Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 213 Reviews
                8/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Durks30 2 reviews from this member

 We felt this site was over-rated after our recent weekend stay. Lovely location but very remote. Site needs more toilets /showers. Only 4 ladies showers - its not enough for the numbers of people (200 tents!). Really needs a little well stocked shop on site too. Kids pond with rafts turned out to be a dirty, muddy, brown pond and playground is suited for older kids aged 7 plus not our 3 year old who couldn't use it.  Biggest issue we had was the way the owners spoke to people -rather off hand and more like being back at school -very strict no noise after 10. 30 policy - which is a good thing but when grown adults were being  told off for laughing when on their hols - was a bit poor. Definitely too jobsworth for us. Several people we spoke too felt the same way. We love Great Langdale site - much better facilities. Won't be returning to Fisherground. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladybirds 2 reviews from this member

 Set off a little late from Manchester so we had to pitch our Vango Aspen in the Dark! However we were met on arrival by the Owner who showed us were to pitch.  In the morning we had the opportunity to appriciate the beauty of the setting at the foot on the fells.
The site is superb for children with lots for them to do, including pond rafts which they loved.  The Ratty railway is a great feature too on the site.
 
There were only a couple of down points you are charged per person not per unit so it was a little expensive for a family of 5. Also you have to pay on top for your cars.
 
The facilities were on the whole pretty clean and tidy with the extras of the washing machines etc however you pay 50p for a 5 min (ish) shower you need to spend at least £1 for a decent chance.
 
We would definitely go again and you could easily stay for a week here! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pedwar1 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with the views and a steam railway station.  
 
Good play area for the children.  
 
Nice idea to have the fire pits dotted around so you can have campfires.
 
Well drained soil - we had downpours of almost biblical proportions and it all drained off pretty quickly
 
Few minor complaints though.
 
1.  They don't take credit/debit cards - cash only - bit of a bind if you haven't brought cash with you - the reason for this was given as "we don't have electricity" yet they provide electric hookups.
 
2.  Toilets are decent enough and cleaned daily but as was proved on the bank holiday weekend we were there, they are woefully inadequate when the site is full.   There were queues first thing in the morning for the Gents cubicles trailing out of the toilet block and long queues for both ladies and gents showers.
 
3. Inadequate night time lighting on the main field - if you wanted to nip to the toilet in the middle of the night, a torch is essential.
 
4. Most campsites I have been to have a noise curfew of 11pm which is fair enough.   Fisherground has a curfew of 10.30 and it is enforced to the minute !  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffmeister 3 reviews from this member

 I've been visiting this site for years and its excellent - mostly!
The couple who have it now certainly work very hard to maintain the facilities and make sure that the majority keep the peace after 10.30pm. However I cant believe that they do not implement on an online booking system where you pay up front to guarantee a pitch - try driving 3 hours to find you cant get on!
Also stay well clear of the bottom end as neither the current owners nor the previous ones for that matter can be bothered to dig simple drainage channels to stop the frequent flooding that ruins tents and holidays. They know it floods - it has for years (Eskdale is one of the wettest places in the UK) and yet they do not warn the unwary  - they just take their money and say nothing, very, very unfair.
The owners should sort this out or reduce the size of the field but pound notes may just prevent that from happening. Beware! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kato 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to Fisherground,and we intend to return their in the future. Alison and Mick are very friendly and hospitable,and nothing is too much trouble for them. The facillities on site are excellent and just as described. We have a disabled son and we were were very well accommodated by Alison. The site is secure and there were no worries about letting the younger of our children play. The adventure playground is a childs paradise,and with lots to do in the immediate area. We took our children to the waterfall which they enjoyed very much, but it is quite a climb to get to it. The local store is not too far away and the people are very friendly,there is a pub just up the road,but we didn't venture into it,but other campers said it was very nice and friendly. We did take the children on the railway that runs behind fisherground from Boot to Ravensglass. There is lots of information at the shower/w.c block. The showers are good and hot but it does get rather busy around 9ish though.The washing up area is very good with ample hot water and plenty of drinking water taps around the site.We had a camp fire and the logs can be bought on site,which my children loved. There is electric hookups avaliable 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ragamuffin 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from four nights, 2 adults two kids ages 2 and 4, the site is in a wonderful location,well maintained pitches. It had loads of plus points for us and few minuses. The railway is a winner 19 quid for us two the kids went free, close by muncaster castle same price again. Showers worked well for 50 p do take plenty coins with you as they are hard to come by. Playground not suitable in my opinion for the under sixes. As for the minuses ice pack freezing not available (3 days to freeze two packs) I spoke to Allison and she informed me of vandalism, and no intent to remedy the situation this season

A massive plus point, the fire pits, great idea, but do keep to the rims. As mike told us "if youre cold put another jumper on." Logs available for three pounds on site

Thanks to mike and Allison for their friendly and non stop running of the site 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C-mac 13 reviews from this member

 This must be our best ever trip here - beautiful setting 5 happy kids from 3-14 and the most fantastic weather.we spent most of the week swimming in the numerous pools in the local river - especially up the river beyond St Catherines church/ stepping stones. The older kids played endless football in the field that's left free for games, the younger ones made friends everywhere and played on the adventure playground and pond till late. The atmosphere was relaxed and smokey.Eskdale stores had everything including campinggaz bottles and a cash machine - you have to pay cash and we didn't have enough! There was also a fantastic organic everything and more farm shop a mile or so away that even did gluten free sausages.need plenty of 50ps for showers. I thought the timed shower policy was good as it meant a reasonable turnover and less queues - still managed to shower and wash hair for myself and 7 year old on 1 50p! Weekends were busy and slightly more crowded - it is worth heading up on a Sunday afternoon to get a good choice of pitches for the week. Train trip was excellent for the kids and river pools are walking distance from top station Dalegarth - big new cafe there.Train conductor said the main field can be prone to flooding when there's a lot of rain. We stayed in upper field nearer the toilet/shower washing up blocks. Would love to come back again - was only 9 miles from Coniston, so might explore that area from there next time! 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uffyfluffy 1 review from this member

 Absolutely, fab. I had been camping before but this was the first time with my toddler (2.5). The site, people and surroundings were brilliant. We stayed 4 nights but would've stayed longer if we could. Loved having the campfire (and the ice-cream van visiting Friday and Saturday night - added bonus it sold marshmallows for toasting on fire too!). Can't wait to go back. Alison and Mick, keep up the great work! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Tudors 3 reviews from this member

 Kid paradise!
If your children prefer mud, boats, scrambling and a climbing frame to TV and "entertainment" take them here. Rhia (10) Bess(7) Cait(6) Joe(10) and Conor(10) had the most fantastic holiday. All quiet well before 11 and all go all day. The little train passed the halt at the end of the big camping field just puts the icing on the cake. Nice walks straight from the site, but unless you fancy a spot of rally driving across Hard Knot, a bit far out for the main lakes tourist honey pots(and all the better for it!) We are early risers and the wash block was never busy before 9 am, but filled up a bit later.
The site was busy, but not too crowded, and of course to top off the lot, you have your tea round a camp fire!Gone are the little stone fire pits of last year, this years are uniform metal jobs, and nice and easy to contain, and rest your fry pan on!
Took friends with us this time( not all 5 kids are ours) and they were as pleased with it as we had been. Wonderful scenic location for us grown ups.
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs37 4 reviews from this member

 Well just got back from fisher yet again & had a fab time yet again. Much the same as last year still very clean and tidy etc. Went to a place called Maizie maze which was good, but expensive for what was there. What was there, such as the piglets & other animals, you could feed & the games were good, but not worth £17.50 for 2 adults & 3 kids under 13 & they had the cheek to ask for an additional £1 for a maze map & £2 if the kids wanted a pony ride. Bit expensive to feed 'pigs'. However wil be returning to fisher again maybe next year. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement