Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodyhyde Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Corfe Castle > Woodyhyde Campsite Reviews

Woodyhyde Campsite
Valley Road
Corfe Castle
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5HU
Tel: 01929 480274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
                8/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B. Simkin 8 reviews from this member

 Due to its mild climate, we were keen on camping in the Purbeck area this Easter, but found some suitable sites to be rather expensive. At £10 a night Woodhyde seemed a reasonable bet. We arrived on Good Friday to find the site busy, but still having plenty of room for a decent pitch. At reception there was a sign warning campers not to drive to the lower parts of the field as they could get stuck. We camped near the brook, but encountered no difficulties with sodden ground.

The location of the site is good for visiting the surrounding area, being off the main road and in the middle of Purbeck. Corfe Castle is half an hours walk mostly along good footpaths and the site has a footpath running through it that eventually leads to the coast path. The site is not good for visiting the pub in the evening as it requires a dangerous walk along a busy road for 45 mins.

The toilet block is pretty Spartan but did have clean facilities during the bank holiday, but after that when the site became quieter, we saw no evidence of any cleaning going on. Washing up facilities were outdoors and woefully inadequate for the size of the site. There was decent free hot showers available.

There was a shop on site but it never opened during the end of the week. If there was any problems I genuinely would not have known where I could have contacted somebody, there was nobody around. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim Gillett 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site geographically. Ideal for exploring the Isle of Purbeck including nearby Corfe Castle, Wareham, Blue Pool, Swanage and Studland Bay. Beautiful beach at Studland but beware the excessively priced car park and don't go too far along the beach unless you're a nudist.

We arrived on the Thursday before Bank Holiday weekend. Had a good choice of pitch by a hedge on the high side of one of the fields. This gave us a panoramic sight of the site, the surrounding countryside and the fabulous Swanage steam railway.

On the first two day we were able to play cricket and football with other campers.

By the weekend the site was like a refugee camp - absolutely heaving with one tent which had set up by us while we were out - almost touching!

So avoid real busy times.

One other downside - the hot water for showers and washing up had all gone by about 10. We realised that pretty quickly so got in the shower block by 7 at the latest.

Overall though a good 8 out of 10 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pizzey 2 reviews from this member

 Fabtastic place. A proper camping site for proper campers. I especially liked the fact that no caravans could get on site due to the narrow bridge. Washing facilities basic but very clean. Shop great, had what you needed e.g we lost a stopper from one of our airbeds and the shop had one. Tips : go to the butchers in Corfe and get the best venision sausages. Go for a walk. Avoid in the main season going anywhere near Ringwood as the traffic is a nightmare. Steam train going through the site is an added bonus. Our son loved it and made many friends. We will be back. P.S you can do Longleat from here in a day. Approx 2 hours to get there. 


Reviewer: Jackie Freeman 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
We found this a really good family campsite for those that prefer to do real camping. The shop on site had all of the basic requirements and the toilet / shower block, although basic was clean with good HOT showers. Apart from the bank holiday the three fields gave everyone enough space to have their own privacy with a pitch where you please policy in operation.

One field is designated dog free which was great for the kids and also had a small climbing frame. The atmosphere at this site was good with children making friends easily.

Shopping facilites are not good in the locality with a small Co-op at Swanage, largest Tesco etc at Poole. This was a good choice and the site was ideally located for the beach and other attractions in the area.

The steam train going through the site just added to its charm and we met campers who had been going there for over 15 years. This is a camp site we will definitely be back to and soon! 


Reviewer: Creaturecomfort 1 review from this member

 September 2005
Although this site is basic - we found that it was ideal for our needs. We did visit during a quiet period - however we found the toliets / shower block more then adequate. In fact it was nice that the showers werent those push button ones - which are so frustrating especially as the water always stops at the most inconvient time!

We found the location to be perfect and a great base to visit all the areas and the price was very reasonable.

We will definatley come back again. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Waynemscott 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Basic Camping!!! If this is what you want, Woodyhyde is the place to go.

The Isle of Purbeck is a great place to visit with many campsites in the vicinity. WE decided to go camping at the last minute after the bank holiday. And we thank out lucky stars.

Woodyhyde consists of three fields, and if you visit their website, that’s all. A very well stocked shop is open twice a day. They have 8 electrical hookups, and as you cannot book, it’s the first 8 that will get the electricity.

My boy’s were a little disappointed with the lack of facilities, “the one working swing was covered in green gunge” was his response from the initial meander.

Having said that, the three fields allowed us plenty of space to play cricket and enjoy our stay.

Corfe Castle is a 20 minute walk from the campsite, and the Fox pub serves a great meal and has some fine ale on tap.

All in All, a decent site and it was available and at the last minute, but the one and only washing up area was a real negative.  


Reviewer: AmandaH 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Just returned from a lovely hot weekend at this site. Very busy, but managed to find a good spot near the shop, toilets and water tap. Fantastic watching the steam trains. Shower temperature a bit hit and miss but cleaned regularly. There does tend to be queues in the morning for showers and evening for washing up, but I just tend to wait for queues to disappear.
A lovely site in my opinion, a fantastic location and extremely good value for money. Will happily return there. P.S. Not for those who like their luxuries. 


Reviewer: Trekker308 2 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We stay at this site reasonably frequently as it's only 20 miles or so from where we live, and we've always enjoyed our stays. If you're looking for super-smart facilities then don't come, but if you want to camp in one of 3 well-kept fields in beautiful countryside with good pubs in Worth Matravers, Kingston and Corfe Village within walking distance and the Dorset Coast just down the road then it's a delight.

I don't think the showers will ever feature in Homes & Gardens, but they are good - and free! (they're closed daily from noon to 2p.m. for cleaning) The shop is pretty good, with reasonable prices, and the affable and helpful owner has a delightfully laid-back attitude to the whole venture - We love it, and I've just booked our next trip there .....  


Reviewer: Snasha 13 reviews from this member

 June 2005
We have just returned from a weekend on this site. I have to day that we won't be returning again in a hurry. The campsite could be be lovely. The fields are a great size, there is a good shop and its in a fantastic location. The facilities however are awful really.

There are 3 large fields with just one washing up sink between them and its outside!! The toilet / shower block was disgusting. The site was not very busy yet the mens toilets were overflowing!! For 3 days we have not seen it be cleaned and we didn't even want to brush our teeth in the sinks let alone shower in the block. There is no soap and the hand dryer did not work. It is also quite loud on the site until very late at night and people are allowed to pitch tents all through the night - we have 2 young children so this was not condusive for a good nights sleep.

All in all visit the area but NOT this site!!. 


Reviewer: Geoff Smith 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Very busy period on the site and the toilets struggled to cope with the numbers. The new shop is a good addition sellig a variety of goods. I have been coming to this site now for 15 years. The passing steam train is a very nice feature of the site. Plenty to do in the Town center - if you enjoy fishing then the Swanage pier is a very good spot for garfish and mackeral.
Beaches are busy so go early to get a good spot. Many car parks towards Studland are National Trust so being a member will save you money 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodyhyde Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodyhyde Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodyhyde Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Corfe Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement