Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 4th November 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 91 to 96                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Russco81 7 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site if you want to go away and switch off ( as we needed to do! ) Stayed here for a weekend in May, on arrival wardens very friendly and helpful. Given a map on the site and directed to our pitch.

When we went around 10 caravans on site but it was extremely peaceful, could hardly hear the road that is mentioned in previous reviews. Toilets were spotlessly clean and full recycling to.

Asbourne is a lovely town to visit 5 miles away.

We would definitely use this site again as we and our 3 year old loved it

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PMBJW 7 reviews from this member

We visited over Easter Bank Holiday and it rained and rained was wet a boggy but the owners were tireless in the endeavours to make life as easy as possible for all the guests.

Set in a quiet location with a bike track for the kids and secured dog run the site is well maintained and clean.

The toilets washing facilities showers etc were of very high standard and despite the campsite been nearly full there was never much of a queue and they were always clean and warm.

Despite the weather very much enjoyed as a quiet retreat

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

Just back from an Easter weekend stay at this pleasant and easy to find site. We received a very friendly, speedy and helpful welcome. Set among trees (as the name suggests) the pitches are spacious, level and close to hook-up points.

No feeling of being crowded although it was quite a busy weekend. The showers are clean (push type) and with plentiful hot water. The dog walking area is small but functional, and being a fenced in section of the site, dogs are allowed off-lead here.

There is a handy M&S food a couple of miles down the road towards Ashbourne, which is itself well-served with supermarkets (Co-op, Waitrose and Sainsburys that we saw) plus some proper butchers and some very nice independent shops(loved Sticky Fingers). Good base for the Peaks.

A few hours at Carsington Water, a fantastic resource, popular with dog-owners, where you can hire a bike is recommended. If you aren't so fit, go for the electric bike. It's fantastic. A 2 hour rental of one plus a conventional bike cost 24 which we thought was reasonable. Can get round the whole lake in this time.

A visit to the Heights of Abraham is also worthwhile - if only for the cable car. Dogs allowed in too!

Back to the site - the road noise was not a problem and is quiet at night. A very nice site to which we would return with no hesitation.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindadf 7 reviews from this member

When visiting a site for the first time one really does not know what to expect. Previous reviews I would say had been mixed, but as we specifically wanted this area of Derbyshire we decided to 'go for it'.

We found the site easy enough, Carol the warden was in reception, welcome very warm and friendly, checking in procedure very straight forward. Map with pitch marked and also water points etc. A good touch. After a little disagreement with the gatepost we found our lovely pitch to be ample in size for van, awning and car.

There is an amazing feeling of calm on the site, lovely and quiet - excluding the acorns bombing the van on a frequent basis. So while the rest of the country were holed up riding out the last of Hurricane Katya, we were enjoying the delights of the Peak district.

Showers and toilets were immaculate, push button showers were hot and not too annoying. Loved the fact that walks on site were 'dog friendly' and the dog run.

Added to this compared with most sites much less expensive

Definitely one for us to go to again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Insurancegeezer 4 reviews from this member

Well we booked this site due to proximity to Alton Towers as it is 15 min drive, we could drop off teenage daughter and friend and come back and relax.

We booked in and told to drive around and pick an empty pitch, we picked number 1, went back to office and told we could have that pitch, so levelled van and got awning up. Then over walks warden to say sire already booked and we had to move, after a long drive we had set up and already thinking of the wine cooling!

So our first 20 mins were not great, my wife was very angry, however, after that have to say the site is quiet, very very clean, staff very helpful, showers great (wish they lasted more than half a minute).

The site is close to alton towers, about 15 mins if you use country lanes, however a tip for you. The cheapest tickets for alton towers are from ashbourne tourist information, pay for the at TIC office, 2 for 1 and single tickets costs 30, also you can get second day at alton towers for only 10. So 50 to keep 2 teenagers happy for 2 days and give you some peace and quiet. What more could you ask!

All pitches are stony hard standing, which makes it a bit hard under foot and for sleeping in awning. Nightmare to get tent pegs in. But we really liked the site and would recommend it!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: White Rose 19 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a rainy weekend in July - and I suspect we would have got more out of its woodland setting had the weather been better. As it was, we didn't really spend any time walking round the local area but went everywhere by car.

The site is small, quiet and compact with clearly defined pitches. The staff were helpful and friendly and the 6pm departure time was an unexpected luxury .

The facilities were clean, despite the wet weather, and we didn't have to queue. There was no extra charge for EHU or showering - though the showers drove me potty as each button press resulted in not much more than 10-15 seconds of water at a time (it took a fair while to get both me and my four year old clean at the same time!).

However, the water was hot and the instructions about mopping out the showers seemed to be well observed.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 96      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0918