Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Castlerigg
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4TE
Tel: 017687 74499
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 179 Reviews
                9/10 from 179 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  179 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Saraht2 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite with some of the best views in the lakes. Although it was busy when we went it was still quiet at night meaning a good nights sleep was had for all the activities keswick had to offer the next day (would definitely recommend renting a canoe from portinscale marina great fun). The facilities were good, clean toilets and showers although could do to be more showers. Thought it was especially good that one grass area was left for recreational use, it shows the owners are bothered about you enjoying yourself and not just making money. Overall I would rate this site first class the best I've been to. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Karen J 26 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site! There is another site opposite that we had looked at going to and unintentionally ended up here instead (the names of the sites are very similar but you come to Castlerigg Hall first)

We stayed on the overflow field and the views were amazing - a bit of a slope on the field but everything else on this site more than makes up for this!! If you have a small tent then the longe area and campers kitchen would be fantastic in wet weather. There is a laundry which is always handy when you are staying longer. The Crag Bar is not on the site itself but at the top of the drive in a hotel- it is very cosy and serves good pub grub. Dogs are allowed in the bar area (not in the dining area but you can eat in both areas). You are not packed in on this site at all and as a previoud reviewer said, the "full" sign went up when they appeared to have loads of room. Hairdryers in the ladies operated by a token, great site shop, weather posted daily at reception, 20 minutes into Keswick just add to this site as little luxuries but that don't in any way detract from the camping experience.

There are lots of families on this site but just as many couples too so don't worry if you hate those "family" sites (with bar, games room etc.)- this site is one not to be missed and the owners have obviously put a lot of thought into the facilities- credit to them 


Reviewer: Hairy Rod 20 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Must be one of the best sites in the lakes, very clean, lovely views over derwent water, and easy walks up to bleaberry feel and watendenlath, the bar can be very busy but its a short walk down through the woods to the town, and all the shops bars and pubs, it can get crowded but its worth a stay. 


Reviewer: Piggy49 14 reviews from this member

 July 2005
This is a lovely, peaceful site with some stunning views of the Lakes and hills around. We found the tent area nice, although most pitches are on a slope with some worse than others. Saying this though, the ground had excellent drainage and even though we had lots of rain it wasn't muddy.

The toilet/shower facilities were kept spotlessly clean, although there were only 2 showers in both the ladies and gents so i could see this being a problem in busy times. Also there were only 2 washing up sinks in both toilet / shower areas and i had to queue to use the sinks on several occassions. There is a lack of water points around too but this can be solved by using a water carrier, which we didn't have.

The site was very busy on the friday and they put up the 'site full' sign but you weren't on top of each other, to be honest i thought they could have fitted a few more in! The pitches were very spacious and you could pitch anywhere as they weren't numbered. Cars are also allowed next to tents.

There is an on-site shop which sells just about everything you need. There is also a great information area which has leaflets etc about what to do in the area. Overall a lovely site and i can recommend it if you want peace and quiet in fantastic surroundings. 


Reviewer: Rochnia 14 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Wonderful view as you drive onto site. Excellent reception and shop. Main showers and toilets excellent albeit a little faraway for some caravanners and campers. Second toilet facility could easily incorporate a shower and pot washing facility to help campers lower down the site.
Pitches are on hardcore which does detract a little from the fact that you are out in the country. Hard standing would have been nice for the van with some grass to step out onto. Good pub grub at the entrance to the site.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Gailk 18 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Have just got back and can only echo what all of the other reviews on here say - we had a fantastic time !
The toilets and showers were fine, the campers kitchen brill and breakfast in the hungry hiker was superb, (full english 4.50)
We walked down to Keswick which is all downhill and caught a bus back (number 555 1.30 each) a couple of times. Nice not trying to get the car parked.
Going back in August - only one downside is you can't book tent pitches. 


Reviewer: Juravan 9 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Lovely site. Showers and toilets excellent. Beautiful views. Thank you to the previous reviwer who recommended walking in to Keswick and taking the bus back (555) - we really enjoyed doing this! The walk was suitable for all our children (9, 4 and 2) and they loved returning on a double decker!
Fantastic location, excellent facilities, great shop - visit if you have the chance! 


Reviewer: Smiffy53 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Spent a week here in Sept, camping, the facilities were excellent. Superb shop and breakfast bar and the showers / toilets around the reception area the best we've seen for ages. The camping field was sloping in places but you could pitch anywhere, toilet block here was'nt too bad either. But the outstanding feature were the views! Set up on a hillside the site offers stunning views of Derwent Water and the Derwent Fells.

We are certainly considering dragging our caravan all the way from Somerset next year for a second visit. 


Reviewer: Newbond 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Been to this site several times, and it is still one of our favourites. Sensational views of the North Western fells, immaculate toilet blocks (especially the top one) and a quiet, friendly atmosphere. No children's play area, but plenty of room on the sports field for footy, cricket etc. The campers' kitchen is a brilliant idea as it gives you somewhere to cook on those typical Lake District days when the rain never seems to end. Shop on site sells most essentials if you can't get to Booths or the Coop in town. Hearty cooked breakfasts seemed popular and reasonably priced from the cafe. Nice site. 9/10


 


Reviewer: Antoine 6 reviews from this member

 June 2004
A perfect location for a spell in the Lake District, with uncompromising views and only a short walk down into Keswick town (where you can visit the Pencil Museum!?).
Facilities for campers are excellent although I recommend the toilets/showers near the campers kitchen rather than the block in the tent field which were cleaned at 9am, before most mucky campers took their daily ablutions!  


Previous     179 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castlerigg Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5745 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement