Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Genista 1 review from this member

I have to start this review by mentioning how good the customer service was in getting our pitch booked in the first place. Without Glynis' help, we wouldn't have had a holiday at all!

When we arrived at the site, which is easy to find and access, booking in was simple and we were shown around the facilities and then to our pitch.

The facilities are all pretty much in the same place, which becomes a real hub of activity when the site is full.

The pitch was in good condition and, even though we pitched in heavy rain, the whole area was surprisingly mud free. Most of the pitches seem to slope but only the overflow field has any extreme slopes. The pitch was more than big enough for our tent (Outwell Nebraska XL) and the pitches are well marked on the fences around the site or on slabs in the ground. I do think it's worth letting them know if you need a big pitch though. The best thing about the pitch we had, though, was the views; lots of stunning view looking out over the hills.

Hookups are well located and have lights over them. This seems like a good idea if you have a problem at night!

During the week the site was very quiet but still had a nice atmosphere. When Friday came, the site became very full, and though the bar, showers, toilets and potwashing facilities became very busy, any queues went very quickly and everything stayed pretty clean.

The shop has plenty of basics in it and seems to be flexible in when it's open. We used the Coop in Bakewell several times but there are lots of local shops to use as well (especially for Bakewell puddings.)

One very handy thing is the information hut (read 'shed') which has lots of information and advice on the local area. We used this several times to help plan our excursions. You have so many options of things to do or places to go from here that I makes a great place to explore the area from.

There is a direct walking route to Bakewell and a 'scenic' one. We did both and the site of Llamas on the scenic one was certainly entertaining!

A really nice site which we would happily go back to again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Logies 1 review from this member

We are first time campers, myself, my husband and two boys (aged 6 and 4 yrs).

We have just returned from a five day stay at Greenhills (Mon to Fri)and have now decided camping is the life for us.

On arrival we were given a warm welcome at reception and taken to our pitch (we had chosen to book EHU), the owner was very pleasant and told us as it was mid week and quiet we did not have to take much notice of the pitch markers.

One of the first things we noticed from the site was the amazing views from all directions.

The boys could not wait to explore the area and soon found the two play parks, one for under 4s and one for older children which consists of climbing and balancing equipment made from natural materials. Next to the park is a large field with football nets and loads of space for ball games. The park is situated outside the pub, which was a novelty for us as we usually spend our holidays running round play parks watching the kids. At Greenhills you can still keep an eye on the kids, however this can be done relaxing on the pub benches with a nice cold beer.

The whole site had a very child friendly feel, lots of safe space for them to run about and have a little bit of independence.

We found the toilet/shower blocks to be immaculate at all times (cannot comment on busier times). The only problem I found was trying to shower my 4 yr old, as he needs assistance the cubicals were too small for the both of us.

Previous reviews of this site have mentioned the sloping pitches, we didn't think our field was too bad although we did have to rearrange our beds to stop us ending up in a heap during the night, however this could have been avoided if we had pitched our tent accordingly.

During our stay we had a night of torrential rain, however the following day the fields did not seem boggy.

We were very impressed with this campsite and will be returning soon, think we'll try a busy weekend this time. Don't think we'll be disappointed.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dzdoris 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a stunning location, picture postcard views!

We had to pitch on a slight slope but it didnít bother us in the slightest. Liked how the pitches were well marked out. Gravelled water points so no muddy feet!

Two shower blocks, one was a portakabin block which I preferred as they seemed the cleaner of the two. 4 washing-up sinks with plenty of hot water. Bricks available to stand your BBQs on.

Childrenís play area on site but our children didnít use it that much. Separate field for ball games which our older children loved, beware of the potholes!

Bar on site but again we didnít use it. Well stocked shop with food, games, camping equipment etc.

Only stayed for the weekend. Did a lovely scenic walk into Bakewell, walking at Lathkill Dale and whilst lost discovered a lovely quaint little cafe in Monyash.

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derekbab 6 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site 4 times using a tent, fab site, clean showers toilets, small shop selling the basics. Booked again for caravan looking forward to it. If you do use a tent with hook up

I always request a pitch usually no'6 as this is a very flat pitch 7,8,5 are good too,the rest of the field has a slight downward slope

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simonb74 2 reviews from this member

Arrived 2pm Friday 22nd May, very friendly staff in reception, was taken to our plot which was in a great location and plenty of room. The ground was wet but to be fair not boggy. Site was very clean, grass was a little long (wet) but that's not a complaint, It was a bank holiday weekend and the site was very busy but fine. Toilet block and showers were good, clean and did the job and the shop had a decent variety of the usual bits you need although a little expensive?? Play area was good and a large field next door kept plenty of kids active playing football all weekend.

Saturday was different again, the sun was out, visited Bakewell for a couple of hours spent more money, (plenty of camping shops). We thought this site was busy on the Friday! Saturday was incredible with people still arriving right up to early evening, A little noisy at night but that's what its all about having a good time.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Shartley 9 reviews from this member

I used this site for a base to walk from and was very impressed. Good service and very clean facilities. 2 block of toilets and showers and they were never busy. Showers have a proper cubicle style so the changing area does not get wet at all.

Bar on site is great and has a good selection of drinks including a couple of real ales. Well stocked shop, and free re-freezing of ice blocks.

One part of the site is quite sloped and you need to pick your pitch well, dog friendly and has a play area for children.

I visit the Peak District on a regular basis and can safely say this site is in the best location I have stayed so far.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annhart 8 reviews from this member

We turned up at this site on a very wet day without pre-booking. A stunning setting and good site. Toilet and shower block clean and well equipped. Laundry room and clubhouse (although we didn't get time to use it). Dog walk area - brilliant.
Some pitches could be sloping but we had no trouble with ours. Pitches nicely spaced out and plenty of room for the car. A little expensive for one night but if you made use of the clubhouse and have children, as there is a playing field and adventure playground, well worth it.

Brilliant views in the lovely Derbyshire countryside and not far from the town of Bakewell. Would use again,

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnb182 1 review from this member

Just visited this site for a long Easter week-end. The site is really well situated, just a 20min walk into Bakewell and Ashford in the opposite direction. The site in general has a really lovely and welcoming feeling to it. It is very clean and well maintained. Excellent for families with young children, a great play area for the kids. The Bar is great with seating both indoors and outdoors. The camp also has a well stocked shop for all your basic needs. The Toilet/Shower block is very nice and kept very clean but unfortunately it is not big enough to cope when the site is full, there was a constant queue for showers. This would be my only negative and a small price to pay for what is, otherwise, a really lovely and sociable campsite. Will definitely visit again but may try to avoid Bank Holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chickpea 3 reviews from this member

Great site - a little windy, but that's something that comes with the views. We went with a large party with a number of tents, and we were able to be grouped together.

The site shop has a variety of foodstuffs and other requirements, there's room to walk the dog, and the staff were friendly.

Toilet/shower blocks were fine- clean and tidy.

Nearby Bakewell is a good centre, though a little lacking in places to eat that are child-friendly (the more promising ones were mainly full to bursting). It was a bank holiday weekend, though.

We'd go again (in fact, we tried to, but there were no hook-ups left for the date we wanted).

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BURY BONDS 1 review from this member

Just returned after 5 nights stay at Greenhills nice clean site, toilet blocks very clean and new looking even in the muddy conditions. We stayed on hard standing but plenty on very muddy grass, glad we were given hardstanding.

Showers warm, powerful careful positioning of clothes and no problems noted.

For a large site surprised at the lack of more toileting facilities 8 showers only but plenty of toilets. Night lighting quite poor in front of reception and toilet block slipped twice in the mud.

Play area not suitable for very small children but my 10 and tall 4 year old had a blast the smaller one with assistance.

The field for ball games was brilliant not muddy or waterlogged chance for the kids to let their hair down and run amok.

Shop and Bar on site not open during our stay but was advised the same.

Views from site fantastic Ashford in the Water very pretty and surrounding area brilliant for all outside activities.

Warden and receptionist very helpful and informative, small wooden summer type house houses loads of helpful and interesting information.

Downside was no heating in toilet blocks we got a special Sunday to Friday five night break £20.5 per night 3 adults, 2 children, awning and hook up otherwise it would have been £25-26 per night, we have stayed in sites on a par but with heating and still cheaper.

We would recommend site.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019