Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
                9/10 from 194 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Val and Martin 2 reviews from this member

 Wow what can I say the weather wasn't that kind to us but this site is just so peaceful and so very well kept. The added bonus just up the road is a fantastic pub serving the most fantastic well price food and is also run by really nice people

We will be back, just loved it. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyndelahay 2 reviews from this member

 There aren't many sites that when you arrive offer you coffee/tea, this one did. After booking in we were given the choice of any vacant pitch. We chose one next to the river.
A very peaceful site even with the A396 running along side site. The owners have certainly taken care of this site and on Sunday mornings invite campers to visit the water mill to see it working.The shop is handy for milk bread (frozen) and eggs etc.
Would we visit this site again? we have booked another week in July. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry1163 14 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home from two idyllic days right next to the river Exe. The weather was glorious and this no doubt enhanced this wonderful site.

Easy to find and get into, owners were helpful and we had our pick of the available pitches, all of which were large and well positioned.

Peaceful despite being next to a main road, you will be aware of nothing but the river and bird song. If the night is clear you will get a brilliant view of the stars.

The river is a constant hive of activity for the local birdlife and seems pretty well stocked with fish. Fishing on site is free, alas we didn't have our rods with us.

Plenty to see and do around the area, we took a bus which stops right outside the campsite into a lovely local village.

Plenty of walking to suit all abilities, we walked into Windsford and had a great meal in the Royal Oak. The local Pub, just outside the site gates , The Badgers Holt, was friendly enough, and seemed to have a reasonably priced and comprehensive menu.

The site has a small shop which would cater for most essential needs, opening times are limited but you are asked to go to the Mill house if you have and other enquiries or problems, the Owners always seemed to be on hand yet not intrusive.

The toilets were adequate and spotlessly clean, I have seen far plusher toilet blocks but as I cant say we go away camping to sample the bathrooms services we have no complaints.

Recycling on site and plenty of water points. At 10.50 a night we thought we had to be a bargain. We will certainly return and would recommend this adult only site 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed 8 nights and this excellent site, fortunate to get good weather throughout.

Friendly greeting on arrival, and allowed to pick any pitch from those free, although pitches can (and are) reserved in advance. Grassy pitches, all backed by a river or mill-stream, are generally a very good size, especially in depth, and although some do slope a bit they are big enough for one to find a flat spot to pitch a tent - even our Outwell Vermont had loads of room. Tents of all sizes mix with caravans and motorhomes in this eclectic site.

The site is very picturesque and well laid out with well demarked pitches: although there are over 40 pitches in all, this is not apparent and the place has a cosy feel. It is also well situated for touring Somerset and Devon.

Toilet facilities are in two adjacent blocks, very basic but kept clean. Showers are free, with copious hot water at all times (and have temperature controls, not those buttons which need to be pressed every 20 secs). Handwash is also provided. A word of warning though; the lights are timed and go off after about 5 mins if motion sensors aren't activated - and the cubicles don't have sensors! Fortunately I had a head-torch handy, but I would advise night-time loo-users to move with alacrity.

A room for washing-up, vegetable preparation, washing clothes etc. Is an very good facility, again with copious free hot water.

A small shop opens for two hours per day - once in the morning and again at tea-time. It has the basics, but is complemented by a lady just outside the site who sells excellent home or locally produced meat and groceries.

The site owners have very thoughtfully produced a series of circular walks (3 - 5/6 miles or so) from the site, and a series of scenic drives (30 - 75 miles). For a donation of 10p to charity each, we did a couple of walks and a drive - brilliantly clear and easy to follow, really impressed (so take your hiking boots).

Similarly in the same information hut they have compiled lists of good pubs (and menus), and info for fisher-folk and bird watchers.

The village pub is very close to the site and must be given a mention. It's traditional, snug (small bar & dining room) and very friendly indeed. Food is excellent and very well priced, with a 'specials' board that changes regularly. The 3 hand-pulled Exmoor Ales are to be savoured!

I was amazed at how quiet this site was. So many places look the part yet are spoiled by inconsiderate campers/groups making noise until the early hours. Exe Valley was an oasis of peace and quiet, whether by good policing, it's child-free status or because of the sort of people who choose to come here.

Tents over 3m wide attract a 3 per night surcharge, which angers some (let's face it, how many tents don't exceed 3m these days?). Even with this fee however. We paid less that 20 per night AND got one night free as a discount - not bad for high season and EHU. Were I the owner I would turn this pricing policy around - a standard tent price which assumed a big tent, with a discount for small tents.

Apart from small quibbles I have outlined, this is an outstanding site and one that I wholeheartedly recommend. I would certainly return if camping this way again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roxy28 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a week at what I can only describe as a fantastic site. You pull up and if spaces are available you can just drive down until you find the one you like. Owners are lovely and very friendly. One side has the Mill House and stream and the other with the river and fields behind that with a footpath. Otters were seen when I was there and a couple of people caught a few fish, so take a rod with you.

If you are not keen on dogs this probably isn't the site for you. Nearly everyone had a dog including ourselves, all of which were very well behaved. Beautiful dog walking area at the end of the park where they can go off the lead and play in the water.

Small site shop open from 8.30 to about 10.00am and then again 5.00 to about 6.00pm. Really not much in there at all but occasionally sell a great apple pie. Could do with a bit more local produce in there and fresh bread, but then there is a lady just up the road that supplies all day home cooked cakes, butter, ham, vegetables great quiche, oh and a fish on Friday van arrives just on main road.

Toilet block I agree with others could do with a paint and really good clean, 1 toilet (with wonky toilet seat)and 3 showers in the lady's and not much room to change in them the gents had 1 toilet and 2 showers, both had the use of a free hairdryer which was actually quite good. There are some more toilets in a separate building near the road but they do feel like public toilets.

Laudry room great two sinks for washing up, and washing machine 1 per load and tumble dryer the same. Free use of a microwave and iron.

Pub up the road does great food and found them very welcoming.

Great walks and plenty to visit, cannot wait to go back with friends in Aug/Sept. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigerseye 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site, we managed to pick the only week of torrential rain after weeks of glorious sunshine!

Nevertheless, this site was still peaceful and attractive in the rain, level grassy pitches by the river (nice to sit and listen to it but you don't get the early sun) or grassy pitches by the leat and watermill (you get more sun this side but you are nearer the road).

It was a bit boggy due to the heavy rains, and there was an abundance of black flies for some reason, but they didn't bother us too much although we didn't sit outside much on account of the weather!

Basic and clean facilities, bit nippy but we used our own mostly. Laundry facilities and plenty of sinks etc.

Beautiful dog-walking area, an open grassy area with trees next to the river, enclosed and peaceful. Benches to sit by the weir when you reach the end of it - our dogs loved it! Plus along the other side of the river is a bridleway which we also used for dog-walking - you can walk for miles around there, and Exmoor and the Exe Valley is certainly beautiful.

Good central location - Dulverton is a lovely town with a fab Thai restaurant/takeaway, butchers, fruit n veg shop, everything really. Would have been nice if the camp shop sold fresh bread and pastries etc like a few do these days.

Perfect area for walking, plenty of information at the site for walks, pubs, restaurants etc - couldn't have been more helpful. Close to Wimbleball Lake and central for getting to the coast or the national park.

Peaceful and relaxing, would love to go back - but in better weather this time! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JellyBabyRiot 1 review from this member

 This was an amazing campsite, from the moment you arrive you are overwhelmed by the sheer depth of this georgeous part of the exe valley.

And it's so quiet! the campsite owners were very friendly and helpful. We got to pick our pitch. The shop opens at only 2 intervals each day, (being towns folk this did seem strange at first)and as we were relying on the sun to wake us up meant we often missed the 1st opening (forgetting that we were in a valley the sun didn't hit us on the riverside until almost 10am), but you soon got used to it.

The badgers holt Inn is a must for trying exmoor ale as you can literally roll back to your tent.

Spent 6 nights there in 2006 and can't wait to go back in 2008. Would recommend this site to anyone who loves peace and quiet, and a sense of isolation (as there is little mobile signal at the best of times!) and the stars are amazing at night! if only I had night vision on my camera. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fluffchucker 18 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant, clean, friendly site. Owners very helpful, sites nice and level overlooking the river. Beautiful surrounding areas to visit. Small shop on site selling basics, lovely pub across the road serving superb home cooked food. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ApolloSwallow 6 reviews from this member

 A clean, tidy campsite in beautiful countryside.

On arrival I was met by the owners who were very helpful and pleasant. It was quite quiet (due to forecast of unsavoury weather!) so I was allowed to choose any pitch from those free and designated for tents.

The tents pitches are all next to the river and very generous in size.

The campsite isn't too big so every pitch is a short walk to the facilities.

There are ( if I remember correctly) 3 showers in the ladies and 1 loo, plus a seperate loo in a small block next door. The gents I imagine is similar. This is fine as the site is mostly designated for caravans so they have their own facilities. There is an ample sized laundry room with washer and dryer, iron etc and 4 sinks.

All facilities clean and tidy with a radio playing in the background.

You are a little way from a town of any real size, but there are a few pubs and a little shop in the locality. Minehead is 20mins approx. The time to get to Minehead is primarily due to the twisty roads to and from the site.

Would recommend to anyone wanting some peace and quiet due to location and being Adult only. Loved it! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lmm58 3 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from Exe Valley. What a lovely site very clean and tidy and nice and quiet. Set in lovely scenery, The shower block could perhaps do with a little modernising and the mirrors lowered, I am of average height and could only see in one mirror. The village pub serves good food but they are not over friendly, we felt that they just wanted your money. We would stay there again, just for the traquility. And there are lovely walks right on the 'doorstep' The shop sells just the basics, which is really all you want any way. So all in all very good. 


Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020