Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tillyann 1 review from this member

 Being a novice camper and this only being my second year, we have done a few sites and this was by far was the best for me! Although it was a very busy site and lots of us need to be seen to the staff were friendly kind and always happy to accommodate.

The showers, toilets and laundry rooms were cleaned daily and always topped up and wiped through out the day. Also the freezer to refreeze you ice blocks what a great idea.

We took three young children with us and they cried the day we had to come home they loved the park the lake the shop that was very reasonably price.

If any one is looking for a happy family site this is for you fantastic 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patricia + Matthew 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Waterside over the May bank holiday and the following week. We arrived on the Saturday evening at 4pm to be told that there were two spaces in the family field but that we could pitch anywhere. We have two young children so off we went to the family field and pitched in one of the two spaces. This was a few spaces away from where we pitched two or three years ago. The next morning we were told we were pitched in a hook up space and would have to move. The staff offered to help us move which you would expect. However, bearing in mind the disturbance and stress it caused with 2 kids, we had to ask for a nights money back. This was paid without argument.

The showers have shower curtains which aren't the most hygienic solution - could do with doors, no mop and bucket for people to give the floor a quick wash after they've used the showers (successful on other sites) No signage in the showers or the toilet blocks to remind customers to clean / wipe the sinks etc. Definitely showers that you need your flip flops! The pitches aren't marked, wouldn't take much to mark the ground out and still would allow for groups to pitch together.

The washing facilities are partly under cover but always have hot water. There is a laundry room and a machine where you can get a hot drink. With regards to bringing your own hair dryer. Only one socket in the ladies w.c or use their dryer in the shower room.

Having ranted enough, the staff were friendly particularly the owners daughter, both the owner and his daughter individually asked us if we were okay days after the unplanned move!

The shop is well stocked, the views great and access to Pooley Bridge excellent walk for young kids with plenty to explore on the way. They wouldn't even know they were walking. Would love to go back there but not until the showers etc were addressed. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Auntie Doris 7 reviews from this member

 We went to this campsite the week after the second bank holiday in May, so for many kids this would be May half term.

The site was relatively quietish during the week but got extremely busy at the weekend, partly I suspect because the weather was absolutely stunning.

It was a very nice site, we were in a field with no allocated pitches which meant we were easily able to camp as a group. It is in a beautiful location, right next to Ullswater. A pleasant 15 minute walk to Pooley Bridge (longer with kids) along the lake. Pooley Bridge itself it very touristy but sweet and we went on the steamer on the lake from here.

My only complaints are that it wasn't cheap. 18 per night for a tent and two adults. Also, there were not sufficient facilities for the amount of people on the site. Only 4 ladies showers for the whole site and two sanitary blocks, one of which is a porta-cabin with two loos and handbasins. However, they were cleaned regularly, but they really could do with increasing the amount of facilities they have available.

The only other thing. We ate a meal one evening at The Crown Hotel in Pooley Bridge. We picked it because it was right next to the river. The food was awful and the serving staff were even worse. Disinterested and unhelpful. The orders got mixed up and there was no real interest in resolving the errors that were made. Also it wasn't cheap.

Having said that, we would almost certainly go back as it is in such an amazing location! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomvenning 3 reviews from this member

 I camped at Waterside during a very busy Whitsun bank holiday weekend. We arrived after being turned away from a total of four other full campsites around Ullswater. Waterside directed us to their overflow field, which was excellent. Being up on the hill gave stunning views of the lake. Friendly staff, well stocked shop, good washing up and shower facilities. Queues developed at peak times, but to be expected at the bank hol.

The site is well placed to explore Ullswater. We did two excellent walks, first beyond Howtown and the next day up Hellvelyn on the far side of the lake. It is possible to cross the lake on a steamer. Pooley Bridge was not to our taste, very commercialized with no useful shops for campers - meaning a trip to Penrith or the site shop for provisions. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawn16 1 review from this member

 My family (2 adults and 2 children) have just returned from a fantastic bank holiday at waterside house farm. The cost was 81.00 for 3 nights. The welcome was positive and finding a pitch was fairly easy considering we did not arrive till 6pm friday night.
The camps facilities were excellent. The shop stocked everything we would need, the toilets and showers were very clean and cleaned regularly. The noise on the site was quite minimal.
We took our bikes and were able to cycle to Pooley bridge in about 10 minutes where there are shops and pubs, here we also hired a motor boat on the lake (35.00 for 1 hour).
We also visited Aira Force Falls they were fabulous! We then visited Glenridding, a nice village. We will definitely visit again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wakefields 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a number of times and can honestly say this is a good site that could be so much better. On the plus side the site is in a fantastic place right on the side of the lake. There is a shop on site and an excellent snack van that does breakfasts chip / bacon butties etc. The walk in to Pooley Bridge along the lake is lovely with 3 pubs.

On the negative side, for a site this big there should be more toilets / showers and the ones they have could do with updating. Also pitches are not marked, you just go where you want which causes major problems when it gets busy with people right next to each other. We even woke one morning to find our car blocked in by some halfwit who arrived late the night before to join some friends. It can also get very noisy some nights and only once have we seen any attempt at noise control by the owners.

So in short a nice site that we will be going back to but not at busy times 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barryd 3 reviews from this member

 Had a boys weekend here a couple of weeks ago in 2 Motorhomes. It's a great site, especially if you want access to the lake. The hookup points are not in the best field but if your self sufficient like we are or don't need hookup, you can camp right by the lake and launch your boats, windsurfers etc straight into the lake.
Good facilities if you need them and the pubs at Pooley bridge are within 20-30 minutes walk. 60 min on the way back if you're like us. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy__Mac 7 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 nights here - 2nd trip after going in the wet at the back end of last summer. Nice site, SUPERB location (can there be better) but a little pricey. I have given the staff 8/10 which is a marked improvement on last year when we found them a bit aloof. They seemed to have the attitude 'yes, we are expensive, but find anywhere else on the lake ?'.

Site is well laid out, though pitches are unmarked. We had full hook up - ground was soft (not sites fault) and we were brought some mulch by tractor as the car got stuck.

Kids were happy, I was happy as I am a keen Mountain biker and there are some tremendous rides close by.

Toilet blocks could be bigger but they are clean enough.

Shop is OK for everyday things, supermarket in Penrith is about 10 mins drive for a bigger shopping trip.

The site is a working farm too, so be prepared for the moo-ing of cows and the bleating of sheep. This adds to the overall ambience though and is interesting for the kids (and adults alike !)

The walk on the lake is about 20 mins to Pooley Bridge which is a lovely village, though I agree with the comments about pricey pubs. They are good though.

I will be going back here - its one of those sites that is beautiful whatever the minor niggles. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonpage 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from the lakes, Stayed a week at the end of August, at waterside farm camping site, Ullswater. What a great time we had. The camp site is very good for families, very kid friendly, nice little area for the kids to play (not massive) the camp site is very good for the dogs to play in the lake.

Good hot showers but could do with more as there is ony 3mens shower and 3 ladies showers, clean 3times a day. Toilets clean and tidy, nice washing room dryer and washer. Good little shop basic but all you need, shame it doesn't open in the week to late, but park foot shop has everything you need its like a mini super market (little gold mind) hee,hee.

Good water slope for canoes, boats well any water craft. Amazing view if you book to stay on the waters edge, you need to ask to stay on the waters edge, but there isn't any electric hook up on the waters edge, but why have electric, I think it spoils the whole fun of camping if you have electric lol.

There's a nice walk to Pooley bridge from the camp site on the waters edge, what takes about 20 mins not suitable for disabled as is not wheel chair friendly,great for the kids and dogs, you can let them of the lead, but mind the sheep!

Pooley is good for food and drink, but take plenty of pennies ass all the pubs are very dear, nice little cafe, post office with great range of food, camping shop, tourist information, and you can park both sides of the bridge. Penrith town is about 10mins drive.

Nice steamer boat trip in Pooley worth a trip across the lake, boat higher and the end of the lake in Pooley you must give this a whirl.

Conniston is about 30miles away its a long slog ass it is across the mountains wich is up hill down dale.

Well all in all a very good camp site,good food, nice place, would be returning again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quarndonites 1 review from this member

 We stayed 2 nights as a family of 5 during Aug Bank holiday weekend having checked the site out earlier in summer. 54 all in.

Fast and easy to get to from M6 J40.

Despite BH not as busy as feared with spare pitches and hook ups. Family field has flat 'free for all' pitches and reasonably quiet at night.

Shower block/loos regularly cleaned with free hot showers x 4.

Shop useful and bacon butties and chips available at small van in field.

Kids play area small but ample as lakeside position entertained kids.

Good kids walks around Hallin Fell can be combined with lake steamers too.

Regged centre is nearby and a good wet weather option with Imax screen.

Pleasantly surprised after some of the more negative comments below. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement