Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1RR
Tel: 01341 280999
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70 Tourer - 30 Tent - 3 Family Pods
Open: 01/03/2024 to 06/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 189 Reviews
                9/10 from 189 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  189 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelt84 1 review from this member

 Found this site and it sounded pretty good and comfortable for our first holiday (even though we only went for 2 nights!) saw the pics on their website and were very excited about going. We arrived, was shown our pitch, which lucky for us was at the front with an unspoilt panoramic view of the coast, unfortunately it was quite windy which hindered in the putting up of the tent, we managed in the end though.
Toilet blocks fantastic, showers too. First night, well, once we got used to the road noise and wind we slept ok, but night number 2 there was a battering wind and rain off the sea, which woke us up at 2am!
I'd recommend it but only if you know the weather is going to be perfect! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Contivanman 2 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this campsite, each year we go to the site there have been further maintenance and improvement works from the previous year.

The site appeals to us, we have two young children and a six month old baby who was in fact nine days old when we last visited in August a sign of how clean and well equipped we view the site.

We wouldn't have risked taking a newborn baby to a site with poor or dirty facilities. The shower blocks are modern and usually very clean. It is a nice quiet clean site, there is a small play park area for the children, but there is ample room around the caravan pitches for children to play safely.

There is a small shop that sells the very basics, but barmouth or harlech are only down the road where you will find supermarkets. This isn't a site where you will find tacky amusements, a godsend to those who are trying to avoid chavs! Looking forward to visiting at Easter. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackfam 1 review from this member

 Site facilities were excellent -ample toilets and showers (plenty of space in shower cubicles) and never needed to queue for those or the washing up facilities.
The weather wasn't kind to us and the wind really whips off the sea straight onto the site but that also means nice views and lovely sunsets.
Easy Access (15min walk) to nice un-crowded beaches although weather did not allow us much time on them. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MLEcampers 3 reviews from this member

 Site was great. Good location and views. Facilities were excellent with plentiful,clean toilets and showers in a new shower block. Staff were friendly and always seemed to be cleaning which is a good sign.

Very windy when we arrived but managed to get tent up ok. Then rain set in from 3pm.

Winds were gale force during the first night but following two days were OK. Because of location of site not far from the sea it has a tendency to be windy most times.

Don't think the site could be improved.

The touring caravan pitches looked very good as well.

Didn't use the nearby pub as it looked a bit basic.

We would definitely stay at this site there if we went back to the barmouth area.

Barmouth town is ok but a bit dated. The mermaid fish shop in barmouth served the best chips I've ever had so worth a visit on a rainy friday night.

Went to shell island which was ok but wouldn't fancy camping there as facilities a bit rough and a lot of young groups.

Went to forest visitor centre a short ride out of barmouth which was really nice and good for mountain biking.

Overall surrounding countryside is lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOSTEVENS32 2 reviews from this member

 What can I say lovely camp site will go back again clean showers and very friendly staff. Close to the beach and town visit the waterfall down the road turn right out of camp and follow road till you see waterfall brown signs. Little shop on site good for your basics and reasonable to. The only downfall you have to be off by 10 so its up get ready awning down and go. It was full service pich that was nice and 1 hour from Snowdon 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Microbus1974 24 reviews from this member

 Having paid a deposit over the phone for what I had arranged to have non electric tent pitch, we were subsequently tried to be put on an electric pitch an be charged for electric we couldn't use, wasn't happy an were relocated up the road to the sister site where non electric pitches were available.

Facilities looked good though, they charge for freezing ice blocks, and it is extremely open to wind, recommend using hendre mynach 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Laranake 2 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this camp site previously but found this visit great - the toilet blocks now spot on FREE showers/hot water plenty of WHB's and WC's for us men as well as the girls, new site manager very friendly. Most pitches flat. Rear tent ground slight hill (but easy to pitch)

Looking to level for next year? this would be then spot on. Camp shop small but had what you need, Gas for sale.

Location just off the main road easy to find NO single roads, NO need to reverse - what a joy! and view of the sea/sun sets 'camara out every night'

A little open to the wind but not a problem on my visit. Security on site CCTV, Manager stays on site.

Summery - never felt the need to leave any reviews on camp sites (12ys with caravan - 1st season with trailer tent)and usualy never return to same area - but enjoy Barmouth so will always book (in advance) this site. Barmouth itself great plenty to do with the kids, even fair cheep! Golden sands no need to be rushed and plenty of parking in and around town 3 allday but location of campsite - us bike or enjoy the walk (30mins to town centre get a taxi back up the hill) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Radgie 1 review from this member

 Fabulous facilities, friendly staff and generously sized pitches which are all clearly marked out so you know exactly where your boundaries are which I liked.

There are a couple of drawbacks though. Firstly, the wonderful sea view is almost completely obscured when the camping field is about half full unless you have a pitch at the front - which don't have EHU, they're all at the back.

Secondly, the site is quite high in the hills and can be exceptionally windy. Pay attention to the weather information displayed in the reception/shop window and pitch your tent accordingly, especially if you have an extension/awning/porch.

Barmouth itself is a lovely little town with some fabulous beach areas comprising great sand and brilliant rock pools. There are a number of decent if old fashioned pubs serving a wide range of ales and lagers at respectable prices. The crabbing is OK and the local butcher has a great selection of burgers, sausages and kebabs ideal for the BBQ - the lamb & mint burgers and beef kebabs are highly recommended!

All in all, this is a great site and we'll definitely return. With good weather, this side easily scores 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisg99 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this very friendly, clean site.

All the touring pitches have there own fresh water supplies and waste water drains which made life very easy for us, the dog walking field is excellent with poop bins at each end, although not everyone cleaned up after their dogs, this was a real shame as the site owners had made such an effort. We did notice however that the poop didn't stay down long.

The staff were all very helpful.

We stayed on one of the pitches mentioned in an earlier post (large grey stones) these were hard on the feet in the awning but didn't pose any problems.

This is a great site with a pub and fish & chip shop in easy walking distance with free parking at its sister site over the road that has direct access to a fantastic beach.

We had such a relaxed time we've already rebooked for August.

Although at the high end cost wise, you pay for what you get, this was good value. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingsmiths 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site!

A great location just outside Barmouth with beautiful views over the beach and sea (amazing sunsets to watch at night!)

We had seen good reports on this site and were not disappointed at all. The facilities are superb. Great new shower and toilet block which were kept very clean. Lovely undercover washing up area which was lit at night. Small but adequate on site shop. Great laundry room with washers and dryers.

The site staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a bit of a disaster when our camping fridge broke on the first day, a essential item for special dietary food for a member of our family! The staff went out of their way to help us, even offering to keep everything in their own fridge/freezer, but we were able to manage with the cool block exchange.

Just one downside of this camp is that due to its location it is very exposed to high winds. A couple of nights we wondered if the tent would survive, we even tied it to the car!

One evening there were some unexpected visitors on site (a couple had booked in and then tried to sneak some extras into their tent) who had had a bit too much to drink! They were quickly identified by the staff and evicted off the site. The site manager visited all the tents in the area the next morning to apologise for any inconvenience caused. Great customer service.

A great site - we would definitely visit again - just take plenty of extra tent pegs! 


Previous     189 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trawsdir Touring Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


27639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement