Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KwakaFB 6 reviews from this member

 A group of us stayed on this site on the way up to Scotland.
The site was busy with quite a few campers and fairly waterlogged in places after all the rain we've had.
I also found the site expensive compared to all the others on our trip, but this may be the going rate for sites in this area.
We were in the far field just down from the hilly bit and we had a toilet block close by which was quite good. However as there were only a few other toilets I'm not sure how they would cope when the site was full. Queueing for toilets in the morning is not my cup of tea!
As to the location although it rained almost constantly whilst we were there it was a stunning location with truly magnificent views. We also took the path by the side of the lake to one of the pubs in Pooley Bridge for a good bite to eat and a few pints. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluenoes 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a few days here from Friday until Sunday; me, the wife and 6 our month old Stan.
 
It was very quiet due to the weather of late, and we expected it to be very wet but we were not going to be put off.
 
Happy we did go as planned, the weather was okay considering the forecast!
 
The site is very easy to find off the M6, about 10 minutes away, and about 15 minutes away from Penrith.
 
Drainage on the site was excellent, you wouldn't have thought there had been any rain when we arrived.
 
There is a small shop on site, along with shower block, laundry and freezer for ice blocks
 
We pitched a little bit away from the waters edge as we wanted to avoid any midges and wind if it picked up like expected, waterside is a very large site, and we had the one field to our selves for the first night. So, we had plenty of toilets and showers available! Would be interested to find out if there are enough facilities when the site is full.
 
The showers are free, and are very good. The heat settings are not adjustable, so you may find they are a bit hot for kids. The power of the showers could knock you off you feet if you are expecting the usual dribble coming from the shower head! One tip: keep any clothes off the floor. The power of the shower will reach under the shower curtain and soak anything you think may be safe!
 
 
Will have to try another midge repellent as our Clear lite lamp and Avon skin so soft did not work this time!
 
We enjoyed our short stay and will go back hopefully when the summer arrives, and would recommend it to all. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparklingdiamon 2 reviews from this member

 We camped for just over a week and pitched right on the lake front, with a fabulous sunset most nights and a great view all day long. There is a public footpath that runs through the site to Pooley Bridge, so there are a few passers by and most of the campsite when they return from the pubs in the evening!
The site was wonderfully quiet and peaceful during the week, but was filled to bursting during the bank holiday weekend - no more than you'd expect I suppose, but it really did spoil the tranquility of the Lakes.
The toilets and showers were adequate, however it was a bit of a hike, or a car ride first thing in the morning if you were in the far field. ** OWNERS NOTE: Portaloos are now provided in the far field during busy times, on mains water and hot water They were cleaned after lunchtime, so afternoon showering is a must if you like them to be spotless!
There is a small playground near the shop and a public telephone for outgoing calls only.
The lady in the shop was a bit grumbly for one reason or another. I mentioned that one of the freezer doors would not close properly, she said this was due to campers putting in too many ice packs.
Overall, the lake and mountain views surpassed the overcrowding, so go when it's not a bank holiday and take a dinghy! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simontew 1 review from this member

 Just got back from my first weekend away with a pair of 6-year-olds at this campsite (18th-20th May). I emailed Waterside first to check out whether I needed to book amongst other things, got a prompt friendly reply answering all my questions. I expected to arrive fairly late (got there a little after 9pm), and as per the email simply went and found a pitch and paid the following morning as the reception had closed by that time. This weekend wasn't particularly busy (I think the weather forecasts might have put people off) and I found a pretty flat pitch no problem. One of the pictures on their website shows what appears to be a long slope for pitching on. It seems to me that picture is deceptive, as most of the site seems pretty flat.
The weather on arrival was absolutely horrid, very strong winds and driving rain, and it carried on all through the night and into the next morning. I pitched next to a drainage channel through which the water was flowing very fast, and despite the awful weather, the system coped well and it didn't turn into a mudbath, so well done Waterside. A couple of the pitches right on the lakeside did seem to be waterlogged though, but more down to ruts in the grounds it seemed to me.
Given the amount of rain, the toilets were about as clean as you could expect. Mud was coming in from the fields (actually, more from a relatively short section from the fields across part of the farmyard). I think that laying down some stone at this point would perhaps help with this. The toilets seemed to be cleaned pretty regularly as far as I could see, but in the gents toilets they could do with putting in some (extra?) lighting in the area farthest from the door. Didn't use the showers, so can't comment, but there always seemed to be hot water in the toilets and for washing up,but the site was fairly quiet. Washing-up facilities are across from toilets and are covered-over but not indoor. Again, plenty of bins and sinks, plenty of hot water (scalding at times, so watch out), and all seemed pretty clean. The staff in the shop were friendly and the shop itself is pretty well-stocked food-wise and has stuff (toys, frisbees, fishing nets etc) for kids. There was also a separate catering 'wagon' adjacent to one of the fields which served hot food, though I didn't use it myself. The shop is also the place to hire a boat or canoe: they seem quite keen on safety for the stuff they hire out (by which I mean they take account of weather conditions as to what they'll allow, and have conditions on number of kids per adult in a canoe (1). There's a kids play area at the lakeside next to the toilet blocks, It's not huge but OK for a little while.
Thankfully, the weather improved, and we had a great Saturday (out and about) and Sunday (rowing boat, chilling and packing). I would visit Waterside again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Don Rose 3 reviews from this member

 I turned up with my tent on my back. The reception was friendly and helpful. After reading the other reviews I felt that I had to say something. Whinge whinge you lot! Try PROPER camping. Leave the 3 piece suite and heaters at home.
This site was pretty good and quite cheap, compared to the other rip off in Pooley Bridge.
I'll be going back. Just hope I don't meet up with that moaning lot. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cadmasa1 19 reviews from this member

 First impressions not great when our reservation could not be found, the camp site was very busy and the staff could not cope with volume of people trying to book in . In the end we were told to just go and pitch - anywhere!. A very large camp site in an ideal location. A lot of the fields, many of which are uneven and not ideal for tents. The facilities are clean, but a long way to walk in the middle of the night. Not adequate for the number of campers on site (I would estimate approx 400 people and there's only 4 ladies showers!) Queues for showers in a morning were horrendous. A pleasant 10 minute walk to pooley bridge along the lake side. Nice enough if you are not fussy but I prefer a smaller site with a warm welcome! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Driach 6 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from this site ( August Bank Holiday weekend) I felt I must write in to counteract some of the negative comments written in previous reviews. Yes it was crowded (what else do you expect on a BH?) but not over crowded, we were on the third field where there was a massive space in the middle for our children to play. Yes there aren't enough showers - but you can survive for 3 days - being on the shores of Ullswater more than makes up for this. Yes at times there was noise from people chatting late at night but it was a holiday weekend - again, it's like that everywhere, at least there wasn't loud music pounding out (no electric).
The people in the shop were very polite despite the pressure of being very busy and the site was kept immaculate by constant rounds of collecting rubbish. There was always loo roll in the ladies! There is a great walk to Howtown, get the ferry back to pooley bridge. Will go again! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan Dykes 9 reviews from this member

 The good thing about this site is its location by the lake. Apart from that it's somewhere between ordinary and poor.

It's a great base for walking or exploring Ullswater and that part of the lakes (Aira Force is a good walk within a short drive) but I came away slightly disillusioned for three reasons. Firstly, it is quite expensive - by the time you add in a car, gazebo, maybe an extra tent for the kids or whatever, you can easily be talking about twenty quid or more a night. Second, as others have said, the toilet facilities are inadequate. Either you camp near the toilet block and put up with the noise of the farm all night (cows mooing mainly) or you go to the far field where it is a walk of several minutes to the lavvy. Third, the grass was quite long which meant we all got wet feet when it rained. Fourth, the farmer came round in a tractor at 0845 and woke us all up.

Anyway, it's a busy site so other people seem to like it. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Skillyb 7 reviews from this member

 This site has a great position right on the shores of the lake and if you get a shore-side pitch the views are great. There is a pleasant walk along the lake to the pubs at Pooley Bridge. The staff were off-hand and disinterested - no explanation about facilities was offered when we arrived. We were charged extra for marking our pitch with a small tent when we moved our van. Were told to just 'find a pitch' and site was packed. Not enough showers for number of campers they pack in so had ages to wait for a shower and facilities were shabby. All facilities are by reception at the entrance to the site so it is a long walk to the loo. Might be OK out of season but in peak times would not recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angietolo 1 review from this member

 We visited this site a couple of weeks ago, just before the school holidays. Upon arrival the camp was very busy and we had to set up in the field farthest from the facilities. We found the site extremely noisy both on the week end and for a few days throughout the week due to a large youth group who were allowed to run around the field up to3.00 am. The staff who were with them did nothing to control them and furthermore neither did the site managers.

On the up - side when the site was quiet the facilities were ample and clean,with rubbish removed daily. We had a couple of quiet days and then Friday night came - what a nightmare! with the site owners obviously more money conscious than concerned about the quality of holiday the campers were having it was so crammed that people trying to drive off the site were accidently running over guy ropes. In future I would only visit this site mid week at quiet times of the year. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1928 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement