Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Littlelizzy 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our first visit to this site. We only stayed one night, however we were very impressed. The pitches are as mentioned HUGE, the staff are really helpful and friendly and the setting is lovley.

Its very quiet and nothing to do really on site,which was great for us,but maybe not for everyone. Toilets etc, great. There are regular buses into York which only take a few minutes to get to the city centre for 2 for a single trip and the last bus from York is around midnight! A taxi costs only 6!

Will def return!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewaddles 3 reviews from this member

Very well kept site with huge, well marked level pitches. Easy to find and very easy to get into York with a bus stop right outside the site entrance. Very friendly and helpful staff and the late arrival system of accessing your key worked very well.

Toilets and showers appeared new and were kept very clean. We are a family of 4 with 2 girls and would return without hesitation.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

This is a second review after staying at YCP a year ago. This time we went with three other (mature) couples.

We got booked by the skin of our teeth: the owners gave over part of a recreation area in the middle of their small site to site six extra tents of which four were our party.

While they were concerned to see that we didn't feel crowded, such is their definition of 'spacious' that even with the addition of these temporary pitches the place was still one of the least crowded I can recall.

Since last year shrubs have grown, assisting demarking the very large pitches, and the site remains extremely well maintained. A welcome addition in the spotless toilet block is a handwash dispenser at the sink.

There are two main attractions to the site.

First is the accessibility of public transport to York and other Yorkshire beauty spots due to the Coastliner service which stops literally at the gate to the site (and which operates until pretty well midnight).

Second is the tranquil nature of the site, probably due to its small size, spacing of camping units and its appeal to mature campers wanting a quieter experience. I would happily take my three year old grandson but would think carefully about older kids or teens, who frankly wouldn't have much to do.

As mentioned before, the washing-up room is accessed exclusively from the women's toilets, excluding blokes from this joyous chore. Opinion on this design quirk splits pretty well down gender lines - I certainly have no problem with it ;-) .

We arrived to good weather but literally an hour after horrendous rainstorms. The Site is extremely well-drained and our pitched were as though nary a drop had fallen.

YCP is a gem of a pitch for those looking for a tourist base with a touch of tranquillity, and as such remains one of my favourite sites.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moylcgb 3 reviews from this member

I would agree with most of the comments that have been written regarding this site and it was these comments that made us decide to go on May bank holiday weekend. The toilets are well looked after and very clean, the site itself is compact and tidy.

If you intend connecting directly to the water bollard you will need a long hose depending on the pitch you get, the same goes for the waste water.

It is handy for York using the bus but at 9 return for a family of four it was cheaper to drive into York as we found an all day parking for 3.50.

The only downside for us is that the site was child unfriendly, my two are aged 10 and 5 and are active normal children for their age, they always look forward to arriving at a new site and meeting new friends. When we got there on the Friday evening they where straight out and hooked up with another 4 kids all about 10 years of age. The site has left a space about 10m X 25m for kids to play in but it is surrounded by caravans and the kids where banned from playing football or other ball games or frisbee's etc, when I asked the owner Andrew what the kids could do in that area he said 'run around '. Then on Saturday morning the farmer father had a go at the kids for hanging around the toilet block and then a while later because they went on a neighbouring field ( which he owned ). I must point out the the five or six kids who where playing together, where nice kids and were not running amok, they just wanted somewhere to play normal kids games.

If you don't have kids I guess these issues won't concern you and it will be a very good site to use while visiting York

Owner's response:

Like all sites, we have rules in place for the benefit of everyone. Amongst other things, they ensure children are safe and caravans do not get damaged. Children are very welcome at our site, but ball games, damaging trees, and throwing things in the lake are not permitted. Of course, if an area is marked 'Private, No Entry' this
must be respected. There are also plenty of facilities for children locally -such as a water park, go-karting track and parks.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woody9 10 reviews from this member

Pros:

Easy to find and a great location - pub nearby, Monks Cross shopping centre within 1.5 miles, York city centre about 3 miles (easy parking at Monks Bar NCP and cost 70p per hour).

Pitches are double most other sites but you may need long (25m) power cable and TV cable.

Site is spotless and toilet block is very clean (cleaned around 10am each day).

Cons:

TV reception is extremely poor (both onsite feed and own TV arial) but do get a booster which works wonders.

No washroom (washer and dryer).

No on-site shop.

Overall would stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bcartwri 1 review from this member

This was our first caravanning experience. We found this site to be excellent. The pitches are huge. The toilet / shower block is immaculate although we hardly used it due to the facilities on the pitch enabling us to use our own bathroom etc. Andrew, the owner, is extremely helpful.
The bus stop right outside couldn't be more convenient, we just used it to go into York, but you can go onto Leeds or in the other direction Whitby / Scarborough / Bridlington. There is a very good Toby Carvery about 2 mins away in the car and a huge shopping centre about 4 mins away.

Ideal. We are going back in a months time.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue freeth 1 review from this member

Have just come back from a very nice weekend at this site, must really agree with the other review from March 09 regarding waste water etc. However overall a very nice site which I'm sure will improve with time as the shrubs etc., take shape.
Pitches are very spacious which we like so I'm sure even if the site was full you would never feel overcrowded. We took the bus into York (a novelty for us!) as the bus stop was right outside the site which was very convenient and the drivers very helpful.
We did pop over to the toilets once or twice and they were always very clean. The owner of the site was very helpful and we would certainly recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit York.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbird 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at YCP.

Very good site as new sites go. Site owner was there to greet us and show us to our allotted pitch. Although it states all pitches have water, waste drainage, electric and T.V. Point, it has to be said that if you are only taking your fresh and waste water hook up pipes, make sure they are long enough. I could not hook up my unit to the fresh water or waste as the bollard was a good 20 metres away. Not every pitch has it's own individual bollard.

The site overall was of good quality and pitches very spacious, with most located around the perimeter of the pitching field.

As mentioned this is a new site, so it will take a little time for the dividing plants and bushes to form definite barriers.

YCP is very well located for York City Centre, as it says on the Home Page, only just on the outskirts, but surrounded by countryside.

Very easy access off the A64.

Lots of major retail shops and supermarkets within 5 minutes drive.

An ideal location to visit the coast for the day as well.

All in all a site worth a second visit.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morphbridge 8 reviews from this member

The site has large individual pitches with all services, spotless facilities and helpful staff.

This site is ideal for visiting York, the 'Moors' or coast. There is a bus stop at the site entrance that will take you to York or a 'Coastliner' service which goes to Scarborough, etc. York park & ride is a short car ride away. If you wish to stay on site the area is very peaceful, with fishing available.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eurotrotter 1 review from this member

Just returned from this caravan site after 5 months on a huge pitch which had TV hook up, waste and water and 16 amp power pick up tower.

The site feels very spacious and is quiet even when almost full. There is ample space for children to play safely without annoying others. It feels secure due to the electronic barrier in place and that there are so few pitches available.

The toilet block is new and is clean and well maintained. The shower cubicles aren't spacious but are adequate. During this season it rained a lot which closed many of the nearby caravan sites, but due to a good ground drainage system I never had to leave the site.
Transport link outside the site to all major places (Coastliner service) Walk into York 35 minutes, bus is 10 minutes, cycling routes within 1/2 miles and are part on the national cycling system.
This site is a great site for Motothomes you can pitch up and then relax, you have no need to use your home because the site is well placed near York. Only down side is that Motorhomes have not got a water and waste place yet but is in the planning I was told by Andrew the site owner.
I highly recommend this site, compares well with some of the best sites in Europe that are privately owned.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019