmentally friendly, which to us is a real bonus! It is a real gem of a campsite for those who want a traditional old fashioned site without commercialism and reasonably priced.
There is plenty of room on the field which is level with nice hedges & trees which give shelter from the wind. It probably isn’t the campsite for everybody, you will either love it, or if you are an urban townie & want bars, clubhouses & loads of facilities, it’s probably not for you. However, if you want camping as it should be, then we highly recommend this site.
As with every site along the South Coast during the peak season Friday & Saturday nights were busier with an influx during the hot weather of weekend campers but even when it was busy on a Saturday night the owners still ensure at least 6 metres between pitches & the site goes nicely quiet after dark. Do print off the map & directions from their website as it is well hidden away.

The walks close to the campsite are peaceful and teaming with wildlife. The owners are friendly and even when they are busy on the farm, checked the toilets & showers before starting work in the morning and again in the evening. It is a proper working farm unlike many “farm” sites we have been to and when we were there they were shearing the sheep which was fascinating to watch. There was plenty of space for the children to play games and with no roads nearby you did not have to worry about traffic.

The nearby village of East wittering has a lovely selection of shops & places to eat, but for us fish & chips on the beach was one of the high spots of our stay! There is a good pub 5-10 minutes walk from the campsite…the food is great, booking is recommended at weekends! We hired out bikes from the farm which is a great way to explore the beaches & harbour. All in all a lovely peaceful site and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neelie 5 reviews from this member

 I too want to love this site. I was keen to visit a site that didn't have the yobbo element that is all too common on the South Coast. On arrival I thought that this was going to be the case, but over the course of the weekend I saw several single sex groups and groups of teenagers arriving. To be fair no one near us made too much noise, but I did have to request quiet by 1.00 am on one night of a group nearby. However they responded politely and quietened down.

It is the eco side of it I am not too sure about. This aspect of it is important to me and feel it should be encouraged. But as a previous poster has said, ecology and economy sort of go alongside each other.

It applaudable to make campers more aware of the impact we have on the environment, but the owners should play their part also by limiting the amount of campers using the few facilities or increasing the facilities. You can't have it all ways. You can't preach to those without showing some commitment to the idea yourselves and not trying to grab every penny going.

Providing less facilities does not reduce the impact of campers, it just increases the demand on the facilities that are there. I am suspicious, are they being green because they truly believe in it, or is it because it is cheaper?

Either improve and increase the facilities or cut back on the amount of units Stubcroft - please. You will be the undoing of your own success. Which will be a great shame.

Lovely quiet location and, in the main, a lovely lot of folk going there. It would be a shame to lose this kind of site to the more commercial large sites, which is where it is in danger of going. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angela Gilroy 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Stubcroft Farm. I have read a few reviews and I feel as though I have been to a different place altogether. True the owners are friendly, their aspirations towards greenness are admirable. The place is secluded and the surroundings fairly pretty (excellent hedgerows).
However, they simply cram people in until the facilities are totally inadequate. There were literally hundreds of people to share the 6 ecoloos and the three showers. The loos coped for a day and a half, thereafter they utterly stank. As sawdust ran out and was not replaced.
Of the three showers, one is included in the £6 per person cost, so not a chance of getting to use it. The others at £1 a pop with a 2 minute wait for water to heat adequately for a 20 minute shower. After queueing and paying, of course people are going to get their full 20 mins worth. The maths don't add up.

I am a regular at Glastonbury and other festivals and I've raised two children, so not faint hearted but on the morning of our departure my partner and I crossed our legs, packed up and legged without even trying to use the site loos. The unholy stench and expressions on the faces of others were enough.

For ecology, read economy. Put your hand in your pocket site owner and increase your facilities! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bri and Fiona 1 review from this member

 Very nice peaceful site, found that the owner Simon was very very friendly. He gives a map and full local area brief for anyone not knowing the area. The ground was nicely firm, clean and plenty of grass for comfort under the tent. The area (field) is split into 4 making it quite organised. The 'Eco-Loos' are a very good idea and don't smell as they are cleaned and topped up with saw dust quite regularly and have Solar lighting which make them safe at night. There are many water points and sinks spread out with in the site. Simon is understanding with any complaints brought to him and WILL act on them, as we feel that it is a working sheep farm and all safety will be adhered to. We found that this was a very good introductary campsite for the beginer and very good for local attractions in the south coast. Nicely priced also and will try to give extra nights if space. We found that due to being an Eco Site that the people camping were very respectful and friendly (not that we know any different yet regards other sites) but most of all we felt VERY welcome and also felt our equipment was safe for our first outing. Adhere to thier instructions regards travelling to the site as coming in the wrong way may have serious diffculty for you car but we found our TOM TOM done a good job and guided us in the correct way. Be careful driving the lane to the site as it is very narrow and a little bumpy but still quaint. There are horses and sheep in the neighbouring fields but cant be heard at night, very good for the kids to visit with no restrictions (our lad who is 11 had fun feeding the sheep grass) there are various shops local to the site but out of view from the site but only a 10 or 15 minute walk away. There is a pebble/sandy beach very close to but far enough away not to be affected by the wind. All in all a very very nice site, Friendly, Welcoming, Helpful and Clean which is well managed. We will be visiting again and will recommend it to anyone for a south coast visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Estelle 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely back to nature site, very quiet & secluded set well back off the main road and away from traffic so it is ideal for our young children. The Eco aspect seems to attract a very friendly and chilled out clientele. If you don't like the Ecoloos they also have flush loos.
There are some great beaches nearby within walking distance & good shops at East Wittering for supplies. We highly recommend the Thatched Tavern Pub only 10 mins walk from the site which does good food & is children friendly. The owners are very friendly & check the site regularly.
We stayed for the first week of the school holidays & even though the weekend was busy the site was very peaceful & quiet after dark. The site also hires out bikes which are a great way to explore the harbour, there is a delightful ride over the Itchenor foot ferry (which takes bikes) to Bosham which is a very picturesque village & highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alwilliams26 2 reviews from this member

 There's much to admire about this site, yet in contrast with many of the positive comments posted, there seems to have emerged one large drawback.

Friendly owners, pleasant fields, the option to pitch where you please and you can have fires, if suitably contained. The eco commitment is admirable - the eco loos are good, and there is a new development in a converted outbuilding that should provide further showers and a laundry subject to planning permission.

And while the field are situated in tranquil countryside in the fields between East and West Wittering far away from traffic, the previous comments about this being a quiet site seem to be from a bygone age.

While we were there (from a Sunday to Wednesday) the loud music was pumping across the three fields from three individual groups of teenagers. Day and night. In fact there was a dance off going off between field one and field three on one occasion with sound systems on full blast and people dancing on the roof of their cars - couldn't believe it (and this was a Tuesday!). On the final night, the music was still going at 1.30 at which point new cars arrived driving on site and the party continued until dawn.

The owner lives on site and couldn't fail to have seen what was going on, but did nothing throughout this time. Which of course is the big drawback. If the owner doesn't care then how on earth can this site continue to attract families and people who don't want pumping house music at all hours.

I really wanted to love this site, and as I said, it has much going for it. But it seems that it is becoming the party venue for the Witterings - which is a huge shame - but maybe there's a market for this? 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lumpo31 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed the Bank Holiday on our second camping trip as a family, also second time with 3 month old child (plus other 3 aged 9, 6 and 3), but no problems with the site, nor anything else (apart from the rain!). Kids loved blackberrying, made friends with other kids in tents opposite us, had a great time playing cricket. Very relaxed site, the eco-toilets seem to keep the 'yobbo' element at bay, which was very nice. Can't fault the place, great touring base for local attractions, including West Wittering Beach and Arundel Castle. Warden very friendly, great site all over, although the shower could possibly be a bit cleaner at times. 


Previous     206 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stubcroft Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stubcroft Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement