Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of East Fleet Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > East Fleet Farm Touring Park Reviews

East Fleet Farm Touring Park
Fleet Lane
Chickerell
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4DW
Tel: 01305 785768
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 350
Open: March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 352 Reviews
                9/10 from 352 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  352 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carperjake 10 reviews from this member

 We spent 6 nights here in August 2010. I know that goes against the majority of the reviews on here but it wasn't our sort of site. The Old Barn was expensive (28 for burger + chips, curry and rice, chips for little 'un and 3 drinks), the shop was equally as expensive, everything was charged for. The play area was full of older kids who weren't particular with their language although when asked to temper it they did. Our dog was an attractive 'toy' for the kids all of whom wanted to stroke him, without first checking it was OK. Fair enough he's placid and fine around kids but to have a 2 year old push his face into his is asking for trouble. Luckily none ensued.

We specifically asked for a flat pitch but were allocated one with a pretty fierce slope which we were expected to pitch across. There was also large cracks and potholes in the pitch too. We asked to move as we have reasons for needing a flatter pitch beyond comfort and were reallocated a lesser sloped pitch which we were able to pitch down rather than across, we still spent every night sliding down the airbeds and didn't get a good night's sleep during our stay.

The neighbours were OK to start with but changed mid way through our stay. We said hello, offered them a cuppa as they'd been on the road for 6hrs and then proceeded to listen to them argue for 3 days! There were kids screaming (toddler tantrums) at 0530hrs.

We felt there were too many units on the site, the site follows fire regs etc but there are very few areas that break up the lines of tents/vans, the occasional hedge or fence was all that was there.

On the positive side the facilities were great, pot wash and toilets are perfect. The laundry is good (if a little expensive). The staff were helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkey102 1 review from this member

 My partner and I stayed for one week.They are well organised for arrivals and it was not long before tent was up and running and we had glass of wine. ( or two ) We pitched in what the camp calls the Stables. The view was beautiful looking out over the lagoon towards Chesil Beach.

The facilities on this pitch were excellent, showers (unisex)are large with own sink and toilet and great for families or single use. The shop is well stocked and open long hours. We only used the bar once while we there and the meal was good. The site was quiet after 10.00pm with all campers following the request to respect their fellow campers. The criticism if you can call it that is the lane leading to the site is narrow and over time and with the amount of traffic using it has started in places to erode so care is needed especially when driving over the speed humps.

We would recommend this site for couples and families who want a camping holiday that is fun, relaxing and hassle free and would return to this site ourselves again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoff34 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at EAST FLEET. What a great site. We booked about 2 weeks before arriving and we were certainly not disappointed with the site. The check in process is very professional and painless. Great shop for general supplies of food and camping gear if not slightly on the expensive side, but invaluable if something breaks.

We were in the lower field at the top of the hill, great views over the site, lagoon and surrounding areas. The pitches are nicely sized and though the site was virtually full, it did not feel cramped or overly busy. As mentioned in other reviews the site gently undulates and some pitches are on an angle, but not greatly so. The facilities were very good, generally clean and well presented. The play ground is ace if your under the age of 12 and our daughter certainly made plenty of friends.

We ate on our first night in the pub and cannot grumble the food was good severed promptly and with a simple. Again I would comment that the cost was just above what I would expect, but this certainly would not detract from the experience.

All in all the site is clean / safe and meets the needs of a family holiday. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LlewB 14 reviews from this member

 Returned from a week at East Fleet, and have had a fantastic break.

Facilities were great there, and the situation was great to explore over to Lyme Regis in the West, Dorchester to the North and over to Lulworth in the East. Of course Weymouth and Portland are right on the doorstep.

The kids enjoyed the play ground, and we enjoyed the Old Barn pub, where the food was very good (not cheap, but not expensive either). The free ice block facility was very useful, and the bus to Weymouth from the site was handy.

The site does slope slightly, but you didn't notice once inside the tent.

The one downside was the distance from our pitch to the toilet block. A few cubicles down near the lagoon would have meant I would have scored this a 10. Fortunately, we had a chemical toilet, otherwise it might have been tough. It wasn't too busy, and I was tempted to ask for a pitch closer to the facilities, but the view down by the lagoon in the morning was so refreshing.

Rarely a queue for the dishwashing facilities, and when there was, it was usually because people didn't realise there was another set of sinks round the back of the block.

So much so say about the site, and the walks going west and east were just the right length in the evening to wear out the children or work up a thirst for a pint in the Old Barn.

Will definitely go back to this site when I'm next in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd stay at East Fleet (last stay was 2006!) and it was good to be back. We had a lovely large hardstanding pitch in the stable field (barriered in and out).

The toilet/shower block is one of the best we've come across in the last 4 or 5 years. There were 8 shower rooms all with large shower, toilet and sink (unisex) in each and we never had to queue. In the same building there were ladies and gents toilets (7 or 8 of each) with sinks too and also an indoor washing up area.

East Fleet now have a large shop that sells everything you could possibly need for your camping trip! The on site bar/restaurant is great too and very popular with campers. Being doggie friendly means we can enjoy a pint and eat on site in the evening - bonus!

The views and walks around the Lagoon are lovely too. There was a bus service from outside the shop (10:10am depart) that takes campers into Weymouth (drop off at the seafront) and brings them back at 4:30pm - FREE to campers out of season and the bus takes dogs. Now that's what I call great service.

The only 'problem' with our 2 nights on site was being woken up by builders at 7:30am both mornings. The site are having a brand new 'indoor kiddy complex' being built at the moment so I guess it was just bad timing on our behalf??! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynndilooloo 7 reviews from this member

 We stay at this site at least 3 to 5 times a year as my husband is a scuba diver and we look forward to staying at Eastfleet everytime - not the cheapest, but we just can't fault it! We prefer to stay on the 'Lower Field' as opposed to the 'Stable Field'.

All the staff are friendly and very accommodating. The loo's and showers are very clean. The shop is well stocked with all you need from food to camping equipment. We've only used the on site pub once but found it to be great.

The view over the lagoon is just lovely. Weymouth town centre is a short drive away. You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam 8 reviews from this member

 We camped from the 27th June until the 5th of July. We enjoyed it so much we ended up staying a couple of extra days. As the weather was absolutely brilliant, most days it was very hot.

We camped in the Stable field, as my husband is disabled. We did email the site beforehand and they reserved us a pitch near the toilet block. They were really good at replying to our emails and you could ask them anything. The pitches are pretty well spaced out. The staff were brilliant and were happy to help.

The toilet / shower blocks on the Stable fields are the best I have ever seen whilst camping. There was about 8 shower rooms where you went in and had your own shower, sink and toilet to yourself. The showers are free, you have to keep on pushing a button as they switch off automatically. The toilets were very clean and appeared to be cleaned every day we were there. Please note, they are unisexed showers, and yes the doors to have a lock! Seemed really strange at first having a shower and hearing a bloke singing in the shower next to you!

A dog friendly site, with lots of walks. You have to keep your dog on the lead and considering the amount of dogs on the site when we stayed, it was very clean. Dogs can be taken into the bar at night.

Security is very good, you can only gain access/exit by a barrier which you get given a code when you check in. A really good idea.

The bar was really good and I would really recommend the Pear Cider! The food looked good, but we found it to be a bit on the expensive side. They do have a shop on site, which did appear to be reasonably priced.

They currently have a shuttle bus that runs from the site into Weymouth. It leave at 10am and returns around 4pm. It is currently free of charge to use.

The only downside to the site, is the pitch were we were located, had a bad reception for TV's, and mobile / internet connections. A few caravan's had to 'wiggle' their aerial's to get a good signal (Digital) if you do have any problems, visit the shop and staff will help you. I was on 02 network and could get a signal, my husband was on 3 and wasn't able to get a signal from out pitch at all. Both our internet dongles wouldn't work. You can buy from the shop WIFI connection time.

If you are disabled and have a Blue badge, please note, that regardless you still have to pay for the majority of parking in Dorset! There was a limited number of 'free' parking spaces on the Esplanade in Weymouth. There are 4 parking spaces near Marks and Spencers which were free for a maximum of 3 hours and along the sea front towards the Pavillion end from 10am - 5pm. Every other car park we found allowed disabled to park in a bay, but you had to pay on top. This was for the whole of Dorset not just Weymouth.

The only part of Weymouth beach we could find that was Dog friendly, was up near the Pavillion end. We also went to Preston beach were we could walk out dog on the pebble beach.

On the whole the holiday was brilliant and we really wanted to stay longer. The only bad thing I will say is that tents were camped next to caravans (as we had an electric hook up)

On the whole, I would def recommend this site for a holiday. There are lots to do for the kids on site and in and around Weymouth. At the moment there is a 'spirt of the sea' festival going on and lots to do on the beach and live bands in Weymouth etc. It really is one of the best sites I've been to and we look forward to going back later on this year. It is a working farm and if you look from a far, believe me when I say they don't have mutant sheep with long nexts. They are (we think) Larma's. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Reeves 2 reviews from this member

 First class site with a great shop, staff who want to help. Have a bus service to town. This is the second visit to this site but I hope to go back there many more times before I give up camping. Toilet blocks of which there are two are clean and first class. Each pitches is well signed and large, flat and grass with a hard standing. The shop with a good selection of food also has a good stock of camping equipment. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazzyb 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great bank holiday weekend

The site has spectacular views over fleet lagoon with great walks around the site.

We had the extra large pitch and it was very big, we were in a party of 2 tents and pitched together, slight slope in pitch but not a major issue.

Site is well policed with members of east fleet staff walking around 24 hours a day ( one of our party bumped into one of them at 5am when going to the toilet)

The toilets had plenty of showers and quite a few family rooms, I never had to queue for a shower although family rooms became busy, it was bank holiday weekend

The kids loved the playground and at dusk every night a member of staff came and closed the park to stop kids playing in it until small hours which was good.

There is also a large field with one football goal and plenty of room to fly kites have games of cricket etc

Dog walks are spectacular with fantastic views over the loogan

The shop was well stocked with tent and caravan equipment plus with items you would need while camping.

The pub was open at 5pm and only spent 30 minutes in there but seemed reasonably priced and the food looked very good.

This is a great place if you have a young family our kids are aged 9 and 6, not sure I would go in a school holiday if I did not have kids, but that is not a criticism.

Weymouth gives you everything a seaside resort gives you bars, shops and arcades

The harbour is very nice with some walks around the harbour edge with bars to watch the boats come in and out, the george had very nice local beers.

Asda seemed to be main the supermarket, but tesco was just outside weymouth 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 As per other reviews really happy with our choice of campsite for Whitsun.

Showers & Toilets

Some of the best on a site we have used, boiling hot water unlimited. Family bathrooms as well as normal showers within the toilet block, very clean never had to wait. 6 family bathrooms and about 10 single showers in the main block. Stable field had newer facilities in a log cabin, but only family bathrooms, there was about 8 I think again super clean.

Pot wash

8 sinks again very clean, loads of hot water no waiting ever. Also good laundry room with disabled shower in also. Reasonable priced washer and dryers

Pitches

Very well organised and spacious even in peak week, I thought stable field was more crowded so glad we were in the main field by the play area. Most pitches have some slope the flattest we saw were 41 42 & 43 we were very happy with ours no 21

Play area

Our children loved it and they close it at 9.30 to avoid noise. Some great equipment on it but they are building an outside recreation area for the older ones as I think they do take over it, it didn't bother my daughter as she has an older brother, but I think some of the younger ones do find it intimidating and I think the owners have recognised this, but there was no trouble and my children 6 & 12 were there all the time

Facilities

Shop great even ice cubes to buy and a fab range of camping goodies at great prices. Newspapers ran out quick and sweets etc. and food a little overpriced, but staff very very helpful and friendly and really well organised for booking in.

Late checkout is great you just give a donation to the Air Ambulance which we thought was a fan idea

All in all we thought it was great for the money, no noise or hassle, just families enjoying their holidays. Very efficient staff zipping around on golf trolleys to help and give advice. Great facilities, bar looked good but didn't try it and never heard any noise from it. Menu looked good if a bit pricey Would definitely recommend and use again. Walk to the lagoon was nice but it is rally a glorified swamp which is no reflection on the site ! 


Previous     352 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is East Fleet Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to East Fleet Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is East Fleet Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement