Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JellyBabyRiot 1 review from this member

This was an amazing campsite, from the moment you arrive you are overwhelmed by the sheer depth of this georgeous part of the exe valley.

And it's so quiet! the campsite owners were very friendly and helpful. We got to pick our pitch. The shop opens at only 2 intervals each day, (being towns folk this did seem strange at first)and as we were relying on the sun to wake us up meant we often missed the 1st opening (forgetting that we were in a valley the sun didn't hit us on the riverside until almost 10am), but you soon got used to it.

The badgers holt Inn is a must for trying exmoor ale as you can literally roll back to your tent.

Spent 6 nights there in 2006 and can't wait to go back in 2008. Would recommend this site to anyone who loves peace and quiet, and a sense of isolation (as there is little mobile signal at the best of times!) and the stars are amazing at night! if only I had night vision on my camera.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fluffchucker 18 reviews from this member

Very pleasant, clean, friendly site. Owners very helpful, sites nice and level overlooking the river. Beautiful surrounding areas to visit. Small shop on site selling basics, lovely pub across the road serving superb home cooked food. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ApolloSwallow 6 reviews from this member

A clean, tidy campsite in beautiful countryside.

On arrival I was met by the owners who were very helpful and pleasant. It was quite quiet (due to forecast of unsavoury weather!) so I was allowed to choose any pitch from those free and designated for tents.

The tents pitches are all next to the river and very generous in size.

The campsite isn't too big so every pitch is a short walk to the facilities.

There are ( if I remember correctly) 3 showers in the ladies and 1 loo, plus a seperate loo in a small block next door. The gents I imagine is similar. This is fine as the site is mostly designated for caravans so they have their own facilities. There is an ample sized laundry room with washer and dryer, iron etc and 4 sinks.

All facilities clean and tidy with a radio playing in the background.

You are a little way from a town of any real size, but there are a few pubs and a little shop in the locality. Minehead is 20mins approx. The time to get to Minehead is primarily due to the twisty roads to and from the site.

Would recommend to anyone wanting some peace and quiet due to location and being Adult only. Loved it!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lmm58 3 reviews from this member

My husband and I have just returned from Exe Valley. What a lovely site very clean and tidy and nice and quiet. Set in lovely scenery, The shower block could perhaps do with a little modernising and the mirrors lowered, I am of average height and could only see in one mirror. The village pub serves good food but they are not over friendly, we felt that they just wanted your money. We would stay there again, just for the traquility. And there are lovely walks right on the 'doorstep' The shop sells just the basics, which is really all you want any way. So all in all very good.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights this trip, once again it was nice to come back, a superb location. Sadly the weather was the worst we have camped in, despite last years weather.
We had torrential rain and high winds for the first 2 days, we were pitched by the river which rose by about 2 foot overnight, however the tent staye dry and firm and the river dropped. The wildlife here is wonderful(wobble box owners this is what you are missing out on) we had a family of tree creepers feet away, the riverbank rats were entertaining in the evening, we watched them raidng tents, bats flying overhead, dippers and grey wagtails. One of the nicest sites we know, just so peaceful.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights when the weather was really nice. The site is well kept and spacious. The showers were small for the size of the site (only one gents shower was working but you could use the disabled facility next door). It was not too much of a problem as the site was fairly quiet. The location is extremely nice and generally peaceful (although while we were there the council were doing roadworks from 7am - not good).

The local pub (The Badgers Holt)is very close and the food was very good.

Although we did not try them (lack of time) there appear to be a number of nice walks available from the site itself. A walk up to the end of the site to the weir is well worth while however.

Downside - We have a Cabanon tent which is 3.2 metres wide and is classed as a large tent for which you pay an extra 3 per night (even though there were only two of us). When asked why this was the owner said it was because of the effect on the grass. As he makes you move the tent if you are there longer than 7 nights this argument appears spurious (basically I think they just dont want large tents). They do not charge extra no matter what size caravan/awning etc. A bit of discrimination I think.

That apart it is a nice site in a lovely location.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliver67 9 reviews from this member

I had been to this site the previous september and may before this and liked it. The badgers holt pub was reason as it was 100 yds away and served good food and beer. The site its self I think is in need of extra showers for the tenters as I feel caravan and motorhomes are looked after better for position to these toilets .When it rains it rains and it can get boggy. The stargazers will love this site no light polution.One sink in the mens over three years was still cracked.
The allowing dogs on site I did not like and feel it should be stopped.The shop could be improved with selling more items but this is one of the best sites you will use in this area and feel these gripes are mine and not everyones . The owners are lovely and are so helpful and kind and the sound of water on both sides of you is lovely.Over all 8 out of 10.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzjordan 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for the first time and was very impressed. It was nice and peaceful, and set in a lovely location next to the river. The local pub is only about 100yds away does great food. The only downside was the lack of showers/toilet facilities, for a 48 pitch site. There was only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the men and one of these showers was unusable throughout our stay. The ladies had the added bonus of an extra shower. The nearest towns are Tiverton or Minehead, both approximatley 15 miles away, so it's perfect if you just want to get away from it all and relax. It's location on Exmoor means there are great walks from the site. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big19540 2 reviews from this member

This really is an excellent peaceful adults only site. The facilities are kept very clean and tidy indeed with no faults at all, although the little shop is very basic with only limited opening hours. The pub (5 mins walk) is very good and serves very good value and tasty meals both lunchtimes and evening. The owner does guided tours around the millhouse on Sunday mornings which we found very interesting (he is gradually restoring it to its former glory). All in all if you want somewhere to relax or as a base to explore the beauty of Exmoor then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 35 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time at Easter 2007 and loved it so much we returned for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The pitches here are huge - there's loads of room for your caravan, awning and car. The majority of the 50 pitches are on grass, sited alongside the River Exe or the mill stream.

The washblock has 3 showers in the ladies and 1 toilet although there is a separate toilet block with 2 toilets. We didn't use the small onsite shop as we usually stock up with provisions beforehand.

The 'Badgers Holt' pub is literally a 2 min walk from the site and serves reasonably priced pub grub in the evening. They also allow dogs in the bar area.

This site is well placed for exploring the surrounding area including Minehead and Watchet. Although our favourite days out include Tarr Steps and Wimbleball Lake.

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 16 to 21 October, Birmingham NEC
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977